Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I in the reply filed on 3/12/26 is acknowledged.
Claims 17-19 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 3/12/26.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 11, 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 11 recites the limitation, the second engaging structure. However, this was not previously introduced, and it is unclear where it came from and its relationship with other elements of the apparatus. While claim 10 mentions a second engaging portion, it is unclear if and how the second engaging structure is related. Claim 15 recites, the one or more tilt-adjusting structures. However, there was no previous mention of multiple tilt adjusting structures and it unclear where and how they came from and their relationship with other elements of the apparatus. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Kikuchi (JP 2017157594).
Regarding claim 1. Kikuchi teaches in the drawings a substrate processing apparatus (heat treatment apparatus for wafers [16 17] fig. 1) comprising: a nozzle (injector/nozzle 110 [26 27] fig. 1-4) arranged along an inner wall surface of a process vessel (fig. 1, 2, 110 along circumference of inner surface of process container 10) and provided at least in a lower portion of the process vessel (110 extends to the bottom/lower part of 10, fig. 1, 2) with a gap between the nozzle and the inner wall surface of the process vessel (fig. 1, 2, there is spacing between 110 and inside of 10 along entire length of 110/10 extending to their lower parts); a nozzle base (combined holder 140+support portion 91 screwed together [28 32-37, 39] at the bottom of 110 fig. 1, 3, 5-9, to serve as a foundation/support base and secure/allowing tilt for 110, consistent w/ applicant’s 32 having several parts screwed together serving as nozzle base and allowing tilt, his fig. 3-8) configured to support the nozzle (as discussed, secures and holds 110 from the bottom, fig. 1 3-9 [28 32-39]), wherein a flow path (fig. 8, 91 has a side flow path connecting the inside of gas nozzle 110) communicating with the nozzle (as discussed) is provided in the nozzle base (as discussed, fig. 8);
a support structure (plug 102 which is a horizontal ring plate supporting the bottom of 110, fig. 6-9, consistent w/ applicant’s horizontal support 33; alternately, 141 also forms a support/base for 140 fig. 5) provided along the inner wall surface (102 based on its location below 110 is along near the bottom edge/rim of the inside of 10, fig. 1-8, consistent w/ applicant’s 33 below the inner face of 4ab fig. 3; 141 also extends laterally along the lower part of inside of 10, fig. 1 7 16) and joined to a first joint surface of the nozzle base (fig. 6-9, 102 is joined to the inner circular surface of 92 in 91; 141 joined to top of 91 at a horizontal interface fig. 5 6), wherein the first joint surface of the nozzle base does not face the inner wall surface (fig. 6-9, 1, the circular inner surface of 92 faces inward towards the hole 92/102 when inserted and not towards inner surface of 10; also surface between 141/91 is horizontal/faces upwards, not outwards facing 10);
and a tilt-adjusting structure (connecting member 143 [40] fig. 5 9 13) configured to be capable of adjusting a tilt of the nozzle base at a position shifted toward a center of the process vessel (fig. 5ab the 143 is elastic/flexible, allowing flexing/tilting of 140/141-145, at least momentarily, forwards to the inside of the 10, eg towards left fig. 5 [50]; it is noted the center of 10 can be both directions/left or right, since the center of the entire 10/process space is left/away from the wall and center/middle of the wall of 10 is right since it is moving towards the wall [50], fig. 1, 5, 7) and away from a center of gravity of a nozzle assembly comprising the nozzle and the nozzle base (fig. 5, 140 is tilted, meaning it is angled/slanted away from the center of its and 110’s gravity/eg symmetric center, i.e. tilted relative to vertical/90).
Regarding claim 2. Kikuchi teaches the substrate processing apparatus of claim 1, further comprising a gas supply pipe provided along the inner wall surface and communicating with the flow path on a side surface of the nozzle base opposite to the support structure (fig. 1, 6, 8, 15, there is a horizontal pipe section eg 115b [71] 96 [32 33] which is along the bottom of the inner wall of 10 and flow connects w/ the flow path of the vertical nozzle at the outward facing side of the nozzle base/91+140+102 eg fig. 8, 15 and facing/opposite to 102 right under the vertical section as prev discussed).
Regarding claim 3. Kikuchi teaches the substrate processing apparatus of claim 2, wherein the process vessel is of a cylindrical shape ([17]) extending laterally (fig. 1, has a width/lateral extending), and the nozzle extends vertically along the inner wall surface (fig. 1, nozzle 110 extends up along the inner surface of 10), and wherein the nozzle base and the support structure extend laterally along the inner wall surface (110 and said 140/91 have x or width dimension, thus extend at least some lateral distance/x-coord along the lower part of the inner side of 10 fig. 1, 7) and are joined by one or more fastening structures (140, 91 joined via fastener 146/144 fig 5) at a plane substantially parallel (joined at flat horizontal plane fig. 5) to a direction in which the nozzle extends (the nozzles have a width thus also extend laterally/horizontally, thus also parallel to said lateral plane) and substantially parallel to a line connecting the nozzle and the center of the process vessel (if we draw a radial line from the nozzle to the 10’s center, it is also lateral, hence parallel to said horizontal/lateral plane).
Regarding claim 4. Kikuchi teaches the substrate processing apparatus of claim 3, wherein each of the one or more fastening structures comprises a bolt comprising either a right-hand thread or a left-hand thread (as disc, the 144/145 is a threaded bolt/screw [47 54] and all screws have their threads angled either ccw or cw/left or right handed threads in order to go into something) such that each of the one or more fastening structures is further tightened as the tilt-adjusting structure pushes the nozzle base more upward (fig. 5, the bolts if 143 moves sideways, at least a portion of 140/91 will rise upward due to tilt and if it is tilted as in fig. 5b, the downward F1 pushes the screw more to 91, increasing tightening effect; further this is an intended use related to operation and does not further add structure, MPEP 2114).
Regarding claim 5. Kikuchi teaches the substrate processing apparatus of claim 3, wherein each of the one or more fastening structures comprises a bolt comprising either a right-hand thread or a left-hand thread (as disc in claim 4) such that the one or more fastening structures is further tightened as the nozzle tilts more in a direction in which a front end of the nozzle faces toward an outside of the process vessel (eg fig. 5, when the nozzle is tilted right ie. Towards the wall/outside of 10, the base of 141 presses upwards to the head of the screw, tightening their contact; further this is an intended use related to operation and does not further add structure, MPEP 2114).
Regarding claim 6. Kikuchi teaches the substrate processing apparatus of claim 3, wherein the process vessel comprises: a reaction tube (said 10 cylindrical tube [17] fig. 1) provided with an opening ([23]) at a lower end thereof ([23] fig. 1); and a flange tube (the combined outer gas introduction section 95 of manifold 90 [32]+base plate 130 [30] ringed around bottom of 10, 90, fig. 1, 2, which are tubular/surrounds around the bottom edge of 10) made of a metal ([30] stainless steel) and connected to the opening of the reaction tube (fig. 1, physically coupled/surrounding said opening), wherein a gas inlet port (gas flow path 96 [32 33]), through which an end of the gas supply pipe opposite to the nozzle base is inserted (fig. 15, said pipe 115b is inserted thru the equivalent passage 96 of 95 of fig. 2), is provided on a side surface of the flange tube (the outermost opening of 96 opens at the outer end of 95 fig. 2), and wherein the nozzle assembly further comprises the gas supply pipe (as disc previously, 115b part of the nozzle assembly connected to 110 fig. 15), and the center of gravity of the nozzle assembly is provided closer to an inner wall surface of the reaction tube than a straight line connecting a point where the gas inlet port supports the gas supply pipe and a point where the tilt-adjusting structure supports the nozzle base (assuming the straight line between where the outlet 96 meets 115b at 95 outside and 140/143, if we assume a point on the closest to 143 and the gravity point of 110 higher near the mid point, if 110 is tilted out towards 110’s wall, this is true; further, this is an intended use related to operation and does not further add structure, MPEP 2114).
Regarding claim 7. Kikuchi teaches the substrate processing apparatus of claim 6, wherein the flange tube is provided with a bracket (support section 91 projecting from 95, fig. 1-7 16 17) extending inward from a circumferential surface of the flange tube (extends inward toward center of 10 from the inner edge/circumference of 95, fig. 1-7 16 17), and the support structure is fastened at one end of the support structure to a bottom surface of the bracket (fig 6-8 102 held at the upper edge to the bottom ledge of 91) by a joint bolt to support the nozzle base (there is a hexagonal nut/screw head fixing the 102 at the bottom of 91, fig. 8).
Regarding claim 8. Kikuchi teaches the substrate processing apparatus of claim 7, wherein each of the one or more fastening structures comprises: a first bolt that is screwed into the bracket (as discussed, fig. 8 screwed into/through the bottom of 91 fig. 5-8) and passes through the support structure (passes through 102); and a second bolt (fig. 7, there are multiple nozzles with multiple said bolts/screws in 102) that is screwed into the support structure (as discussed, screwed into 102) and abuts on the bottom surface of the bracket (as discussed, said screw/bolt penetrates upwards through the bottom of 91 through 92).
Regarding claim 9. Kikuchi teaches the substrate processing apparatus of claim 1, wherein the support structure is provided with an angle structure (fig. 6 8, the upper cylindrical part of 102 having a normal angle) extending downward from a position at which the support structure is joined to the nozzle base (fig. 5-8 the upper columnar part of 102 extends down from where the top of 102 is joined to the top opening of 91) and then extending laterally below the nozzle base (fig. 5-8 the lower wider part of 102 extends laterally below the lower ledge part of 91), and the tilt-adjusting structure is provided on the angle structure (143/140 is supported, at least indirectly, on and over the edge parts of 102, fig. 6-8).
Regarding claim 10. Kikuchi teaches the substrate processing apparatus of claim 1, wherein the nozzle base (as disc in claim 1) comprises a first engaging portion and a second engaging portion (eg 141 and upper part of 91/or upper part 142, engaged/bound to each other fig. 5 6 8) that are formed separably (fig. 6, 8 they are separate structures) and joined by a second joint surface (fig. 6 8 they are connected by an interface in the case of 141/91 or at least a diagonal interface through 141/142 slanting thru both, as can be imagined/seen by drawing a diagonal plane through them).
Regarding claim 11. Kikuchi teaches the substrate processing apparatus of claim 10, wherein each of the first engaging portion and the second engaging structure is provided with a spigot structure around the flow path penetrating the second joint surface (fig. 6, both 141 and 91 form a parts of a bent narrow faucet like structure surrounding the gas flow path penetrating their common interface/intersection, fig. 8).
Regarding claim 12. Kikuchi teaches the substrate processing apparatus of claim 10, wherein each of the first engaging portion and the second engaging portion is capable of being rotated around the flow path penetrating the second joint surface to change an angle thereof (141/142 can be rotated/change angle of orientation, around the flow path in 110 vertically extending through said diagonal plane such as by twisting after taking out screw 144 145/ fig. 5, 7 since the engaging portions of 141 142 are curved).
Regarding claim 13. Kikuchi teaches the substrate processing apparatus of claim 10, wherein the first joint surface is substantially parallel to the second joint surface (fig. 6, the 1st joint surface is vertical which is parallel to at least part of the engaging surface between 141 and top of 91 which also has a vertical portion).
Regarding claim 14. Kikuchi teaches the substrate processing apparatus of claim 1, wherein the nozzle is fixed by the support structure (as discussed, bottom of 110 fixed/held in place by at least 102, fig. 8) with a front end of the nozzle pressed against the inner wall surface of the process vessel (fig. 1, a front/top end of 110 is pressed against/towards the inner face of 10 via 150 via at least forces F4, F4, fig. 5).
Regarding claim 15. Kikuchi teaches the substrate processing apparatus of claim 14, wherein each of the tilt-adjusting structure comprises a bolt penetrating the support structure in a vertical direction and screwed into the support structure (the 4 143s each is a long rod/bolt penetrating/fixed into 141 in the vertical direction and capable of screwing motion due to the circular shape of a rod), and each of the one or more tilt-adjusting structures is configured such that a strength of pressing the front end of the nozzle against the inner wall surface is capable of being set quantitatively in accordance with a rotation amount of the bolt (it is capable to twist to push the 143 up or down since a rod is circular, combined with pulling or pushing motion, thus adjusting how loose or tight each is to adjust tilt of 140, which is capable of adjust the pressure applied by 140 to 110 to push inward or outward against 10).
Regarding claim 16. Kikuchi teaches a nozzle assembly (as disc in claim 1, including at least the various nozzle connected elements, including nozzle, nozzle base, etc, as will be detailed further in this claim) comprising: a nozzle base (claim 1) configured to be capable of supporting a nozzle (claim 1) such that the nozzle is arranged along an inner wall surface of a process vessel (claim 1) and provided at least in a lower portion of the process vessel with a gap between the nozzle and the inner wall surface of the process vessel, wherein a flow path communicating with the nozzle is provided in the nozzle base; a support structure provided along the inner wall surface and joined to a first joint surface of the nozzle base, wherein the first joint surface of the nozzle base does not face the inner wall surface; and a tilt-adjusting structure configured to be capable of adjusting a tilt of the nozzle base at a position shifted toward a center of the process vessel and away from a center of gravity of the nozzle assembly (see claim 1, wherein the center of gravity of the nozzle assembly refers to a center of gravity of a nozzle assembly comprising the nozzle and the nozzle base).
Conclusion
/YUECHUAN YU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1718