DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on (6/27/2023), is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . Claims (1-8) were examined in a Non-Final in response to an election without traverse dated 11/28/2025. This office action is in response to a submission dated 5/4/2026. Claims were amended. Claim 6 was cancelled.
Response to amendments and Arguments
Applicant argues that
“A person having ordinary skill in the art cannot directly learn about the limitation "a fluid conduit partially covering an outside of the showerhead" as claimed through the teaching of Batzer as supplemented by Choi.”
This is not found persuasive since the cooling tube when wrapped around covers the cooled object only partially.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 and 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Paterson et al (US 20080193673) in view of Yuda et al (US 20020000202), Batzer et al (US 20210269918) and Choi et al (US 20090071403).
Paterson et al disclose a deposition device (Fig 1), comprising:
a first chamber (15b) comprising a diffusion zone (near the showerhead) and a reaction zone (near the substrate), wherein the diffusion zone is above the reaction zone;
a substrate support disposed in the reaction zone (25);
a second chamber disposed over the first chamber (15a);
a showerhead disposed between the first chamber and the second chamber (10);
a first reactant inlet communicating with the second chamber (Fig 2, 112); and a precursor inlet communicating with the showerhead (76, 78).
Regarding a second reactant inlet communicating with the reaction zone of the first chamber, it is noted that gas coming off the showerhead would communicate with the reaction zone.
However, Yuda et al disclose a similar plasma processing chamber with an upper chamber and a lower chamber where reactant inlet could be an independent source like (Fig 1 or Fig 4, 22)) or introduced through the showerhead as an alternative arrangement (Fig 6 or Fig 9).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have second reactant inlet communicating with the reaction zone of the first chamber as an alternative arrangement according to Yuda.
Paterson et al in view of Yuda et al do not disclose a fluid conduit partially covering an outside of the showerhead.
Batzer et al disclose a similar plasma processing apparatus (Fig 1) with first chamber near the substrate (30), a second chamber (20) disposed over the first chamber; a showerhead disposed between the first chamber and the second chamber and cooling system (86) to cool the showerhead (Para 28).
Regarding fluid conduit partially covering an outside of the showerhead, it is noted that fluid conduit in thermal contact for cooling purpose was well known in the prior art.
For example, Choi et al disclose fluid conduit in thermal transfer contact with a cooling backing plate (See claim 2, Fig 1, 60-76 and para 27 ).
Having cooling system for Paterson showerhead for temperature control would have been obvious before the filing date of the application according to the teaching of Batzer as supplemented by Choi.
Regarding claims 2-5 associated RF power supplies are disclosed in Paterson et al as disclosed (Fig 1).
Regarding claim 7 cooling fluid as being perfluoropolyether is disclosed in Batzer (Para 30).
Regarding claim 8 a vacuum pump (160) is disclosed in Paterson et al as disclosed (Fig 1).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Hudson et al (US 9039911 Fig 1) disclose a first chamber (primary plasma 102) near the substrate, a substrate support disposed in the reaction zone; a second chamber (secondary plasma 120) disposed over the first chamber; a showerhead disposed between the first chamber and the second chamber and associated process gases and RF power.
Nguyen et al (US 20150170924 Fig 2) disclose a first chamber (270) near the substrate, a substrate support disposed in the reaction zone; a second chamber (292) disposed over the first chamber; a showerhead disposed between the first chamber and the second chamber and associated process gases and RF power.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
RAM N. KACKAR
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1716
/RAM N KACKAR/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1716