DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed 04/10/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of the claims under USC 35 102/103 have been fully considered and are persuasive, the made amendments overcome the rejection made. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made incorporating US 10446555 B2 Wang et al and US 20210343646 A1 Chen et al.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1--11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over by US 20240203879 A1 Xie et al hereafter “Xie” in further view of US 10446555 B2 Wang et al hereafter “Wang”
Claim 1 Xie teaches A semiconductor structure, comprising: first and second active regions (top and bottom 102 fig. 1, illustrated fig. 13 not labeled see annotation below) extending lengthwise along a first direction (perpendicular to cross section BB and CC fig. 1 and 13, hereafter “X”);
metal gate structures (218 fig. 13, labeled fig. 6, 104 fig. 1, see annotation below) over channels of the first and second active regions (210 fig. 13 labeled fig. 2, see annotation below), the metal gate structures extending lengthwise along a second direction (Parallel to cross section BB and CC fig. 13 and 1 hereafter “Y”) perpendicular to the first direction [sufficiently illustrated fig. 13] ;
an insulating structure (214 fig. 13, labeled fig. 2, see annotation below) cutting through the metal gate structures and extending lengthwise along the first direction [sufficiently illustrated fig. 13], wherein the insulating structure is disposed between the first and the second active regions along the second direction [sufficiently illustrated fig. 13];
source/drain (S/D) contacts (comprising 604 and 214 fig. 13, labeled fig. 6) over the insulating structure and over S/D features of the first and second active regions [sufficiently illustrated fig. 13], the S/D contacts extending lengthwise along the second direction [sufficiently illustrated fig. 13]; and
a feedthrough via (1202 fig. 13, labeled fig. 12, see annotation below) contacting a bottom surface of the S/D contacts and penetrating through a portion of the insulating structure [sufficiently illustrated fig. 13],
wherein the insulating structure surrounds the feedthrough via and isolates the feedthrough via from the metal gate structures [sufficiently illustrated fig. 13], wherein the insulating structure includes first portions [insulating structure in cross section BB fig. 13] disposed between the S/D features of the first and the second active regions and second portions [insulating structure in cross section BB fig. 13] disposed between the channels of the first and the second active regions, wherein a top surface of the first portions [see annotation below, it is located where the feedthrough via electrically connects to the S/D contact] is below a topmost surface of the second portions [see annotation below].
Xie does not teach the top surface of the first portions being the topmost surface
Wang teaches source/drain (S/D) contacts (71 fig. 21A) over insulating structures (52 between the source/drain and 22 fig. 21A) and over S/D features (116 fig. 21A) of first and second active regions (left-side and right-side fig. 21A); a feedthrough via (120 fig. 21A) contacting a bottom surface of the S/D contacts (sufficiently illustrated fig. 21A) and penetrating through a portion of the insulating structure (52 between the source/drain fig. 21A); wherein the feed through via is electrically connected to the S/D features of the first and second active regions through the S/D contacts [sufficiently illustrated Fig. 21A].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Xie in view of Wang such that “the feed through via is electrically connected to the S/D features of the first and second active regions through the S/D contacts”.
A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to power both the S/D of first and second active regions with a common backside power rail.
Additionally combining equivalents known for the same purpose is prima facie type obviousness [See MPEP 2144.06]. In this case it is buried and/or back side power rails with via and contact structures that power is source/drains of FINFET devices.
In view of this modification the top surface of the first portions would be the topmost surface such that “a topmost surface of the first portions is below a topmost surface of the second portions” so that the contact can connect to the right S/D structure in the same manner that it is connecting to the left/first S/D structure as illustrated in Xie fig. 13 BB.
Xie Annotated fig. 13: explicitly labeling features as matched to the claims
Xie Annotated fig. 13: highlighting a top surface and a topmost surface
Claim 2 Xie in view of Wang teaches as shown above the semiconductor structure of claim 1, further comprising: an isolation structure (208 fig. 13) separating the first and second active regions along the second direction (sufficiently illustrated fig. 13); and
an interlayer dielectric (ILD) layer [212 fig. 13, labeled fig. 2, see annotation below] over the isolation structure [sufficiently illustrated fig. 13],
wherein the insulating structure cuts through the isolation structure and the ILD layer [sufficiently illustrated fig. 13].
Xie Annotated fig. 13: highlighting the ILD layer
Claim 3 Xie in view of Wang as shown above the semiconductor structure of claim 3 wherein along the second direction, the insulating structure is in direct contact with and directly between the feedthrough via and the ILD layer [sufficiently illustrated fig. 13 notably cross section BB], and
wherein along the second direction, the insulating structure is in direct contact with and directly between the feedthrough via and the isolation structure [sufficiently illustrated fig. 13 notably cross section BB].
Claim 4 Xie in view of Wang teaches as shown above the semiconductor structure of claim 1, wherein each of the S/D contacts land directly on top of the S/D features [sufficiently illustrated fig.13] ].
Xie does not teach each of the S/D contacts land directly on side surfaces of the S/D features.
Wang teaches S/D contacts (71 fig. 21A) land directly on side surfaces of S/D features (inside surfaces of 116 fig. 21A).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Xie in further view of Wang such that “each of the S/D contacts land directly on side surfaces of the S/D features”.
A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to increase the effective contact area between the S/D contact and the S/D features and/or reduce contact resistance.
Further combining equivalents known for the same purpose is prima facie type obviousness [See MPEP 2144.06]. In this case it is S/D contact structures for powering and/or addressing S/D features.
Claim 5 Xie in view of Wang teaches as shown above the semiconductor structure of claim 1, wherein along the second direction, the insulating structure extends past the feedthrough via [sufficiently illustrated fig. 13].
Xie discloses the insulating structure as “dielectric” paragraph [0034] a dielectric includes the meaning “A substance or medium through or across which electric force acts without conduction; a non-conductor; an insulating medium” [Oxford English Dictionary]
Xie in view of Wang Does not teach the insulating structure extends past the feedthrough via by at least 10 nm on either side of the feedthrough via.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the insulating structure of Xie such that “the insulating structure extends past the feedthrough via by at least 10 nm on either side of the feedthrough via” as part of routine optimization of the electrical insulation and/or isolation of feedthrough via and adjacent conductive elements enabled by the dielectric material [see MPEP 2144.05 II].
Claim 6 Xie in view of Wang teaches the semiconductor structure of claim 1, wherein along the second direction, the insulating structure extends past the feedthrough via [sufficiently illustrated fig. 13]
Xie discloses the insulating structure as “dielectric” paragraph [0034] a dielectric includes the meaning “A substance or medium through or across which electric force acts without conduction; a non-conductor; an insulating medium” [Oxford English Dictionary]
Xie in view of Wang does not explicitly teach the insulating structure extends past the feedthrough via by at most 20 nm on either side of the feedthrough via.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the insulating structure of Xie such that “the insulating structure extends past the feedthrough via by at most 20 nm on either side of the feedthrough via” as part of routine optimization of the electrical insulation and/or isolation of feedthrough via and adjacent conductive elements enabled by the dielectric material and the size of the device [see MPEP 2144.05 II].
Claim 7 Xie in view of Wang teaches as shown above the semiconductor structure of claim 1, wherein the insulating structure has a first width [see annotation below] along the second direction, the feedthrough via has a second width [see annotation below] along the second direction, and the first width is greater than the second width [sufficiently illustrated fig. 13].
Annotated fig. 13 highlighting a first width and a second width
Claim 8 Xie in view of Wang teaches as shown above the semiconductor structure of claim 7,
Xie in view of Wang does not teach wherein the first width is greater than the second width by at least 20 nm.
Xie discloses the insulating structure as “dielectric” paragraph [0034] a dielectric includes the meaning “A substance or medium through or across which electric force acts without conduction; a non-conductor; an insulating medium” [Oxford English Dictionary]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the insulating structure of Xie such that “wherein the first width is greater than the second width by at least 20 nm” as part of routine optimization of the electrical insulation and/or isolation of feedthrough via and adjacent conductive elements enabled by the dielectric material and the size of the device [see MPEP 2144.05 II] and/or the resistance of the vias and the areal density of devices on the wafer [Xie Paragraph 0022, see MPEP 2144.05 II].
Claim 9 Xie in view of Wang teaches as shown above the semiconductor structure of claim 7, wherein a spacing (see annotation below, illustrated fig. 13) between the first and second active regions is greater than twice the second width [appear to be met under broadest reasonable interpretation the spacing appears to be at least twice the second width at the bottom of the via as illustrated fig. 13].
Alternatively, should the applicant disagree, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the insulating structure of Xie such that “a between the first and second active regions is greater than twice the second width” as part of routine optimization of the electrical insulation and/or isolation between the feedthrough via and first and second active regions enabled by the dielectric material therebetween and the size of the device [see MPEP 2144.05 II].
Claim 10 modified Xie in view of Wang teaches as shown above the semiconductor structure of claim 9, wherein
Xie in view of Wang does not explicitly teach the spacing between the first and second active regions is about 100 nm.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the insulating structure of Xie such that “the spacing between the first and second active regions is about 100 nm” as part of routine optimization of the electrical insulation and/or isolation between the feedthrough via and first and second active regions enabled by the dielectric material therebetween and the size of the device [see MPEP 2144.05 II].
Claim 11 modified Xie in view of Wang teaches as shown above the semiconductor structure of claim 10, Xie in view of Wang does not explicitly teach wherein the second width is in a range of 20-50 nm.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to modified Xie such that “the second width is in a range of 20-50 nm” as a part of routine optimization of the resistance of the via and the areal density of the device [paragraph 0022 Xie, See MPEP 2144.05 II]
Claims 12-14, 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over by Xie and in further view of US 20210343646 A1 Chen et al hereafter “Chen”.
Claim 12 Xie in view of Chen teaches a semiconductor structure, comprising: a first active region (top 102 fig. 1, illustrated fig. 13 but not labeled, see annotation below) having first semiconductor channels (left 210 illustrated fig. 13, labeled fig. 2, see annotation below) and first source/drain (S/D) (left 220 illustrated fig. 13, labeled fig. 2, see annotation below) features adjacent the first semiconductor channels [sufficiently illustrated fig. 13];
a second active region (bottom 102 fig. 1, illustrated fig. 13, see annotation below) having second semiconductor channels (right 210 illustrated fig. 13, labeled fig. 2, see annotation below) and second S/D features (right 220 illustrated fig. 13, labeled fig. 2, see annotation below) adjacent the second semiconductor channels [sufficiently illustrated fig. 13];
an isolation structure (208 illustrated fig. 13, labeled fig. 2, see annotation below) between the first active region and the second active region [sufficiently illustrated fig. 13A-13D];
a metal gate structure (218 illustrated fig. 13, labeled fig. 2, see annotation below, labeled as 104 fig. 1) over the first and second semiconductor channels [sufficiently illustrated fig. 13];
an insulating structure (214 illustrated fig. 13, labeled fig. 2, see annotation below) cutting through the metal gate structure and the isolation structure (sufficiently illustrated fig. 13); and
a feedthrough via (1202 illustrated fig. 13, labeled fig. 12, see annotation below) under the insulating structure [illustrated fig. 13 as measured from the top surfaces under broadest reasonable interpretation, see annotation below], the feedthrough via having a penetrating portion that penetrates through a first portion [fig. 13 the portion in BB] of the insulating structure [sufficiently illustrated fig. 13, the penetrating portion appears to comprise the majority of the feedthrough via], and the insulating structure isolates the penetrating portion of the feedthrough via from the metal gate structure [sufficiently illustrated fig. 13] wherein a second portion of the insulating structure [fig. 13 the portion in CC].
Xie does not teach the second portion of the insulating structure contacts a top surface of the feedthrough via.
Chen teaches an insulating structure (165-1 and 160-2) contacts a top surface (top surface of 150 fig. 20c, labeled fig. 20A-B) of a feedthrough via (150 fig. 20C, labeled fig. 20A-B ) in a cross-section (fig. 20C) across a gate (120 fig. 20C).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Xie in view of Chen such that “a second portion of the insulating structure contacts a top surface of the feedthrough via”.
A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to insulate the top surface of the feedthrough via within a gate cut region.
Further combining equivalents known for the same purpose is prima facie type obviousness [See MPEP 2144.06]. In this case Dielectric insulating layers for insulating a feedthrough via.
Xie Annotated fig. 13: explicitly labeling features as matched to the claims
Xie Annotated fig. 13: highlighting the feedthrough via under the insulating structure as measured from the top surfaces.
Claim 13 Xie in view of Chen teaches as shown above the semiconductor structure of claim 12, further comprising: an S/D contact (comprising 604 and 602 illustrated fig. 13, labeled fig. 6, see annotation below) over and in direct contact with the first and second S/D features [sufficiently illustrated fig. 13].
Xie Annotated fig. 13: highlighting S/D contacts
Claim 14 Xie in view of Chen teaches as shown above the semiconductor structure of claim 13, wherein the feedthrough via is under the S/D contact and in direct contact with the S/D contact [sufficiently illustrated fig. 13].
Claim 16 Xie in view of Chen teaches as shown above the semiconductor structure of claim 13, wherein the first active region includes third S/D features and the second active region includes fourth S/D features [sufficiently disclosed in view of fig. 1 and 13 wherein cross section AA of fig. 13 represents an identical cross section in both the first active region (top 102 fig. 1) and the second active region (bottom 102 fig. 1), see annotation below], further comprising: a second S/D contact over and in direct contact with the third and fourth S/D features, wherein the feedthrough via is also under the second S/D contact and in direct contact with the second S/D contact [sufficiently disclosed in view of fig. 1 and 13 wherein cross section BB of fig. 13 represents an identical cross sections across perpendicular to the first active region and second active region, see annotation below ].
Annotated fig. 1: highlighting the relative locations of S/D features and identical BB and AA cross sections.
Claim 17 Xie teaches A method of forming a semiconductor structure, comprising: receiving a workpiece (sufficiently illustrated fig. 1 and fig. 2) having active regions (102 fig. 1, illustrated fig. 2 not labeled, see annotation below) over a substrate (202 fig. 2) and an isolation structure (comprising 208 fig. 2) separating the active regions, the active regions extending lengthwise along a first direction (perpendicular to cross sections BB and CC Fig. 1 and 2 hereafter “X”);
forming metal gate structures (218 fig. 2) over channel regions (210 fig. 2) of the active regions, the metal gate structures extending lengthwise along a second direction (Parallel to cross sections BB and CC fig. 1 and 2 hereafter “Y”) perpendicular to the first direction [sufficiently illustrated fig. 1 and fig. 2];
forming an insulating structure (comprising 216 and 214 fig. 2, and 214 and 402 fig. 4) between two of the active regions, the insulating structure extending lengthwise along the first direction and cuts through multiple metal gate structures [sufficiently illustrated in fig. 2 in view of fig. 1], separating first portions of the metal gate structures from second portions of the metal gate structures [sufficiently illustrated fig. 2 in view of fig. 1];
forming source/drain (S/D) contacts (comprising 604 and 602 fig. 6) over the insulating structure and over S/D regions of the active regions [sufficiently illustrated fig. 6], the S/D contacts extending lengthwise along the second direction [sufficiently illustrated fig. 6]; and
forming a feedthrough via (1202 fig. 12) contacting a bottom surface of the S/D contacts and penetrating through a first portion of the insulating structure [sufficiently illustrated fig. 12 BB],
wherein the first portion of the insulating structure surrounds the feedthrough via and isolates the feedthrough via from the metal gate structures [sufficiently illustrated fig. 12] and a second portion of the insulating structure [fig. 13 the portion in CC].
Xie does not teach the second portion of the insulating structure contacts a top surface of the feedthrough via.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Xie in view of Chen such that “a second portion of the insulating structure contacts a top surface of the feedthrough via”.
A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to insulate the top surface of the feedthrough via within a gate cut region.
Further combining equivalents known for the same purpose is prima facie type obviousness [See MPEP 2144.06]. In this case Dielectric insulating layers for insulating a feedthrough via.
Claim 18 Xie in view of Chen teaches as shown above the method of claim 17, wherein the S/D contacts are slot S/D contacts separated from each other by the insulating structure [sufficiently illustrated fig. 13]; and each of the S/D contacts land on multiple S/D features in the S/D regions [sufficiently illustrated fig. 13 in view of fig. 1].
Claim 19 Xie in view of Chen teaches as shown above the method of claim 17, wherein the forming of the feedthrough via further includes: performing an etching process to the insulating structure to form a feedthrough via trench in the insulating structure such that the S/D contacts are exposed within the feedthrough via trench [illustrated fig. 10 and disclosed Paragraph 0047];
depositing a conductive material (1202 fig. 12) in the feedthrough via trench;
performing planarize process to form the top surface of the structure comprising the S/D contacts and the feed through via (604, 602, 214, and 402 fig. 6 sufficiently disclosed paragraph 41-42 “CMP”).
Xie does not explicitly teach performing a planarize process to form the feedthrough via.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use CMP to form the feed through via such that “a planarize process to form the feedthrough via” to remove excess material [sufficiently disclosed paragraph 0042].
Claim 20 modified Xie in view of Chen as shown above teaches the method of claim 17, wherein after forming the feedthrough via, a portion of the insulating structure remains between the feedthrough via and the isolation structure along the second direction [sufficiently illustrated fig. 13].
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over by Xie and in view of Chen as applied above, and in further view of Wang.
Claim 15 Xie teaches as shown above the semiconductor structure of claim 13, wherein the S/D contact is disposed directly on and along top of the first and second S/D features [sufficiently illustrated fig. 13].
Xie does not teach the S/D contact is disposed directly on and along side surfaces of the S/D features.
Wang teaches a S/D contact (71 fig. 21A) is disposed directly on and along side surfaces of S/D features (inside surfaces of 116 fig. 21A).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Xie in further view of Wang such that “the S/D contacts land directly on and along side surfaces of the S/D features”.
A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to increase the effective contact area between the S/D contact and the S/D features and/or reduce contact resistance.
Further combining equivalents known for the same purpose is prima facie type obviousness [See MPEP 2144.06]. In this case it is S/D contact structures for powering and/or addressing S/D features.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/WCT/Examiner, Art Unit 2893
/Britt Hanley/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2893