DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4-7, 13-15 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shibata et al (US 2017/0009378) in view of Chang (US 2022/0051897).
Shibata et al teaches a method for processing a single crystal blank 2, the single crystal blank having a first end, a second end extending between the first end and the second end wherein the single crystal blank includes a seed crystal 1 and a single crystal 3, the seed crystal extending at least partially along the longitudinal axis, wherein the method comprises a peripheral surface grinding step of grinding a peripheral surface of the single crystal blank at least partially along the longitudinal axis, wherein the peripheral surface of the single crystal blank is ground up to a first distance (removes 4) to the longitudinal axis at least partially along a portion of the longitudinal axis excluding the seed crystal, wherein the first distance 4 is less than an extension of the seed crystal to the longitudinal axis (Fig 1C,3A, 3B, 4A, 4B, 5). Shibata et al also teaches a hollow cylindrical region 4 is removed by grinding from the side of the single crystal 2 for reusing the substrate 1 as the seed crystal, and the same manufacturing method is conducted using the reused substrate/seed 1 ([0091], [0092], [0144]; Fig 4A, 4B and 5), which clearly suggests the peripheral surface of the single crystal blank is ground at least partially along the longitudinal axis up to a second distance (region 4 is completely removed in Fig 5) to the longitudinal axis to remove grown single crystal material from a seed portion of the longitudinal axis, and wherein, after the peripheral surface grinding step, the seed crystal is reused in a subsequent crystal forming step to form another crystal blank.
Shibata et al does not teach peripheral surface grinding while both a grinding wheel and the single crystal blank on a chuck table perform a rotational movement.
In a method of grinding a wafer, Chang teaches a wafer having a chamfered portion at a peripheral edge includes a holding step of holding the wafer by a holding table, and a chamfer removing step of rotating the holding table (chuck table) while causing a first cutting blade to cut into the peripheral edge of the wafer (Abstract). Chang also teaches a step of rotating the holding table 6 while causing the first cutting blade 12 (grinding wheel) to cut into the peripheral edge Wg of the wafer W to remove a chamfered portion M at a predetermined depth Ws of the peripheral edge Wg of the wafer W and rotating the cutting blade (Fig 6A, 6B, 7; [0029]-[0031], [0041]-[0067]). Chang teaches since the wafer W is rotated in the process of removing the chamfered portion M, the cutting liquids 75a and 76a on the surface of the wafer W flow in the direction of spacing away from the center of the wafer W according to the rotation of the wafer W ([0058]). Chang teaches liquid is continuously supplied to a processing point and a surface of the cutting blade, to remove cutting swarf and to cool the cutting blade ([0003]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Shibata et al by using Chang’s method of peripheral surface grinding while rotating the grinding wheel and chuck table while supplying cooling liquids, as taught by Chang, to flow cooling liquids away from the surface of the wafer thereby preventing cutting swarf from moving toward the center of the wafer (Chang [0003]-[0010]).
Referring to claim 4, the combination of Shibata et al and Chang teaches using a wire saw to obtain free-standing substrates (Shibata [0140]), which clearly suggests a wafer producing step from the single crystal blank, the wafer having a predetermined thickness along the longitudinal axis.
Referring to claim 5, the combination of Shibata et al and Chang teaches a seed 1 and growing a single crystal 2, which reads on step of providing the seed crystal for crystal growth; and a crystal growing step of growing a single crystal on a surface of the seed crystal for forming the single crystal blank.
Referring to claim 6 and 13-15, the combination of Shibata et al and Chang teaches after a free-standing substrates are obtained, the substrate 1 left is reused as the seeding crystal by planarizing the surface thereof using a grinding machine and mirror polishing it (Shibata [0144]), which clearly suggests a seed crystal processing step 4 of processing the seed crystal, the seed crystal processing step preferably including grinding and/or polishing of the seed crystal.
Referring to claim 7 and 18, the combination of Shibata et al and Chang teaches the single crystal blank is processed for forming an ingot or a wafer, wherein the wafer is particularly formed using a laser beam, a blade and/or a wire saw (Shibata [0140] teaches using wire saw to obtain free-standing substrates).
9. Claim(s) 2-3 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shibata et al (US 2017/0009378) in view of Chang (US 2022/0051897), as applied to claim 1, 4-7, 13-15 and 18 above, and further in view of Nakayama (US 2008/0176386).
The combination of Shibata et al and Chang teaches all of the limitations of claim 2, as discussed above, except the peripheral surface of the single crystal blank is ground at least partially along the longitudinal axis up to a second distance to the longitudinal axis, the second distance being greater than or substantially equal to an extension of the seed crystal to the longitudinal axis.
In a method of peripheral grinding of a crystal, Nakayama teaches a complex 20 includes a substrate 9, a crystal body 24, and a deposit 26, wherein the deposit 26 is inevitably formed on each of the side faces 9a, 24a of the substrate 9 and the crystal body 24; and the complex 20 is mounted on the peripheral processor 22 comprising a grinding stone 28 so as to be rotatable about a predetermined axis Ax for machining the periphery of the complex 20, wherein the grinding changes the deposit 26 on the periphery of the complex 20 to a deposit 26a, and the dimension D2 of the complex 20 is made smaller than the diameter D1 (Fig 2(A), 2(B), 2(C), 4(A), 4(B), 5(A), 5(B), 6(A), and 6(B); [0035]-[0055]), which clearly suggests the peripheral surface of the single crystal blank is ground at least partially along the longitudinal axis up to a second distance to the longitudinal axis, the second distance being greater than or substantially equal to an extension of the seed crystal to the longitudinal axis.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the combination of Shibata et al and Chang by grinding partially along the longitudinal axis up to a second distance to the longitudinal axis, the second distance being greater than or substantially equal to an extension of the seed crystal to the longitudinal axis, as taught by Nakayama, to reduce the dimension of the deposit that is formed on the periphery of the complex.
Referring to claim 3 and 11, the combination of Shibata et al, Chang and Nakayama teaches the peripheral surface of the single crystal blank is ground at least along a seed portion of the longitudinal axis up to the second distance to the longitudinal axis, the seed portion including the seed crystal (Nakayama (Fig 2(A), 2(B), 2(C), 4(A), 4(B), 5(A), 5(B), 6(A), and 6(B); [0035]-[0055])).
10. Claim(s) 12 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shibata et al (US 2017/0009378) in view of Chang (US 2022/0051897), as applied to claim 1, 4-7, 13-15 and 18 above, and further in view of Hashimoto et al (US 9,452,495).
The combination of Shibata et al and Chang teaches all of the limitations of claim 12, as discussed above, except a wafer producing step of producing wafers from the single crystal blank, the wafer having a predetermined thickness along the longitudinal axis, wherein the wafer producing step preferably comprises a sub-step of focusing a laser beam inside the single crystal blank. Shibata et al teaches slicing a crystal to obtain free-standing substrates, however, does not explicitly teach using a laser beam.
In a method of making wafer out of an ingot, Hashimoto et al teaches slice crystal ingots by using laser beams, wherein ingot crystals are irradiated with scanned lines of laser beams to slice wafers out of the ingots (abstract; col 3, ln 1 to col 4, ln 67), which clearly suggests a sub-step of focusing a laser beam inside the single crystal blank.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the combination of Shibata et al and Chang by using laser beams to slicing wafers from the crystal, as taught by Hashimoto et al, to minimize a slicing margin (col 2, ln 1-20).
Referring to claim 12 and 16, the combination of Shibata et al, Chang and Hashimoto et al teaches using laser beams to slicing wafers from the crystal.
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shibata et al (US 2017/0009378) in view of Chang (US 2022/0051897), as applied to claim 1, 4-7, 13-15 and 18 above, and further in view of Iso et al (US 20170338112).
The combination of Shibata et al and Chang teaches all of the limitations of claim 17, as discussed above, except the wafer is formed using a blade. Shibata teaches using wire saw to obtain free-standing substrates ([0140]).
In a method of obtaining wafer from an ingot, Iso et al teaches an ingot is sliced parallel to or substantially parallel to the C-plane by use of a wire saw slicer or an inner peripheral blade slicer, to provide a disk-shaped wafer ([0130]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the combination of Shibata et al and Chang by using a blade to slice wafers from an ingot, as taught by Iso et al, because using a blade or wire saw are taught to be equivalents methods for obtaining wafers. Substituting equivalents known for the same purpose is prima facie obvious (MPEP 2144.06 II).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/29/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s argument that the prior art does not teach the peripheral surface of the single crystal blank is ground at least partially along the longitudinal axis up to a second distance to the longitudinal axis to remove grown single crystal material from a seed portion of the longitudinal axis, and wherein, after the peripheral surface grinding step, the seed crystal is reused in a subsequent crystal forming step to form another crystal blank is noted but not found persuasive. Shibata et al also teaches a hollow cylindrical region 4 is removed by grinding from the side of the single crystal 2 for reusing the substrate 1 as the seed crystal, and the same manufacturing method is conducted using the reused substrate/seed 1 ([0091], [0092], [0144]; Fig 4A, 4B and 5), which clearly suggests grinding to remove the peripheral region and reusing the seed for subsequent growth. The examiner has provided a comparison of applicant’s Fig 1B and 1C, which clearly shows the same regions of the single crystal are removed from Shibata shown in Fig 4A and Fig 5, and then the substrate/seed can be reused.
Applicant’s arguments regarding the combination with Chang is noted but not found persuasive. Chang is merely provided to show that one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing would have found it obvious to rotate the substrate and the grinding wheel. Applicant alleges that Shibata teaches a hollow cylindrical grindstone there would be no reason to install a second blade to create a liquid barrier. Chang teaches the wafer W is rotated in the process of removing the chamfered portion M, the cutting liquids 75a and 76a on the surface of the wafer W flow in the direction of spacing away from the center of the wafer W according to the rotation of the wafer W, and the liquid barrier 76b can also be formed at a position spaced away from the center of the wafer W, and in this way, the cutting liquids 75 and 76 containing the cutting swarf can be effectively prevented from moving toward the center side of the wafer W ([0058]-[0059] emphasis added). The examiner maintains that rotation of the wafer will reduce the swarf from moving toward the center of the wafer, which is desirable, and the additional step of adding a liquid barrier is not required and is merely an additional measure to reduce swarf from the center of the wafer. The examiner maintains that using Chang’s method of grinding the periphery of the crystal can be used to remove the portion 4 which remains after Shibata’s after cylindrical grinding, as shown in Fig 9. The examiner maintains that the method of removing a peripheral region of a crystal by grinding while rotating both the grinding wheel and the wafer/substrate, was obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing, and cannot be the basis of patentabilty. Also, Shibata’s method of cylindrical grinding is merely an improvement over conventional grinding processes, such as Chang, and use of conventionally known methods would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Applicant’s argument regarding Nakayama is noted but not found persuasive. Nakayama is not relied upon to teach grinding and reusing the seed. As discussed above, Shibata et al teaches removing the periphery of the crystal and separating the grown crystal from the seed, and reusing the seed in a subsequent crystal growth, wherein the seed has the same dimensions (See Shibata Fig 4A, 4B, and 5; [0091]-[0093]). Nakayama is merely relied upon to show grinding the outer periphery of the crystal which extend beyond the thickness of the seed crystal in the longitudinal direction.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Jin et al (KR 20100070159), an English computer translation (CT) is provided. In a method of making a wafer, Jin et al teaches a laser processing device for cutting a wafer comprising a laser (L) may be placed so that it penetrates the second surface (10b) to form cracks (11) on a cut surface (12) corresponding to a certain height from the active surface; the height (h1) from a first surface (10a) to the cut surface (12) can be set to the height of the wafer from the active surface to the thickness of the substrate; and wafer (10) can be cut based on the cutting surface (12) by a rotational force applied in a direction parallel to the cutting surface (12) of the wafer (10) (CT pg 4-6 and 10).
US 2021/0134619 teaches a cutting blade 71 is moved toward the central axis of the chuck table 75 and pressed against the outer circumferential edge of the wafer 10 rotating with the chuck table 75, thereby grinding the wafer 10 ([0072]; Fig 14).
US 5,113,622 teaches frictional heat generated by grinding is cooled by cooling liquid (e.g., deionized water) supplied to a grinding surface S of the semiconductor wafer W which contacts the grinding wheel 3. Thus, undesired thermal influences on the semiconductor wafer W can be eliminated. (abstract; col 2, ln 30-68).
MATTHEW J. SONG
Examiner
Art Unit 1714
/MATTHEW J SONG/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1714