DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 10461161 (Kinzer) in view of US 20220320327 (Kim et al).
Concerning claim 1, Kinzer discloses a semiconductor device (Fig. 2), comprising: a gate structure (230) and first (222/247) and second (221/245) source/drain (S/D) regions on a substrate (205) (Fig. 2); a gate contact structure (223) electrically connected to the gate structure (col. 7 lines 4-6); first (227) and second (225) S/D contact structures electrically connected to the first and second S/D regions (col. 6 lines 58-65), respectively; and . . . artificial field plates (243a-243t) disposed between the gate contact structure and the first S/D contact structure, wherein . . . artificial field plates . . . and electrically separated from the first and second S/D contact structures (col. 5 lines 34-43).
Kinzer does not disclose a plurality of columns of artificial field plates . . . each column of the plurality of columns of artificial plates comprises a plurality of artificial filed plates vertically aligned in a plan view. Kim discloses a semiconductor power device configuration (Fig. 5) in which the first field plate 371 includes one first subplate 371′ which is formed in an integrated manner, but the disclosure is not limited thereto, and the first field plate 371 may include a plurality of first subplates (not shown). The second field plate 372 may include a plurality of second subplates 372′ spaced apart from each other, and the third field plate 373 may include a plurality of third subplates 373′ spaced apart from each other. Accordingly, the first, second, and third field plates 371, 372, and 373 may be provided to have an increasing distance from the channel layer 100 in the direction from the gate 150 toward the drain 132 ([0081]-[0083]). Kim discloses that the plurality of field plates 171, 172, and 173 having an increasing distance from the channel layer 110 in the direction from the gate 150 toward the drain 132 are provided in the passivation layer 160, an electric field formed between the gate 150 and the drain 132 may be controlled more effectively, which may lead to an increased breakdown voltage. In addition, the plurality of field plates 171, 172, and 173 may reduce the capacitance between the gate 150 and the drain 132 because of the shielding effect, and enhance the characteristics of high power and high frequency ([0069]). Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the configuration of the field plates of Kinzer such that they are formed as a plurality of columns of artificial field plates with each column of the plurality of columns of artificial plates comprises a plurality of artificial filed plates vertically aligned in a plan view as disclosed by Kim in order to enhance the characteristics of high power and high frequency in the device.
Considering claim 2, Kinzer in view of Kim discloses wherein the first S/D region is a drain region and the first S/D contact structure is electrically connected to the drain region (Kinzer col. 6 lines 58-65).
Continuing to claim 3, Kinzer in view of Kim discloses wherein a first distance between the first S/D contact structure and the gate contact structure is greater than a second distance between the second S/D contact structure and the gate contact structure (Kinzer Fig. 2 and Kim Fig. 5).
Referring to claim 4, Kinzer in view of Kim discloses wherein a distance between the first S/D contact structure and the one or more artificial field plates ranges from about 1 µm to about 18 µm (Kinzer col. 6 lines 16-30 note that it is disclosed that the gate-drain separation can be reduced below 18 microns and that the artificial field plates are formed within the region between the drain and gate region and therefore the distance between the one or mor artificial plate falls within the claimed range).
Regarding claim 5, Kinzer in view of Kim discloses wherein a size of each of the one or more artificial field plates ranges from about 0.5 µm2 to about 10 µm2 (Kinzer col. 5 lines 15-33 and col. 8 lines 1-24).
(It is noted that feature 240 is square-shaped (examiner is interpreting that the square has 4 equal sides) and that the width (and height based on shape) of feature 240 is disclosed to be from 1 to 5 microns (with the examiner relying on the middle of this range 3 microns for examination purposes). It is also noted that the width of features 243a-243t (which have the same height as feature 240) are disclosed to be from 2 to 4 microns (with the examiner relying on the middle of this range 3 microns for examination purposes). Therefore the size of the one or more artificial plates would be 9 sq microns (µm2) which falls within the claimed range).
Pertaining to claim 6, Kinzer in view of Kim discloses wherein a number of the one or more artificial field plates ranges from about 1 to about 1000 (Kinzer col. 8 lines 1-24, it is noted that the number of artificial field plates goes from “a” to “t” and therefore there are at least 20 field plates in the disclosed invention).
As to claim 7, Kinzer in view of Kim discloses further comprising an additional field plate (Kinzer 240) disposed between the gate contact structure and the first S/D contact structure and electrically connected to the second S/D contact structure (Kinzer Fig. 2 and Kim Fig. 5), wherein the one or more artificial field plates are disposed between the additional field plate and the first S/D contact structure (Kinzer Fig. 2 and Kim Fig. 5).
Concerning claim 8, Kinzer in view of Kim discloses wherein the one or more artificial field plates comprise a conductive material in the gate structure, a conductive material in the gate contact structure, a conductive material in the first and second S/D contact structures, or a conductive material in an interconnect structure of the semiconductor device (Kinzer col. 7 lines 15-25).
Considering claim 9, Kinzer discloses a semiconductor device (Fig. 2), comprising: a first gallium nitride (GaN) layer (210) on a substrate (205) (col. 6 lines 30-32); an aluminum gallium nitride (AlGaN) (215) layer on the first GaN layer (col. 6 lines 32-33); a second GaN layer (230) on the AlGaN layer (col. 7 lines 4-10, it is noted that this layer is disclosed as being a compound semiconductor including gallium and nitrogen (GaN) which the examiner is relying on for examination purposes); a gate contact structure (223) in . . . contact with the second GaN layer; first (227) and second (225) source/drain (S/D) contact structures in . . . contact with the AlGaN layer (Fig. 2, note that the source and drain contact structures are in contact with the source drain regions that are formed in the AlGaN layer), wherein the first and second S/D contact structures are disposed at opposite sides of the gate contact structure (Fig. 2); and one or more artificial field plates (243a-243t) disposed above the AlGaN layer and between the gate contact structure and the first S/D contact structure (Fig. 2), wherein the one or more artificial field plates are separated from the first and second S/D contact structures (col. 5 lines 34-43).
Kinzer does not disclose that the gate contact structure is in direct physical contact with the second Gan layer and first and second source/drain (S/D) contact structures in direct physical contact with the AlGaN layer. However, Kim discloses a semiconductor power device configuration (Fig. 4) in which a first gallium nitride (GaN) layer (110) on a substrate ([0055]-[0056]); an aluminum gallium nitride (AlGaN) (120) layer on the first GaN layer ([0059]); a second GaN layer (140) on the AlGaN layer ([0061]) wherein the gate contact structure is in direct physical contact with the second Gan layer and first and second source/drain (S/D) contact structures in direct physical contact with the AlGaN layer (Fig. 4). Kim discloses that to overcome limitations to improve the efficiency of silicon-based power devices due to limitations in silicon properties and manufacturing processes., research and development has been conducted to enhance the conversion efficiency by applying group III-V compound semiconductors, such as GaN, etc. to the power device and offers the configuration of Fig. 4 as a solution ([0004]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the configuration of the gate contact structure, first GaN layer, AlGaN layer, and second GaN layer such that the gate contact structure is in direct physical contact with the second Gan layer and first and second source/drain (S/D) contact structures in direct physical contact with the AlGaN layer to arrive at the configuration of Kim and overcome limitations to improve the efficiency in the device.
Continuing to claim 10, Kinzer in view of Kim discloses wherein the first S/D contact structure is a drain contact structure (Kinzer col. 6 lines 58-65) and the first and second GaN layers comprise different types of dopants (Kinzer col. 6 lines 32-33 and col. 7 lines 4-10, it is noted that the first GaN is not disclosed as being doped and the second GaN (for examination purposes) is disclosed as being doped with N or P dopants therefore these layers are disclosed as comprising different type of dopants (one with P and the other with none)).
Referring to claim 11, Kinzer in view of Kim discloses wherein a first distance between the first S/D contact structure and the gate contact structure is greater than a second distance between the second S/D contact structure and the gate contact structure (Kinzer Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 12, Kinzer in view of Kim discloses wherein a distance between the first S/D contact structure and the one or more artificial field plates ranges from about 1 µm to about 18 µm (Kinzer col. 6 lines 16-30 note that it is disclosed that the gate-drain separation can be reduced below 18 microns and that the artificial field plates are formed within the region between the drain and gate region and therefore the distance between the one or mor artificial plate falls within the claimed range).
Pertaining to claim 13, Kinzer in view of Kim discloses wherein a size of each of the one or more artificial field plates ranges from about 0.5 µm2 to about 10 µm2 (Kinzer col. 5 lines 15-33 and col. 8 lines 1-24).
(It is noted that feature 240 is square-shaped (examiner is interpreting that the square has 4 equal sides) and that the width (and height based on shape) of feature 240 is disclosed to be from 1 to 5 microns (with the examiner relying on the middle of this range 3 microns for examination purposes). It is also noted that the width of features 243a-243t (which have the same height as feature 240) are disclosed to be from 2 to 4 microns (with the examiner relying on the middle of this range 3 microns for examination purposes). Therefore the size of the one or more artificial plates would be 9 sq microns (µm2) which falls within the claimed range)
As to claim 14, Kinzer in view of Kim discloses wherein a number of the one or more artificial field plates ranges from about 1 to about 1000 (Kinzer col. 8 lines 1-24, it is noted that the number of artificial field plates goes from “a” to “t” and therefore there are at least 20 field plates in the disclosed invention).
Concerning claim 15, Kinzer in view of Kim discloses further comprising an additional field plate (240) disposed between the gate contact structure and the first S/D contact structure and electrically connected to the second S/D contact structure (Kinzer Fig. 2), wherein the one or more artificial field plates are disposed between the additional field plate and the first S/D contact structure (Kinzer Fig. 2).
Considering claim 16, Kinzer in view of Kim discloses wherein the one or more artificial field plates comprise GaN, titanium nitride, titanium, or copper (Kinzer col. 6 lines 4-15, note that the structure 235 which includes the artificial filed plates is disclosed as comprising GaN).
Claim(s) 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 10461161 (Kinzer) in view of US 20120018735 (Ishii).
Continuing to claim 17, Kinzer discloses a method (Fig. 2), comprising: forming a first gallium nitride (GaN) layer (210) on a substrate (205) (col. 6 lines 30-32); forming an aluminum gallium nitride (AlGaN) (215) layer on the first GaN layer (col. 6 lines 32-33); forming a second GaN layer (230) on the AlGaN layer (col. 7 lines 4-10, it is noted that this layer is disclosed as being a compound semiconductor including gallium and nitrogen (GaN) which the examiner is relying on for examination purposes); forming first (227) and second (225) source/drain (S/D) contact structures in contact with the second GaN layer; first (227) (Fig. 2, note that the source and drain contact structures are in contact with the source drain regions that are formed in the AlGaN layer), wherein the first and second S/D contact structures are disposed at opposite sides of the second GaN layer (Fig. 2), a gate contact structure (223) in contact with the second GaN layer (Fig. 2);and forming one or more artificial field plates (243a-243t) . . . between the gate contact structure and the first S/D contact structure (Fig. 2), wherein the one or more artificial field plates are separated from the first and second S/D contact structures (col. 5 lines 34-43).
Kinzer does not disclose forming a nitride layer on top surfaces of the first and second S/D contact structures; and forming one or more artificial field plates on the nitride layer and between the gate contact. However, Ishii discloses a semiconductor device configuration (Fig. 2) in which a first gallium nitride (GaN) layer (14) on a substrate (10); forming an aluminum gallium nitride (AIGaN) layer (16) on the first GaN layer; forming a second GaN layer (18) on the AlGaN layer; forming first and second source/drain (S/D) contact structures (20 and 22) in contact with the AlGaN layer, wherein the first and second S/D contact structures are disposed at opposite sides of the second GaN layer (Fig. 2); forming a gate contact structure (24)in contact with the second GaN layer; forming a nitride layer (26) on top surfaces of the first and second S/D contact structures (Fig. 2 and [0019]-[0021]). In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966) (The court held that the configuration of the claimed disposable plastic nursing container was a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed container was significant.). See MPEP 2144.04 IV B. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention date to modify the configuration of Kinzer in view of the invention of Ishii such that a nitride layer is formed on top surfaces of the first and second S/D contact structures; and one or more artificial field plates are formed on the nitride layer and between the gate contact absent evidence that such configuration is significant.
Referring to claim 18, Kinzer in view of Ishii discloses wherein forming the first and second S/D contact structures comprises: forming the first S/D contact structure having a first distance from the gate contact structure; and forming the second S/D contact structure having a second distance from the gate contact structure, wherein the first distance is greater than the second distance (Kinzer Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 19, Kinzer in view of Ishii discloses wherein forming the one or more artificial field plates comprises forming the one or more artificial field plates at a distance ranging from about 1 µm to about 18 µm from the first S/D contact structure. (Kinzer col. 6 lines 16-30 note that it is disclosed that the gate-drain separation can be reduced below 18 microns and that the artificial field plates are formed within the region between the drain and gate region and therefore the distance between the one or mor artificial plate falls within the claimed range)
Pertaining to claim 20. Kinzer in view of Ishii discloses wherein forming the one or more artificial field pates comprises forming the one or more artificial field plates having a size ranging from about 0.5 µm2 to about 10 µm2 (Kinzer col. 5 lines 15-33 and col. 8 lines 1-24).
(It is noted that feature 240 is square-shaped (examiner is interpreting that the square has 4 equal sides) and that the width (and height based on shape) of feature 240 is disclosed to be from 1 to 5 microns (with the examiner relying on the middle of this range 3 microns for examination purposes). It is also noted that the width of features 243a-243t (which have the same height as feature 240) are disclosed to be from 2 to 4 microns (with the examiner relying on the middle of this range 3 microns for examination purposes). Therefore the size of the one or more artificial plates would be 9 sq microns (µm2) which falls within the claimed range).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 9, and 17 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/VALERIE N NEWTON/Examiner, Art Unit 2897 04/23/26
/CHAD M DICKE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2897