DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 2/24/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant amends the claims to introduce a “heat dissipation body” that is between the electronic element and heat dissipation structure. However, Tain’s thermal conductive layer (106) includes two portions: a lower portion (106 lower), in contact with the top surface of the electronic element (104) which reads on the claimed “heat dissipation body” and an upper wider portion (106 upper), which reads on the claimed “heat dissipation structure.” This forms the exact T-shaped structure (26/25) provided in Figure 2D of applicant’s disclosure, where the lower body portion (25) laterally overlaps with the circuit area (23), and the upper structure (26) is above and wider than the lower body (25).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5-13, and 15-18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(1)(a) as being anticipated by Tain et al. (US Publication No. 2009/0294947).
Regarding claim 1, Tain discloses an electronic package, comprising:
an encapsulation layer (110)
a first electronic element (104 above) embedded in the encapsulation layer (110)
a second electronic element (104 below) embedded in the encapsulation layer (110) and spaced apart from the first electronic element (104 above)
a circuit structure (122) disposed on the encapsulation layer (110) and electrically connected (connected through vias 116) to the first electronic element (104 above) and the second electronic element (104 below), wherein the circuit structure (112) has a hollow area corresponding to the first electronic element (104 above)
a heat dissipation structure (106 upper portion) disposed in the hollow area (126 displaced by 106) and thermally connected to the first electronic element (104 above), wherein a heat dissipation body (106 lower portion) is disposed in the hollow area and between the first electronic component (104) and the heat dissipation structure (106 upper portion)
Regarding claim 2, Tain discloses the heat dissipation structure (106) includes a heat dissipation member (106) disposed in the hollow area (displaced by 106) and a heat dissipation material filled in the hollow area (Figure 1B).
Regarding claim 3, Tain discloses the heat dissipation member (106) is a metal frame (106 is inline with the outer frame portion surrounding 102 in Figures 4B-4C).
Regarding claim 5, Tain discloses the heat dissipation structure (106) is in a shape of a plug and inserted into the hollow area (Figures 4B-4C).
Regarding claim 6, Tain discloses the hollow area (displaced by 106) penetrates through the circuit structure (122) (Figure 1B).
Regarding claim 7, Tain discloses the hollow area (displaced by 106) is free from penetrating through the circuit structure (Figure 1A).
Regarding claim 8, Tain discloses the heat dissipation structure (106) is extended on the circuit structure (122).
Regarding claim 9, Tain discloses the first electronic element (104) is provided with a heat dissipation body (106/128) corresponding to the hollow area (displaced by 106).
Regarding claim 10, Tain discloses the heat dissipation body (106) is a heat sink (128).
Regarding claim 11, Tain discloses a method of manufacturing an electronic package, comprising:
embedding a first electronic element (104 above) and a second electronic element (104 below) in an encapsulation layer (110) in a manner of being spaced apart from each other
forming a circuit structure (122) on the encapsulation layer (110) to electrically connect the circuit structure (122) to the first electronic element (104 above) and the second electronic element (104 below), wherein the circuit structure (122) has a hollow area (displaced by 104) corresponding to the first electronic element (104 above)
disposing a heat dissipation structure (106 upper portion) in the hollow area to connect the heat dissipation structure to the first electronic element, wherein a heat dissipation body (106 lower portion) is disposed on the first electronic element (104) and in the hollow area (within encapsulant 110 and displaced by 106)
Regarding claim 12, Tain discloses the heat dissipation structure (106) includes a heat dissipation member (106) disposed in the hollow area (displaced by 106) and a heat dissipation material filled in the hollow area (Figure 1B).
Regarding claim 13, Tain discloses the heat dissipation member (106) is a metal frame (106 is inline with the outer frame portion surrounding 102 in Figures 4B-4C).
Regarding claim 15, Tain discloses the heat dissipation structure (106) is in a shape of a plug and inserted into the hollow area (Figures 4B-4C).
Regarding claim 16, Tain discloses the hollow area (displaced by 106) penetrates through the circuit structure (122) (Figure 1B).
Regarding claim 17, Tain discloses the hollow area (displaced by 106) is free from penetrating through the circuit structure (Figure 1A).
Regarding claim 18, Tain discloses the heat dissipation structure (106) is extended on the circuit structure (122).
Regarding claim 20, Tain discloses the heat dissipation body (106) is a heat sink (128).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tain et al. (US Publication No. 2009/0294947) in view of Choi et al. (US Publication No. 2020/0144192).
Regarding claim 4, Tain discloses the limitations as discussed in the rejection of claim 2 above. Tain is silent regarding the heat dissipation material is liquid metal. However, Choi discloses a heat sink which includes a liquid cooled plate and a low melting point metal bonding material (paragraph 71). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the heat dissipation material of Tain to include liquid metal, as taught by Choi, since it can improve adhesion and therefore the effectiveness of the heat dissipation unit (paragraph 108).
Regarding claim 14, Tain discloses the limitations as discussed in the rejection of claim 12 above. Tain is silent regarding the heat dissipation material is liquid metal. However, Choi discloses a heat sink which includes a liquid cooled plate and a low melting point metal bonding material (paragraph 71). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the heat dissipation material of Tain to include liquid metal, as taught by Choi, since it can improve adhesion and therefore the effectiveness of the heat dissipation unit (paragraph 108).
Conclusion
/N.R.P/ 3/5/2026Examiner, Art Unit 2897
/JACOB Y CHOI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2897