DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1,2, 4-13,15-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claims 21-22 are newly added to the pending claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1,4-6,9-13,15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Zhang (CN 116403983 A).
The applied reference has a common assignee with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B) if the same invention is not being claimed; or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed in the reference and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement.
Regarding claim 1, Zhang teaches a method in fig. 1, comprising:
depositing a first dielectric layer (220A) as a first surface layer of a first package component (refer to lower surface of package 20A);
forming a first plurality of metal pads (30) in the first dielectric layer (220A) (see fig. 1A);
depositing a second dielectric layer (120A) as a second surface layer of a second package component (10A); and
bonding the second package component (20A) to the first package component (10A), wherein the first dielectric layer (220A) is bonded to the second dielectric layer (120A), wherein after the bonding, all top surfaces of all metal pads in the first dielectric layer (30) are in contact with a bottom surface of the second dielectric layer (220A), and wherein the first plurality of metal pads (30) are comprised in the all metal pads in the first dielectric layer (120A) (NOTE: A stacked package as shown in fig. 1A is flipped so that including a package component 20A as the bottom package and another package component 10A as the upper package).
Regarding claim 4, Zhang teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention for the same reasons as set forth above. Besides, Zhang teaches the all metal pads (30) in the first dielectric layer (220A) are electrically floating.
Regarding claim 5, Zhang teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention for the same reasons as set forth above. Besides, Zhang teaches after the bonding, one of the first plurality of metal pads (30) is fully enclosed in dielectric materials (refer to dielectric materials of 220A) (see fig. 1A).
Regarding claim 6, Zhang teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention for the same reasons as set forth above. Besides, Zhang teaches after the bonding, the all metal pads (30) in the first dielectric layer (220A) are fully enclosed in dielectric materials (refer to materials of 220A) (see fig. 1A).
Regarding claim 9, Zhang teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention for the same reasons as set forth above. Besides, Zhang teaches after the bonding, the all metal pads (30) in the first dielectric layer (220A) are in contact with the second dielectric layer (110A), and all metal pads (30) in the second dielectric layer (110A) are in contact with the first dielectric layer (120A).
Regarding claim 10, Zhang teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention for the same reasons as set forth above. Besides, Zhang teaches each of the first package component (10A) and the second package component (20A) comprises a wafer.
Regarding claim 11, Zhang teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention for the same reasons as set forth above. Besides, Zhang teaches each of the first package component and the second package component (10A and 20A) comprises a discrete device die (see its text accordingly).
Regarding claim 12, Zhang teaches a package in fig. 1A, comprising:
a first package component (20A) comprising:
a first semiconductor substrate (210A);
a first dielectric layer (220A) over the first semiconductor substrate (210A); and
a first plurality of metal pads (30) in the first dielectric layer (220A) (see fig. 1A), wherein all metal pads in the first dielectric layer (30) are electrically floating, and the all metal pads comprise the first plurality of metal pads; and
a second package component (10A) comprising:
a second semiconductor substrate (110A); and
a second dielectric layer (120A) underlying the second semiconductor substrate, wherein the second dielectric layer (220A) is bonded to the first dielectric layer (120A), and wherein an entire top surface of a first metal pad (30) in the first plurality of metal pads contacts the second dielectric layer (120A) (NOTE: the package shown in fig. 1A is flipped up-side-down to include a lower package component 20A and an upper package component 10A).
Regarding claim 13, Zhang teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention for the same reasons as set forth above. Besides, Zhang teaches in a top view of the package (see fig. 1B), the first plurality of metal pads (30) are distributed evenly in the first dielectric layer (220A).
Regarding claim 15, Zhang teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention for the same reasons as set forth above. Besides, Zhang teaches the all metal pads (30) in the first dielectric layer (220) are enclosed in dielectric materials (see fig. 1A).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (CN 116403983 A) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Chen (US 2021/0066192).
Regarding claim 2, Zhang teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention for the same reasons as set forth above except for patterning the dielectric layer to form openings; filling a metallic material into the openings; and performing a planarization process on the metallic material and the first dielectric layer.
Chen teaches the same field of an endeavor wherein patterning the dielectric layer (172) to form openings (refer to trenches mentioned in par. 18); filling a metallic material into the openings; and performing a planarization process on the metallic material and the first dielectric layer (see par. 18).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skills in the art before the invention was made to include the dielectric layer to form openings; filling a metallic material into the openings; and performing a planarization process on the metallic material and the first dielectric layer as taught by Chen in the teaching of Zhang in order to provide an alternative ways of forming the bonding pads (see par. 18).
Regarding claim 7, Zhang teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention for the same reasons as set forth above except for encapsulating the second package component in an encapsulant, wherein an additional top surface of metal pad in the first plurality of metal pads is in contact with the encapsulant.
Chen teaches the same field of an endeavor wherein encapsulating the second package component (WS) in an encapsulant (300), wherein an additional top surface of metal pad (refer to upper surface of 176) in the first plurality of metal pads is in contact with the encapsulant (300) (see fig. 1C).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skills in the art before the invention was made to include encapsulating the second package component in an encapsulant, wherein an additional top surface of metal pad in the first plurality of metal pads is in contact with the encapsulant as taught by Chen in the teaching of Zhang in order to protect the environmental erosion of the exposed floating bonding pads.
Regarding claim 8, Zhang teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention for the same reasons as set forth above. Besides, fig. 1A of Zhang shows wherein after the bonding, an entire top surface of at least one of the first plurality of metal pads (30) contacts the second dielectric layer (120A).
Zhang does not explicitly show forming a second plurality of metal pads in the second dielectric layer.
Chen teaches the same field of an endeavor wherein forming a second plurality of metal pads (176) in the second dielectric layer (172) (see fig. 1E).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skills in the art before the invention was made to include a second plurality of metal pads in the second dielectric layer as taught by Chen in the teaching of Zhang in order to achieve the variation in pattern densities of different regions (see par. 23).
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (CN 116403983 A) as applied to claim 12 above, and further in view of Chen (US 2021/0066192).
Regarding claim 16, Zhang teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention for the same reasons as set forth above. Besides, Zhang teaches a second metal pad (30) in the second dielectric layer (120A), wherein the second metal pad (refer to 30 in the dielectric layer 120A) contact the first dielectric layer (220A), and wherein a second metal pad (30) in the package component 10A) are electrically floating.
Zhang does not explicitly teach the second package component further comprises: a second plurality of metal pads.
Chen teaches the same field of an endeavor wherein the second package component further comprises: a second plurality of metal pads (see fig. 1 or 2).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skills in the art before the invention was made to include the second package component further comprises: a second plurality of metal pads as taught by Chen in the teaching of Chen in order to achieve the variation in pattern densities of different regions (see par. 23).
Claims 17,21 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (US 20210066192).
Regarding claim 17, Chen teaches a package in fig. 1, comprising:
a first device die (WS) comprising: a first dielectric layer (150; see par. 16); a second dielectric layer (172; see par. 18) over the first dielectric layer (150); and
a plurality of metal pads (174/176) in the second dielectric layer (172), wherein bottom surfaces of the plurality of metal pads (150) are in contact with a first top surface of the first dielectric layer (refer to an upper surface of 150), and wherein second top surfaces of the plurality of [[bond]] metal pads (refer to upper surfaces of 176) are coplanar with a third top surface of the second dielectric layer (refer to upper surface of 172), wherein in a top view of the package, the plurality of metal pads are elongated with length wise directions aligned to concentric rings (see fig. 2A or 2B)
and a second device die (200) over and bonding to the first device die (WS).
Chen does not explicitly teach the first dielectric layer and the second dielectric layer are formed of variety of dielectric materials (pars. 16 and 18).
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skills in the art before the invention was made to select the first dielectric layer and the second dielectric layer are formed of different dielectric materials in the listed dielectric material so that it provides an alternative way of making product.
Regarding claim 21, Chen teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention for the same reasons as set forth above. Besides, Chen teaches the plurality of metal pads comprise tungsten or aluminum (see par. 18).
Regarding claim 22, Chen teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention for the same reasons as set forth above. Besides, Chen teaches one of the plurality of metal pads (30) is curved and has an elongated top-view shape fitting a circle or a rectangle (see fig. 1 or 2).
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen as applied to claim 17 above, and further in view of Zhang (CN 116403983 A).
Regarding claim 18, Chen teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention for the same reasons as set forth above except for all of the metal pads in the second dielectric layer are electrically floating.
Zhang teaches the same field of an endeavor wherein all of the metal pads (30) in the second dielectric layer (220A) are electrically floating (see fig.1A or 1B).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skills in the art before the invention was made to include all of the metal pads in the second dielectric layer are electrically floating as taught by Zhang in the teaching of Chen because the floating bonding pad at the interface between the mixing bonding layer or the fusion bonding layer can react with the oxygen atom of the water molecule, and reduce the amount of the water molecule captured in the bonding structure. Therefore, it can reduce the defect generated by the captured water molecule, so as to improve the bonding strength of the bonding layer.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (US 20210066192) as applied to claim 17 above, and further in view of Haba (US 2019/0115323).
Regarding claim 19, Chen teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention for the same reasons as set forth above. Besides, Chen teaches a first metal pad (176) among the plurality of metal pads (174/176) is electrically floating. a second metal pad among the plurality of metal pads is electrically grounded.
Haba does not mention a second metal pad among the plurality of metal pads is electrically grounded (see par. 59 and fig. 9).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skills in the art before the invention was made to include a second metal pad among the plurality of metal pads is electrically grounded as taught by Haba in the teaching of Chen in order to provide ground connection to the device.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (US 20210066192) in view of Haba (US 2019/0115323) as applied to claim 19 above, and further in view of Zhang (CN 116403983).
Regarding claim 20, Chen and Haba teach all the limitations of the claimed invention for the same reasons as set forth above. Besides, Chen teaches the second device die (200) further comprises a third dielectric layer (272) bonding to the second dielectric layer (172).
Chen does not teach the third dielectric layer is over and contacting the plurality of metal pads, and wherein the third dielectric layer is a blanket layer free from metallic features therein.
Zhang teaches the same field of an endeavor wherein a second package component (10A) comprising: a dielectric layer (120A) is over and contacting the plurality of metal pads (30), and wherein the third dielectric layer (20A) is a blanket layer free from metallic features therein (see fig. 1A).
Thus it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skills in the art before the invention was made to include a dielectric layer is over and contacting the plurality of metal pads, and wherein the third dielectric layer is a blanket layer free from metallic features therein as taught by Zhang in the teaching of Chen because the dielectric layer is a blanket layer free from metallic features therein such as the floating bonding pad at the interface between the mixing bonding layer or the fusion bonding layer can react with the oxygen atom of the water molecule, and reduce the amount of the water molecule captured in the bonding structure. Therefore, it can reduce the defect generated by the captured water molecule, so as to improve the bonding strength of the bonding layer.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NIKI H NGUYEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2818