DETAILED ACTION
Common Ownership/English translation
The statement of common ownership and the English translation of the Priority Application has been acknowledged. Jeoung et al (US Pub no. 2022/0285468 A1)has been withdrawn.
Allowable Subject Matter
The indicated allowability of claims 6-8,10,& 17-19 are withdrawn in view of the newly discovered reference(s) to Seo (US Pub no. 2022/0102470 A1). Rejections based on the newly cited reference(s) follow.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-14, & 16-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeon (US Pub no. 2021/0036070 A1) in view of Seo (US Pub no. 2022/0102470 A1)
Regarding claim 1, Jeon et al discloses A display apparatus comprising: a substrate (100)[0067]comprising: a first auxiliary pixel area(Pa in the x direction on the left side) fig. 1[0065] ; a second auxiliary pixel area(Pa in x direction right side) adjacent to the first auxiliary pixel area in a first direction[0065] fig. 1; a third auxiliary pixel area (Pa- in the Y direction)adjacent to the first auxiliary pixel area(Pa in the x-direction left side) in a second direction crossing the first direction fig. 1; and a transmission area (TA)between the first auxiliary pixel area(Pa in the x direction on the left side) and the second auxiliary pixel area (Pa in x direction right side), and between the first auxiliary pixel area (Pa in the x direction on the left side) and the third auxiliary pixel area(Pa- in the Y direction) [0060-0061] fig. 1; a pixel-defining layer (119)comprising: a first auxiliary opening(OP1) in the first auxiliary pixel area(Pa in the x direction on the left side) to expose a central portion of a first auxiliary pixel electrode(221’) under the pixel-defining layer(119)[0185]; a second auxiliary opening (OP2) in the second auxiliary pixel area(Pa in x direction right side) to expose a central portion of a second auxiliary pixel electrode(221’) under the pixel-defining layer(119)[0185]; and a third auxiliary opening in the third auxiliary pixel area to expose a central portion of a third auxiliary pixel electrode under the pixel-defining layer (PA has the same structure for each of PA) see fig. 1
Jeon et al fails to teach an auxiliary connection wiring under the first auxiliary pixel electrode , the second auxiliary pixel electrode, or the third auxiliary pixel electrode, and extending from the first auxiliary pixel area, the second auxiliary pixel area, or the third auxiliary pixel area to the transmission area; and an organic layer at the transmission area.
However, Seo et al discloses an auxiliary connection wiring (TWL) under the first auxiliary pixel electrode( 121’) and extending from the first auxiliary pixel area, to the transmission area(TA) fig. 6; and an organic layer (117)at the transmission area TA[0135][0158]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Jeon et al with the teachings of Seo et al to provide high integration and electrical connection to the auxiliary pixel circuit without diminishing the transmittance of the transmission area.
Regarding claim 2, Seo et al discloses wherein a portion of the auxiliary
connection wiring (TWL)is located at the transmission area (TA), and wherein the organic layer (117)is on the portion of the auxiliary connection wiring(TWL)
located at the transmission area(TA) fig. 6[0135][0158].
Regarding claim 3, Seo et al discloses wherein the organic layer (117)[0158]covers the portion of the auxiliary connection wiring(TWL) located at the transmission area(TA) fig. 6.
Regarding claim 5, Seo et al discloses wherein the organic layer(117) comprises a transparent organic insulating material(117), and does not include a light-blocking material[0158] fig. 6.
Regarding claim 6, Seo et al discloses further comprising: an opposite electrode (123)on the first auxiliary pixel electrode(121’), the second auxiliary pixel electrode(121’), and the third auxiliary pixel electrode(121’)[0117][0119-0120][0164][0052]; a first common layer(122a) between the first auxiliary pixel electrode (121’)and a first auxiliary emission layer(122b’), between the second auxiliary pixel electrode(121’) and a second auxiliary emission layer(122b’), and between the third auxiliary pixel electrode(121’) and a third auxiliary emission layer(122b’)[0165-0166] fig. 6; and a second common layer (122c)between the first auxiliary emission layer(122b’) and the opposite electrode(123), between the second auxiliary emission layer (122b’) and the opposite electrode(123), and between the third auxiliary emission layer (122b’) and the opposite electrode(123)(fig. 6). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Jeon et al with the teachings of Seo et al to provide voltage uniformity.
Regarding claim 7, Seo et al discloses wherein a portion of the opposite electrode(123), a portion of the first common layer(122a), and a portion of the second common layer (122c)are located at the transmission area(TA) fig. 6.
Regarding claim 8, Jeon et al discloses wherein the portion of the opposite electrode(123) located at the transmission area (TA) is on the organic layer(117), and the portion of the first common layer(122a) located at the transmission area(TA) and the portion of the second common layer(122c) located at the transmission area(TA)are located between the organic layer (117)and the opposite electrode(123) fig. 6.
Regarding claim 9, Jeon et al discloses wherein the transmission area (TA)
surrounds the first auxiliary pixel area, the second auxiliary pixel area, and the third
auxiliary pixel area (Pa) fig. 11.
Regarding claim 10, Seo et al discloses wherein: (fig. 5) the auxiliary connection wiring comprises a first auxiliary connection wiring(TWL of the plurality of Pa), a second auxiliary connection wiring(TWL of the plurality of Pa), and a third auxiliary connection wiring(TWL of the plurality of Pa) fig. 5[0117]; the first auxiliary pixel area(Pa) comprises a plurality of first auxiliary pixel areas(Pr’, Pg’,Pb’); the second auxiliary pixel area (Pa)comprises a plurality of second auxiliary pixel areas(Pr’, Pg’,Pb’); the third auxiliary pixel area (Pa) comprises a plurality of third auxiliary pixel areas(Pr’, Pg’,Pb’)[0117]; the first auxiliary connection wiring (TWL) electrically connects a plurality of first auxiliary pixel electrodes (121’)located at the plurality of first auxiliary pixel areas(Pa) to each other fig. 5/fig. 6; the second auxiliary connection wiring (TWL of the plurality of Pa)electrically connects a plurality of second auxiliary pixel electrodes(TWL of the plurality of Pa) located at the plurality of second auxiliary pixel areas(Pa) to each
other[0062] fig. 6; and the third auxiliary connection wiring (TWL of the plurality of Pa) electrically connects a plurality of third auxiliary pixel electrodes (121’)located at the plurality of third auxiliary pixel areas to each other fig. 5/fig. 6.
Regarding claim 11, Jeon et al discloses further comprising a component (300)
overlapping with the first auxiliary pixel area(Pa), the second auxiliary pixel area(Pa), the third auxiliary pixel area(Pa), and the transmission area(Ta) [0075].
Regarding claim 12, Jeon et al discloses A display apparatus comprising: a substrate (100)[0067]comprising a plurality of first auxiliary pixel areas(Pa) fig. 1, and a transmission area(TA) between the plurality of first auxiliary pixel areas(PA) fig. 1[0065];
a pixel-defining layer(119) having first auxiliary openings(OP1) located at the plurality of first auxiliary pixel areas(Pa) to each other to expose central portions of first auxiliary pixel electrodes (221)under the pixel-defining layer(119)[0185].
Jeon et al fails to teach a first auxiliary connection wiring under the first auxiliary pixel electrodes, and extending to the transmission area; and an organic layer at the transmission area.
However, Seo et al discloses a first auxiliary connection wiring (TWL) under the first auxiliary pixel electrodes(121’), and extending to the transmission area(TA) fig. 6; and an organic layer(117) at the transmission area (TA)[0158][0135]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Jeon et al with the teachings of Jeong et al to provide high integration and electrical connection to the auxiliary pixel circuit without diminishing the transmittance of the transmission area.
Regarding claim 13, Seo et al discloses wherein a portion of the first auxiliary
connection wiring(TWL) is located at the transmission area(TA), and wherein the organic layer(117) is on the portion of the first auxiliary connection wiring(TWL)
located at the transmission area(TA) fig. 6.
Regarding claim 14, Seo et al discloses wherein the organic layer (117)covers the portion of the first auxiliary connection wiring(TWL) located at the transmission area(TA) fig. 6.
Regarding claim 16, Seo et al discloses wherein the organic layer (117b)comprises a transparent organic insulating material, and does not include a light-blocking material[0158].
Regarding claim 17, Jeon et al discloses further comprising: an opposite electrode (233a/223)on the first auxiliary pixel electrodes(221’)[0131]; a first common layer (222a)between the first auxiliary pixel electrodes(221’) and first auxiliary emission layers(222b’); and a second common layer(222c) between the first auxiliary emission layers (222b’)and the opposite electrode(233a/223) fig. 13[0187][0185].
Regarding claim 18, Jeon et al discloses wherein a portion of the opposite electrode(233a/223), a portion of the first common layer(222a), and a portion of the second common layer(222c) are located at the transmission area(TA) fig. 13.
Regarding claim 19, Jeon et al discloses wherein the portion of the opposite electrode (233a/223)located at the transmission area(TA) is on the organic layer(117)[0181], and wherein the portion of the first common layer(222a) located at the transmission area(TA) and the portion of the second common layer (222c)located at the transmission area(TA) are between the organic layer and the opposite electrode(233a/223) fig. 13.
Regarding claim 20, Jeon et al discloses wherein the transmission area (TA)
surrounds each of the plurality of first auxiliary pixel areas (Pa) fig. 11.
Regarding claim 21, Seo et al discloses wherein the first auxiliary connection
Wiring(TWL) electrically connects the first auxiliary pixel electrodes(121’) at the plurality of first auxiliary pixel areas(Pa) to each other (fig. 5/fig. 6).
Regarding claim 22, Jeon et al discloses further comprising a component(300)
overlapping with the plurality of first auxiliary pixel areas (Pa)and the transmission area (TA)[0075].
Claim(s) 4 & 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeon (US Pub no. 2021/0036070 A1) in view of Seo (US Pub no. 2022/0102470 A1)as applied to claim 1 and claim 12 and further in view of Park (US Patent 11,282,905 B2)
Regarding claim 4, Jeon et al as modified by Seo et al discloses all the claim limitations of claim 1 but fails to teach wherein the pixel-defining layer
comprises a light-blocking material.
However, Park et al discloses wherein the pixel-defining layer (450)
comprises a light-blocking material (col. 8, lines 65-67). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to further modify Jeon et al & Seo et al with the teachings of Park et al to prevent externally incident light from being advanced toward the circuit device.
Regarding claim 15, Jeon et al as modified by Seo et al discloses all the claim limitations of claim 12 but fails to teach wherein the pixel-defining layer
comprises a light-blocking material.
However, Park et al discloses wherein the pixel-defining layer (450)
comprises a light-blocking material(col. 8, lines 65-67). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to further modify Jeon et al & Seo et al with the teachings of Park et al to prevent externally incident light from being advanced toward the circuit device.
Conclusion
/LATANYA N CRAWFORD EASON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2813