DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Application
1. Acknowledgement is made of the amendment received on 8/10/2026. Claims 1-20 are pending in this application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
2. Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 2016/0351093) in view of Sim et al. (US 2021/0332256).
Re claim 1, Kim teaches, under BRI, Figs. 2 & 8, [0056, 0105, 0116, 0118], a display device comprising:
-electrodes (e.g., in pixels RP along sides of DA & electrodes e.g., SE, DE, GE, E1, E2 shown in Fig. 8) spaced from each other in a display area (DA);
-light emitting elements (OLEDs in center RPs) between the electrodes;
-test electrodes (TVP1, TVP2) spaced from each other in a test area (NDA); and
-a test transistor (TT1) electrically connected to the electrodes (in pixels) and the test electrodes (TVP1, TVP2).
Kim does not each the electrodes spaced from each other in plan view; and the light emitting elements between the electrodes in plan view.
Sim teaches, Figs. 2-3, [0059], the electrodes (21, 22) spaced from each other in plan view; and the light emitting elements (30) between the electrodes in plan view.
As taught by Sim, one of ordinary skill in the art would utilize & modify the above teaching into Kim to obtain the electrodes spaced from each other in plan view; and the light emitting elements between the electrodes in plan view as claimed, because it aids in achieving desired display device with improved product liability. Further, it has been held that that rearranging part of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to employ the teaching as taught by Sim in combination with Kim due to above reason.
Re claim 2, Kim does not explicitly teach the electrodes and the test electrodes comprise a same conductive layer.
Sim teaches, Fig. 3, the electrodes (consider 21 in Q2-Q2’) and the test electrodes (consider 21 in Q1-Q1’) comprise a same conductive layer.
As taught by Sim, one of ordinary skill in the art would utilize & modify the above teaching to obtain the electrodes and the test electrodes comprise a same conductive layer as claimed, because it aids in achieving cost effective & reducing process steps.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to employ the teaching as taught by Sim in combination with Kim due to above reason.
Re claim 3, Kim teaches, Figs. 2 & 8, the electrodes (consider SE, DE, Fig. 8) and the test electrodes (TVP1, 2) extend in same direction (vertical direction).
Re claim 4, Kim teaches, Fig. 2, [0061] a first transistor electrode of the test transistor (TT1) is in contact with the test electrodes (TVP1, 2), and wherein a second transistor electrode of the test transistor (TT1) is in contact with the electrodes (in pixel RP).
Re claim 5, Kim teaches, Fig. 2, [0054], a test line (between TVP & TT1 or crack sensing line CD1) connected to the test transistor (TT1).
Re claim 6, Kim teaches, Fig. 2, [0053], signal lines (S1-Sn) connected to the electrodes (in pixels).
Re claim 7, Kim teaches, Figs. 2 & 8, the test line (CD1) and the signal line (S1) are electrically separated from each other (via IL layers).
Re claim 8, Kim teaches, Fig. 2, a test pad (TP1) connected to the test line (CD1 or line between TVP1 & TT1) (via NDA area).
Re claim 9, Kim teaches, under BRI, Fig. 8, [0113], connection electrodes (TL1, 2) on the light-emitting elements (OLED) to be in contact with the light-emitting elements (OLED) (via EN layer).
Re claim 13, Kim teaches, Figs. 2 & 8, a conductive pattern (e.g., S/D of IT1, IT2 or conductive lines) between the electrodes (in pixels RP) and the test electrodes (TVP1, 2) (in vertical/horizontal direction).
Re claim 14, Kim does not explicitly teach the electrodes and the test electrodes comprise a same conductive layer.
Sim teaches, Fig. 3, the electrodes (consider 21 in Q2-Q2’) and the test electrodes (consider 21 in Q1-Q1’) comprise a same conductive layer.
As taught by Sim, one of ordinary skill in the art would utilize & modify the above teaching to obtain the electrodes and the test electrodes comprise a same conductive layer as claimed, because it aids in achieving cost effective & reducing process steps.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to employ the teaching as taught by Sim in combination with Kim due to above reason.
Re claim 15, in combination cited above, Sim teaches, Fig. 3, the conductive pattern (portion of CNE1 in PAS1) is on the electrodes (21, 21) and/or the test electrodes.
Re claim 16, Kim teaches, Fig. 2, one end of the conductive pattern (e.g., conductive line) is in contact with the electrodes (in pixels RP), and another end of the conductive pattern is in contact with the test electrodes (TPV1).
Re claim 17, in combination cited above, Sim teaches, Fig. 3, the electrodes (21, 22) include an open portion (exposed by PAS1) overlapping the conductive pattern (portion of CNE1, 2 in PAS1).
Re claim 18, in combination cited above, Sim teaches, Fig. 3, the test electrodes (CNE1, 2) include an open portion (V portion above OP) overlapping the conductive pattern (of CNE1, 2 in OP).
Re claim 19, in combination cited above, Sim teaches the conductive pattern comprises a material (e.g., Al) [0112] is different from that of the at least one of electrodes (21, 22, e.g., Cu) [0091] or the test electrodes, and wherein the electrodes (21, 22) and the test electrodes (portions of CNE1, 2) are spaced from each other.
Re claim 20, Kim teaches, Figs. 2 & 8, an electronic device comprising the display device (see claim 1 above).
Re claim 10, Kim teaches, under BRI, Figs. 2 & 8, [0056, 0100, 0105, 0113, 0116, 0118], a display device comprising:
-a first electrode and a second electrode (E1, E2 or SE, GE) spaced from each other in a display area (DA);
-light-emitting elements (EL of OLEDs or OLEDs in array, Fig. 2) between the first and second electrodes (E1, E2); and
-a first test electrode and a second test electrode (CD1, CD2, TL1, TL2 of sensing lines/touch lines) spaced from each other in a test area (above OLED),
wherein the first electrode (E1) at least partially overlaps the first test electrode (TL2), and
wherein the second electrode (E2) at least partially overlaps the second test electrode (TL1).
Kim does not each the electrodes spaced from each other in plan view; and the light emitting elements between the electrodes in plan view.
Sim teaches, Figs. 2-3, [0059], the electrodes (21, 22) spaced from each other in plan view; and the light emitting elements (30) between the electrodes in plan view.
As taught by Sim, one of ordinary skill in the art would utilize & modify the above teaching into Kim to obtain the electrodes spaced from each other in plan view; and the light emitting elements between the electrodes in plan view as claimed, because it aids in achieving desired display device with improved product liability. Further, it has been held that that rearranging part of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to employ the teaching as taught by Sim in combination with Kim due to above reason.
Re claim 11, Kim teaches, Fig. 8, the first electrode (E1 or SE) and the first test electrode (TL1) comprise different conductive layers (at different levels).
Re claim 12, in combination cited above, Sim teaches, Fig. 3, wherein the first electrode (21) is in contact with the first test electrode (CNE1) through a contact hole (in PAS1).
3. Claims 1, 10 and 20 are, alternatively, rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sim et al. (US 2021/0332256) in view of Kim et al. (US 2016/0351093).
Re claims 1 & 20, Sim teaches, under BRI, Figs. 1-3, [0052, 0059, 0093], an electronic device & a display device comprising:
-electrodes (21, 22) spaced from each other in plan view in a display area (DPA);
-light-emitting elements (30) between the electrodes (21, 22) in plan view;
-test (*) electrodes (CNE1, 2) spaced from each other in a test area (above 30); and
-a test (*) transistor (T1) electrically connected to the electrodes (21, 22) and the test electrodes (CNE1, 2) (within pixel).
Note: “test” = labeling or intended use.
Sim does not explicitly teach (*) test electrodes & test transistor.
Kim teaches the use of test electrodes (TVP1, 2) & a test transistor (TT1) [0061].
As taught by Kim, one of ordinary skill in the art would utilize & modify the above teaching to obtain test electrodes & test transistor as claimed, because it aids in easily detecting cracks and preventing deterioration of the display device.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to employ the teaching as taught by Kim in combination with Sim due to above reason.
Re claim 10, Sim teaches, under BRI, Figs. 1-3, [0052, 0059, 0093], a display device comprising:
-a first electrode and a second electrode (21, 22) spaced from each other in plan view in a display area (DPA);
-light-emitting elements (30) between the first and second electrodes (21, 22) in plan view; and
-a first test (*) electrode and a second test (*) electrode (CNE1, 2 as contact electrodes) spaced from each other in a test area (above 30),
wherein the first electrode (21) at least partially overlaps the first test (*) electrode (CNE1), and
wherein the second electrode (22) at least partially overlaps the second test (*) electrode (CNE2).
Note: “test” = labeling or intended use.
Sim does not explicitly teach (*) first & second test electrodes.
Kim teaches the use of first & second test electrodes (TVP1, 2) [0061].
As taught by Kim, one of ordinary skill in the art would utilize & modify the above teaching to obtain first & second test electrodes as claimed, because it aids in easily detecting cracks and preventing deterioration of the display device.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to employ the teaching as taught by Kim in combination with Sim due to above reason.
4. Claims 1, 10 and 20 are, alternatively, rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al. (US 2021/0288104) in view of Kim et al. (US 2016/0351093).
Re claims 1 & 20, Yang teaches, under BRI, Figs. 1-9, [0105, 0123, 0124], an electronic device & a display device comprising:
-electrodes (ELT1, 2) spaced from each other in plan view in a display area (DA);
-light-emitting elements (LD) between the electrodes (ELT1, 2) in plan view;
-test (*) electrodes (CNE1, 2) spaced from each other in a test area (above LD); and
-a test (*) transistor (T1) electrically connected to the electrodes (ELT1, 2) and the test electrodes (CNE1, 2) (within pixel).
Note: “test” = labeling or intended use.
Yang does not explicitly teach (*) test electrodes & test transistor.
Kim teaches the use of test electrodes (TVP1, 2) & a test transistor (TT1) [0061].
As taught by Kim, one of ordinary skill in the art would utilize & modify the above teaching to obtain test electrodes & test transistor as claimed, because it aids in easily detecting cracks and preventing deterioration of the display device.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to employ the teaching as taught by Kim in combination with Yang due to above reason.
Re claim 10, Yang teaches, under BRI, Figs. 1-9, [0105, 0123, 0124], a display device comprising:
-a first electrode and a second electrode (ELT1, 2) spaced from each other in plan view in a display area (DA);
-light-emitting elements (LD) between the first and second electrodes (ELT1, 2) in plan view; and
-a first test (*) electrode and a second test (*) electrode (CNE1, 2) spaced from each other in a test area (above LD),
wherein the first electrode (ELT1) at least partially overlaps the first test (*) electrode (CNE1), and
wherein the second electrode (ELT2) at least partially overlaps the second test (*) electrode (CNE2).
Note: “test” = labeling or intended use.
Yang does not explicitly teach (*) first & second test electrodes.
Kim teaches the use of first & second test electrodes (TVP1, 2) [0061].
As taught by Kim, one of ordinary skill in the art would utilize & modify the above teaching to obtain first & second test electrodes as claimed, because it aids in easily detecting cracks and preventing deterioration of the display device.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to employ the teaching as taught by Kim in combination with Sim due to above reason.
Response to Arguments
5. Applicant's arguments with respect to claims have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection. Response to arguments on newly added limitations are responded to in the above rejection.
Conclusion
6. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Kim et al. (US 2018/0175009, Fig. 18) discloses a light emitting device including light emitting element(s) connecting to transistors on a substrate.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DUY T NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2818 9/3/26