DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the filing of the Applicant Arguments/Remarks Made in an Amendment on 04/29/2026. Currently, claims 1-2, 4-10 and 14-23 are pending in the application. Claims 4, 8-10 and 14-20 have been withdrawn and claims 3 and 11-13 have been cancelled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by LI et al (US 20200403026 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Figure 1-2 of LI disclose a light-emitting diode (LED) device, comprising:
a first LED chip (red LED at 210, [0112]), wherein the first LED chip, comprises: a first anode connection (P-electrode for red LED, [0073]) and a first cathode connection (256, [0120]);
a second LED chip (green LED at 220, [0088]) mounted to the first LED chip, the second LED chip comprising:
a second anode connection (P-electrode for red green LED, [0073]) and a second cathode connection (258, [0120]);
a third LED chip (blue LED at 230, [0096]) mounted to the first LED chip, the third LED chip comprising:
a third anode connection (P-electrode for blue LED, [0073]) and a third cathode connection (260, [0120]);
wherein the second anode connection and the second cathode connection of the second LED chip are connected to the third anode connection and the third cathode connection of the third LED chip in a string (since anode or p-electrodes of three color are connected together and cathode or n-electrodes are connected to common ground, [0068]).
Regarding claim 2, Figure 1-2 of LI disclose that the LED device of claim 1, wherein: the first LED chip (red LED at 210, [0112]) defines a first surface; the second LED chip (green LED at 220, [0088]) defines a second surface; and the second surface of the second LED chip is mounted on the first surface of the first LED chip (red LED at 210, [0112]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 and 21-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Chin et al (US 20070018189 A1) in view of Oraw (US 20150357315 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Figure 7/8 of Chin disclose a light-emitting diode (LED) device, comprising:
a first LED chip (30, [0023]), wherein the first LED chip, comprises: a first anode connection and a first cathode connection (anode and cathode connections are not explicitly recited or leveled but a LED inherently has an anode and a cathode electrode that needs connectivity and the connections are at the bottom side of 30 as shown in Figure 7);
a second LED chip (40, [0021]) mounted to the first LED chip, the second LED chip comprising:
a second anode connection (considering the left wire 60 connected with 40, [0021]) and a second cathode connection (considering the right wire 60 connected with 40); and
a third LED chip (50) mounted to the first LED chip, the third LED chip comprising:
a third anode connection (considering the left wire 60 connected with 50, [0021]) and a third cathode connection (considering the right wire 60 connected with 50).
Chin does not explicitly teach wherein the second anode connection and the second cathode connection of the second LED chip (40) are connected to the third anode connection and the third cathode connection of the third LED chip (50) in a string.
However, Oraw is a pertinent art which teaches a plurality of overlapping, transparent light emitting diode (LED) layers and, in particular, wherein Oraw teaches a single light sheet may be formed by multiple areas of LEDs tiled on a single substrate, where each separate area of LEDs comprises LEDs electrically connected in parallel and series by the various conductor layers. As an example, one strip of LEDs may be electrically isolated from an adjacent strip as a result of the pattern used during the screen printing of the LEDs and conductor layers. In this way, the separate strips may be connected together in series and/or parallel, or isolated, by metal patterns on the light sheet to achieve the desired electrical characteristics of the light sheet. Dividing the LEDs into areas also reduces the required current for each conductor layer and improves reliability in the event of a short or open circuit. By enabling driving the strips with different voltages, different types of LEDs (having different forward voltages) may be used in adjacent strips to combine the different colors from the strips. In one embodiment, red, green, and blue LEDs are in adjacent narrow strips to create white light without a phosphor ([0074] and [0081]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the LED device of Chin such that wherein the second anode connection and the second cathode connection of the second LED chip are connected to the third anode connection and the third cathode connection of the third LED chip in a string according to the teaching of Oraw in order to connect different LED in parallel to the desired electrical characteristics and improves reliability in the event of a short or open circuit (Oraw, [0074]).
Regarding claim 2, Figure 7/8 of Chin disclose that the LED device of claim 1, wherein: the first LED chip (30) defines a first surface; the second LED chip (40) defines a second surface; and the second surface of the second LED chip is mounted on the first surface of the first LED chip (30).
Regarding claims 21-23, Figure 7/8 of Chin does not explicitly teach that the LED device of claim 1, wherein: the first anode connection of the first LED chip is configured to receive a first voltage; the second anode connection of the second LED chip is configured to receive a second voltage that is different from the first voltage; the third anode connection of the third LED chip is connected to the first anode connection of the first LED chip; the second cathode connection is connected to the third cathode connection. Or
The LED device of claim 1, wherein the first anode connection of the first LED chip and the first cathode connection of the first LED chip is isolated from the second anode connection of the second LED chip, the second cathode connection of the second LED chip, the third anode connection of the third LED chip, and the third cathode connection of the third LED chip. Or
The LED device of claim 1, wherein: the first anode connection of the first LED chip is configured to receive a first voltage; the second anode connection of the second LED chip is configured to receive a second voltage that is different from the first voltage; the third anode connection of the third LED chip is configured to receive a third voltage that is different from the first voltage and the second voltage; the second cathode connection is connected to the third cathode connection.
However, Oraw is a pertinent art which teaches a plurality of overlapping, transparent light emitting diode (LED) layers and, in particular, wherein Oraw teaches a single light sheet may be formed by multiple areas of LEDs tiled on a single substrate, where each separate area of LEDs comprises LEDs electrically connected in parallel and series by the various conductor layers. As an example, one strip of LEDs may be electrically isolated from an adjacent strip as a result of the pattern used during the screen printing of the LEDs and conductor layers. In this way, the separate strips may be connected together in series and/or parallel, or isolated, by metal patterns on the light sheet to achieve the desired electrical characteristics of the light sheet. Dividing the LEDs into areas also reduces the required current for each conductor layer and improves reliability in the event of a short or open circuit. By enabling driving the strips with different voltages, different types of LEDs (having different forward voltages) may be used in adjacent strips to combine the different colors from the strips. In one embodiment, red, green, and blue LEDs are in adjacent narrow strips to create white light without a phosphor ([0074] and [0081]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the LED device of Chin as claimed above according to the teaching of Oraw in order to connect different LED in parallel or series to the desired electrical characteristics and improves reliability in the event of a short or open circuit (Oraw, [0074]).
Claims 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Chin et al (US 20070018189 A1) in view of Oraw (US 20150357315 A1) as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Chen et al (US 20100109028 A1).
Regarding claims 5-6, Figure 7/8 of Chin does not explicitly teach that the LED device of claim 1, wherein: the first LED chip (30), comprises: a first growth substrate; and a first active LED region mounted on the first growth substrate; the second LED chip (40), comprises: a second growth substrate; and a second active LED region mounted on the second growth substrate; and the second growth substrate is mounted on the first growth substrate, wherein: the third LED chip (50), comprises: a third growth substrate; and a third active LED region mounted on the third growth substrate; and the third growth substrate is mounted on the first growth substrate.
However, Chen is a pertinent art which teaches a vertical stack of LED device, wherein Figure 1 of Chen teaches that the first light emitting diodes A contains a first substrate 111 (Figure 1), a first n-type semiconductor layer 110, a first light emitting layer 109, and a first p-type semiconductor layer 108 formed on the first substrate 111, and the second light emitting diodes B contains a second substrate 113, a second n-type semiconductor layer 114, a second light emitting layer 115 and a second p-type semiconductor layer 116 formed on the second substrate 113 ([0020] and [0022]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the first to third LEDs in the device of Chin in combination with Oraw the first LED chip (30), comprises: a first growth substrate; and a first active LED region mounted on the first growth substrate; the second LED chip (40), comprises: a second growth substrate; and a second active LED region mounted on the second growth substrate; and the second growth substrate is mounted on the first growth substrate, wherein: the third LED chip (50), comprises: a third growth substrate; and a third active LED region mounted on the third growth substrate; and the third growth substrate is mounted on the first growth substrate according to the teaching of Chen in order to improve light efficiency, operation life and the brightness ([0005] of Chen).
Regarding claim 7, Figure 7/8 of Chin in view of Oraw teach that the LED device of claim 5, wherein: the first anode connection and the first cathode connection are arranged such that the first LED chip (30, Figure 7 of Chin) has a flip-chip configuration; and the second anode connection and the second cathode connection are arranged such that the second LED chip has a lateral configuration (Figures 7/8 of Chin).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments/amendments regarding the rejection of claims 1-2, 5-7 and 21-23, filed on 04/29/2026, have been fully considered but arguments are moot because newly added limitation to the claim (s) requires a new ground of rejection necessitated by amendments.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KHAJA AHMAD/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2813