Attorney Docket Number: 131119-US-PA
Filing Date: 06/26/2023
Claimed Priority Date: none
Inventors: Tseng et al.
Examiner: Shamita S. Hanumasagar
DETAILED ACTION
This Office action responds to the election filed on 11/18/2025.
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for a rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Elections/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention I, reading on a semiconductor device, and Species 1, reading on figure 7, in the reply filed on 11/18/2025, is acknowledged. The applicant indicated that claims 1-16 and 21-24 read on the elected species. The examiner agrees. Accordingly, pending in this Office action are claims 1-16 and 21-24.
Drawings
Quotes from the specification are from the published application US 2024/0429142.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference characters "50" and "51" have both been used to designate a first temporary carrier in, e.g., figures 1-2 (see par.0019/ll.1-5).
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character "50" has been used to designate both individual semiconductor packages and a first temporary carrier (see par.0019/ll.1-5).
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character "C1" has been used to designate both a center of a first conductive bump and a center of a second conductive bump in figure 29 (see also, e.g., par.0087/ll.1-5).
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character "C2" has been used to designate both a center of an underlying first connector and a center of an underlying second connector in figure 29 (see also, e.g., par.0087/ll.1-5).
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they (e.g., fig. 28) include the following reference character not mentioned in the description: 214.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claim 23 recites the limitations “vertically interposed between the first solder joint and the second solder joint” and “the second portion of the first solder joint”. No “first solder joint”, “second solder joint”, and “second portion of the first solder joint” are sufficiently previously recited in the claim or in any parental claim. Accordingly, there is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim.
Claims 1-2, 7-8, and 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Karhade (US 2022/0199575).
Regarding claim 1, Karhade (see, e.g., figs. 1-2 and 44) shows all aspects of the instant invention, including a device 150 comprising:
first integrated circuit (IC) dies 130-1, 130-2 disposed side-by-side, each of the first IC dies comprising first die connectors 134 and second die connectors 132, wherein a first pitch 202 of the first die connectors is less than a second pitch 198 of the second die connectors (see, e.g., par.0030/ll.32-34);
a second IC die 110 overlapping and electrically coupled to the first IC dies (see, e.g., par.0030/ll.10-14), the second IC die comprising third die connectors 118, wherein a third pitch 202 of the third die connectors is substantially equal to the first pitch of the first die connectors; and
first conductive features 106/177 interposed between and electrically coupled to the first die connectors and the third die connectors (see, e.g., par.0085/ll.22-27), each of the first conductive features 106/177 comprising at least a first conductive bump (106 farthest from 130 and directly contacting 177) and at least a first conductive joint 177/(106 closest to 130 and directly contacting 177)
Regarding claim 2, Karhade (see, e.g., fig. 44) shows that the first conductive joint 177/(106 closest to 130 and directly contacting 177) comprises:
a first portion (106 closest to 130 and directly contacting 177) having a curved sidewall and physically connected to a corresponding third die connector 118; and
a second portion 177 connected (see, e.g., par.0085/ll.22-27) to the first portion and the first conductive bump (106 farthest from 130 and directly contacting 177), the second portion having a substantially vertical sidewall connected to the curved sidewall of the first portion
Regarding claim 7, Karhade (see, e.g., fig. 44) shows second conductive features 106/175 surrounding the first conductive features 106/177, each of the second conductive features comprising:
a second conductive bump (106 directly contacting 175) comprising a first side facing a corresponding second die connector 132 and a second side opposite to the first side;
conductive pillars 175 surrounding the second IC die 110, each of the conductive pillars being in direct contact with the second side of one of the second conductive bump
Regarding claim 8, Karhade (see, e.g., fig. 44) shows an underfill 147 surrounding the first 134 and second 132 die connectors, the first conductive features 106/177, and the second conductive features 106/175, the underfill comprising a top surface facing the second IC die 110 and an inner sidewall connected to the top surface, wherein bottom portions (widest portions of 175 closest to 130) of the conductive pillars 175 are in contact with the top surface and the inner sidewall of the underfill.
Regarding claim 11, Karhade (see, e.g., fig. 44) shows a first underfill 147 surrounding the first 134 and second 132 die connectors and the first conductive features 106/177, wherein the first conductive joint 177/(106 closest to 130 and directly contacting 177) of each of the first conductive features comprises a first portion 177 protruded from the first underfill and a second portion (106 closest to 130 and directly contacting 177) connected to the first portion and inserted into the first underfill.
Regarding claim 12, Karhade (see, e.g., fig. 44 and pars.0035/ll.6-7 and 0084/ll.32-34) shows a second underfill 183 disposed on the first underfill and surrounding the first portion 177 of the first conductive joint 177/(106 closest to 130 and directly contacting 177) of each of the first conductive features 106/177 and the third die connectors 118 of the second IC die 110.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-4, 6-7, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kurita (WO 2023022179 A1), published 02/23/2023, in view of Karhade. However, all reference, figure, paragraph/line citations, etc., from Kurita are taken from the equivalent U.S. document (US 2025/0015002).
Regarding claim 1, Kurita (see, e.g., figs. 3 and 24) shows most aspects of the instant invention, including a device 10 (40) comprising:
first integrated circuit (IC) dies 41, 42 disposed side-by-side, each of the first IC dies comprising first die connectors 415/425, 417/427 and second die connectors 416 (see, e.g., fig. 3), wherein the first die connectors have a first pitch and the second die connectors have a second pitch (see, e.g., figs. 3 and 24, wherein a first pitch of the first die connectors may correspond to a pitch between die connectors 417 and 427 and a second pitch of the second die connectors may correspond to a pitch between adjacent second die connectors)
a second IC die 431 overlapping and electrically coupled to the first IC dies (see, e.g., par.0096/ll.13-15), the second IC die comprising third die connectors 436/437, wherein a third pitch of the third die connectors is substantially equal to the first pitch of the first die connectors; and
first conductive features 47, 48 interposed between and electrically coupled to the first die connectors and the third die connectors (see, e.g., pars.0116/ll.10-13 and 16-19), each of the first conductive features comprising at least a first conductive bump 472/482 and at least a first conductive joint 474/484
Although Kurita teaches most aspects of the instant invention, Kurita fails to explicitly specify that a first pitch of the first die connectors is less than a second pitch of the second die connectors. Karhade, in the same field of endeavor and in a similar device to Kurita, teaches a device 150 wherein a first pitch 202 of first die connectors 134 is less than a second pitch 198 of second die connectors 132 or 114 (see, e.g., Karhade: figs. 1-2 and 34 and par.0030/ll.32-43). Karhade teaches that such an arrangement allows for the achievement of high interconnect density between first IC dies 130-1, 130-2 and a second IC die 110 while offering design flexibility, minimizing manufacturing complexity, and mitigating the expense of costly manufacturing operations (see, e.g., Karhade: figs. 1-2 and 34 and pars.0023 and 0030/ll.32-43).
Karhade is evidence showing that one of ordinary skill in the art would appreciate that having a first pitch of first die connectors be less than a second pitch of second die connectors would be equivalent to having a first pitch of first die connectors possess another relation to a second pitch of second die connectors, and that such differences would result in no unexpected changes in the performance of the device of Kurita. That is, the first and second die connectors of both Kurita and Karhade would yield the predictable result of providing suitably-spaced conductive interconnects capable of electrically connecting various elements of a device.
Therefore, it would have been obvious at the time of filing the invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to have either a first pitch of first die connectors be less than a second pitch of second die connectors, as taught by Karhade, or a first pitch of first die connectors possess some other relation to a second pitch of second die connectors, as taught by Kurita, because these were recognized as equivalents in the semiconductor art and would yield the predictable result of providing suitably-spaced conductive interconnects capable of electrically connecting various elements of a device. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S.-- ,82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Furthermore, Karhade is evidence that at the time of filing the invention one of ordinary skill in the art would find particular incentive to have Kurita’s first pitch of first die connectors be less than a second pitch of Kurita’s second die connectors, as taught by Karhade, so as to allow for the achievement of high interconnect density between Kurita’s first IC dies and second IC die while offering design flexibility, minimizing manufacturing complexity, and mitigating the expense of costly manufacturing operations.
Regarding claim 3, Kurita (see, e.g., figs. 3 and 24) shows that each of the first conductive features 47, 48 further comprises a second conductive joint 473, 483 physically coupled to the first conductive bump 472, 482 and a corresponding first die connector 415/425 / 417/427, the second conductive joint comprising a curved sidewall.
Regarding claim 4, Kurita (see, e.g., pars.0122/ll.4-5 and 0123/ll.4-5) shows that the first conductive joint 474/484 and the second conductive joint 473/483 are solder joints.
Regarding claim 6, Kurita (see, e.g., fig. 24 and pars.0153/ll.15-16, 0159/ll.9-10, 0165/ll.14-25, and 0169/ll.10-12) shows that the first conductive bump 472/482 comprises a seed layer 472C/482C connected to the first conductive joint 474/484, a first metallic layer 472A/482A connected to the seed layer, and a second metallic layer 472D/482D connected to the first metallic layer, wherein the second metallic layer and the first metallic layer are made of different materials (e.g., gold alloy versus copper).
Regarding claim 7, Kurita (see, e.g., figs. 3 and 24) shows second conductive features 401/493/492D/492A surrounding the first conductive features 47, 48 (see, e.g., fig. 3), each of the second conductive features comprising:
a second conductive bump 492D/492A comprising a first side facing a corresponding second die connector 416 and a second side opposite to the first side;
conductive pillars 401 surrounding the second IC die 431, each of the conductive pillars being in direct contact with the second side of one of the second conductive bump (see, e.g., figs. 3 and 24)
Regarding claim 10, Kurita (see, e.g., figs. 3 and 24) shows that each of the second conductive features 401/493/492D/492A further comprises a second conductive joint 493 connected to the first side of the second conductive bump 492D/492A and the corresponding second die connector 416, the second conductive joint comprising a curved sidewall.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kurita/Karhade in view of Tsai (US 2020/0091077) and St. Amand (US 8,633,598).
Regarding claim 2, Kurita/Karhade shows most aspects of the instant invention (see paragraphs 22-26 above). Kurita (see, e.g., figs. 3 and 24) further shows that Kurita’s first conductive joint 474/484 comprises a first portion (horizontal half of 474/484 farthest from 411/421) having a curved sidewall and physically connected to a corresponding third die connector 436/437, and a second portion (horizontal half of 474/484 closest to 411/421) connected to the first portion and the first conductive bump 472/482, the second portion connected to the curved sidewall of the first portion. Kurita, however, fails to explicitly specify that Kurita’s second portion has a substantially vertical sidewall connected to the curved sidewall of the first portion.
However, it is noted that the specification fails to provide teachings about the criticality of a second portion having a substantially vertical sidewall, as claimed in the instant application.
Therefore, absent any criticality, this limitation is only considered to be an obvious modification of the sidewall shape disclosed by Kurita/Karhade as the courts have held that a change in shape or configuration, without any criticality, is within the level of skill in the art, and the particular sidewall shape claimed by applicant is nothing more than one of numerous sidewall shapes that a person having ordinary skill in the art will find obvious to provide using routine experimentation as a matter of choice or based on its suitability for the intended use of the invention. See In re Daily, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1976).
Furthermore, the claimed sidewall shape is known in the art: Tsai and St. Amand, in the same field of endeavor, teach that a first conductive joint shape can comprise a substantially vertical sidewall connected to a curved sidewall (see, e.g., Tsai: fig. 1N and St. Amand: fig. 8). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have the shape of a second portion comprise a substantially vertical sidewall as claimed in the structure of Kurita, because a substantially vertical sidewall connected to a curved sidewall is known in the semiconductor art for its use in first conductive joint interconnects, as suggested by Tsai and St. Amand, and implementing a known structure shape for its conventional use/purpose would have been a common sense choice by the skilled artisan. KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Karhade in view of Chang (US 2021/0280519).
Regarding claim 5, Karhade shows most aspects of the instant invention (see paragraph 14 above). Furthermore, Karhade (see, e.g., fig. 44) appears to show that a lateral dimension of the first die connectors 134 is less than a lateral dimension of the second die connectors 132. Karhade, however, fails to explicitly specify this. Chang, in the same field of endeavor and in a similar device to Karhade, shows a device PK wherein a lateral dimension W2 of first die connectors 111B is explicitly less than a lateral W1 dimension of second die connectors 111A (see, e.g., Chang: figs. 6 and 15 and par.0016/ll.12-17).
Chang is evidence showing that one of ordinary skill in the art would appreciate that a lateral dimension of first die connectors being explicitly less than a lateral dimension of second die connectors would be equivalent to a lateral dimension of first die connectors being implicitly less than a lateral dimension of second die connectors, and that such differences would result in no unexpected changes in the performance of the device of Karhade. That is, the first and second die connectors of both Karhade and Chang would yield the predictable result of providing suitably-sized electrically conductive structures capable of electrically connecting multiple IC dies to various components of a device.
Therefore, it would have been obvious at the time of filing the invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to have either a lateral dimension of first die connectors be explicitly less than a lateral dimension of second die connectors, as taught by Chang, or a lateral dimension of first die connectors be implicitly less than a lateral dimension of second die connectors, as taught by Karhade, because these were recognized as equivalents in the semiconductor art and would yield the predictable result of providing suitably-sized electrically conductive structures capable of electrically connecting multiple IC dies to various components of a device. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S.-- ,82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Karhade in view of Chen (US 2022/0367306) and Hwang (US 2022/0375829).
Regarding claim 9, Karhade shows most aspects of the instant invention (see paragraphs 14 and 16 above). Furthermore, Karhade (see, e.g., fig. 44) shows that each of the conductive pillars 175 comprises a first portion (portion of 175 closest to 130) physically connected to the second side of the one of the second conductive bump (106 directly contacting 175) and comprising a lateral dimension and a second portion (portion of 175 directly contacting first portion) connected to the first portion and comprising a lateral dimension different from the lateral dimension of the first portion. However, Karhade fails to explicitly specify in this embodiment that the first portion comprises a lateral dimension substantially equal to that of the second side of the one of the second conductive bump and that Karhade’s second portion comprises a lateral dimension greater than that of the first portion.
Karhade, however, shows another embodiment in which each of conductive pillars 175 comprises a first portion (portion of 175 closest to 130-1) physically connected to the second side of a one of a second conductive bump (106 directly contacting 175) and comprising a lateral dimension substantially equal to that of the second side of the one of the second conductive bump, and a second portion (portion of 175 directly contacting first portion) connected to the first portion and comprising a lateral dimension greater than the lateral dimension of the first portion, wherein Karhade suggests the equivalent functionality of all of Karhade’s device embodiments (see, e.g., Karhade: fig. 43 and pars.0024 and 0085/ll.1-3). Furthermore, Chen, in the same field of endeavor and in a similar device to Karhade, shows a device 1 in which each of conductive pillars 32 surrounding an IC die 30 comprises a first portion (portion of 32 corresponding to part of 54H) physically connected to the second side of a one of a second conductive bump 56 and comprising a lateral dimension W1/32T substantially equal to that W1 of the second side of the one of the second conductive bump, and a second portion (portion of 32 directly contacting the first portion) connected to the first portion and comprising a lateral dimension (W2 and greater) greater than the lateral dimension of the first portion (see, e.g., Chen: figs. 1-1A and par.0036/ll.6-8). Additionally, Hwang, in the same field of endeavor and in a similar device to Karhade, also teaches a device 10 wherein each of conductive pillars 300 surrounding an IC die 200 comprises a first portion 320 physically connected to the second side of a one of a second conductive bump 635 and comprising a lateral dimension W22 substantially equal to that of the second side of the one of the second conductive bump, and a second portion 310 connected to the first portion and comprising a lateral dimension W11 greater than the lateral dimension of the first portion (see, e.g., Hwang: figs. 1A-1B and pars.0051/ll.6-12 and 0052/ll.9-10). Hwang further teaches that the structure Hwang depicts prevents misalignment between and properly couples conductive pillar portions, promoting increased structural stability (see, e.g., Hwang: pars.0052/ll.5-16).
Karhade’s other embodiment, Chen, and Hwang are evidence showing that one of ordinary skill in the art would appreciate that having conductive pillars each comprising a first portion comprising a lateral dimension substantially equal to that of the second side of a one of a second conductive bump and a second portion comprising a lateral dimension greater than the lateral dimension of the first portion would be equivalent to each of the conductive pillars comprising a first portion comprising a lateral dimension and a second portion comprising a lateral dimension different from the lateral dimension of the first portion, and that such differences would result in no unexpected changes in the performance of the device of Karhade. That is, the first and second pillar portion lateral dimensions of both Karhade and Karhade, Chen, or Hwang would yield the predictable result of providing suitably-shaped conductive pillars capable of electrically connecting various components of a device.
Therefore, it would have been obvious at the time of filing the invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to have either conductive pillars each comprising a first portion comprising a lateral dimension substantially equal to that of the second side of a one of a second conductive bump and a second portion comprising a lateral dimension greater than the lateral dimension of the first portion, as taught by Karhade’s other embodiment, Chen, and Hwang, or conductive pillars each comprising a first portion comprising a lateral dimension and a second portion comprising a lateral dimension different from the lateral dimension of the first portion, as taught by Karhade, because these were recognized as equivalents in the semiconductor art and would yield the predictable result of providing suitably-shaped conductive pillars capable of electrically connecting various components of a device. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S.-- ,82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Furthermore, Hwang is evidence that at the time of filing the invention one of ordinary skill in the art would find particular incentive to have in Karhade’s device conductive pillars each comprising a first portion comprising a lateral dimension substantially equal to that of the second side of a one of a second conductive bump and a second portion comprising a lateral dimension greater than the lateral dimension of the first portion, as taught by Hwang, so as to prevent misalignment between and to properly couple Karhade’s conductive pillar portions, thereby promoting increased structural stability in the device.
Claims 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kurita in view of Chang.
Regarding claim 13, Kurita (see, e.g., figs. 3 and 24) shows most aspects of the instant invention, including a device 10 (40) comprising:
first IC dies 41, 42 disposed side-by-side;
a second IC die 431 stacked upon and electrically coupled to the first IC dies (see, e.g., par.0096/ll.13-15);
conductive pillars 401 (see, e.g., figs. 3 and 6) disposed over the first IC dies;
a first electrical connection 47 electrically connected (see, e.g., par.0116/ll.10-13) to the second IC die and one of the first IC dies, the first electrical connection comprising a first solder joint 474 physically connected to a die connector 436 of the second IC die;
a second electrical connection 493/492D/492A electrically connected (see, e.g., par.0116/ll.16-19) to one of the conductive pillars and one of the first IC dies, an interface between the second electrical connection and the one of the conductive pillars being free of a solder material (see, e.g., pars.0153/ll.14-23 and 0165/ll.14-24)
wherein:
a dimension of a first conductive bump 472A of the first electrical connection is less than that of a second conductive bump 492D/492A of the second electrical connection
Although Kurita appears to teach (see, e.g., figs. 3 and 24) that a dimension of Kurita’s first conductive bump of the first electrical connection is less than that of a second conductive bump of the second electrical connection, Kurita fails to explicitly specify this. Chang, in the same field of endeavor and in a similar device to Kurita, shows a device PK wherein a dimension W2 of a first conductive feature/bump 111B of a first electrical connection 111B/116c is explicitly less than that W1 of a second conductive feature/bump 111A of a second electrical connection 111A/112’, wherein the second electrical connection electrically connects to one of conductive pillars 114, and wherein an interface between the second electrical connection and the one of the conductive pillars is free of solder material (see, e.g., Chang: figs. 6 and 15 and pars.0016/ll.12-17, 0019/ll.11-12, 0020/ll.8-13, and 0020/ll.17).
Chang is evidence showing that one of ordinary skill in the art would appreciate that a dimension of a first conductive bump of a first electrical connection being explicitly less than that of a second conductive bump of a second electrical connection would be equivalent to a dimension of a first conductive bump of a first electrical connection being implicitly less than that of a second conductive bump of a second electrical connection, and that such differences would result in no unexpected changes in the performance of the device of Kurita. That is, the dimensions of the first and second conductive bumps of both Kurita and Chang would yield the predictable result of providing electrically conductive pathways capable of electrically connecting respective IC dies or IC dies and conductive pillars.
Therefore, it would have been obvious at the time of filing the invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to have either a dimension of a first conductive bump of a first electrical connection be explicitly less than that of a second conductive bump of a second electrical connection, as taught by Chang, or a dimension of a first conductive bump of a first electrical connection be implicitly less than that of a second conductive bump of a second electrical connection, as taught by Kurita, because these were recognized as equivalents in the semiconductor art and would yield the predictable result of providing electrically conductive pathways capable of electrically connecting respective IC dies or IC dies and conductive pillars. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S.-- ,82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Regarding claim 14, Kurita (see, e.g., figs. 3 and 24) shows that the first electrical connection 47 further comprises a second solder joint 473 physically connected to a die connector 417 of the one of the first IC dies 41, 42.
Regarding claim 15, Kurita (see, e.g., figs. 3 and 24) shows an underfill 45/105 surrounding the first IC dies 41, 42, wherein the interface between the second electrical connection 493/492D/492A and the one of the conductive pillars 401 is between a top surface of the underfill and a bottom surface of the underfill.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kurita/Chang in view of Tsai and St. Amand.
Regarding claim 16, Kurita/Chang shows most aspects of the instant invention (see paragraphs 48-51 above). Kurita (see, e.g. figs. 3 and 24) further shows that the first solder joint 474 comprises a curved sidewall connected to the die connector 436 of the second IC die 431. Kurita, however, fails to explicitly specify that the first solder joint also comprises a substantially vertical sidewall connected to the curved sidewall.
However, it is noted that the specification fails to provide teachings about the criticality of having a substantially vertical sidewall connected to a curved sidewall, as claimed in the instant application.
Therefore, absent any criticality, this limitation is only considered to be an obvious modification of the sidewall shape disclosed by Kurita/Chang as the courts have held that a change in shape or configuration, without any criticality, is within the level of skill in the art, and the particular sidewall shape claimed by applicant is nothing more than one of numerous sidewall shapes that a person having ordinary skill in the art will find obvious to provide using routine experimentation as a matter of choice or based on its suitability for the intended use of the invention. See In re Daily, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1976).
Furthermore, the claimed sidewall shape is known in the art: Tsai and St. Amand, in the same field of endeavor, teach that a solder joint shape can comprise a substantially vertical sidewall connected to a curved sidewall (see, e.g., Tsai: fig. 1N and St. Amand: fig. 8). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have the shape of a substantially vertical sidewall connected to a curved sidewall as claimed in the structure of Kurita/Chang, because a substantially vertical sidewall connected to a curved sidewall is known in the semiconductor art for its use in solder joint interconnects, as suggested by Tsai and St. Amand, and implementing a known structure shape for its conventional use/purpose would have been a common sense choice by the skilled artisan. KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Claims 21 and 23-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kurita in view of Chang and Tanaka (US 2024/0096809).
Regarding claim 21, Kurita (see, e.g., figs. 3 and 24) shows most aspects of the instant invention, including a device 10 (40) comprising:
a first IC die 41 comprising a first die connector 417 and a second die connector 414 larger than the first die connector (see, e.g., fig. 24, wherein a horizontal length of the second die connector appears to be larger than a horizontal length of the first die connector);
a second IC die 431 disposed over the first IC die and comprising a third die connector 436 electrically coupled (see, e.g., pars.0116/ll.10-12 and 0121/ll.2-4) to the first die connector of the first IC die;
a conductive pillar 401 disposed over and electrically coupled to the second die connector (see, e.g., fig. 3 and pars.0116/ll.16-19 and 0117/ll.4-8);
a first conductive feature 47 vertically interposed between the third die connector and the first die connector;
a second conductive feature 416/493/492D/492A vertically interposed between the conductive pillar and the second die connector;
a first underfill 45 surrounding the first and second die connectors, the first conductive feature, and the second conductive feature; and
a second underfill 105 surrounding the third die connector and disposed on a top surface 45b of the first underfill, wherein an interface between the second conductive feature and the conductive pillar is between a top surface of the second underfill and the second die connector and aligned with the top surface of the first underfill
Kurita shows most aspects of the instant invention. Kurita further appears to show that Kurita’s second die connector is larger than Kurita’s first die connector. Kurita, however, fails to explicitly specify this. Chang, in the same field of endeavor and in a similar device to Kurita, shows a device PK wherein a second die connector 111A is explicitly larger than a first die connector 111B, and wherein the second electrical connection electrically connects to one of conductive pillars 114 (see, e.g., Chang: figs. 6 and 15 and pars.0016/ll.12-17 and 0020/ll.8-13).
Chang is evidence showing that one of ordinary skill in the art would appreciate that a second die connector being explicitly larger than a first die connector would be equivalent to a second die connector being implicitly larger than a first die connector, and that such differences would result in no unexpected changes in the performance of the device of Kurita. That is, the first and second die connector sizes of both Kurita and Chang would yield the predictable result of providing suitable electrically conductive structures capable of electrically connecting respective IC dies or IC dies and conductive pillars.
Therefore, it would have been obvious at the time of filing the invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to have either a second die connector being explicitly larger than a first die connector, as taught by Chang, or a second die connector being implicitly larger than a first die connector, as taught by Kurita, because these were recognized as equivalents in the semiconductor art and would yield the predictable result of providing suitable electrically conductive structures capable of electrically connecting respective IC dies or IC dies and conductive pillars. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S.-- ,82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Furthermore, Kurita teaches most aspects of the instant invention, including that an interface between the second conductive feature and the conductive pillar is between a top surface of the second underfill and the second die connector and aligned with the top surface of the first underfill (see, e.g., Kurita: figs. 3 and 24). Kurita, however, despite teaching that the interface and conductive pillar are encapsulated by underfill, fails to explicitly specify that an interface between Kurita’s second conductive feature and conductive pillar is between the top surface (of the first underfill) and the second die connector. Tanaka, in the same field of endeavor and in a similar device to Kurita/Chang, teaches a device 100 comprising multiple underfill layers, wherein an interface between a second conductive feature 140-1 and a conductive pillar 125 is between the top surface of a first underfill 127 and a second die connector 122 (see, e.g., Tanaka: fig. 2B and pars.0022/ll.1-7 and 0030/ll.20-22).
Tanaka is evidence showing that one of ordinary skill in the art would appreciate that an interface between a second conductive feature and a conductive pillar being between the top surface (of a first underfill) and a second die connector would be equivalent to an interface between a second conductive feature and a conductive pillar being encapsulated by another underfill or being between the top surface of another underfill and a second die connector, and that such differences would result in no unexpected changes in the performance of the device of Kurita/Chang. That is, the conductive pillar, conductive feature, and underfill orientations of both Kurita and Tanaka would yield the predictable result of providing an insulative reinforcing structure encapsulating the interface between a second conductive feature and a conductive pillar.
Therefore, it would have been obvious at the time of filing the invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to have either an interface between a second conductive feature and a conductive pillar be between the top surface (of a first underfill) and a second die connector, as taught by Tanaka, or an interface between a second conductive feature and a conductive pillar be encapsulated by another underfill or be between the top surface of another underfill and a second die connector, as taught by Kurita, because these were recognized as equivalents in the semiconductor art and would yield the predictable result of providing an insulative reinforcing structure encapsulating the interface between a second conductive feature and a conductive pillar. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S.-- ,82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Regarding claim 23, Kurita (see, e.g., figs. 3 and 24) shows that the first conductive feature 47 further comprises a conductive bump 472, wherein the conductive bump comprises a substantially vertical sidewall. With regards to other language recited in claim 23, see the comments stated above in paragraph 12.
Regarding claim 24, Kurita (see, e.g., figs. 3 and 24 and pars.0116/ll.16-19 and 0117/ll.4-8) shows that the second conductive feature 416/493/492D/492A further comprises a solder joint 493 connected to the second die connector 414 and surrounded by the first underfill 45.
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kurita/Chang/Tanaka in view of Karhade.
Regarding claim 22, Kurita/Chang/Tanaka shows most aspects of the instant invention (see paragraphs 60-66 above). Kurita (see, e.g., figs. 3 and 24) further shows that the first conductive feature 47 comprises a first solder joint 474 connected to the third die connector 436, the first solder joint comprising a first portion surrounded by the second underfill 105, wherein the first portion is laterally convex toward the second underfill, and a second solder joint 473 connected to the first die connector 417. Kurita, however, fails to explicitly specify that the first solder joint comprises a second portion connected to the first portion and surrounded by the first underfill. Karhade, in the same field of endeavor, shows a plurality of device embodiments, including a device embodiment wherein a first solder joint 106 comprises a first portion 106A surrounded by a second dielectric (e.g., underfill) 104 and a second portion 106B and surrounded by a first underfill 147, wherein the first portion is laterally convex toward the second underfill (see, e.g., Karhade: fig. 34 and pars.0028/ll.11-14, 0029/ll.7-10, and 0075/ll.15-20). Karhade also shows additional embodiments wherein a first solder joint 106 only comprises a first portion surrounded by a second underfill 144 or 147 (see, e.g., Karhade: figs. 22 and 43-44), wherein Karhade suggests the equivalent functionality of all of Karhade’s device embodiments (see, e.g., Karhade: par.0024).
Karhade is evidence showing that one of ordinary skill in the art would appreciate that a first solder joint further comprising a second portion connected to a first portion and surrounded by a first underfill would be equivalent to a first solder joint only comprising a first portion and surrounded by a second underfill, and that such differences would result in no unexpected changes in the performance of the device of Kurita/Chang/Tanaka. That is, the conductive pass-through contacts of both Kurita/Chang/Tanaka and Karhade would yield the predictable result of providing an underfill-encapsulated and reinforced solder structure capable of electrically connecting various conductive components of a device.
Therefore, it would have been obvious at the time of filing the invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to have either a first solder joint further comprising a second portion connected to a first portion and surrounded by a first underfill, as taught by Karhade, or a first solder joint only comprising a first portion surrounded by a second underfill, as taught by both Karhade and Kurita, because these were recognized as equivalents in the semiconductor art and would yield the predictable result of providing an underfill-encapsulated and reinforced solder structure capable of electrically connecting various conductive components of a device. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S.-- ,82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Conclusion
Papers related to this application may be submitted directly to Art Unit 2814 by facsimile transmission. Papers should be faxed to Art Unit 2814 via the Art Unit 2814 Fax Center. The faxing of such papers must conform to the notice published in the Official Gazette, 1096 OG 30 (15 November 1989). The Art Unit 2814 Fax Center number is (571) 273-8300. The Art Unit 2814 Fax Center is to be used only for papers related to Art Unit 2814 applications.
/Shamita S. Hanumasagar/Examiner, Art Unit 2814
/WAEL M FAHMY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2814