DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the Applicant Election filled on 11/18/2025. Currently, claims 1-20 are pending in the application. Claims 4 and 8-20 have been withdrawn from consideration.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election without traverse of Species I (Figure 1), claims 1-3 and 5-7, in the reply filed on 11/18/2025 is acknowledged, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chen et al (US 20100109028 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Figure 1 of Chen discloses a light-emitting diode (LED) device, comprising:
a first LED chip (A, [0019]); and
a second LED chip (B, [0019]) mounted to the first LED chip.
Regarding claim 2, Figure 1 of Chen discloses that the LED device of claim 1, wherein:
the first LED chip (A) defines a first surface (top surface of A in the Figure 1);
the second LED chip (B) defines a second surface (bottom surface of B in the Figure 1); and
the second surface of the second LED chip is mounted on the first surface of the first LED chip.
Regarding claim 3, Figure 1 of Chen discloses that the LED device of claim 1, wherein: the first LED chip (A) defines a first cathode contact (107, [0021]) and a first anode contact (106); and the second LED chip (B) defines a second cathode contact (117, [0024]) and a second anode contact (118, [0024]).
Regarding claim 5, Figure 1 of Chen discloses that the LED device of claim 1, wherein:
the first LED chip (A), comprises:
a first growth substrate (111, [0020]); and
a first active LED region (109, [0020]) mounted on the first growth substrate;
the second LED chip (B), comprises:
a second growth substrate (113, [0022]); and
a second active LED region (115) mounted on the second growth substrate; and
the second growth substrate (113) is mounted on the first growth substrate (111).
Regarding claim 7, Figure 1 of Chen discloses that the LED device of claim 5, wherein: the first LED chip (A) comprises a first anode connection (105, [0021]) and a first cathode connection (104, [0021]), wherein the first anode connection and the first cathode connection are arranged such that the first LED chip (A) has a flip-chip configuration ([0024]); and the second LED chip (B) comprises a second anode connection (120, [0024]) and a second cathode connection (119), wherein the second anode connection and the second cathode connection are arranged such that the second LED chip has a lateral configuration (lateral wiring configuration).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Chen et al (US 20100109028 A1) in view of Chin et al (US 20070018189 A1).
Regarding claim 6, Figure 1 of Chen does not teach that the LED device of claim 5, further comprising a third LED chip, wherein: the third LED chip, comprises: a third growth substrate; and a third active LED region mounted on the first growth substrate; and the third growth substrate is mounted on the first growth substrate.
However, Chin is a pertinent art which teaches a light emitting diode comprises: a bracing frame; and at least two chips stacked on the bracing frame in a chip-on-chip stacking manner. The light emitting diode for uniform color mixing is completed after each of said at least two chips is electrically connected. Figures 1-8 of Chin teach some examples of stacked light emitting diode wherein some of them are mounted one over another and some of them are mounted side by side on another light emitting diode (Figure 8).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the LED device of Chen (Figure 1) by stacking a third LED chip of same types ( for example B, Figure 1 of Chen) wherein the third LED chip, comprises: a third growth substrate; and a third active LED region mounted on the first growth substrate; and the third growth substrate is mounted on the first growth substrate according to the teaching of Chin in order to have a light emitting device with uniform color mixing without increasing the production cost, wherein this light emitting diode is provided for the consumer in accordance with the motive ([0004] of Chin).
Examiner Notes
A reference to specific paragraphs, columns, pages, or figures in a cited prior art reference is not limited to preferred embodiments or any specific examples. It is well settled that a prior art reference, in its entirety, must be considered for all that it expressly teaches and fairly suggests to one having ordinary skill in the art. Stated differently, a prior art disclosure reading on a limitation of Applicant's claim cannot be ignored on the ground that other embodiments disclosed were instead cited. Therefore, the Examiner's citation to a specific portion of a single prior art reference is not intended to exclusively dictate, but rather, to demonstrate an exemplary disclosure commensurate with the specific limitations being addressed. In re Heck, 699 F.2d 1331, 1332-33,216 USPQ 1038, 1039 (Fed. Cir. 1983) (quoting In re Lemelson, 397 F.2d 1006, 1009, 158 USPQ 275, 277 (CCPA 1968)). In re: Upsher-Smith Labs. v. Pamlab, LLC, 412 F.3d 1319, 1323, 75 USPQ2d 1213, 1215 (Fed. Cir. 2005); In re Fritch, 972 F.2d 1260, 1264, 23 USPQ2d 1780, 1782 (Fed. Cir. 1992); Merck& Co. v. BiocraftLabs., Inc., 874 F.2d 804, 807, 10 USPQ2d 1843, 1846 (Fed. Cir. 1989); In re Fracalossi, 681 F.2d 792,794 n.1, 215 USPQ 569, 570 n.1 (CCPA 1982); In re Lamberti, 545 F.2d 747, 750, 192 USPQ 278, 280 (CCPA 1976); In re Bozek, 416 F.2d 1385, 1390, 163 USPQ 545, 549 (CCPA 1969).
Conclusion
/KHAJA AHMAD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2813