Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 9, and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ohnuki, US 2015/0014762 in view of Seok, KR 2013-0090505.
Ohnuki shows the invention substantially as claimed including a memory device, comprising:
Active regions 14, defined in a semiconductor substrate 10;
Word line structures, formed on the semiconductor substrate, and intersected with the active regions, wherein each of the word line structures comprises:
A floating gate 22;
A control gate 32, stacked on the floating gate; and
A gate dielectric layer 12 located between the floating gate and corresponding active region;
First protection layers 46, respectively covering an upper part of the control gate in one of the word line structures, wherein a bottom end of the control gate in each word line structure is lower than a bottom end of each first protection layer; and
A second protection layer 42, covering the first protection layers, and wrapping the word line structures, wherein the second protection layer covers sidewalls of the control gate and the floating gate in each word line structure (see fig. 3 and paragraphs 0032-0042).
Ohnuki does not expressly disclose the gate dielectric layer being a tunneling dielectric layer and wherein the second protective layer covers sidewalls of the tunneling dielectric layer. Seok discloses the gate dielectric layer 205 being a tunnel dielectric layer and a protective layer 500 covering sidewalls of the floating gate, control gate, as well as the tunneling dielectric layer (see, for example, figs. 2a-2f and their descriptions and paragraphs 0029-0046 of machine translation). In view of this disclosure, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the primary reference of Ohnuki so as to have a gate dielectric that is a tunnel dielectric and forming a protective layer on its sidewalls in order to provide adequate protection for the memory device.
Concerning dependent claim 2, note that in Ohnuki each first protection layer 46 partially covers the control gate 32 of one of the word line structures (see, for example, fig. 3).
With respect to dependent claim 3, note that the bottom end of each first protection layer 48 is in contact with the lower part of the control gate in one of the word line structures from above.
Regarding dependent claim 4, note that in Ohnuki sidewalls of the lower part of the control gate 26 in each word line structure are not covered by any of the first protection layers (see fig. 3).
As to dependent claim 5, note that Ohnuki discloses wherein the upper part and the lower part of the control gate in each word line structure are a metal layer 30 and a polysilicon layer 26, respectively (see paragraphs 0047-0053).
With respect to dependent claim 9, note that in Ohnuki vertically extending surfaces of each first protection layer are substantially coplanar with sidewalls of the lower part of the control gate and the floating gate of one of the word line structures (see fig. 3).
Regarding dependent claim 11, note that the second protection layer 42 has portions laterally extending in between the word line structures (see fig. 3).
Claim(s) 6 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ohnuki, US 2015/0014762 in view of Seok, KR 2013-0090505 as applied to claims 1-5, 9, and 11 above, and further in view of Fujitsuka et al., US 2015/0060986.
Ohnuki and Seok are applied as above but does not expressly disclose wherein the upper part of the control gate in each word line tapers upwardly. Fujitsuka et al. discloses wherein the upper part of the control gate in each word line tapers upwardly (see fig. 1 and its description). In view of this disclosure, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the primary reference of Ohnuki modified by Seok so as to upwardly taper the control gate in each word line because in such a way a suitable memory device can be realized.
Regarding dependent claim 10, Ohnuki and Seok are applied as above but do not expressly disclose wherein a dielectric material filled in between the word line structures has air gaps, each continuously extending along a vertical direction between adjacent ones of the word line structures. However, Fujitsuka et al. discloses wherein a dielectric material filled in between the word line structures has air gaps, each continuously extending along a vertical direction between adjacent ones of the word line structures (see paragraphs 0044-0054). In view of this disclosure, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the primary reference of Ohnuki modified by Seok so as to comprise the claimed air gaps of Fijitsuka et al. because this provides adequate dielectric separation between adjacent devices.
.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art, particularly Ohnuki, US 2015/0014762, do not expressly disclose the claimed upper and lower air gap, as required by dependent claim 7.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-6 and 9-11 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RICHARD A BOOTH/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2812
May 5, 2026