DETAILED ACTION
Specification
1. The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
2. Claims 1, 3-11, 13, 16 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim et al. (US 2016/0351093).
Re claim 1, Kim teaches, under BRI, Figs. 2 & 8, [0056, 0105, 0116, 0118], a display device comprising:
-electrodes (e.g., in pixels RP along sides of DA & electrodes e.g., SE, DE, GE, E1, E2 shown in Fig. 8) spaced from each other in a display area (DA);
-light emitting elements (OLEDs in center RPs) between the electrodes;
-test electrodes (TVP1, TVP2) spaced from each other in a test area (NDA); and
-a test transistor (TT1) electrically connected to the electrodes (in pixels) and the test electrodes (TVP1, TVP2).
Re claim 3, Kim teaches, Figs. 2 & 8, the electrodes (consider SE, DE, Fig. 8) and the test electrodes (TVP1, 2) extend in same direction (vertical direction).
Re claim 4, Kim teaches, Fig. 2, [0061] a first transistor electrode of the test transistor (TT1) is in contact with the test electrodes (TVP1, 2), and a second transistor electrode of the test transistor (TT1) is in contact with the electrodes (in pixel RP).
Re claim 5, Kim teaches, Fig. 2, [0054], a test line (between TVP & TT1 or crack sensing line CD1) connected to the test transistor (TT1).
Re claim 6, Kim teaches, Fig. 2, [0053], signal lines (S1-Sn) connected to the electrodes (in pixels).
Re claim 7, Kim teaches, Figs. 2 & 8, the test line (CD1) and the signal line (S1) are electrically separated from each other (via IL layers).
Re claim 8, Kim teaches, Fig. 2, a test pad (TP1) connected to the test line (CD1 or line between TVP1 & TT1) (via NDA area).
Re claim 9, Kim teaches, under BRI, Fig. 8, [0113], connection electrodes (TL1, 2) on the light emitting elements (OLED) to be in contact with the light emitting elements (OLED) (via EN layer).
Re claim 10, Kim teaches, under BRI, Figs. 2 & 8, [0056, 0100, 0105, 0113, 0116, 0118], a display device comprising:
-a first electrode and a second electrode (E1, E2 or SE, GE) spaced from each other in a display area (DA);
-light emitting elements (EL of OLEDs or OLEDs in array, Fig. 2) between the first and second electrodes (E1, E2); and
-a first test electrode and a second test electrode (CD1, CD2, TL1, TL2 of sensing lines/touch lines) spaced from each other in a test area (above OLED),
wherein the first electrode (E1) at least partially overlaps the first test electrode (TL2), and
wherein the second electrode (E2) at least partially overlaps the second test electrode (TL1).
Re claim 11, Kim teaches, Fig. 8, the first electrode (E1 or SE) and the first test electrode (TL1) comprise different conductive layers (at different levels).
Re claim 13, Kim teaches, under BRI, Figs. 2 & 8, [0056, 0105, 0116, 0118], a display device comprising:
-electrodes (e.g., in pixels RP along sides of DA & electrodes shown in Fig. 8) spaced from each other in a display area (DA);
-light emitting elements (OLEDs in center RPs) between the electrodes;
-test electrodes (TVP1, TVP2) spaced from each other in a test area (NDA); and
-a conductive pattern (e.g., S/D of IT1, IT2 or conductive lines) between the electrodes (in pixels RP) and the test electrodes (TVP1, 2) (in vertical/horizontal direction).
Re claim 16, Kim teaches, Fig. 2, one end of the conductive pattern (e.g., conductive line) is in contact with the electrodes (in pixels RP), and another end of the conductive pattern is in contact with the test electrodes (TPV1).
Re claim 20, Kim teaches, Fig. 2, the electrodes (in RP) and the test electrodes (TVP1, 2) are spaced apart from each other.
3. Claims 10-13, 15 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sim et al. (US 2021/0332256).
Re claim 10, Sim teaches, under BRI, Figs. 1 & 3, [0052, 0059, 0093], a display device comprising:
-a first electrode and a second electrode (21, 22) spaced from each other in a display area (DPA);
-light emitting elements (30) between the first and second electrodes (21, 22); and
-a first test electrode and a second test electrode (CNE1, 2 as contact electrodes) spaced from each other in a test area (above 30),
wherein the first electrode (21) at least partially overlaps the first test electrode (CNE1), and
wherein the second electrode (22) at least partially overlaps the second test electrode (CNE2).
Note: “test” = labeling or intended use.
Re claims 11 & 12, Sim teaches, Fig. 3, the first electrode (21) and the first test electrode (CNE1) comprises different conductive layers (at different levels), and wherein the first electrode (21) is in contact with the first test electrode (CNE1) through a contact hole (in PAS1).
Re claim 13, Sim teaches, under BRI, Figs. 1 & 3, [0052, 0059, 0093], a display device comprising:
-electrodes (21, 22) spaced from each other in a display area (DPA);
-light emitting elements (30) between the electrodes (21, 22); and
-test electrodes (CNE1, 2 as contact electrodes) spaced from each other in a test area (above 30); and
-a conductive pattern (portion of CNE1 in PAS1) between the electrodes (21, 22) and the test electrodes (CNE1, 2) (in horizontal direction).
Note: “test” = labeling or intended use.
Re claim 15, Sim teaches, Fig. 3, the conductive pattern (portion of CNE1 in PAS1) is on the electrodes (21, 21) and/or the test electrodes.
Re claim 17, Sim teaches, Fig. 3, the electrodes (21, 22) include an open portion (exposed by PAS1) overlapping the conductive pattern (portion of CNE1, 2 in PAS1).
Re claim 18, Sim teaches, Fig. 3, the test electrodes (CNE1, 2) include an open portion (V portion above OP) overlapping the conductive pattern (of CNE1, 2 in OP).
Re claim 19, Sim teaches the conductive pattern comprises a material (e.g., Al) [0112] is different from that of the electrodes (21, 22, e.g., Cu) [0091] and/or the test electrodes.
Re claim 20, Sim teaches, Fig. 3, the electrodes (21, 22) and the test electrodes (CNE1, 2) are spaced apart from each other (by PAS1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claims 2, 14 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Sim et al. (US 2021/0332256).
The teachings of Sim have been discussed above.
Re claims 2 & 14, Kim does not explicitly teach the electrodes and the test electrodes comprise a same conductive layer.
Sim teaches, Fig. 3, the electrodes (consider 21 in Q2-Q2’) and the test electrodes (consider 21 in Q1-Q1’) comprise a same conductive layer.
As taught by Sim, one of ordinary skill in the art would utilize & modify the above teaching to obtain the electrodes and the test electrodes comprise a same conductive layer as claimed, because it aids in achieving cost effective & reducing process steps.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to employ the teaching as taught by Sim in combination with Kim due to above reason.
Re claim 15, in combination cited above, Sim teaches, Fig. 3, the conductive pattern (portion of CNE1 in PAS1) is on the electrodes (21, 21) and/or the test electrodes.
Conclusion
/DUY T NGUYEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2818 5/7/26