DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 21-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang et al (US Publication No. 2017/0194149) in view of Kim et al (US Publication No. 2013/0277720)and Guler et al (US Publication No. 2022/0399445).
Regarding claim 21, Chang discloses a method comprising: forming a gate structure Fig 1L, 185/180;forming a trench adjacent to the gate structure Fig 1L, forming a spaced apart projections separated by recesses Fig 1J, wherein each projection has an uppermost surface Fig 1J, and wherein the uppermost surfaces of the projections located nearer to the gate structure are located at a greater depth than the uppermost surfaces of the projections located at a center of the trench Fig 1J; and forming a dielectric material in the trench Fig 1J.
Chang discloses all the limitations but silent on a trench bottom surface including spaced apart projections.
Whereas Kim discloses forming a trench Fig 10, wherein the trench has a trench bottom surface including spaced apart projections separated by recesses Fig 10, wherein each projection has an uppermost surface Fig 10.
Chang and Kim are analogous art because they are directed to finfets and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to modify Chang because they are from the same field of endeavor. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Chang and incorporate the teachings of Kim as an alternative method that would improve device processing.
Chang discloses all the limitations but silent on layers included in the gate structure. Whereas Guler discloses a gate structure comprising a gate dielectric, work function metal overlying the gate dielectric, and a metal gate electrode layer overlying the work function metal Fig 1B ¶0045;forming a trench adjacent to the gate structure by etching through the metal gate electrode layer, the work function metal, and the gate dielectric of the gate structure Fig 1B.
Chang and Guler are analogous art because they are directed to semiconductor device and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to modify Chang because they are from the same field of endeavor. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Chang and incorporate the teachings of Guler as an alternative gate structure known in the art.
Regarding claim 22, Chang discloses a vertical depth of each uppermost surface, measured from the top surface of the gate structure, is less than 170 nanometers (nm) ¶0019. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the depth of the recess, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (1955).
Regarding claim 23, Kim discloses wherein each recess has a lowest surface, and wherein the lowest surfaces are located at depths within ten percent of one another Fig 10.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the depth of the recess in Chang as taught by Kim, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (1955).
Claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang et al (US Publication No. 2017/0194149) in view of Kim et al (US Publication No. 2013/0277720), Guler et al (US Publication No. 2022/0399445) and Huang et al (US Publication No. 2022/0301922).
Regarding claim 24, Chang discloses all the limitations but silent on the forming of source and drain regions. Whereas Huang discloses recessing fins in source and drain regions and forming epitaxial source and drain features over the recessed fins ¶0049-0050 Fig 10D. Chang and Huang are analogous art because they are directed to semiconductor device and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to modify Chang because they are from the same field of endeavor. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Chang and incorporate the teachings of Huang as an alternative method in forming the source and drain regions of the device.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9-16, 25-33 are allowed over the prior art of record.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: After further search and consideration of Applicant’s response, it is determined that the prior art of record neither anticipates nor renders obvious the claimed subject matter of the instant application as a whole either taken alone or in combination, in particular, prior art of record does not teach or suggest “the etching process etches the fins to remove the fins and etches material under the fins to form recesses with trench bottom surfaces at first depths; the etching process etches the isolation layer segments to form projections having uppermost surfaces at second depths; and the first depths are deeper than the second depths”, as recited in independent claim 9 and “forming a semiconductor layer over the gate structure; forming a hard mask over the semiconductor layer; performing a first etching process to form an opening by etching through the hardmask and the semiconductor layer and landing on the conductive layer, wherein the hardmask protects the gate structure outside the opening; and performing a second etching process to etch through the conductive layer, the work function metal, and the gate dielectric to expose the active regions and the isolation regions”, as recited in independent claim 25.
Claims 10-16, 26-33 are also allowed as being directly or indirectly dependent of the allowed independent base claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 21-24 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHRISTINE A ENAD/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2811