DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
A request for continued examination (RCE) under 37 CFR 1.114, including the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e), was filed in this application after final rejection. Since this application is eligible for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, and the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e) has been timely paid, the finality of the previous Office action has been withdrawn pursuant to 37 CFR 1.114. Applicant's submission filed on 07/08/2026 has been entered.
Response to Amendment
The amendments filed 07/08/2026 with the above entered RCE have been entered. Claim 21 has been canceled. Claims 1-17, and 19-20 are now pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendments to the claims have overcome each and every objection previously set forth in the Final Office Action dated 03/09/2026, hereinafter FOA0309.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot because they pertain to claim limitations added by way of amendment, which were not present at the time of FOA0309.
For clarity of the record, Examiner notes that it appears Applicant’s arguments (see Remarks dated 07/08/2026) appear to argue that the curvature disclosed by Philips is solely ‘in the plane of the interface’, which is understood as curving with the interface (e.g., as in Figs. 3-6), in the radial direction, rather than perpendicular to the interface, as required by the amended limitation (now in amended claim 1).
Examiner agrees that these portions of Philips teach such an arrangement, but notes, however, that the portion of Philips used in FOA0309 to teach previous claim 21 did not include a such a ‘perpendicular to the interface’ teaching because it was not required by the claim at the time. Philips discloses such limitations elsewhere.
Examiner notes in particular, that [0067] of Philips recites “Though microchannel 812 is shown as having an approximately rectangular cross-section, it should be appreciated that microchannel 812 may have substantially any cross-sectional shape, e.g., an oval shape.” An oval shape cross-sectional shape for the cooling channel, under the broadest reasonable interpretation, reads on ‘the cooling channel is curved in a direction perpendicular to the interface’.
See below for detail discussion of amended claim limitations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 12-14, 16-17, and 19-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nienhuys (U.S. PGPub. No. US 20180239252 A1) in view of Phillips (U.S. PGPub. No. US 20070091485 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Nienhuys teaches an optical element configured to reflect radiation (Abstract; [0115]), the optical element comprising:
a substrate comprising a first partial body and a second partial body (See Figs. 5-7, substrate formed by items 4 and 8, respectively) joined at an interface (See interface between items 4 and 8; [0124]);
a reflective coating ([0115], metallic layer) supported by a surface of the first partial body (See Figs. 5-7, item 5 supported by top surface of item 4; [0022]; [0115]; [0167]);
a plurality of cooling channels (See Figs. 5-7, items 10) in the substrate in a region of the interface below the surface supporting the reflective coating (See Figs. 5-7, items 10, and in particular Fig. 6 showing the channels 10 in the substrate 4/8 below the top surface of item 4; [0120]);
a distributor (See Figs. 5-6, item 12) in the substrate and configured to connect a coolant inlet to the plurality of cooling channels (See Figs. 5-6, items 10, 12 connected within the substrate 4/8; [0120]); and
a collector (See Figs. 5-6, item 14) in the substrate and configured to connect the plurality of cooling channels to a coolant outlet (See Figs. 5-6, items 10, 14 connected within the substrate 4/8; [0120]),
wherein:
at least one member selected from the group consisting of the distributor and the collector (See Figs. 5-6, items 12 and/or 14) extends, proceeding from the interface, further into the second partial body of the substrate than into the first partial body of the substrate (See Figs. 5-6, items 12, 14, each of which extend from the interface of 4 and 8 further into item 8 than into 4; [0120]);
the interface is planar (See interface between items 4 and 8; [0124]); and
Nienhuys does not teach for a first cooling channel of the plurality of cooling channels: the first channel forms a first depression into the first partial body; the first channel forms a second depression into the second partial body and the first cooling channel is curved in a direction perpendicular to the interface.
Phillips teaches for a first cooling channel of the plurality of cooling channels:
the first channel forms a first depression into the first partial body (See Fig. 9C; [0070]-[0073]);
the first channel forms a second depression into the second partial body (See Fig. 9C; [0070]-[0073]) and
the first cooling channel is curved in a direction perpendicular to the interface (See Figs. 3-6, 8-9, showing interface, and Figs. 8-9 specifically showing cross sectional views of the cooling channels; [0057]; [0067]; Examiner notes that an oval shaped cross section is curved in a direction perpendicular to the interface, as disposed in the cited portions).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Nienhuys to include for a first cooling channel of the plurality of cooling channels: the first channel forms a first depression into the first partial body; the first channel forms a second depression into the second partial body, or in other words, the concept of dividing a cooling channel into both the body of the reflective portion of the substrate and into body of the supporting part of the substrate, and the first cooling channel is curved in a direction perpendicular to the interface, as taught by Phillips.
Doing so represents combining known prior art elements according to known methods in order to achieve predictable results, and would allow one to spread the size of the channel into both the bodies to prevent increasing the thickness of mirror to achieve adequate cooing, as discussed in Phillips.
Regarding claim 2, Nienhuys in view of Phillips teaches the optical element of claim 1.
Nienhuys further teaches wherein the at least one member, in a portion of the second body proceeding from the interface, is aligned at an angle of at most 30° relative to a thickness direction of the substrate (See Figs. 5-7, items 12, 14 proceeding from interface of 4 and 8 toward second partial body 8; Examiner notes that ‘at most 30° relative to a thickness direction of the substrate’ is understood to mean less than or equal to 30°, and thus 0° satisfies the limitation).
Regarding claim 12, Nienhuys in view of Phillips teaches the optical element of claim 1.
Nienhuys further teaches wherein:
the coolant inlet is in the second partial body;
the coolant outlet is in the second partial body (See Figs. 5-6, items 12, 14, both disposed in second partial body 8);
the coolant inlet is in a third partial body of the substrate; or
the coolant outlet is in a third partial body of the substrate.
Regarding claim 13, Nienhuys in view of Phillips teaches the optical element of claim 1.
Phillips further teaches wherein the surface supporting the reflective coating is curved, and/or wherein the cooling channel is curved (See Figs 3A-3D; [0051]-[0052]; [0055]).
Regarding claim 14, Nienhuys in view of Phillips teaches the optical element of claim 13.
Nienhuys further teaches wherein the cooling channel is a constant spacing from the surface supporting the reflective coating (See Figs. 5-7, wherein 10 are a constant spacing from upper surface of 4).
Regarding claim 16, Nienhuys in view of Phillips teaches the optical element of claim 1.
Nienhuys further teaches wherein the radiation comprises EUV radiation ([0047]; [0067]; [0077]-[0078]; [0115]; [0173]-[0174]).
Regarding claim 17, Nienhuys in view of Phillips teaches an optical arrangement (Nienhuys: [0115]), comprising:
the optical element according to claim 1 (See claim 1 for mapping); and
a cooling device configured to provide a coolant to the plurality of cooling channels (Nienhuys: [0122]-[0126]; [0165]-[0166]).
Regarding claim 19, Nienhuys in view of Phillips teaches an apparatus, comprising:
an optical arrangement (Nienhuys: [0115]), comprising:
the optical element according to claim 1 (See claim 1 for mapping); and
a cooling device configured to provide a coolant to the plurality of cooling channels (Nienhuys: [0122]-[0126]; [0165]-[0166]),
wherein the apparatus is a lithography projection exposure apparatus (Nienhuys: [0002]-[0004]; [0036]; [0040]; [0045]).
Regarding claim 20, Nienhuys in view of Phillips teaches the apparatus of claim 19.
Nienhuys further teaches wherein the radiation comprises EUV radiation ([0047]; [0067]; [0077]-[0078]; [0115]; [0173]-[0174]).
Claims 3-11 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nienhuys (U.S. PGPub. No. US 20180239252 A1) in view of Phillips (U.S. PGPub. No. US 20070091485 A1) and Taylor (USPN US 5168924 A).
Regarding claim 3, Nienhuys in view of Phillips teaches the optical element of claim 1.
Nienhuys does not explicitly teach wherein: a partial region of the surface is not covered by the reflective coating; and the at least one member, in a portion proceeding from the interface, is below the partial region of the surface that is not covered by the reflective coating.
However, Nienhuys does discuss the incident radiation not covering the whole of the surface covered by the reflective coating, despite Nienhuys not disclosing having a partial region of the surface not being covered by the reflective coating.
Taylor also does not explicitly teach a partial region of the surface is not covered by the reflective coating and the at least one member, in a portion proceeding from the interface, is below a partial region of the surface that is not covered by the reflective coating (Emphases added by Examiner), however, Taylor discloses the coolant flow in the distributor/collector being disposed such that they “extend beyond the active area of the faceplate so that any coolant flow-induced distortions of the faceplate will be in a non-critical area” (Col. 6, Lines 38-48). This disclosure of Taylor achieves the same goal sought by these limitations of the instant application in the same way, despite not disclosing a partial region of the surface that is not covered by the reflective coating.
Furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would be reasonably apprised of various conventional thin film coating techniques to dispose a coating on only a desired portion of a substrate/target (e.g. masking, blanking), and could readily dispose the reflective coating on only a portion of the surface which is to be irradiated without the use of inventive activity. Such a modification amounts to a mere change in size of the coating, however, a change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
As such, it is Examiner’s opinion that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Nienhuys to include the teachings of Taylor to achieve ‘any coolant flow-induced distortions of the faceplate being in a non-critical area’, in order to achieve a partial region of the surface is not covered by the reflective coating and the at least one member, in a portion proceeding from the interface, is below a partial region of the surface that is not covered by the reflective coating (Emphasis added by Examiner), as changing the size of the reflective coating is an obvious modification to an ordinarily skilled artisan, and as Nienhuys indicates mitigating distortions of the reflector (see [0003]-[0004]) as a major goal of their invention, including by the use of cooling liquid flow as discussed above.
Doing so represents combining known prior art elements according to known methods in order to achieve predictable results, and would allow one to further mitigate distortion in the reflective surface of the reflector of Nienhuys via the placement of the distributor/collector outside of the active area of the reflector which receives the incident radiation as taught by Taylor.
Regarding claim 4, Nienhuys in view of Phillips teaches the optical element of claim 1.
Nienhuys does not teach wherein the distributor comprises a distributor chamber which widens from the coolant inlet, and/or wherein the collector comprises a collecting chamber which tapers toward the coolant outlet.
Taylor teaches wherein the distributor comprises a distributor chamber which widens from the coolant inlet, and/or wherein the collector comprises a collecting chamber which tapers toward the coolant outlet (See Figs. 5-8, items 48 or 68, which taper toward coolant outlet 28 and/or items 40 which widen from coolant inlet 26; Abstract; Col. 6, Line 12 – Col. 7, Line 19).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Nienhuys to include wherein the distributor comprises a distributor chamber which widens from the coolant inlet, and/or wherein the collector comprises a collecting chamber which tapers toward the coolant outlet, as taught by Taylor.
Doing so represents combining known prior art elements according to known methods in order to achieve predictable results, and would allow one to mitigate distortions of the reflector, as discussed by Taylor in Col. 6, Lines 38-48, and as indicated to be desirable by Nienhuys in [0003]-[0004].
Regarding claim 5, Nienhuys in view of Phillips teaches the optical element of claim 1.
Nienhuys does not teach wherein: the distributor comprises a distributor chamber which widens from the coolant inlet, and the distributor chamber extends from the coolant inlet to the interface; and/or the collector comprises a collecting chamber which tapers toward the coolant outlet, and the collecting chamber extends from the interface to the coolant outlet.
Taylor teaches wherein: the distributor comprises a distributor chamber which widens from the coolant inlet (See Figs. 5-8, items 40 which widen from coolant inlet 26; Abstract; Col. 6, Line 12 – Col. 7, Line 19), and the distributor chamber extends from the coolant inlet to the interface (See Figs. 5-8, items 40 which extend from interface of item 22 and upper portion of substrate part 24 toward coolant inlet 26; Col. 6, Line 12 – Col. 7, Line 19); and/or the collector comprises a collecting chamber which tapers toward the coolant outlet (See Figs. 5-8, items 48 or 68, which taper toward coolant outlet 28; Abstract; Col. 6, Line 12 – Col. 7, Line 19), and the collecting chamber extends from the interface to the coolant outlet (See Figs. 5-8, items 68 which extend from seam 65 toward coolant outlet 28; Col. 6, Line 12 – Col. 7, Line 19).
Doing so represents combining known prior art elements according to known methods in order to achieve predictable results, and would allow one to mitigate distortions of the reflector, as discussed by Taylor in Col. 6, Lines 38-48, and as indicated to be desirable by Nienhuys in [0003]-[0004].
Regarding claim 6, Nienhuys in view of Phillips teaches the optical element of claim 1.
Nienhuys further teaches wherein the at least one member (See Figs. 5-6, items 12 and/or 14) comprises a portion which proceeds from the interface and comprises connecting channel(See Figs. 5-6, items 12, 14 proceed from the interface of 4 and 8 and includes a channel (i.e., in the u direction as shown in Figs. 5-6) which connects the cooling channels 10 to the inlet/outlet (i.e., the ends of the channels of 12 and/or 14); [0120]).
Nienhuys does not explicitly teach wherein the at least one member comprises a portion which proceeds from the interface and comprises connecting channels configured to connect at least one cooling channel to the coolant inlet or to the coolant outlet (Emphasis added by Examiner), and rather teaches one respective connecting channel on each of the inlet and outlet.
Taylor teaches wherein the at least one member comprises a portion which proceeds from the interface and comprises connecting channels configured to connect at least one cooling channel to the coolant inlet or to the coolant outlet (See Figs. 5-8, items 38, 40, 48, 58, 60, 68, wherein several connecting channels connect between cooling channels 46 and/or 64 and coolant inlet/outlet 26/28; Examiner notes each of these items could be interpreted as satisfying the limitation under the broadest reasonable interpretation; Col. 6, Line 12 – Col. 7, Line 19).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Nienhuys to include wherein the at least one member comprises a portion which proceeds from the interface and comprises connecting channels configured to connect at least one cooling channel to the coolant inlet or to the coolant outlet (Emphasis added by Examiner), as taught by Taylor.
Doing so represents combining known prior art elements according to known methods in order to achieve predictable results, and would allow one, as taught by Taylor, to control the cooling fluid flow within the substrate in order to reduce distortions in the reflective surface, as indicated to be desirable by Nienhuys in [0003]-[0004].
Regarding claim 7, Nienhuys in view of Phillips and Taylor teaches the optical element of claim 6.
Nienhuys further teaches wherein a connecting channel is connected to at least two cooling channels (See Figs. 5-6, items 12, 14 connecting to a plurality of cooling channels 10; [0120]).
Regarding claim 8, Nienhuys in view of Phillips and Taylor teaches the optical element of claim 6.
Taylor further teaches wherein a cross section of a connecting channel decreases from the interface (See Figs. 5-8, items 40 and/or 68, each of which have a cross section that decreases from interface (either between 22 and substrate or from 65); Col. 6, Line 12 – Col. 7, Line 19).
Regarding claim 9, Nienhuys in view of Phillips teaches the optical element of claim 1.
Nienhuys does not teach wherein: the distributor comprises a portion which proceeds from the interface, the portion of the distributor which proceeds from the interface comprises connecting channels configured to connect at least one cooling channel to the coolant inlet, and the distributor comprises a distributor chamber connected to the portion of the distributor having the connecting channels; or the collector comprises a portion which proceeds from the interface, the portion of the collector which proceeds from the interface comprises connecting channels configured to connect at least one cooling channel to the coolant outlet, and the collector comprises a collecting chamber connected to the portion of the collector that has the connecting channels.
Taylor teaches wherein:
the distributor comprises a portion which proceeds from the interface, the portion of the distributor which proceeds from the interface comprises connecting channels configured to connect at least one cooling channel to the coolant inlet, and the distributor comprises a distributor chamber connected to the portion of the distributor having the connecting channels (See Figs. 5-8, items 48 or 68 and/or 40, being connected to items 38, 58, 60; Col. 6, Line 12 – Col. 7, Line 19); or
the collector comprises a portion which proceeds from the interface, the portion of the collector which proceeds from the interface comprises connecting channels configured to connect at least one cooling channel to the coolant outlet, and the collector comprises a collecting chamber connected to the portion of the collector that has the connecting channels (See Figs. 5-8, items 48 or 68 and/or 40, being connected to items 38, 58, 60; Col. 6, Line 12 – Col. 7, Line 19).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Nienhuys to include wherein: the distributor comprises a portion which proceeds from the interface, the portion of the distributor which proceeds from the interface comprises connecting channels configured to connect at least one cooling channel to the coolant inlet, and the distributor comprises a distributor chamber connected to the portion of the distributor having the connecting channels; or the collector comprises a portion which proceeds from the interface, the portion of the collector which proceeds from the interface comprises connecting channels configured to connect at least one cooling channel to the coolant outlet, and the collector comprises a collecting chamber connected to the portion of the collector that has the connecting channels, as taught by Taylor
Doing so represents combining known prior art elements according to known methods in order to achieve predictable results, and would allow one to mitigate distortions of the reflector, as discussed by Taylor in Col. 6, Lines 38-48, and as indicated to be desirable by Nienhuys in [0003]-[0004].
Regarding claim 10, Nienhuys in view of Phillips teaches the optical element of claim 1.
Nienhuys does not teach wherein: the distributor comprises a portion which proceeds from the interface, the portion of the distributor which proceeds from the interface comprises connecting channels configured to connect at least one cooling channel to the coolant inlet, the distributor comprises a distributor chamber connected to the portion of the distributor having the connecting channels, and the distributor chamber extends along a further interface between the second partial body and a third partial body of the substrate that is joined with the second partial body at the further interface; or the collector comprises a portion which proceeds from the interface, the portion of the collector which proceeds from the interface comprises connecting channels configured to connect at least one cooling channel to the coolant outlet, the collector comprises a collecting chamber connected to the portion of the distributor having the connecting channels, and the collecting chamber extends along a further interface between the second partial body and a third partial body of the substrate that is joined with the second partial body at the further interface.
Taylor teaches wherein:
the distributor comprises a portion which proceeds from the interface, the portion of the distributor which proceeds from the interface comprises connecting channels configured to connect at least one cooling channel to the coolant inlet, the distributor comprises a distributor chamber connected to the portion of the distributor having the connecting channels (See Figs. 5-8, items 48 or 68 and/or 40, being connected to items 38, 58, 60; Col. 6, Line 12 – Col. 7, Line 19), and the distributor chamber extends along a further interface between the second partial body and a third partial body of the substrate that is joined with the second partial body at the further interface (See Figs. 5-8, in particular items 22, 24 or 65, 66 and the coolant distribution elements running therethrough; Col. 6, Line 12 – Col. 7, Line 19); or
the collector comprises a portion which proceeds from the interface, the portion of the collector which proceeds from the interface comprises connecting channels configured to connect at least one cooling channel to the coolant outlet, the collector comprises a collecting chamber connected to the portion of the distributor having the connecting channels (See Figs. 5-8, items 48 or 68 and/or 40, being connected to items 38, 58, 60; Col. 6, Line 12 – Col. 7, Line 19), and the collecting chamber extends along a further interface between the second partial body and a third partial body of the substrate that is joined with the second partial body at the further interface (See Figs. 5-8, in particular items 22, 24 or 65, 66 and the coolant distribution elements running therethrough; Col. 6, Line 12 – Col. 7, Line 19).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Nienhuys to include wherein: the distributor comprises a portion which proceeds from the interface, the portion of the distributor which proceeds from the interface comprises connecting channels configured to connect at least one cooling channel to the coolant inlet, the distributor comprises a distributor chamber connected to the portion of the distributor having the connecting channels, and the distributor chamber extends along a further interface between the second partial body and a third partial body of the substrate that is joined with the second partial body at the further interface; or the collector comprises a portion which proceeds from the interface, the portion of the collector which proceeds from the interface comprises connecting channels configured to connect at least one cooling channel to the coolant outlet, the collector comprises a collecting chamber connected to the portion of the distributor having the connecting channels, and the collecting chamber extends along a further interface between the second partial body and a third partial body of the substrate that is joined with the second partial body at the further interface, as taught by Taylor.
Doing so represents combining known prior art elements according to known methods in order to achieve predictable results, and would allow one to mitigate distortions of the reflector, as discussed by Taylor in Col. 6, Lines 38-48, and as indicated to be desirable by Nienhuys in [0003]-[0004].
Examiner additionally notes that Nienhuys discloses the use of additional partial bodies and cooling channels therein (See Figs. 8-9 and supporting description).
Regarding claim 11, Nienhuys in view of Phillips teaches the optical element of claim 1.
Nienhuys does not teach wherein: the distributor comprises a portion which proceeds from the interface, the portion of the distributor which proceeds from the interface comprises connecting channels configured to connect at least one cooling channel to the coolant inlet, and the connecting channels of the distributor open into a common inlet channel which is connected to the coolant inlet; or the collector comprises a portion which proceeds from the interface, the portion of the collector which proceeds from the interface comprises connecting channels configured to connect at least one cooling channel to the coolant outlet, and the connecting channels of the collector open into a common outlet channel which is connected to the coolant outlet.
Taylor teaches wherein:
the distributor comprises a portion which proceeds from the interface, the portion of the distributor which proceeds from the interface comprises connecting channels configured to connect at least one cooling channel to the coolant inlet (See Figs. 5-8, items 48 or 68 and/or 40, being connected to items 38, 58, 60; Col. 6, Line 12 – Col. 7, Line 19), and the connecting channels of the distributor open into a common inlet channel which is connected to the coolant inlet (See Figs. 5-8, items 34, 52, 56 and/or 74; Col. 6, Line 12 – Col. 7, Line 19); or
the collector comprises a portion which proceeds from the interface, the portion of the collector which proceeds from the interface comprises connecting channels configured to connect at least one cooling channel to the coolant outlet (See Figs. 5-8, items 48 or 68 and/or 40, being connected to items 38, 58, 60; Col. 6, Line 12 – Col. 7, Line 19), and the connecting channels of the collector open into a common outlet channel which is connected to the coolant outlet (See Figs. 5-8, items 34, 52, 56 and/or 74; Col. 6, Line 12 – Col. 7, Line 19).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Nienhuys to include wherein: the distributor comprises a portion which proceeds from the interface, the portion of the distributor which proceeds from the interface comprises connecting channels configured to connect at least one cooling channel to the coolant inlet, and the connecting channels of the distributor open into a common inlet channel which is connected to the coolant inlet; or the collector comprises a portion which proceeds from the interface, the portion of the collector which proceeds from the interface comprises connecting channels configured to connect at least one cooling channel to the coolant outlet, and the connecting channels of the collector open into a common outlet channel which is connected to the coolant outlet, as taught by Taylor.
Doing so represents combining known prior art elements according to known methods in order to achieve predictable results, and would allow one to mitigate distortions of the reflector, as discussed by Taylor in Col. 6, Lines 38-48, and as indicated to be desirable by Nienhuys in [0003]-[0004].
Regarding claim 15, Nienhuys in view of Phillips teaches the optical element of claim 13.
Nienhuys further teaches wherein the at least one member (See Figs. 5-6, items 12 and/or 14) comprises a portion which proceeds from the interface and comprises connecting channel(See Figs. 5-6, items 12, 14 proceed from the interface of 4 and 8 and includes a channel (i.e., in the u direction as shown in Figs. 5-6) which connects the cooling channels 10 to the inlet/outlet (i.e., the ends of the channels of 12 and/or 14); [0120]).
Nienhuys does not explicitly teach wherein the at least one member comprises a portion which proceeds from the interface and comprises connecting channels configured to connect at least one cooling channel to the coolant inlet or to the coolant outlet (Emphasis added by Examiner), and rather teaches one respective connecting channel on each of the inlet and outlet.
Taylor further teaches wherein the at least one member comprises a portion which proceeds from the interface and comprises connecting channels configured to connect at least one cooling channel to the coolant inlet or to the coolant outlet (See Figs. 5-8, items 38, 40, 48, 58, 60, 68, wherein several connecting channels connect between cooling channels 46 and/or 64 and coolant inlet/outlet 26/28; Examiner notes each of these items could be interpreted as satisfying the limitation under the broadest reasonable interpretation; Col. 6, Line 12 – Col. 7, Line 19).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Nienhuys to include wherein the at least one member comprises a portion which proceeds from the interface and comprises connecting channels configured to connect at least one cooling channel to the coolant inlet or to the coolant outlet (Emphasis added by Examiner), as taught by Taylor.
Doing so represents combining known prior art elements according to known methods in order to achieve predictable results, and would allow one, as taught by Taylor, to control the cooling fluid flow within the substrate in order to reduce distortions in the reflective surface, as indicated to be desirable by Nienhuys in [0003]-[0004].
Conclusion
/CHRISTOPHER J GASSEN/ Examiner, Art Unit 2881
/DAVID E SMITH/ Examiner, Art Unit 2881