Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 12/22/2025 has been entered. Claims 1-7 and 9-20 remain
pending in the application.
The amendment to the drawing has overcome the drawing objection. Thus, Examiner withdraws the drawing objection.
The amendment to the specification has overcome the specification objection. Thus, Examiner withdraws the specification objection. However, please see below for a new objection to the specification.
With the exception of Claim 1, the amendments to the claims have overcome all the claim objections. Thus, Examiner withdraws the claim objections, except for the objection to Claim 1 (see below).
The amendment to Claim 9 has overcome the 112(b) rejection of that claim. Thus, Examiner is withdrawing the 112(b) rejection of Claim 9.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1 and 19 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant’s argument with respect to claim 16 has been considered, but in the view of the Examiner, the claim is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Sakai. Please see Claim Rejections below.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: On page 8, lines 29-30, the specification states “…is here superimposed and congruent with the wing portion 20B of the first clip 20”. In the view of the Examiner, this should state “……is here superimposed and congruent with the wing portion 20C of the first clip 20”.
On page 9, line 8, the specification states “…also extends between the wing portions 20B and 21B…” In the view of the examiner either wing should be changed to protrusion, or 20B and 21B should be changed to 20C and 21C.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: As noted in the Non-Final, the claim states “…wherein the second electronic power device has the first conduction pad…” For clarity, in the view of the Examiner, this should say “…wherein the first conduction pad of the second electronic power device is electrically coupled….”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 5-7, 12, and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US20240014193A1 (Sakai) in view of US20170133316A1 (Liu).
Regarding Claim 1, Sakai discloses a power module (Figs. 1-14, el. A10, Para. [0033]), comprising: a support (Fig. 1, el. 11, Para. [0033]); a first control contact area (Fig. 1, el. 141, Para. [0033]) on the support (Fig. 1); a second control contact area (Fig. 1, el. 142, Para. [0033]) on the support (Fig. 1); a first electronic power device (Fig. 1, el. 21, Para. [0033]) having a first main face (Fig. 10 – see side of device 21 closest to el. 25) and a second main face (Fig. 10 – see side of device 21 opposite the first main face), a first conduction pad (Fig. 10, el. 211, Para. [0042]) on the first main face, a second conduction pad (Fig. 10, el. 212, Para. [0042]) on the second main face and a control pad (Fig. 10, el. 213 Para. [0043]) on the second main face (Para. [0043]); a second electronic power device (Fig. 1, el. 22, Para. [0033]) having a first main face (Fig. 11, see top face of el. 22) and a second main face (Fig. 11, see bottom face of el. 22), a first conduction pad (Fig. 11, el. 222, Para. [0045]) on the first main face (Fig. 11), a second conduction pad (Fig. 11, el. 221, Para. [0045]) on the second main face (Fig. 11) and a control pad (Fig. 11, el. 223, Para. [0045]) on the second main face (Fig. 11); a first clip (Fig. 1, el. 41, Para. [0033]); a second clip (Fig. 1, el. 42, Para. [0033]); a third clip (Fig. 1, el. 43, Para. [0033]); and a package (Fig. 2, el. 60, Para. [0033]) embedding the support, the first and the second electronic power devices as well as partially the first, the second and the third clips (Fig. 2), wherein the first conduction pad of the first electronic power device is electrically coupled to the first clip (first conduction pad 211 is connected to wiring layer 12 (Fig. 10), which in turn is connected to the first clip 41 (Para. [0069])); the second conduction pad electrically coupled to the third clip (the second conduction pad 212 is connected to conductive member 30 (Fig. 10) and conductive member 30 is connected to the third clip 43 (Para [0071]) and the control pad coupled to the first control contact area (Para. [0053]); and the second electronic power device has the first conduction pad electrically coupled to the third clip (the first conduction pad 222 of the second electronic power device is coupled to conductive member 30 (Fig. 11), and conductive member 30 is coupled to the third clip 43 (Para. [0071]), the second conduction pad electrically coupled to the second clip (the second conduction pad 221 of the second electronic power device is connected to wiring layer 13 (Fig. 11) which in turn is connected to the second clip (Para. [0070]), and the control pad coupled to the second control contact area (Para. [0055]); the first and the second electronic power devices forming a half-bridge circuit (Paras. [0041-0042] and [0045 and 0046]).
Sakai does not disclose wherein the first clip and the second clip are super imposed at a location outside an area footprint of the support.
Liu disclose a power module (Fig. 1, el. 100, Para. [0020]) comprising a support (Fig. 1, el. 104, Para. [0020]), first and second clips (Fig. 1, el. 102A and 102B, Para. [0020]) where the first and second clips overlap each other in a location outside an area footprint of the support (Fig. 1, Paras. [0020 – 0026]).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the
claimed invention to modify the first and second clips of Sakai so that they overlap in an area outside the footprint of the support, as in Liu. As disclosed by Liu, having overlapping clips reduces the inductance (Para. [0027]), and having them overlap outside the are of support further lowers the inductance while extending outside the support for external contact.
Regarding Claim 2, Sakai in view of Liue discloses the power module according to claim 1, wherein the first electronic power device is flipped over with respect to the second electronic power device around a support median axis extending between the first and the second electronic power devices (Sakai, Fig. 5 – where the electronic device 21 can be flipped over a line into the page to produce electronic device 22).
Regarding Claim 5, Sakai in view of Liu discloses the power module according to Claim 1, further comprising a metal electrical conductor (Sakai, Figs. 2, 3, and 9, el. 51, Para. [0072]) coupling the control pad of the second electronic power device to the second control contact area (Sakai, Para. [0072]).
Regarding Claim 6, Sakai in view of Liu discloses the power module according to Claim 1, further comprising a metal electrical conductor (Sakai, Figs. 2, 3, and 9, el. 51, Para. [0072]) coupling the control pad of the first electronic power device to the first control contact area (Sakai, Para. [0072]).
Regarding Claim 7, Sakai in view of Liu discloses the power module according to Claim 1, wherein the first and the second clips form respective power pins (Sakai, Para. [0035]), protruding from a first side of the package (Sakai, Fig. 2), and the third clip has a respective power pin (Sakai, Para. [0035]) protruding from a second side of the package, opposite to the first side (Sakai, Fig. 2).
Regarding Claim 12, Sakai in view of Liu discloses the power module according to Claim 1, further comprising: a first conduction contact area (Sakai, Fig. 2, el. 12, Para. [0033]) on the support (Sakai, Fig. 2) electrically coupled to the first clip (Sakai, Para. [0069]); and a second conduction contact area (Sakai, Fig. 2, el. 13, Para. [0033]) on the support (Sakai, Fig. 2) electrically coupled to the second clip (Sakai, Para. [0070]; wherein the first electronic power device has the first main face facing towards the support (Sakai, Fig. 10, where the first main face – the side of the device 21 with conduction pad 211 - is facing towards the support 11) and the first conduction pad is electrically coupled to the first conduction contact area (Sakai, Fig. 10, Para. [0041]); the second electronic power device has the second main face facing towards the support (Sakai, Fig. 11, where the second main face of the device 22 is the side with conduction area 221, which is facing the support 11) and the second conduction pad is electrically coupled to the second conduction contact area (Sakai, Para. [0045]); the third clip faces the second main face of the first electronic power device (Sakai, Fig. 10, where el. 30 – which is attached to the third clip – faces the second main face of the first electronic power device 21) and the first main face of the second electronic power device (Sakai, Fig. 11) and is coupled to the second conduction pad of the first electronic power device (Sakai, Fig. 10, Para. [0067]) and to the first conduction pad of the second electronic power device (Sakai, Fig. 11, Para. [0067]).
Regarding Claim 14, Sakai in view of Liu discloses the power module according to Claim 1, wherein the support, the first control contact area and the second control contact area are part of a multilayer substrate including a first conductive layer forming the first control contact area and the second control contact area (Sakai, Para. [0036] – the first conductive layer contains first control contact area 141 and second control contact area 142), a second conductive layer (Sakai, Fig. 5, el. 70, Para. [0076]) forming a thermally dissipative element (Sakai, Para. [0076] – 70 is a heat sink) facing an outer surface of the power module (Sakai, Fig. 5, where 70 is at the bottom of the stack) and an insulating layer (Sakai, Fig. 5, el. 11, Para. [0076]) interposed between the first and the second conductive layers and forming the support (Sakai, Para. [0076]).
Regarding Claim 15, Sakai discloses the power module according to Claim 1, wherein the first and the second electronic power devices are power MOSFETs (Sakai, Para. [0049]).
Claims 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sakai in view of Liu and US20120327609A1 (Kitamoto).
Regarding Claim 3, Sakai in view of Liu discloses the power module according to claim 1.
Sakai in view of Liu does not disclose a third electronic power device and a fourth electronic power device, the third electronic power device having a first main face and a second main face, a first conduction pad on the first main face, a second conduction pad on the second main face and a control pad on the second main face; the fourth electronic power device having a first main face and a second main face, a first conduction pad on the first main face, a second conduction pad on the second main face and a control pad on the second main face; the third electronic power device having the second conduction pad electrically coupled to the third clip, the first conduction pad electrically coupled to the first clip and the control pad coupled to the first control contact area; and the fourth electronic power device having the first conduction pad electrically coupled to the third clip, the second conduction pad electrically coupled to the second clip, and the control pad coupled to the second control contact area.
Kitamoto discloses a power module (Fig. 2, el. 30, Para. [0041]) having first, second, third, and fourth electronic power device (Fig. 2, els. 50a, 54a, 50b, 54b, Para. [0042]), each having first and second main faces (Para. [0045]), first and second conduction pad (Fig. 3 - the P and N elements of 50 and 54 are the two terminals of the device – see also Para. [0041]), and control pads on the second main face (Fig. 3, els. 68, Para. [0045]); first, second, and third clips (Figs. 2 and 3; first clip is el. 70, second clip is el. 72, and third clip is el. 78 – Para. [0047]), first and second control contact areas (Figs. 2 and 3, els. 74 and 76, Para. [0047]), the third electronic power device having the second conduction pad electrically coupled to a third clip (Figs. 2 and 3, el. 78, Para. [0053] – the output terminal 78 is the third clip), the first conduction pad electrically coupled to the first clip (Fig. 3, Para. [0048]), and the control pad coupled to the first control contact area (Para. [0054]); and the fourth electronic power device having the first conduction pad electrically coupled to the third clip (Fig. 2, Para. [0056]), the second conduction pad electrically coupled to the second clip (Fig. 3, Para. [0055]), and the control pad coupled to the second control contact area (Para. [0057]).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the
claimed invention to add third and fourth power electronic devices to the power module of Sakai in view of Liu, as disclosed by Kitamoto, for the purpose of handling more current (Kitamoto, Para. [0044]).
Regarding Claim 4, Sakai in view of Liu and KItamoto discloses the power module according to claim 3, wherein the third electronic power device is flipped over with respect to the fourth electronic power device around a support median axis (see Kitamoto Fig. 3).
Claims 9-10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sakai in view of Liue and US20100013086A1 (Obiraki).
Regarding Claim 9, Sakai in view of Liu discloses the power module according to Claim 1.
Sakai does not disclose that the power module further comprises a first gate connection element coupled to the first control contact area; and a second gate connection element coupled to the second control contact area; the first and the second gate connection elements having a respective end portion protruding from a main surface of the package.
Obiraki discloses a power module (Fig. 2, el. 101, Para. [0034]) having rod-like external terminals (Fig. e, el. 12, Para. [0034]) connected to wiring patterns (Fig. 3, el. 3, Para. [0036]).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the
claimed invention to add a gate connection element and an external terminal (as in Obiraki) to the gate control contact areas of Sakai in view of Liu for the purpose of saving space and increasing mounting density (Obiraki, Para. [0015]).
Regarding Claim 10, Sakai in view of Liu and Obiraki discloses the power module according to Claim 9, wherein the first and the second clips form respective power pins (Para. [0035]), protruding from a first side of the package (Fig. 2), and the third clip has a respective power pin (Para. [0035]) protruding from a second side of the package, opposite to the first side (Fig. 2), wherein the first and the second sides of the package extend transversely to the main surface of the package (Fig. 2).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sakai in view of Liu.
Regarding Claim 11, Sakai discloses the power module according to claim 1, further comprising a phase contact area (Fig. 2, el. 31, Para. [0066]) and electrically coupled to the third clip (Para. [0071] – “The output terminal 43 is bonded to the base portion 31 of the conductive member 30.”) wherein the first electronic power device has the first main face facing towards the support (Fig. 10) and the second conduction pad electrically coupled to the phase contact area (Fig. 10, where the second conduction pad 212 is electrically coupled to phase contact area 30); the second electronic power device has the second main face facing towards the support (Fig. 11), the first conduction pad electrically coupled to the phase contact area (Fig. 11, where the first conduction pad 222 is electrically coupled to the phase contact area 30); the first clip is coupled to the first conduction pad of the first electronic power device (see analysis of Claim 1), and the second clip is coupled to the second conduction pad of the second electronic power device (see analysis of Claim 1).
Sakai in view of Liu does not disclose that phase contact area is on the support, and does not disclose that the first clip overlies the first main face of the first electronic power device and that the second clip overlies the second main face of the second electronic power device.
However, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to attach the phase contact area to the support, and have the first and second clips overlie the first and second main faces of the first and second electronic power devices respectively. Such a modification would be a rearrangement of parts – rearranging the clips of Sakai so that the phase contact area lies on the support and the first and second clips are above and overlie the power semiconductor devices (In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950) – see MPEP 2144(VI)(C)).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sakai in view of Liu Obiraki.
Regarding Claim 13, Sakai in view of Liu discloses the power module according to claim 11.
Sakai in view of Liu does not disclose a first auxiliary connection element, coupled to the first clip through a first auxiliary contact area on the support; a second auxiliary connection element, coupled to the second clip through a second auxiliary contact area on the support; and a third auxiliary connection element, coupled to the third clip through the phase contact area on the support, the first, second and third auxiliary connection elements extending transversely to the support and having a respective portion protruding from a main surface of the package.
Obiraki discloses a power module (Fig. 2, el. 101, Para. [0034]) having rod-like external terminals (Fig. e, el. 12, Para. [0034]) connected to wiring patterns (Fig. 3, el. 3, Para. [0036]).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the
claimed invention to add to Sakai the external terminals (as in Obiraki) to first, second, and third auxiliary contact areas such that the first, second, and third clips are electrically coupled to the terminals for the purpose of saving space and increasing mounting density (Obiraki, Para. [0015]).
Claims 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sakai.
Regarding Claim 16, Sakai discloses a method (implicit), comprising: electrically coupling a first conduction pad of a first electronic power device to a first clip coupled to a support having a first contact area and a second contact area (see analysis of Claim 1 for the numbers of the elements – noting that the first conduction pad 211 is electrically coupled to the first first clip, which meets this step); electrically coupling a second conduction pad of the first electronic device to a second clip coupled to the support (see analysis of Claim 1 for numbers of corresponding elements); electrically coupling a first conduction pad of a second electronic power device to the second clip (see analysis of claim 1); electrically coupling a second conduction pad of the second electronic device to a third clip coupled to the support (see analysis of claim 1); and coupling a control pad of the second electronic device to the second control contact area (see analysis of claim 1), wherein the first and the second electronic power devices forming a half-bridge circuit (see analysis of claim 1). Sakai also discloses elevated first and second clips (see Fig. 7 and Fig. 8, where els. 41 and 42 are elevated) that are attached to depressed wiring layers (see Figs. 7 and 8, els. 12 and 13, Para. [0069]).
Sakai does not disclose that the first clip and the second clip each include respective depressed and elevated portions over the support.
However, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to take the first and second clip of Sakai, and make them integral with the wiring layers 12 and 13, thus creating elevated and depressed clips with respect to the substrate. This would be an example of making prior art elements integral – taking separate elements (the clip and wiring layer), and merging them (see MPEP 2144.04(V)(B)).
Regarding Claim 17, Sakai discloses the method of Claim 16, comprising: encapsulating in a package the support (see Fig. 5, where the support 11 is encapsulated by a sealing resin 60), the first and the second electronic power devices (see Fig. 5, where first and second electronic power devices 21 and 22 are encapsulated by the sealing resin 60); and partially encapsulating the first, second, and third clips (see Fig. 2, where first, second, and third clips 41, 42, and 43 are partially encapsulated by the sealing resin 60).
Regarding Claim 18, Sakai disclose the method of claim 17, wherein: the first electronic power device (Fig. 1, el. 21, Para. [0033]) has a first main face (Fig. 10 – see side of device 21 closest to el. 25) and a second main face (Fig. 10 – see side of device 21 opposite the first main face), the first conduction pad (Fig. 10, el. 212, Para. [0042]) on the first main face, the second conduction pad (Fig. 10, el. 211, Para. [0042]) on the second main face and the control pad (Fig. 10, el. 213 Para. [0043]) on the second main face (Para. [0043]); and the second electronic power device (Fig. 1, el. 22, Para. [0033]) has a first main face (Fig. 11, see top face of el. 22) and a second main face (Fig. 11, see bottom face of el. 22), the first conduction pad (Fig. 11, el. 222, Para. [0045]) on the first main face (Fig. 11), the second conduction pad (Fig. 11, el. 221, Para. P0045]) on the second main face (Fig. 11) and the control pad (Fig. 11, el. 223, Para. [0045]) on the second main face (Fig. 11).
Claims 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being anticipated by Sakai in view of Liu.
Regarding Claim 19, Sakai discloses a power module (Figs. 1-14, el. A10, Para. [0033]), comprising: a support (Fig. 1, el. 11, Para. [0033]) including a first clip (Fig. 1, el. 41, Para. [0033]), a second clip (Fig. 1, el. 43, Para. [0033]), a third clip (Fig. 1, el. 42, Para. [0033]), a first contact area (Fig. 1, el. 141, Para. [0033]), and a second contact area (Fig. 1, el. 142, Para. [0033]); and a half bridge circuit including: a first electronic device (Fig. 1, el. 21, Para. [0033]) having a first conduction pad (Fig. 10, el. 211, Para. [0042]) coupled to the first clip (first conduction pad 211 is connected to wiring layer 12 (Fig. 10), which in turn is connected to the first clip 41 (Para. [0069])), a second conduction pad (Fig. 10, el. 212, Para. [0042]) electrically coupled to the second clip (the second conduction pad 212 is connected to conductive member 30 (Fig. 10) and conductive member 30 is connected to the second clip 43 (Para [0071]), and a control pad coupled to the first control contact area (Para. [0053]); and a second electronic device (Fig. 1, el. 22, Para. [0033]) having a first conduction pad electrically coupled to the second clip (the first conduction pad 222 of the second electronic power device is coupled to conductive member 30 (Fig. 11), and conductive member 30 is coupled to the second clip 43 (Para. [0071]), a second conduction pad electrically coupled to a third clip (the second conduction pad 221 of the second electronic power device is connected to wiring layer 13 (Fig. 11) which in turn is connected to the third clip (Para. [0070]), and a control pad of the second electronic device coupled to the second control contact area (Para. [0055]).
Sakai does not disclose wherein the first clip and the second clip are super imposed at a location outside an area footprint of the support.
Liu disclose a power module (Fig. 1, el. 100, Para. [0020]) comprising a support (Fig. 1, el. 104, Para. [0020]), first and second clips (Fig. 1, el. 102A and 102B, Para. [0020]) where the first and second clips overlap each other in a location outside an area footprint of the support (Fig. 1, Paras. [0020 – 0026]).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the
claimed invention to modify the first and second clips of Sakai so that they overlap in an area outside the footprint of the support, as in Liu. As disclosed by Liu, having overlapping clips reduces the inductance (Para. [0027]), and having them overlap outside the are of support further lowers the inductance while extending outside the support for external contact.
Regarding Claim 20, Sakai in view of Liu discloses the power module of Claim 19, comprising a package (Sakai, Fig. 2, el. 60, Para. [0033]) embedding the support and the first and the second electronic power devices and partially embedding the first, the second and the third clips (see Sakai Fig. 2).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ROHIT PARTHASARATHY/Examiner, Art Unit 2899 /DALE E PAGE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2899