DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 6-8, 10, 14-16, 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2016/0329238 to Tang in view of US 2022/0093388 to Nakatani in view of US 2022/0119939 to Noh in view of US 2018/0190489 to Li.
Tang teaches a method for using ALD to gapfill during STI [0030]. The variant ALD cycle includes a first step of supplying a nitrogen (ammonia) plasma [0033] followed by standard silica ALD (Id.) (i.e., a first silicon reactant, purge, a second oxygen reactant, purge [0042]). The cycle is repeated until the desired thickness is achieved [0042]. The nitrogen plasma does form a gradient within the trench (Fig. 4), which causes the silica film to grow at a greater rate within the portion of the trench that has the least nitrogen functionalization (Fig. 5A-5D).
Tang does not teach the inhibitor includes organic aminosilane molecules or thermal ALD.
However, Nakatani teaches a substantially identical process wherein the inhibitor includes organic aminosilane molecules [0144-0148]. Nakatani does go on to describe a thermal scheme for performing the process [0107], a plasma scheme [0108], and under these schemes supplying the aminosilane [0110-0114]. The oxygen containing reactant can be ozone or water [0181; 0093]
Noh teaches a gapfill process substantially similar to that of Tang. Noh also states the process is applicable to all vapor deposition, including thermal ALD [0046; 0134] where the modifications related to thermal vs. plasma are known [0140].
Regarding the surface chemistry involved including the inhibitor binding to hydroxylated sites on the substrate to suppress film nucleation, it is noted that Nakatani does teach a SiO surface has a good reactivity with the inhibitor [0056-0058]. It is the position of the examiner that SiO surfaces have reactive hydroxylated sites, and by attaching an inhibitor to these sites the film nucleation of later steps is suppressed. For example, Li teaches a method where an inhibitor species reacts with -OH terminated (i.e., hydroxylated) dielectric SiO2 surfaces [0019] to inhibit nucleation of precursors at a downstream process [0010].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to practice the method of Tang and include organic aminiosilane molecules as an inhibitor because Nakatani teaches organic aminiosilane molecules are suitable for this purpose and substitute the plasma process for a thermal process which requires a higher temperature but does not require the added complication of plasma generation. The surface chemistry is shown to be an inhibitor occupying reactive -OH sites on a SiO dielectric surface.
Claims 6-7, 14:
Noh explicitly states deposition may take varying lengths of time. Deposition continues as long as deemed necessary to produce a film with necessary properties [0145]. Therefore, time amount of time the substrate is exposed to inhibitor material is a result effective variable, inclusive of the values from 2-20 seconds, and would have been obvious through routine optimization. Additionally, the film thickness varies from several angstroms to several hundred microns (Id.).
Claim(s) 9, 17, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2016/0329238 to Tang in view of US 2022/0093388 to Nakatani in view of US 2022/0119939 to Noh in view of US 2018/0190489 to Li in view of US 2007/0275166 to Thridandam.
Previously cited prior art is discussed above but does not teach the claimed aminosilane precursors. However, Thridandam teaches a method for forming a silica layer on a substrate by CVD using an organoaminosilane precursor, such as diisopropylaminosilane (abstract). CVD is meant to encompass ALD [0023]. The oxygen source is ozone [0024]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to practice the method of Tang and use the silicon precursors of Thridandam in order to form a silica layer. Thridandam demonstrates that these silicon precursors are suitable for the formation of a silica layer in vapor deposition processes such as ALD.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 7/15/26, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) under 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive in light of co-filed claim amendments. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of further search.
The above discussed Tang reference teaches the oxygen-containing precursors and the Li reference teaches the hydroxylated sited on the surface.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALEX A ROLLAND/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1759