DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-26 are pending in the current application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 11-12, 14-15 and 18-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim (US 20200251656).
As to claim 11, Kim discloses a mask frame assembly comprising:
A mask defining a deposition opening part (figure 7: mask 10 with openings);
A mask frame with a first surface having a first long side part in a first direction and a first short side part extending in a second direction intersecting the first direction (figure 7: rectangular mask frame 30-1 with short and long sides and top and bottom surfaces);
A second surface opposite the first surface including a second long side part extending in the first direction and a second short side part extending in the second direction (figure 7: rectangular frame mask 30-1 with two short and two perpendicular long sides and top and bottom surfaces [first and second surfaces]);
A first and second plurality of support members disposed in the first and second short side part respectively (figure 7: support stick/members 55-1 and 56-1 on first and second short sides);
A second recessed part extending in the second direction accommodating the plurality of second support members and is defined in the second short side part (figure 7: recess part 53-1 on short side of frame 30-1 and containing support sticks 56-1).
As to claim 12, Kim discloses a first recessed part accommodated in and extending in the short side [second] direction accommodating the plurality of first support members (figure 7: recess/groove 51-1 with supports 55-1 on short side of frame 30-1).
As to claim 14-15, Kim discloses a plurality of steps in an extension direction of the recess and coupled to support members (figure 2: cross-slots 123 in recess portions forming steps in the structure, and coupled to support member/stick 130 – same structure on both sides of frame; figure 3: alternate embodiment with plurality of support sticks 230 over cross-slots 223 and step structure formed by slots 223).
As to claim 18, Kim disclose a plurality of masks arranged in the long side direction (figure 7: masks 10-1 along frame long direction).
As to claim 19, Kim discloses a plurality of spacing sticks on the mask frame (figure 7: support frame 10-1 illustrated as ‘sticks’ along the long length direction).
As to claim 20, Kim discloses a deposition apparatus comprising:
A deposition chamber with inner space (figure 1: deposition chamber 100);
A mask frame with a first surface having a first long side part in a first direction and a first short side part extending in a second direction intersecting the first direction (figure 7: rectangular mask frame 30-1 with short and long sides and top and bottom surfaces);
A second surface opposite the first surface including a second long side part extending in the first direction and a second short side part extending in the second direction (figure 7: rectangular frame mask 30-1 with two short and two perpendicular long sides and top and bottom surfaces [first and second surfaces]);
A third surface connecting the first and second surface defining a frame opening part (figure 4, 7: showing top down and ‘angled’ view of frame 30 with interior surface [third] between top and bottom surfaces along ‘z’ direction of fig. 7 in interior of frame [being covered from view by masks 10);
A deposition member disposed at a first side of the mask frame (figure 1: substrate ‘D’ [object to be deposited on, deposition member]);
A stage disposed at a second side of the mask frame and supported by the second surface of the mask frame (figure 1: support 40 for frame 30);
A mask disposed between the frame and deposition member at the first side of the mask frame and supported by the first surface of the mask frame (figure 1: mask 10 on frame 30 between frame and deposition member [substrate D]);
A first and second support member disposed on the first and second short side parts, respectively (figure 2: support sticks [support members] 52 and 54 on opposing short sides of frame 30).
As to claim 21, Kim discloses the first and second support members extend in the first direction (figure 7: embodiment where support sticks 55 and 56 extend in first direction [long side direction]).
As to claim 22, Kim discloses a first and second recessed parts accommodating the first and second support members, respectively, defined in the first and second short side parts, respectively (figure 7: recess/groove 51-1 with supports 55-1 on short side of frame 30-1, same structure on opposite short side part).
As to claim 23, Kim discloses a plurality of steps in an extension direction of the recess and coupled to support members (figure 2: cross-slots 123 in recess portions forming steps in the structure, and coupled to support member/stick 130 – same structure on both sides of frame; figure 3: alternate embodiment with plurality of support sticks 230 over cross-slots 223 and step structure formed by slots 223).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US 20200251656) in view of Ko (US 20150007767).
As to claim 1, Kim discloses a deposition mask frame comprising:
A first surface with first long part side in a first direction and intersecting first short part side in a second direction (figure 4: mask frame 30 with long sides and short sides forming rectangular shape, showing top-down view of top/first surface);
A first recessed part extending along the first long side part or along the short side part (figure 4: groove 51 in short side top surface);
A second surface opposing the first surface including a second long side part and second short side part in respective first and second directions (figure 4: showing top-down view of first and second long sides and first and second short sides, with opposing [hidden] bottom/second side surface);
A third surface connecting the first and second surface defining a frame opening part (figure 4, 7: showing top down and ‘angled’ view of frame 30 with interior surface [third] between top and bottom surfaces along ‘z’ direction of fig. 7 in interior of frame [being covered from view by masks 10);
A support member disposed in the first recessed part (figure 4: support stick [supporting member] 52 across recess 51; figure 7: alternate embodiment with support sticks 55 across groove in perpendicular direction).
Kim, while disclosing a mask frame with first and second side and a recessed part in the first side surface, the recess part having a support member, is silent as to a recessed part and corresponding support member in the second side surface.
Ko discloses a mask assembly with a frame comprising four elongated intersecting sides, a first surface [top] with groove and supporting member, and central opening with third surface defining the opening between the first surface and a second [bottom] surface (figure 2: mask frame 110 with groove 112 on top surface with central opening and unlabeled surface facing the opening between top surface and bottom (hidden) surface containing block 131 in the groove). Ko also discloses elongated grooves along two opposing sides of the mask frame on the second (bottom) surface for inserting screws [supporting members] to secure the blocks within the opposing side grooves (figure 3: grooves 131b with screws 133 on bottom surface 110b).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a groove in the bottom surface with inserted support member, as disclosed by Ko, in the mask assembly of Kim, because this allows for securing the above support members.
As to claim 10, Kim discloses the mask frame contains a fourth surface opposite the third surface (figure 2: outside [fourth] surface of frame 30 surrounding inside [third] surface of frame 30), the first surface of the frame comprising a first portion/part connected to the fourth surface and containing the groove (figure 2: arbitrarily selected portion of top surface before and at the ‘corner’ of fourth surface meeting first surface, the area being able to include the groove 51) and a second part adjacent to the first part bent to connect to the third surface (figure 2: arbitrarily selection portion of the top surface concentrically inside the ‘first portion/part’, and therefore containing the corner [bend] to form the third inside vertical surface meeting the first/top surface).
Claim(s) 2-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Ko, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Lee (US 20160260935).
As to claim 2, Kim discloses grooves within the frame ends spaced apart from the opening (figure 4), but is silent as to the grooves comprising an inner and outer portion with step therebetween.
Lee discloses a mask assembly with mask frame, the frame having a first and second groove with a step portion between ( fig. 1: frame 120 with inner and outer support slots 125 and 124 with raised ‘step’ therebetween). Lee discloses the slot structure as allowing for a clamping and releasing mechanism without damaging the mask and frame (paragraph 58).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a double groove structure for attachment mechanisms, as disclosed by Lee, in the system of Kim in view of Ko, because this prevents damage to components during clamping and releasing.
As to claim 3, Lee disclose the inner groove depth equal to a depth of the outermost groove (figure 1: inner groove 125 vs outer unlabelled groove at edge of frame 120) or alternatively the inner groove is greater in depth than an outer groove (figure 1: inner groove 125 deeper than outer groove/ledge 124).
As to claim 4, Lee discloses a first and second plurality of recessed parts (figure 1: series of recesses along edge of frame 120) with the the first and second recessed parts spaced apart in a direction away from frame opening (figure 1: grooves 125, 124 and outer unlabeled groove spaced outward from frame center opening 120e).
As to claim 5, Lee discloses the first and second recess parts do not overlap each other in a direction perpendicular to their extension direction (figure 1: series of first surface grooves, one of the grooves therefore not overlapping underlying second surface grooves from combination with Ko).
As to claim 6, Kim discloses placing the recesses on the short sides of the frame (figure 2, 4: recesses 52, 54 on short sides of rectangle).
As to claim 7, Lee discloses further third and fourth recesses for accommodating clamping mechanisms [support members] on the first/top surface (figure 1: clamping slots 123).
Ko discloses elongated grooves along two opposing sides of the mask frame on the second (bottom) surface for inserting screws [supporting members] to secure the blocks within the opposing side grooves (figure 3: grooves 131b with screws 133 on bottom surface 110b).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a groove in the bottom surface with inserted support member, as disclosed by Ko, in the mask assembly of Kim, because this allows for securing the above support members.
As to claim 8-9, Lee discloses the third and fourth recesses as different in width than the first and second recesses (figure 1: recess 123 vs recess 124/125 width). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to similarly size placed support members corresponding to their respective recesses.
Claim(s) 13, 16-17, 24-25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim, as applied to claims 12 and 22 above, and further in view of Lee.
As to claim 13, Kim discloses support members and recessed parts, but is silent as to their relative sizes.
Lee discloses a mask assembly with mask frame, the frame having recess portions along the frame side and support members placed within the recesses and having a same depth as the recess part to not extend above the frame height (figure 1, frame 120 with recesses 124/125, and support member/stick 130; figure 7: showing support 130 having same depth as its receiving recess).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to size support members to their recess depth to prevent extending above the recess and interfering with other components.
As to claim 16, Lee discloses further third and fourth recesses for accommodating clamping mechanisms [support members] along the first direction (figure 1: clamping slots 123).
As to claim 17, Lee discloses the third and fourth recesses as different in width than the first and second recesses (figure 1: recess 123 vs recess 124/125 width). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to similarly size placed support members corresponding to their respective recesses.
As to claims 24-25, Lee discloses further third and fourth recesses for accommodating clamping mechanisms [support members] along the first direction (figure 1: clamping slots 123) and a plurality of steps coupled to the support members within the recess (figure 7: cross section view of slot 123 with step structure for support/clamp 130).
Claim(s) 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim as applied to claim 20 above, and further in view of Lee2 (US 20080118743, ‘2’ digit added to differentiate from previously applied Lee reference).
As to claim 26, Kim discloses a deposition apparatus with a mask frame supporting a mask for controlling a deposition area, as discussed above, but is silent as to the mask frame having an extension angle with respect to the chamber.
Lee2 discloses a deposition apparatus in which a masking frame supports a mask within the chamber (figure 4: deposition chamber with mask frame 104 and mask 106). Lee2 also discloses knowledge in the art of providing angled mask, including 45 degrees, frame extensions to prevent an undesired shadowing effect from the mask blocking deposition material (figure 5b; paragraph 68).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the mask frame components at an extension angle, as disclosed by Lee2, in the system of Kim, because this prevents unwanted shadowing from the mask frame.
Correspondence Information
/JASON BERMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1794