DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-17, 21-23 in the reply filed on 10/20/25 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-17, 21-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujikata(USPGPUB DOCUMENT: 2015/0277207, hereinafter Fujikata) in view of Nakashiba (USPGPUB DOCUMENT: 2019/0187370, hereinafter Nakashiba).
Re claim 1 Fujikata discloses in Fig 1 a semiconductor structure, comprising: a second electrical waveguide(111A/111B) formed of the first dielectric material(13); and a third electrical waveguide(111A/111B) formed of the first dielectric material(13), wherein the second electrical waveguide(111A/111B) and the third electrical waveguide(111A/111B) are configured to form a composite waveguide together with the first electrical waveguide for transmission of the electrical signal(270)[0083,0084].
Fujikata does not disclose a first electrical waveguide formed of a first dielectric material(13) and configured to transmit an electrical signal(270)[0083,0084]; a second electrical waveguide(111A/111B) formed of the first dielectric material(13) and disposed adjacent to a first side of the first electrical waveguide; and a third electrical waveguide(111A/111B) formed of the first dielectric material(13) and disposed adjacent to a second side of the first electrical waveguide opposite the first side,
Nakashiba disclose in Fig 46 a first electrical waveguide(203 of Nakashiba) formed of a first dielectric material(204 of Nakashib) and configured to transmit an electrical signal[0107 of Nakashib];
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to apply the teachings of Nakashiba to the teachings of Fujikata in order to to improve reliability [0007, Nakashiba]. In doing so, a second electrical waveguide(111A/111B) formed of the first dielectric material(13) and disposed adjacent to a first side of the first electrical waveguide(203 of Nakashiba); and a third electrical waveguide(111A/111B) formed of the first dielectric material(13) and disposed adjacent to a second side of the first electrical waveguide(203 of Nakashiba) opposite the first side,
Re claim 2 Fujikata and Nakashiba disclose the semiconductor structure of claim 1, wherein the first dielectric material(13) comprises silicon nitride.
Re claim 3 Fujikata and Nakashiba disclose the semiconductor structure of claim 1, wherein the electrical signal(270)[0083,0084] has a frequency between about 70 gigahertz and about 100 terahertz.
Re claim 4 Fujikata and Nakashiba disclose the semiconductor structure of claim 1, wherein a thickness of each the first electrical waveguide, the second electrical waveguide(111A/111B) and the third electrical waveguide(111A/111B) is between about 7 pm and about 10 pm.
Re claim 5 Fujikata and Nakashiba disclose the semiconductor structure of claim 1, wherein a first width of the first electrical waveguide is greater than a second width of the second electrical waveguide(111A/111B) or the third electrical waveguide(111A/111B), and wherein a mode field diameter of the electrical signal(270)[0083,0084] is substantially covered by the first electrical waveguide.
Re claim 6 Fujikata and Nakashiba disclose the semiconductor structure of claim 1, wherein one of the second electrical waveguide(111A/111B) and the third electrical waveguide(111A/111B) comprises a protrusion extending from the respective second or third electrical waveguide(111A/111B) and facing the first electrical waveguide.
Re claim 7 Fujikata and Nakashiba disclose the semiconductor structure of claim 6, wherein the protrusion is connected to the first electrical waveguide.
Re claim 8 Fujikata and Nakashiba disclose the semiconductor structure of claim 1, wherein a thickness of at least one of the first electrical waveguide, the second electrical waveguide(111A/111B) and the third electrical waveguide(111A/111B) increases from two sides to a central location of the at least one of the first electrical waveguide, the second electrical waveguide(111A/111B) and the third electrical waveguide(111A/111B).
Re claim 9 Fujikata and Nakashiba disclose the semiconductor structure of claim 1, further comprising:a fourth electrical waveguide formed of silicon nitride and disposed adjacent to a third side of the first electrical waveguide; and a fifth electrical waveguide formed of silicon nitride and disposed adjacent to a fourth side of the first electrical waveguide opposite the third side, wherein the fourth electrical waveguide and the fifth electrical waveguide are configured to form a composite electrical waveguide together with the first, second and third electrical waveguide(111A/111B)s for the electrical signal(270)[0083,0084].
Re claim 10 Fujikata and Nakashiba disclose the semiconductor structure of claim 1, wherein a mode field diameter of the electrical signal(270)[0083,0084] is formed in gaps between the first, second and third electrical waveguide(111A/111B)s.
Re claim 11 Fujikata and Nakashiba disclose the semiconductor structure of claim 10, wherein a first width of the first electrical waveguide is substantially equal to a second with of the second and third electrical waveguide(111A/111B)s.
Re claim 12 Fujikata and Nakashiba disclose the semiconductor structure of claim 11, further comprising a plurality of fourth electrical waveguides to form an array of electrical waveguides together with the first,second, and third electrical waveguide(111A/111B)s, wherein a mode field diameter is covered substantially by the first electrical waveguide.
Re claim 13 Fujikata discloses in Fig 1 a semiconductor package, comprising: a first semiconductor die(131/132) comprising a first semiconductor device configured to transmit an electrical signal(270)[0083,0084]; a second semiconductor die(131/132) adjacent to the first semiconductor die(131/132) and comprising a second semiconductor device configured to receive the electrical signal(270)[0083,0084]; the first signal path configured to transmit the electrical signal(270)[0083,0084] between the first semiconductor die(131/132) and the second semiconductor die(131/132); and a second signal path adjacent to the first signal path and comprising a plurality of second waveguides(111A/111B) formed of a second dielectric material(13), the second signal path configured to transmit an optical signal[0080] and convert the optical signal[0080] to be part of the electrical signal(270)[0083,0084].
Fujikata does not disclose a third semiconductor die adjacent to the first semiconductor die(131/132) and the second semiconductor die(131/132), the third semiconductor die comprising:a first signal path comprising a plurality of first waveguides formed of a first dielectric material(13),
Nakashiba disclose in Fig 46 the third semiconductor die(203 of Nakashiba) comprising:a first signal path comprising a plurality of first waveguides formed of a first dielectric material (204 of Nakashib)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to apply the teachings of Nakashiba to the teachings of Fujikata in order to to improve reliability [0007, Nakashiba]. In doing so, a third semiconductor die (203 of Nakashiba) adjacent to the first semiconductor die(131/132) and the second semiconductor die(131/132),
Re claim 14 Fujikata and Nakashiba disclose the semiconductor package of claim 13, wherein the first dielectric material(13) comprises silicon nitride, and the second dielectric material(13) comprises elementary silicon.
Re claim 15 Fujikata and Nakashiba disclose the semiconductor package of claim 13, wherein the third semiconductor die further comprises: a vertical transition device electrically coupled to the first signal path and configured to transmit the electrical signal(270)[0083,0084] to the first semiconductor die(131/132) through the first signal path; and an optical device optically coupled to the second signal path and configured to transmit the optical signal[0080] to the second semiconductor die(131/132) through the second signal path.
Re claim 16 Fujikata and Nakashiba disclose the semiconductor package of claim 13, wherein one of the first waveguides overlap the first semiconductor die(131/132) and the second semiconductor die(131/132) from a top-view perspective.
Re claim 17 Fujikata and Nakashiba disclose the semiconductor package of claim 13, wherein the first waveguides are arranged in different layers of the third semiconductor die for transmitting the electrical signal(270)[0083,0084], wherein the second waveguides(111A/111B) are also arranged in the different layers for transmitting the optical signal[0080].
Re claim 21 Fujikata discloses in Fig 1 a semiconductor package, comprising: a first semiconductor die(131/132), comprising a first electronic device configured to transmit an electrical signal(270)[0083,0084]; a second semiconductor die(131/132), comprising a second electronic device configured to receive the electrical signal(270)[0083,0084]; a third semiconductor die, comprising: a first signal path comprising a plurality of first waveguides formed of a first dielectric material(13), the first signal path configured to transmit the electrical signal(270)[0083,0084]; and a second signal path adjacent to the first signal path and comprising a plurality of second waveguides(111A/111B) formed of a second dielectric material(13), the second signal path configured to transmit an optical signal[0080]; wherein the first semiconductor die(131/132) is electrically coupled to the second semiconductor die(131/132) through the first signal path and the second signal path.
Fujikata does not disclose wherein the third semiconductor die is electrically connected to the first semiconductor die(131/132) and the second semiconductor die(131/132) that are disposed on a same side of the third semiconductor die,
Nakashiba disclose in Fig 46 wherein the third semiconductor die(203 of Nakashiba)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to apply the teachings of Nakashiba to the teachings of Fujikata in order to to improve reliability [0007, Nakashiba]. In doing so, wherein the third semiconductor die(203 of Nakashiba) is electrically connected to the first semiconductor die(131/132) and the second semiconductor die(131/132) that are disposed on a same side of the third semiconductor die,
Re claim 22 Fujikata and Nakashiba disclose the semiconductor package of claim 21, wherein the first waveguides and the second waveguides(111A/111B) of the third semiconductor die is encapsulating by a third dielectric material that is different from the first and second dielectric material(13)s.
Re claim 23 Fujikata and Nakashiba disclose the semiconductor package of claim 21, wherein the third semiconductor die further comprises a photodetector configured to convert the optical signal[0080] to be part of the electrical signal(270)[0083,0084].
Conclusion
/PATRICIA D VALENZUELA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2812