DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
For Claim 1, “fast aircraft dynamics model” is used which is indefinite as it is not clear what is considered “fast”. Claims 2-10 are indefinite as being dependent on Claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Long (US PgPub #2020/0148373) in view of Wittmaak (US Patent #11932387).
For Claim 1, figure 5 and paragraphs [0031, 0036, 0044, 0046, 0048, and 0056] of Long ‘373 discloses a hybrid electrical propulsion (HEP) propulsion and attitude control system (2D) included in an aircraft, the HEP propulsion and attitude control system comprising: a propulsion system configured to generate thrust for operation of the aircraft, the propulsion system comprising at least one propulsor (16A) and at least one electric motor (14A); an electrical system (4A-C) configured to deliver a first amount of power to the at least one electric motor to increase or decrease thrust form at least one propulsor so as to adjust the thrust and a second amount of power to a plurality of electrical loads (50); and a HEP controller (35) in signal communications with the electrical system and the propulsion system, the HEP controller configured to determine at least one attitude goal of the aircraft, and control the electrical system to adjust the thrust to achieve the at least one attitude goal.
While Long ‘373 discloses the HEP controller (35) that is used to control level flight or attitude, it is not specific about generating a goal data based on an attitude goal and imputing that into a dynamics model and controlling the motor based on the response data and attitude control data that is fed into a model predictive control algorithm. However, figure 5 and column 14, lines 1-35 of Wittmaak ‘387 teach using sensors to generate data based on the desire attitude and imputing that data into a dynamics model or controller and controlling the motor based on the response data (318 and 322) and attitude control data (324) that is fed into a model predictive control algorithm (316) and outputting (314) a response to maintain autonomous control of the aircraft. Therefore it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Long ‘373 with the sensed input control of Wittmaak ‘387. The motivation to do so is to maintain controlled autonomous flight.
For Claim 2, figure 5 of Long ‘373 discloses that the one propulsor includes a first (16A) and a second (16B) propulsor, and wherein the HEP controller (35) is coupled to and configured to control the first and second propulsor.
For Claim 3, paragraph [0041] of Long ‘373 discloses that the HEP controller is configured to send a first signal to the first propulsor and a second signal to the second propulsor based on the at least one attitude goal.
For Claim 4, figure 1 of Long ‘373 discloses that the HEP propulsion and attitude control system is implemented as a parallel-hybrid system (24A-B).
For Claim 5, figure 1 of Long ‘373 discloses that the parallel hybrid system includes a gas turbine engine (8) and a battery system (34) , and wherein the parallel-hybrid system couples the first and second propulsor to both the gas turbine engine and the battery system.
For Claim 6, figure 5 and paragraph [0055] of Long ‘373 disclose that the HEP propulsion and attitude control system is implemented as a series-hybrid system.
For Claim 7, figure 5 and paragraph [0030] of Long ‘373 disclose that the series hybrid system includes a gas turbine engine (30), a battery system (34) and at least one electrical motor (26), and wherein the series-hybrid system decoupled the first and second propulsors from the turbo-generator and is configured to drive the first and second propulsors using the electric motor.
For Claim 8, paragraph [0055] of Long ‘373 discloses that the series-hybrid system further includes a motor-generator, and wherein one or both of the battery system and the motor-generator are configured to power the electrical motor.
For Claim 9, figure 5 of Long ‘373 discloses at least one voltage conversion unit (44) in signal communication with the electrical system and the propulsion system.
For Claim 10, paragraph [0031] of Long ‘373 discloses that the at least one attitude goal includes at yaw control.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/24/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
With respect to the argument that Wittmaak ‘387 does not teach “outputting aircraft response data and attitude control data from the aircraft dynamics model, feeding the attitude control data to a model predictive control algorithm to optimize attitude controls”, the Examiner respectfully disagrees. Figure 5 of Wittmaak ‘387 clearly teaches outputting aircraft response data (318 and 322) and attitude control data (324) from the aircraft dynamics model, feeding the attitude control data to a model predictive control algorithm (316) to optimize attitude controls (314). The signal from the optimized attitude controls (314) is then sent to the controllers/actuators (320) which then sends signals to the various propulsion assemblies (322) to change or divert thrust form a propulsor if needed to adjust the thrust to achieve a desired controlled flight or attitude goal
Conclusion
/PHILIP J BONZELL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3642 1/9/2025