DETAILED ACTION
Elections/Restrictions
1. This office action is a response to Applicant's election filed on 02/19/2026 without traverse of Group I, claims 1-12 for further examination. Claims 13-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Priority
3. Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Information Disclosure Statement
4. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 06/23/2023 is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
8. Claims 1-2, 5-7 & 10-12 are rejected under AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim (US 2019/0368025 A1) hereinafter Kim (the terminology of the claims in the application is used, but the references of Kim are included between parentheses).
As regards to claim 1, Kim discloses a mask assembly (abs; fig 3-14), comprising:
an open mask (200) including first open openings (210, see fig 5, circled opening and every other opening in the x & y direction) and second open openings (210, see fig 5, openings adjacent circled opening and every other opening in the x & y direction), which are defined through the open mask (200) and alternately arranged (see fig 5, every other opening in the x direction) a in a first (x) direction ([0076]-[0081]; fig 5-14);
first unit masks (300) respectively corresponding to the first open openings (210, see fig 5, circled opening and every other opening in the x & y direction) ([0076]-[0081]; [0083]-[0084]; [0086]-[0088]; fig 5-14); and
second unit masks (300) respectively corresponding to the second open openings (210, see fig 5, openings adjacent circled opening and every other opening in the x & y direction) ([0076]-[0081]; [0083]-[0084]; [0086]-[0088]; fig 5-14), wherein each of the first unit masks (300) includes:
a first deposition portion (310) including first deposition openings (see fig 7A-14, openings of 310) defined therethrough to overlap a corresponding first open opening (see fig 8-11) among the first open openings (210, see fig 5, circled opening and every other opening in the x & y direction) ([0077]-[0078]; [0081]; [0098]-[0105]; [0111]; [0135]; fig 5-14);
a first welding portion (see fig 7A, right side 323 including 321) extending from the first deposition portion (310) to the first (x) direction and coupled with the open mask (200) ([0107]-[0112]; [0131]-[0133]; fig 7A-7C; 10-11; 13-14); and
a second welding portion (see fig 7A, left side 323 including 321) extending from the first deposition portion (310) to a direction opposite to the first (x) direction and coupled with the open mask (200) ([0107]-[0112]; [0131]-[0133]; fig 7A-7C; 10-11; 13-14), and each of the second unit masks (300) includes:
a second deposition portion (310) including second deposition openings (see fig 7A-14, openings of 310) defined therethrough to overlap a corresponding second open opening (see fig 8-11) among the second open openings (210, see fig 5, openings adjacent circled opening and every other opening in the x direction) ([0077]-[0078]; [0081]; [0098]-[0105]; [0111]; [0135]; fig 5-14);
a third welding portion (see fig 7A, top side 322 including 321) extending from the second deposition portion (310) to a second (y) direction perpendicular to the first (x) direction and coupled with the open mask (200) ([0107]-[0112]; [0131]-[0133]; fig 7A-7C; 10-11; 13-14); and
a fourth welding portion (see fig 7A, bottom side 322 including 321) extending from the second deposition portion (310) to a direction opposite to the second (y) direction and coupled with the open mask (200) ([0107]-[0112]; [0131]-[0133]; fig 7A-7C; 10-11; 13-14).
As regards to claim 2, Kim discloses a mask assembly (abs; fig 3-14), wherein each of the first welding portion (see fig 7A, right side 323 including 321) and the second welding portion (see fig 7A, left side 323 including 321) does not overlap (see fig 7A-7C; 10-11; 13-14) the third welding portion (see fig 7A, top side 322 including 321) and the fourth welding portion (see fig 7A, bottom side 322 including 321) when viewed in the first (x) direction ([0107]-[0112]; [0131]-[0133]; fig 7A-7C; 10-11; 13-14).
As regards to claim 5, Kim discloses a mask assembly (abs; fig 3-14), wherein the first open openings (210, see fig 5, circled opening and every other opening in the x & y direction) and the second open openings (210, see fig 5, openings adjacent circled opening and every other opening in the x direction) are alternately arranged with each other in the second (y) direction ([0076]-[0081]; [0083]-[0084]; [0086]-[0088]; fig 5-14).
As regards to claim 6, Kim discloses a mask assembly (abs; fig 3-14), wherein each of the third welding portion (see fig 7A, top side 322 including 321) and fourth welding portion (see fig 7A, bottom side 322 including 321) does not overlap (see fig 7A-7C; 10-11; 13-14) the first welding portion (see fig 7A, right side 323 including 321) and second welding portion (see fig 7A, left side 323 including 321) when viewed in the second (y) direction ([0107]-[0112]; [0131]-[0133]; fig 7A-7C; 10-11; 13-14).
As regards to claim 7, Kim discloses a mask assembly (abs; fig 3-14), further comprising: first welding protrusions (321) arranged on the first welding portion (see fig 7A, right side 323 including 321) of each of the first unit masks (300) in the second (y) direction; second welding protrusions (321) arranged on the second welding portion (see fig 7A, left side 323 including 321) of each of the first unit masks (300) in the second (y) direction; third welding protrusions (321) arranged on the third welding portion (see fig 7A, top side 322 including 321) of each of the second unit masks (300) in the first (x) direction; and fourth welding protrusions (321) arranged on the fourth welding portion (see fig 7A, bottom side 322 including 321) of each of the second unit masks (300) in the first (x) direction ([0107]-[0112]; [0118]; [0131]-[0133]; fig 7A-7C; 10-11; 13-14).
As regards to claim 10, Kim discloses a mask assembly (abs; fig 3-14), wherein one of the first and second welding protrusions (321) is disposed between (see fig 7A-7C; 10-11; 13-14) the first and second open openings (210, see fig 5, openings adjacent circled opening and every other opening in the x direction) adjacent to each other in the first (x) direction among the first and second open openings (210, see fig 5, openings adjacent circled opening and every other opening in the x direction) in plan view, and one of the third and fourth welding protrusions (321) is disposed between (see fig 7A-7C; 10-11; 13-14) the first and second open openings (210, see fig 5, openings adjacent circled opening and every other opening in the x direction) adjacent to each other in the second (y) direction among the first and second open openings (210, see fig 5, openings adjacent circled opening and every other opening in the x direction) in plan view ([0107]-[0112]; [0118]; [0131]-[0133]; fig 7A-7C; 10-11; 13-14).
As regards to claim 11, Kim discloses a mask assembly (abs; fig 3-14), wherein the first open openings (210, see fig 5, circled opening and every other opening in the x & y direction) and the second open openings (210, see fig 5, openings adjacent circled opening and every other opening in the x direction) include a same shape (see fig 7A-7C; 10-11; 13-14) as each other ([0076]-[0081]; fig 5-14).
As regards to claim 12, Kim discloses a mask assembly (abs; fig 3-14), wherein the first deposition portion (310) of each of the first unit masks (300) includes dummy deposition openings (311+312) defined therethrough to overlap the open mask (200) and surrounding the first deposition openings (see fig 7A-14, openings of 310) ([0102]-[0104]; [0116]; [0127]-[0128]; [0135]; fig 10-11).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
11. Claims 3-4 & 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim as applied to claim 1 above (the terminology of the claims in the application is used, but the references of Kim are included between parentheses).
As regards to claim 3, Kim discloses a mask assembly (abs; fig 3-14), wherein a length in the first (x) direction of each of the first unit masks (300) is the same as a length in the first (x) direction of each of the second unit masks (300) ([0076]-[0081]; [0083]-[0084]; [0086]-[0088]; fig 5-14), however Kim does not disclose is greater than.
Although Kim does not explicitly disclose the claimed relative lengths, before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the mask assembly of Kim to have the relative lengths recited in the claim and therefore is not expected to alter the operation of the device in a patentably distinct way as the relative lengths (relative dimensions) are considered engineering aspects of an apparatus, not problems or sources of problems to be solved. In addition, it is the position of the examiner that the disclosure provides no evidence of criticality with regard to the relative dimensions of the length of the first unit masks and the second unit masks.
Where the only difference between the prior art and the claims is a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device is not patentably distinct from the prior art device. In Gardner v. TEC Systems, Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984).
As regards to claim 4, Kim discloses a mask assembly (abs; fig 3-14), wherein a length in the second (y) direction of each of the second unit masks (300) is the same as a length in the second (y) direction of each of the first unit masks (300), ([0076]-[0081]; [0083]-[0084]; [0086]-[0088]; fig 5-14), however Kim does not disclose is greater than.
Although Kim does not explicitly disclose the claimed relative lengths, before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the mask assembly of Kim to have the relative lengths recited in the claim and therefore is not expected to alter the operation of the device in a patentably distinct way as the relative lengths (relative dimensions) are considered engineering aspects of an apparatus, not problems or sources of problems to be solved. In addition, it is the position of the examiner that the disclosure provides no evidence of criticality with regard to the relative dimensions of the length of the first unit masks and the second unit masks.
Where the only difference between the prior art and the claims is a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device is not patentably distinct from the prior art device. In Gardner v. TEC Systems, Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984).
As regards to claim 8, Kim discloses a mask assembly (abs; fig 3-14), wherein a minimum separation distance between the first welding protrusions (321) and the first deposition openings (see fig 7A-14, openings of 310) in one first unit mask among the first unit masks (300) can be measured in mm in plan view ([0107]-[0112]; [0118]; [0131]-[0133]; fig 7A-7C; 10-11; 13-14), however Kim does not disclose is equal to or greater than about 7.5 mm.
Although Kim does not explicitly disclose the claimed separation distance, before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the mask assembly of Kim to have the separation distance recited in the claim and therefore is not expected to alter the operation of the device in a patentably distinct way as the separation distance (relative dimensions) are considered engineering aspects of an apparatus, not problems or sources of problems to be solved. In addition, it is the position of the examiner that the disclosure provides no evidence of criticality with regard to the relative dimensions of the separation distance.
Where the only difference between the prior art and the claims is a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device is not patentably distinct from the prior art device. In Gardner v. TEC Systems, Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984).
As regards to claim 9, Kim discloses a mask assembly (abs; fig 3-14), wherein a minimum separation distance between the third welding protrusions (321) and the second deposition openings (see fig 7A-14, openings of 310) in one second unit mask among the second unit masks (300) can be measured in mm in plan view ([0107]-[0112]; [0118]; [0131]-[0133]; fig 7A-7C; 10-11; 13-14), however Kim does not disclose is equal to or greater than about 7.5 mm.
Although Kim does not explicitly disclose the claimed separation distance, before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the mask assembly of Kim to have the separation distance recited in the claim and therefore is not expected to alter the operation of the device in a patentably distinct way as the separation distance (relative dimensions) are considered engineering aspects of an apparatus, not problems or sources of problems to be solved. In addition, it is the position of the examiner that the disclosure provides no evidence of criticality with regard to the relative dimensions of the separation distance.
Where the only difference between the prior art and the claims is a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device is not patentably distinct from the prior art device. In Gardner v. TEC Systems, Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984).
Conclusion
12. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: all references cited on the attached PTO-892 Notice of References Cited excluding the above relied upon references.
/Jethro M. Pence/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1717