DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in Japanese Patent Application No. JP2002-107241, filed on 7/1/2022.
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 6/27/2023 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Election/Restriction
It has been acknowledged that the applicant has elected without traverse Invention I (claims 1-4) by cancelling claims 5-6 (Group II) per the response dated on 12/10/2025. Currently claims 1-4 are present for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Shigematsu (JP 2015153770 A).
Regarding claim 1, Shigematsu teaches a device wafer processing method (Figs. 8-9, [0039]-[0050]) of dividing a device wafer (semiconductor wafer 2, Fig. 1, [0017]) having a plurality of devices (devices 23, Fig. 1, [0017]) formed on a face side (front side 21a, Fig. 1, [0018]) thereof by a functional layer (functional layer 21, Fig. 1, [0017]) laminated on a substrate (substrate 20, Fig. 1, [0017]), along a plurality of intersecting streets (dividing lines 22, Fig. 1, [0017]) that demarcate the devices (devices 23, Fig. 1), the processing method (Figs. 8-9, [0039]-[0050]) comprising:
a holding step (Fig. 8a, [0039]) of holding the face side of the device wafer (semiconductor wafer 2, Fig. 8: functional layer 21 is towards the first chuck table 21a, [[0036]) by a holding table;
a cutting step (Figs. 8a-c, [0040]-[0046]) of cutting the device wafer (semiconductor wafer 2, Figs. 8a-c) by a cutting blade (blade 833, Figs. 8a-b, [0040]) from a reverse side (back face 20b, Figs. 8a-c) of the device wafer (semiconductor wafer 2, Figs. 8a-c) along the streets (dividing lines 22, Fig. 8c, [0042]) and forming cutting grooves (cut groove 210, Fig. 8c, [0040]) that do not reach the functional layer (functional layer 21, Fig. 8c), after the holding step (Fig. 8a, [0039]) is carried out; and
a laser processing step (Figs. 9a-c, [0047]-[0049]) of applying a laser beam (laser beam LB, Figs. 9a-, [0047]-[0049]) having a wavelength absorbable ([0047]: “… pulsed laser beams having wavelengths absorbable by the substrate 20 and the functional layer 21 from the focusing means 94.”) by the device wafer (semiconductor wafer 2 comprising substrate 20 and the functional layer 21, Figs. 9a-c ) to the device wafer (semiconductor wafer 2, Figs. 9a-c) from the reverse side (back face 20b, Figs. 9a-c) of the device wafer (semiconductor wafer 2, Figs. 9a-c) along the cutting grooves (cut groove 210, Figs. 9a-c, [0047]) and dividing the device wafer (semiconductor wafer 2, Figs. 9c) into individual devices (devices 23, Fig. 9c: the laser cut (dividing line 201, [0049]) goes through the whole semiconductor wafer 2 at the dividing lines 22, thereby separating individual devices), after the cutting step is carried out (Figs. 8a-c, [0040]-[0046]), wherein
the laser processing step (Figs. 9a-c, [0047]-[0049]) is carried out in a state in which the device wafer (semiconductor wafer 2, Figs. 8-9) is continuously held on the holding table (first chuck table 64a, Figs. 8-9, [0046]) without being unloaded from the holding table (first chuck table 64a, Figs. 8-9, [0046]: “first chuck table 64a holding the semiconductor wafer 2 on which the first cut groove forming step has been carried out to the laser processing region”, therefore the device wafer is not removed from the holding table (chuck table 64a) during and between the cutting step and laser processing step), after the cutting step (Figs. 8a-c, [0040]-[0046]) is carried out.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shigematsu (JP 2015153770 A) as applied to claims 1 above, and further in view of Hadano (US 2019/0232431 A1).
Regarding claim 2, while Shigematsu teaches the device wafer processing method according to claim 1,
Shigematsu does not teach that, in the laser processing step, a liquid layer is formed on the reverse side of the device wafer, and the laser beam is applied to the device wafer through the liquid layer.
Hadano, on the other hand, teaches a laser processing method for forming grooves (Fig. 7A-B, [0002]) through a wafer (wafer 10, Fig. 7A-B, [0053]) to divide the wafer into individual device chips ([0002]), wherein in the laser processing step, a liquid layer (liquid layer 200, Fig. 7A, [0017] and [0045]) is formed on the device wafer (wafer 10, Fig. 6), and the laser beam (laser beam LB, Fig. 7A, [0047]) is applied to the device wafer (wafer 10, Fig. 7A) through the liquid layer (liquid layer 200, Fig. 7A, [0047]: “the laser beam LB applied from the focusing unit 86 is transmitted through the transparent plate 423 of the liquid jetting unit 40, the space 422a and the liquid layer 200, and is applied to the wafer 10 through the opening 422d.”).
Hadano further discloses that the liquid layer produces bubbles during laser processing process and helps removing debris from inside the grooves by rupture of bubbles. Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would be motivated to modify the method of Shigematsu according to the teachings of Hadano to perform the laser processing step by forming a liquid layer on the device wafer which would help to remove debris from the grooves. Because the laser processing performed through the reverse side of the device wafer in Shigematsu, the combination of Shigematsu and Hadano leads to a method wherein in the laser processing step, a liquid layer is formed on the reverse side of the device wafer, and the laser beam is applied to the device wafer through the liquid layer.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shigematsu (JP 2015153770 A) as applied to claims 1 above, and further in view of Matsumoto (JP 2019096768 A).
Regarding claim 3, Shigematsu teaches the device wafer processing method according to claim 1, wherein
Shigematsu teaches that the method further comprises
a tape affixing step (Fig. 2, [0018]) of affixing a tape (protective tape/member 3, Fig. 2, [0018] and [0037])) to the face side (front side 21a, Fig. 2, [0018]) of the device wafer (semiconductor wafer 2, Fig. 2, [0018]), wherein,
in the holding step (Fig. 8a, [0039]), the face side (front side 21a, Fig. 8a) of the device wafer (semiconductor wafer 2, Fig. 8a) is held via the tape (protective tape/member 3, Fig. 8a, [0035]: the semiconductor wafer is held by suction via protective tape/member 3).
Shigematsu, however, does not teach that the method further comprises
a water-soluble resin coating step of coating the face side of the device wafer with water-soluble resin before the holding step is carried out; and
a tape affixing step of affixing a tape to the face side of the device wafer after the water-soluble resin coating step is carried out.
Matsumoto, on the other hand, teaches a method for preventing adhesive residue from being generated on the surface to be held of a plate-like object, such as a semiconductor wafer, after processing (Abstact and [0002]), wherein the method comprises
a water-soluble resin coating step (Fig. 2, [0012]) of coating the face side (upper surface Wa, Fig. 2, [0013]) of the device wafer (plate-like object W including devices D, Fig. 2, [0013]) with water-soluble resin (water-soluble surfactant, Fig. 2, [0016]) before the holding step is carried out (Fig. 5, [0024]); and
a tape affixing step (sheet disposing step, Fig. 4, [0021]) of affixing a tape (long sheet K, Fig. 4, [0023]) to the face side (upper surface Wa, Fig. 4, [0023]) of the device wafer (plate-like object W including devices D, Fig. 4) after the water-soluble resin coating step (Fig. 2, [0012]) is carried out.
Matsumoto further discloses that including a water-soluble resin (water-soluble surfactant, Fig. 7) between the fixing tape (long sheet K, Fig. 7) and front side (upper surface Wa, Fig. 7) of the device wafer (plate-like object W including devices D, Fig. 7) prevents adhesive glue residues remain on the surface of the wafer ([0010]). Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would be motivated to modify the method of Shigematsu according to the teachings of Matsumoto to include steps for forming a water-soluble resin on the face side of the device wafer before the holding step to prevent the formation of glue residues on the face side of the device wafer. Thus, the combination of Shigematsu and Matsumoto meets all the limitations of claim 3 such that the method further comprises:
a water-soluble resin coating step of coating the face side of the device wafer with water-soluble resin before the holding step is carried out; and
a tape affixing step of affixing a tape to the face side of the device wafer after the water-soluble resin coating step is carried out, wherein,
in the holding step, the face side of the device wafer is held via the tape.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shigematsu (JP 2015153770 A) in view of Matsumoto (JP 2019096768 A) as applied to claims 3 above, and further in view of Yoshitama (JP 2019212839 A).
Regarding claim 4, Shigematsu teaches the device wafer processing method according to claim 3, wherein
Shigematsu teaches that the method further comprises:
a transferring step (wafer supporting step, Fig. 11, [0057]-[0058]) of affixing a reverse side tape (dicing tape 97, Fig. 11, [0057]-[0058]) to the reverse side (back surface 20b, Fig. 11, [0057]) of the device wafer (semiconductor wafer 2, Fig. 11) and removing the tape (protective tape/member 3, Fig. 11c, [0057]: “the protective member 3 affixed to the front surface of the functional layer 21 constituting the semiconductor wafer 2 is peeled off.”) from the face side (front side 21a, Fig. 11c) of the device wafer (semiconductor wafer 2, Fig. 11c), after the reverse side cleaning step is carried out.
Shigematsu, however, is silent on that the method further comprises
a reverse side cleaning step of cleaning the reverse side of the device wafer after the laser processing step is carried out;
Matsumoto, on the other hand, teaches a method for preventing adhesive residue from being generated on the surface to be held of a plate-like object, such as a semiconductor wafer, after processing (Abstact and [0002]), wherein the method comprises
a face side cleaning step (washing step, Fig. 9, [0038]) of cleaning the face side (upper surface Wa, Fig. 9, [0039]) of the device wafer (the plate-shaped body W, Fig. 9, [0039]) and removing the water-soluble resin ([0038]: ”The spin coater 3 used in the forming step can play a role of cleaning and removing the residue of the glue layer M from the upper surface Wa of the plate-shaped body W, in addition to a role of forming the glue layer M made of the water-soluble surfactant on the upper surface Wa of the plate-shaped body W. The remainder of the glue layer M may be cleaned and removed from the plate-shaped workpiece W by a cleaning device other than the spin coater 3.”), after the transferring step (removal step. [0036], Figs. 7-8)) is carried out.
Matsumoto further discloses that washing step removes the water-soluble resin (water-soluble surfactant, Fig. 7) and adhesive glue residues remaining on the surface of the wafer ([0038]-[0039]). Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would be motivated to modify the method of Shigematsu in view of Matsumoto according to the teachings of Matsumoto to include steps for cleaning the face side of the device wafer after the transferring step, to remove any resin and glue residues form the surface. Thus, the combination of Shigematsu and Matsumoto meets the limitations that the method further comprises:
a transferring step of affixing a reverse side tape to the reverse side of the device wafer and removing the tape from the face side of the device wafer, after the reverse side cleaning step is carried out; and
a face side cleaning step of cleaning the face side of the device wafer and removing the water-soluble resin, after the transferring step is carried out.
Shigematsu and Matsumoto, however, do not teach that the method further comprises
a reverse side cleaning step of cleaning the reverse side of the device wafer after the laser processing step is carried out.
Yoshitama, on the other hand, teaches a method for wafer processing (Overview) for separating individual devices (devices 5, Fig. 1, [0016]) on a device wafer (wafer 1, Fig. 1, [0016]), wherein the method comprises mounting the device wafer (wafer 1, Figs. 2-3, [0018]-[0019]) back face up on a platform (Fig. 3), performing a cutting process with blades from the back side of the device wafer (Fig. 3, [0020]-[0021]) and separating the individual devices with a laser processing step (functional layer cutting step ST4, Figs. 8-9, [0035]-[0036]). Yoshitama discloses that the method further comprises
a reverse side cleaning step (washing step ST5, Fig. 10, [0038]) of cleaning the reverse side (reverse side 7, Fig. 10, [0022]) of the device wafer (wafer 1, Fig. 10) after the laser processing step (functional layer cutting step ST4, Figs. 8-9, [0035]-[0036]) is carried out.
Yoshitama further discloses that the washing step ST5 is a step of supplying washing water 57 to the wafer 1 after the functional layer slicing step ST4 to remove the debris 310 generated by the application of the laser beams 51 and adhering to the inner surfaces of the cut grooves 300 (Fig. 9, [0038]). Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would be motivated to include a reverse side cleaning process in the method of Shigematsu in view of Matsumoto, as taught by Yoshitama, to be able to remove the debris remaining in the grooves after laser processing.
Thus, the combination of Shigematsu, Matsumoto, and Yoshitama meets all the limitations of claim 4.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Oba (US 2004/0076032 A1) teaches a method for cutting a device wafer into individual devices by forming initial grooves with a cutting blade and through wafer grooves in the initial grooves with a laser cutting process, which is relevant to all claims.
Kobayashi (US 2003/0045031 A1) teaches a method for cutting a device wafer into individual devices by forming initial grooves with a cutting blade and through wafer grooves in the initial grooves with a laser cutting process, which is relevant to all claims.
Yamashita (US 2018/0130709 A1) teaches a method for cutting a device wafer into individual devices by forming initial grooves with a cutting blade and through wafer grooves in the initial grooves with a laser cutting process, which is relevant to all claims.
/ILKER NMN OZDEN/Examiner, Art Unit 2812
/William B Partridge/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2812