DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment dated March 3, 2026, in which claims 1, 11, and 21 were amended, claim 12 was cancelled, and claim 28 was added, has been entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Huang et al. (U.S. Pub. 2020/0006183) [Hereafter “Huang”].
Regarding claim 1, Huang [Fig.2R] discloses a device, comprising:
a first dielectric layer [156];
a second dielectric layer [170] disposed over the first dielectric layer, wherein the second dielectric layer and the first dielectric layer have different material compositions [Paras.22,26];
a metal-insulator-metal (MIM) structure [160] embedded in the second dielectric layer [170], wherein a bottommost surface of the MIM structure [162] is separated from the first dielectric layer [156] by a portion of the second dielectric layer [158]; and
a third dielectric layer [186] disposed over the second dielectric layer, wherein the third dielectric layer and the second dielectric layer have different material compositions [Para.33].
Regarding claims 2-3, Huang [Fig.2R] discloses a device
wherein: the first dielectric layer [156] or the third dielectric layer [186] contains silicon nitride (SiN) [Paras.22,33]; and
the second dielectric layer [170 (158/167)] contains silicon oxide (SiO2) [Paras.22,26];
wherein: the MIM structure [160] includes a plurality of metal-containing layers [162,166,169] and a plurality of insulator layers [164,168]; and
each of the insulator layers is sandwiched between two respective metal-containing layers [160, Fig.2L].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5-8, 21-22, and 24-25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang et al. (U.S. Pub. 2020/0006183) in view of Wu (U.S. Pub. 2020/0105862).
Regarding claim 5, Huang [Fig.2R] discloses a conductive structure [175-177] that extends vertically through the first dielectric layer [156] and the second dielectric layer [170], but fails to explicitly disclose the conductive structure that extends vertically through the first dielectric layer, the second dielectric layer, and the third dielectric layer. However, Wu [Fig.1] discloses a device comprising conductive structure [93/94/1299] that extends vertically through the first dielectric layer [123], the second dielectric layer [124-125], and the third dielectric layer [1287]. It would have been obvious to provide the conductive structure as claimed, since it has been held that applying a known technique to a known process in order to yield predictable results would have been obvious. Further, it would have been obvious to try one of the known methods with a reasonable expectation of success. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Regarding claims 6-8, Huang [Fig.2R] discloses a device,
wherein the conductive structure [175-177] extends vertically through the MIM structure [260];
wherein the conductive structure contains copper but not aluminum [Para.44];
further comprising:
a fourth dielectric layer [150] disposed below the first dielectric layer [156]; and
a metal component [153-155] embedded in the fourth dielectric layer, wherein the conductive structure [175-177] is disposed on, and electrically coupled to, the metal component.
Regarding claim 21, Huang [Fig.2R] discloses a device, comprising:
a first layer [156];
a second layer [170] disposed over the first layer, wherein the second layer and the first layer have different material compositions [Paras.22,26];
a metal-insulator-metal (MIM) structure [160] embedded in the second layer [170], wherein the MIM structure includes a plurality of metal-containing layers [162,166,169] and a plurality of insulator layers [164,168], and at least one of the insulator layers is sandwiched between two different ones of the metal-containing layers;
a third layer [186] disposed over the second layer, wherein the third layer and the second layer have different material compositions [Para.33]; and
a conductive structure [175-177] that extends vertically through the first layer, the second layer, and the MIM structure.
Huang fails to explicitly disclose the conductive structure that extends vertically through the first layer, the second layer, the MIM structure, and the third layer, wherein an uppermost surface of the conductive structure has a higher vertical elevation than an uppermost surface of the third layer.
However, Wu [Fig.1] discloses a device comprising a conductive structure [93/94/1299] that extends vertically through the first layer [123], the second layer [124-125], the MIM structure, and the third layer [1287], wherein an uppermost surface [1299] of the conductive structure has a higher vertical elevation than an uppermost surface of the third layer [1287].
It would have been obvious to provide the conductive structure as claimed, since it has been held that applying a known technique to a known process in order to yield predictable results would have been obvious. Further, it would have been obvious to try one of the known methods with a reasonable expectation of success. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Regarding claims 22 and 24-25, Huang [Fig.2R] discloses a device
wherein:
the first layer or the third layer [156/186] contains silicon nitride (SiN); and
the second layer [170] contains silicon oxide (SiO2) [Paras.22,26,33];
wherein the conductive structure contains copper but not aluminum [Para.44];
further comprising:
a fourth layer [150] disposed below the first layer [156]; and
a metal component [153-155] located in the fourth layer, wherein the conductive structure [175-177] is electrically coupled to the metal component.
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang et al. (U.S. Pub. 2020/0006183) in view of Wu et al. (U.S. Pub. 2019/0305078) [Hereafter “Wu ’078”].
Claim(s) 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang et al. (U.S. Pub. 2020/0006183) in view of Wu (U.S. Pub. 2020/0105862), as applied above and further in view of Wu et al. (U.S. Pub. 2019/0305078) [Hereafter “Wu ’078”].
Regarding claims 4 and 23, Huang [Para.25] discloses wherein the insulator layers include aluminum oxide and zirconium oxide, but fails to explicitly disclose the device wherein:
each of the metal-containing layers includes a titanium nitride (TiN) layer; and
each of the insulator layers includes a hafnium zirconium oxide (HZO) layer;
at least one of the metal-containing layers includes a titanium nitride (TiN) layer; and
at least one of the insulator layers includes a hafnium zirconium oxide (HZO) layer.
However, Wu ’078 [Fig.1J] discloses and makes obvious a device/structure wherein
each of the metal-containing layers [19,25,30] includes a titanium nitride (TiN) layer [Para.16]; and
each of the insulator layers [24,29] includes a hafnium zirconium oxide (HZO) layer [Paras.23,43];
at least one of the metal-containing layers includes a titanium nitride (TiN) layer; and
at least one of the insulator layers includes a hafnium zirconium oxide (HZO) layer.
Wu ’078 [Para.23] discloses and makes obvious the insulator layers may comprise various high-k dielectric materials including hafnium oxide, aluminum oxide, zirconium oxide, and hafnium zirconium oxide. It would have been obvious to provide wherein the metal-containing layers include a titanium nitride (TiN) layer; and the insulator layers include a hafnium zirconium oxide (HZO) layer, since it has been held that applying a known technique to a known process in order to yield predictable results would have been obvious. Further, it would have been obvious to try one of the known methods with a reasonable expectation of success. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Claim(s) 9 and 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang et al. (U.S. Pub. 2020/0006183) in view of Wu (U.S. Pub. 2020/0105862), as applied above and further in view of Wu (U.S. Pub. 2022/0216141).
Regarding claims 9 and 26, Huang fails to explicitly disclose the device further comprising a fifth dielectric layer disposed between the first dielectric layer and the fourth dielectric layer, wherein the fifth dielectric layer and the first dielectric layer have different material compositions. However, Wu ’141 [Fig.12] discloses a device further comprising a fifth dielectric layer [215] disposed between the first dielectric layer [214] and the fourth dielectric layer [114], wherein the fifth dielectric layer [215] and the first dielectric layer [214] have different material compositions [Paras.24-26]. It would have been obvious to provide the fifth dielectric layer as claimed for the protection of the underlying metallization layer [Wu ’141; Para.25]. It has also been held that applying a known technique to a known process in order to yield predictable results would have been obvious. Further, it would have been obvious to try one of the known methods with a reasonable expectation of success. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Claim(s) 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang et al. (U.S. Pub. 2020/0006183) in view of Wu (U.S. Pub. 2020/0105862), as applied above and further in view of Zhang et al. (U.S. Pub. 2019/0013269) [Hereafter “Zhang”].
Regarding claim 28, Huang and Wu fail to explicitly disclose wherein the conductive structure extends vertically through at least three metal-containing layers of the MIM structure. However, Zhang [Fig.8] discloses a device wherein the conductive structure [62] extends vertically through at least three metal-containing layers [22,26,30,72] of the MIM structure [32]. It would have been obvious to provide the conductive structure as claimed, since it has been held that applying a known technique to a known process in order to yield predictable results would have been obvious. Further, it would have been obvious to try one of the known methods with a reasonable expectation of success. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11 and 13 allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: Applicant’s amendments to the claims and/or arguments were persuasive. Reasons for allowance were also provided in the previous Office Action.
Claims 10 and 27 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Prior art does not fairly disclose or make obvious the claimed device/method taken as a whole, and specifically, the limitations of
wherein:
the first dielectric layer contains silicon nitride (SiN);
the fifth dielectric layer contains silicon carbon nitride (SiCN); and
the conductive structure extends vertically through the fifth dielectric layer;
wherein:
the first layer contains silicon nitride (SiN);
the fifth layer contains silicon carbon nitride (SiCN); and
the conductive structure extends vertically through the fifth layer.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 and 21 have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Overall, Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive. The rejected claims stand rejected and the Action is made Final.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BAC H AU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2898