DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restriction
The applicant elected invention I, species (a) on October 26, 2025, without traverse.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement submitted on October 11, 2024, has been considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-9 and 16-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites that “the storage gate layer is arranged to trap charges”. As a first point, the examiner understands “arranged” here to refer not only to its position, but also its structural, material, and other properties that would contribute to charge trapping. The quoted portion can be interpreted in different, incompatible ways. For example, it can be interpreted to mean that the storage gate layer is arranged to trap charges within itself; alternatively, it can mean that the storage gate layer can help trap charges in a different element. As set forth in In re Miyazaki, “if a claim is amenable to two or more plausible claim constructions, the USPTO is justified in requiring the applicant to more precisely define the metes and bounds of the claimed invention by holding the claim unpatentable under 35 U.S.C. §112, second paragraph, as indefinite.” 89 USPQ2d 1207, 1211 (Bd. Pat. App. & Int. 2008). For present purposes, the examiner will assume the latter meaning.
Claims 4 and 16 recite that “the storage device is arranged to be programed by an off-state current in the storage device.” This is confusing, because in an off-state, current should not flow, as this will allow a memory cell to be programed when it should not. Much research and many patents have been devoted to driving off-state current to ever lower values. This needs to be better explained for those in the art to differentiate off-state current that corrupts data and the type of off-state current that is claimed here. For present purposes, “off-state current” is interpreted to mean sub-threshold current.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 6, and 9 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim, CN 101286514 A.
Note: the references to Kim are to the attached machine translation.
Claim 1: Kim discloses
a semiconductor substrate comprising a plurality of fin-type structures (105a and 105b);
a select transistor formed on the semiconductor substrate, the select transistor comprising a gate layer (155b) disposed over a first dielectric isolation layer (140) that is positioned over a first section of the plurality of fin-type structures, wherein the select transistor is a P-channel metal oxide semiconductor (PMOS) transistor; “selection transistor ST may include a MOSFET (MOS field effect transistor)” (page 4 second to last paragraph); “the first conductivity type and the second conductivity type may be any type selected from n-type and p-type.” (page 7 first paragraph)
and a storage device formed on the semiconductor substrate, the storage device comprising a storage gate layer (150) disposed over a second dielectric isolation layer (140 under 150) that is positioned over a second section on the plurality of fin-type structures, wherein the storage gate layer is arranged to trap charges, and wherein the storage device is a P-channel storage device;
wherein the select transistor is coupled to the storage device;
it is coupled in the sense it selects the string that the storage device is in.
and wherein the first section of the plurality of fin-type structures is adjacent to the second section of the plurality of fin-type structures (FIG. 2).
Claim 2: the first dielectric isolation layer comprises a high-κ dielectric material: “the blocking insulating layer 140 may include … a high dielectric layer (high-k).” (page 6, second to last paragraph.)
Claim 6: the trapped charges are electrons. “FIG. 15 and FIG. 16 is a simulated perspective view of electron concentration distribution of experimental examples of non-volatile memory device”, showing electron flow into the memory device. (page 9 paragraph 6.)
Claim 9: those in the art would recognize that the storage device is arranged to store a bit of information, as that is what the elements of all such non-volatile memory devices are for. It was well understood that each memory cell was to store a single bit.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 5, 7, and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Son, US 2017/0098656 A1.
Claims 3 and 7: Kim discloses that “tunnelling insulation layers 130a and 130b and the blocking insulating layer 140 may include an oxide layer, a nitride layer or a high dielectric layer (high-k).” (page 6 second to last paragraph.) The claimed materials were known high-k dielectrics. See e.g. Son [0075]: “high-k dielectric layer (e.g., an aluminum oxide (Al2O3) layer or a hafnium oxide (HfO2) layer)”. It would have been obvious to use hafnium oxide as a known high-k dielectric.
Claim 5: The claimed materials were known gate materials. See e.g. Son [0136]: “the gate metal layer 159 may include a metal material (e.g., tungsten).” It would have been obvious to have used this in Kim as a known material used for a known purpose.
Claim 8: Kim discloses a “bulk semiconductor wafer” (page 6 paragraph 4). Kim does not disclose specifically that it is a silicon wafer, but those in the art would have understood that silicon was the most common type of bulk wafer and would have been obvious to use. See also Son [0065], “silicon wafer”.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Huang, US 2005/0083738 A1. Kim does not disclose that the storage device is arranged to be programed by an off-state current in the storage device. However, Huang at [0035] discloses that “[d]uring the programming operation, the negative drain voltage Vdd is applied to the drain region and the gate voltage Vg is around the threshold voltage Vt that dependent on the design, wherein the threshold voltage Vt in the preferred embodiment is around -4 volts. Due to the drain voltage Vdd is higher than the threshold voltage Vt to induce the hot electron injection from channel through the tunneling oxide layer into the floating gate, such that the electrons are hold in the floating gate. Furthermore, the bias would only allow a sub-threshold current flow in the flash cell during the programming operation, such that the injection efficiency is high for this flash cell and the power consumption of the integration circuit device would be lowered.” It would have been obvious to configure the device of Kim in this way to achieve this benefit, that is, lower power consumption.
Claims 16, 17, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Huang and Yaegashi, US 2001/0000625 A1.
Claim 16 recites a NOR non-volatile memory (NVM). While Kim discloses a NAND device. However, it was well-understood that they same NVM technology could be adapted to different memory types. See e.g., Yaegashi, FIG. 32 showing a NAND device, and FIG. 33 showing a NOR device. Those in the art would have known that it would have been straightforward to adapt the device of Kim to a NOR configuration.
Thus a NOR device of Kim in view of Yaegashi (FIG. 33) would have:
a semiconductor substrate comprising a plurality of fin-type structures (105a and 105b);
a memory array formed in the semiconductor substrate and comprising a plurality of memory cells arranged in a plurality of rows and a plurality of columns, wherein each of the plurality of memory cells consists of a select transistor (connected to SG) and a storage device (connected to CG);
a plurality of word lines (horizontal lines connected to CG) electrically connected to the plurality of rows, respectively;
a plurality of source lines (VS) electrically connected to the plurality of columns, respectively;
and a plurality of bit lines (BL) electrically connected to the plurality of columns, respectively;
and wherein, as disclosed by Kim:
the select transistor is formed on the semiconductor substrate, the select transistor comprising a gate layer (155b) disposed over a first dielectric isolation layer (140 under 155b) that is positioned over a first section of the plurality of fin-type structures, wherein the select transistor is a P-channel metal oxide semiconductor (PMOS) transistor (“selection transistor ST may include a MOSFET (MOS field effect transistor)” (page 4 second to last paragraph); “the first conductivity type and the second conductivity type may be any type selected from n-type and p-type.” (page 7 first paragraph.)
and the storage device is formed on the semiconductor substrate, the storage device comprising a storage gate layer (150) disposed over a second dielectric isolation layer (140 under 150) that is positioned over a second section on the plurality of fin-type structures, wherein the storage gate layer is arranged to trap charges, and wherein the storage device is a P-channel storage device; (“the first conductivity type and the second conductivity type may be any type selected from n-type and p-type.” page 7 first paragraph);
the select transistor is coupled to the storage device (it is coupled in the sense it selects the string that the storage device is in);
the first section of the plurality of fin-type structures is adjacent to the second section of the plurality of fin-type structures (Kim FIG. 2);
Kim does not disclose that the storage device is arranged to be programed by an off-state current in the storage device. However, Huang at [0035] discloses that “[d]uring the programming operation, the negative drain voltage Vdd is applied to the drain region and the gate voltage Vg is around the threshold voltage Vt that dependent on the design, wherein the threshold voltage Vt in the preferred embodiment is around -4 volts. Due to the drain voltage Vdd is higher than the threshold voltage Vt to induce the hot electron injection from channel through the tunneling oxide layer into the floating gate, such that the electrons are hold in the floating gate. Furthermore, the bias would only allow a sub-threshold current flow in the flash cell during the programming operation, such that the injection efficiency is high for this flash cell and the power consumption of the integration circuit device would be lowered.” It would have been obvious to configure the device of Kim in this way to achieve this benefit, that is, lower power consumption.
Claim 17: the first dielectric isolation layer comprises a high-κ dielectric material. “the blocking insulating layer 140 may include … a high dielectric layer (high-k).” (page 6, second to last paragraph.)
Claim 19: the trapped charges are electrons. “FIG. 15 and FIG. 16 is a simulated perspective view of electron concentration distribution of experimental examples of non-volatile memory device” (page 9 paragraph 6), showing electron flow into the memory device.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Son, US 2017/0098656 A1. Claims 18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Son, Huang and Yaegashi.
Claim 8: Kim discloses a “bulk semiconductor wafer”. Kim does not disclose specifically that it is a silicon wafer, but those in the art would have understood that silicon was the most common type of bulk wafer and would have been obvious to use. See also Son [0065], “silicon wafer”.
Claim 18: Kim discloses that “tunnelling insulation layers 130a and 130b and the blocking insulating layer 140 may include an oxide layer, a nitride layer or a high dielectric layer (high-k).” (page 6, second to last paragraph.) The claimed materials were known high-k dielectrics. See e.g. Son [0075]: “high-k dielectric layer (e.g., an aluminum oxide (Al2O3) layer or a hafnium oxide (HfO2) layer)”. It would have been obvious to use hafnium oxide as a known high-k dielectric.
Claim 20: The claimed materials were known gate materials. See e.g. Son [0136]: “the gate metal layer 159 may include a metal material (e.g., tungsten).” It would have been obvious to have used this in Kim as a known material used for a known purpose.
If the above 112 issues are resolved, claims 21-26 are potentially allowable. The examiner did not find a device with all the features of claim 21, with two storage devices respectively coupled to the first and second S/D layers on either side of the select transistor as claimed.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure and is listed in the attached Notice of References Cited.
/PETER BRADFORD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2897