Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 6/30/2023 was filed before the mailing date of the Non-final rejection on 2/25/2026. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The formal drawings filed on 6/30/2023 have been approved by the examiner.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: “ POWER MODULE HAVING A SLOT IN THE MOLDED BODY ”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 6, and 11-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being clearly anticipated by Bai et al. (US 8,901,721).
With respect to Claims 1 and 15, Bai teaches a circuit or circuit assembly including at least one semiconductor die 202 and a molded body 402 encapsulating the circuit. The molded body 402 having a primary surface 706 arranged in a plane and a side surface that is non-parallel with the plane. A slot 406 defined in the primary surface of the molded body 402. A signal lead 108, 110 extending out of the side surface of the molded body, the signal lead being electrically coupled with the circuit 202 and having a plurality of bends. A bend of the plurality of bends (i.e. located at 704) being at least partially disposed in the slot (see col. 4 lines 1-67 and col. 8 lines 1-10; Figs. 3 and 6-8).
With respect to Claim 6, Bai teaches the side surface is multi-faceted, the signal lead 702, 704 extending out the side surface at an intersection of a first facet and a second facet (see Figs. 7 and 8).
With respect to Claim 11, Bai teaches the slot is a first slot 406. The signal lead 702, 704 are a first signal lead, the side surface is a first side surface. The molded body further has a second side surface that is that is non-parallel with the plane of the primary surface 706. The electronic device assembly further comprising a second slot (i.e. another 406) defined in the primary surface of the molded body. A second signal lead extending out of the second side surface of the molded body. The second signal lead being electrically coupled with the circuit and having a plurality of bends. A bend of the plurality of bends of the second signal lead being at least partially disposed in the second slot (see Figs. 3 and 5-8).
With respect to Claim 12, Bai teaches the molded body 402 further has a third side surface that is that is non-parallel with the plane of the primary surface 706. The electronic device assembly further comprising a third slot defined in the primary surface of the molded body 406. A third signal lead (i.e. another 108, 110) extending out of the third side surface of the molded body. The third signal lead being electrically coupled with the circuit and having a plurality of bends. A bend of the plurality of bends of the third signal lead being at least partially disposed in the third slot (see Figs. 3 and 5-8).
With respect to Claim 13, Bai teaches the molded body 402 further has a fourth side surface that is that is non-parallel with the plane of the primary surface. The electronic device assembly further comprising a fourth slot defined in the primary surface of the molded body. A fourth signal lead (i.e. another 108, 110) extending out of the fourth side surface of the molded body. The fourth signal lead being electrically coupled with the circuit and having a plurality of bends. A bend of the plurality of bends of the fourth signal lead being at least partially disposed in the fourth slot (see Figs. 5-8).
With respect to Claim 14, Bai teaches the slot is a first slot and the signal lead 108, 110 is a first signal lead. The electronic device assembly further comprising a second slot 406 defined in the primary surface of the molded body 402. A second signal lead (i.e. another 108, 110) extending out of the side surface of the molded body 402. The second signal lead being electrically coupled with the circuit 202 and having a plurality of bends. A bend of the plurality of bends of the second signal lead being at least partially disposed in the second slot (see Figs. 5-8).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bai et al. (US 8,901,721) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of King et al. (US6,616,953).
With respect to Claims 2 and 16, Bai discloses the claimed invention except for the bend of the plurality of bends is a semicircular bend.
However, King discloses the bend of the plurality of bends is a semicircular bend (see Fig. 5). Thus, Bai and King have substantially the same environment of chip electrically connected a lead, wherein the lead bends in the slot of package body. Therefore, one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the leads of Bai, since the semicircular bend would facilitate in bonding the semiconductor package to an external substrate as taught by King.
Allowable Subject Matter
10. Claims 3-5, 7-10, 17-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowance subject
matter: none of the prior art of record fails to teach or suggest the combination of
the semicircular bend contacts the slot at a proximal end of the slot and at a distal end of the slot in claim 3.
The bend of the plurality of bends is a first bend, the signal lead including
a first portion that extends out of the side surface parallel to the plane of the
primary surface. A second portion that is orthogonal to the first portion, wherein the second bend of the plurality of bends being disposed between the first portion and the second portion. A third portion that is orthogonal to the second portion and parallel to the plane of the primary surface. A third bend of the plurality of bends being disposed between the second portion and the third portion. A fourth portion that is orthogonal to the plane of the primary surface. The first bend being disposed between the fourth portion and the third portion in claim 7.
The plurality of bends such that the semicircular bend contacts the slot at a proximal end of the slot and a distal end of the slot in claim 17.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is cited primarily to show the
product of the instant invention.
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning the communication or earlier communications from the
examiner should be directed to Alonzo Chambliss whose telephone number is (571)
272-1927.
supervisor, Jacob Y. Choi can be reached on (469) 295-9060. The fax phone number
for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is (571) 273-8300.
Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system Status information for published
applications may be obtained from either Private PMR or Public PMR.
Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PMR
only. For more information about the PMR system see hittp://pair-dkect.uspto. gov.
Should you have questions on access to the Private PMR system contact the
Electronic Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free).
AC/February 25, 2026 /Alonzo Chambliss/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2897