Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of group I in the reply filed on 10/22/25 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 5-6, 21-22, and 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Fagot et al., US 2019/0057981.
Fagot shows the invention as claimed including a method for manufacturing a high-voltage transistor 6 in and on a high-voltage region of a silicon-on-insulator type bulk (for example, 8, 10, 12) including a semiconductor film having a first thickness, electrically insulated from a carrier bulk by a buried dielectric layer 10, the method comprising:
Selectively epitaxially growing the semiconductor film in the high-voltage region to a second thickness (12,22) that is greater than the first thickness 12, the semiconductor film remaining at the first thickness in a region outside the high-voltage region 4 (see figs. 1a-1h and paragraphs 0032-0045).
Regarding dependent claim 2, note that Fagot et al. discloses epitaxially growing the carrier bulk in a localized monolithic region 2 of the silicon-on-insulator type bulk, wherein the epitaxially growing of the semiconductor film 22 in the high-voltage region is performed simultaneously with the epitaxially growing of the carrier bulk in the localized monolithic region (see, for example, fig. 1G).
As to dependent claim 5, note that Fagot discloses wherein epitaxially growing the semiconductor film comprises forming a dedicated hard mask 20 comprising an opening uncovering the semiconductor film in the high-voltage region, prior to the epitaxially growing of the semiconductor film in the high-voltage region (see, for example, figs. 1D-1F).
Concerning dependent claim 6, note that Fagot discloses forming a gate region of the high-voltage transistor on the semiconductor film having the second thickness of the high-voltage region; and forming conduction regions of the high-voltage transistor in the semiconductor film having the second thickness of the high-voltage region (note that inherently the high voltage region contains high voltage transistors which comprise source/drain conduction regions).
Regarding independent claim 21, Fargot discloses a method of manufacturing a semiconductor device in a silicon-on-insulator substrate that includes a semiconductor film electrically insulated from a carrier bulk by a buried dielectric layer 10, the method comprising:
Forming a low-voltage transistor at a surface of the semiconductor film in a low-voltage region 4 of the silicon-on-insulator substrate, the semiconductor film in the low-voltage region 12 having a first thickness; and forming a high-voltage transistor at the surface of the semiconductor film in a high-voltage region 6 of the silicon-on-insulator substrate, the semiconductor film in the high-voltage region having a second thickness (12,22) that is greater than the first thickness (see figs. 1A-1H and paragraphs 0033-0045).
With respect to dependent claim 22, note that Fargot discloses further comprising a further transistor laterally spaced from the low-voltage transistor and the high-voltage transistor and formed in region 2, the further transistor formed in a region of semiconductor without any underlying buried dielectric (see fig. 1H).
Concerning dependent claim 24, note that Fargot also discloses wherein forming the high-voltage transistor comprises forming a gate region over the semiconductor film in the high-voltage region and forming conduction regions in the semiconductor film in the high-voltage region (note that inherently the high voltage region contains high voltage transistors which comprise source/drain conduction regions).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8-9 and 27-28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fagot et al., US 2019/0057981.
Fagot et al. is applied as claimed but fails to expressly disclose wherein the second thickness is at least 13 nm greater than the first thickness and the claimed first and second thicknesses. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to determine through routine experimentation the optimum values of the first and second thicknesses depending upon a variety of factors including the particular voltage resistance of the transistors and such limitation would not lend patentability absent a showing of unexpected results.
Claim(s) 7 and 25-26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fagot et al., US 2019/0057981 in view of Bryant et al., US 2009/0096026.
Fagot et al. shows the invention substantially as claimed but does not expressly disclose wherein the high voltage transistor is part of a fully depleted transistor. Bryant et al. discloses wherein the high voltage transistor is part of a fully depleted transistor (see abstract). In view of this disclosure, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the method of Fagot et al. so as to configure the high voltage transistor to be a fully depleted transistor because in such a way a high voltage transistor with a large breakdown voltage can be provided.
Claim(s) 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fagot et al., US 2019/0057981 in view of Tigelaar, US 2006/0216898.
Fagot et al. is applied as above but does not expressly disclose wherein forming a further transistor comprises forming a bipolar junction transistor. Tigelaar discloses the formation of a fet based high voltage and low voltage transistor and the formation of additional bipolar transistors (see paragraph 0010). In view of this disclosure, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the process of Fagot et al. so as to fabricate bipolar transistors because of many of their well-known benefits including rapid switching.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-4 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art, either singly or in combination, particularly Fagot et al., US 2019/0057981, fails to anticipate or render obvious, the claimed invention having the following limitations, in combination with the remaining claimed limitations: oxidizing the semiconductor film in the localized monolithic region at the first opening; and selectively etching to remove the oxidized semiconductor film and the buried dielectric layer in the localized monolithic region, as required by dependent claim 3.
Claims 10-12 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art, either singly or in combination, particularly Fagot et al., US 2019/0057981, fails to anticipate or render obvious, the claimed invention having the following limitations, in combination with the remaining claimed limitations: oxidizing the semiconductor film in the localized monolithic region; selectively etching to remove the oxidized semiconductor film and the buried dielectric layer in the localized monolithic region, and epitaxially growing the semiconductor film to a second thickness at the second opening in the high-voltage region, such that the second thickness is at least 13nm greater than the first thickness, as required by independent claim 10.
Conclusion
/RICHARD A BOOTH/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2812
February 10, 2026