DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 3, 4, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fang et al. U.S. PGPUB No. 2020/0027693 in view of Adler U.S. PGPUB No. 2022/0364850.
Regarding claim 1, Fang discloses a system for optically interrogating a sample accompanied by the application of electric charge to said sample, said system comprising: an electron beam generation and scanning system 100 comprising an electron gun 101, an anode 102, at least one electron lens 105, and an electron beam deflector 110 disposed with respect to the sample 120 to direct electrons to the sample (“Compound objective lens 116 is configured to form a magnetic field and an electrostatic field for focusing primary electron beam 125 onto a wafer 120 and forming a probe spot 123 on a surface of wafer 120” [0027]) to place charge on the sample (irradiating an electron beam (a charged particle beam) to a sample, as described in Fang, imparts some change of charge upon the sample as discussed in paragraph [0003] of Lechner U.S. PGPUB No. 2015/0014528, paragraph [0001] of Hoque et al. U.S. PGPUB No. 2013/0306866, and paragraph [0010] of Shimizu et al. U.S. PGPUB No. 2015/0002651, for example); a vacuum system comprising a vacuum chamber 31 and a vacuum pump (“Main chamber 31 is connected to a main chamber vacuum pump system (not shown)” [0045]), said electron gun 101, said anode 102, said at least one electron lens 105, said electron beam deflector 110 and said sample 120 included in said vacuum chamber 31 (“Optical imaging tool 200 and e-beam tool 100 are located within main chamber 31” [0043]); a probe optical source 210 configured to emit probing light 211, said probe optical source disposed so as to direct said probing light onto said sample 120 (“optical imaging tool 200 includes a laser 210 for projecting an incident laser beam 211 to a wafer 120” [0040]); and an optical detector 220 configured to detect scattered light 221 from the sample 120 in response to said probing light 211 directed thereon (“The laser light will be scattered by wafer 120 and the scattered light 221 is detected by a light detector 220” [0040]). Fang discloses the claimed invention except that there is no explicit disclosure that the scattered light is second harmonic generated (SHG) light.
Adler discloses a system for optically interrogating a sample accompanied by the application of electric charge to said sample, said system comprising: a probe optical source configured to emit probing light, said probe optical source disposed so as to direct said probing light onto said sample (“a primary or probe laser 10 for directing an interrogation beam 12 of electro-magnetic radiation at a sample wafer 20” [0105]); and an optical detector configured to detect scattered second harmonic generated (SHG) light from the sample (“a beam 14 of reflected radiation directed at a detector 40 will include an SHG signal” [0106]) in response to said probing light directed thereon (“the SHG-CD system may be configured to collect SHG light emitted by a sample at different scattering angles” [0278]).
It would have been obvious to one possessing ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Fang with the second harmonic generated light detection of Adler in order to enhance the imaging of critical dimensions of semiconductor structures analyzed for fabrication processes.
Regarding claim 2, Fang discloses that said at least one electron lens comprises an objective 116.
Regarding claim 3, Fang discloses an electron detector 109 in said vacuum chamber 31 (since figure 1 illustrates electron detector 109 in e-beam tool 100, and figure 3 illustrates that e-beam tool 100 is within main chamber 31).
Regarding claim 4, Fang discloses the claimed invention except that there is no explicit disclosure that said probe optical source comprises a pulse laser and said optical detector comprise a photovoltaic, a photoconductor, or a photomultiplier tube.
Adler discloses a system “for using second-harmonic generation of light to monitor the manufacturing process for changes that can affect the performance or yield of produced devices and/or determining critical dimensions of the produced device” [Abstract], wherein a probe optical source comprises a pulse laser (“An SHG-CD system directs light such as pulsed light (e.g., pulsed laser light) onto a sample” [0009]) and said optical detector comprise a photovoltaic, a photoconductor, or a photomultiplier tube (“The detector may be any of a photomultiplier tube, a CCD camera, a avalanche detector, a photodiode detector, a streak camera and a silicon detector” [0106]).
It would have been obvious to one possessing ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Fang with the second harmonic generated light detection of Adler in order to enhance the imaging of critical dimensions of semiconductor structures analyzed for fabrication processes.
Regarding claim 6, Fang discloses a chuck 126a and/or 126b for supporting said sample 120.
Regarding claim 7, Fang discloses the claimed invention except that while Fang discloses controlling electron beam current (“Condenser lens 105 focuses primary electron beam 125 before the beam enters an objective aperture 108 to set the current of the electron beam before entering a compound objective lens 116” [0026]), there is no explicit disclosure of an ammeter electrically connected to said chuck to measure charge flow from said chuck.
Adler discloses a system “for using second-harmonic generation of light to monitor the manufacturing process for changes that can affect the performance or yield of produced devices and/or determining critical dimensions of the produced device” [Abstract], comprising an ammeter electrically connected to a chuck (“sample is held by a vacuum chuck 2030. The chuck 2030 includes or is set on x- and y-stages and optionally also a rotational stage for positioning a sample site 2022” [0133]) to measure charge flow from said chuck (“the amount of charges deposited on the sample can be determined, by measuring the current induced by the charges deposited on the surface of the sample using an electrical meter (e.g., an electrometer or an ammeter) disposed between the sample and an electrical” [0285]).
It would have been obvious to one possessing ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Fang with the ammeter of Adler in order to relate measured changes in sample charge to imaged optical beams scattered by the sample, thereby allowing for additional analysis of the sample for defect detection.
Regarding claim 8, Fang discloses a high voltage source electrically connected to said chuck to apply a voltage to said sample (“Different voltages are applied onto wafer 120… to generate an axial symmetric retarding electric field near the wafer surface” [0028]).
Regarding claim 9, Fang discloses that said electron beam generation and scanning system comprises a scanning electron microscope (SEM) (“The present disclosure provides a system and method for improving the throughput for inspecting a bare wafer. The bare wafer can be first imaged by an optical imaging tool to identify potential defects, and then scanned by a SEM to verify whether the potential defects are real defects” [0022]).
Regarding claim 10, Fang discloses that said scanning electron microscope has a work distance of no less than 5 millimeters (mm) (“the distance from the bottom surface of shared pole piece 116b to the wafer surface 120 can be a distance within the range from 1.0 to 8.0 mm” [0034]).
Regarding claim 11, Fang discloses the claimed invention except that while Fang discloses “a computer-implemented wafer inspection method” [0008], and a “light detector 220” [0040], there is no explicit disclosure of electronics configured to receive an electronic signal from said optical detector.
Adler discloses a system “for using second-harmonic generation of light to monitor the manufacturing process for changes that can affect the performance or yield of produced devices and/or determining critical dimensions of the produced device” [Abstract], comprising electronics configured to receive an electronic signal from said optical detector (“the emission pattern can be further processed using a computer model of a detector 4640 (e.g., a detector used to generate the SHG signal), which provides a prediction of the signals 4650 that may be output by the detector included in the an SHG system (e.g., the SHG sample inspection system shown in FIG. 20) used to characterize the sample” [0093]); wherein said electronics are configured to determine a characteristic of the sample based on a variation in the detected SHG light with different amount of electrical charge deposited on or in the sample and/or the charging of the sample (“Time-dependent SHG intensity curves will change based on the distribution of charge carriers across an interface, for example, between the dielectric and substrate” [0034]).
It would have been obvious to one possessing ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Fang with the second harmonic generated light detection of Adler in order to enhance the imaging of critical dimensions of semiconductor structures analyzed for fabrication processes.
Regarding claim 12, Fang discloses the claimed invention except that while Fang discloses “a computer-implemented wafer inspection method” [0008], and a “light detector 220” [0040], there is no explicit disclosure of electronics configured to receive an electronic signal from said optical detector.
Adler discloses a system “for using second-harmonic generation of light to monitor the manufacturing process for changes that can affect the performance or yield of produced devices and/or determining critical dimensions of the produced device” [Abstract], comprising electronics configured to receive an electronic signal from said optical detector (“the emission pattern can be further processed using a computer model of a detector 4640 (e.g., a detector used to generate the SHG signal), which provides a prediction of the signals 4650 that may be output by the detector included in the an SHG system (e.g., the SHG sample inspection system shown in FIG. 20) used to characterize the sample” [0093]); wherein said electronics are configured to determine a characteristic of the sample based on a variation in the detected SHG light with different amount of electrical charge deposited on or in the sample and/or the charging of the sample (“Time-dependent SHG intensity curves will change based on the distribution of charge carriers across an interface, for example, between the dielectric and substrate” [0034]).
It would have been obvious to one possessing ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Fang with the second harmonic generated light detection of Adler in order to enhance the imaging of critical dimensions of semiconductor structures analyzed for fabrication processes.
Regarding claim 13, Fang discloses the claimed invention except that while Fang discloses “a computer-implemented wafer inspection method” [0008], and a “light detector 220” [0040], there is no explicit disclosure of electronics configured to receive an electronic signal from said optical detector.
Adler discloses a system “for using second-harmonic generation of light to monitor the manufacturing process for changes that can affect the performance or yield of produced devices and/or determining critical dimensions of the produced device” [Abstract], comprising electronics configured to receive an electronic signal from said optical detector (“the emission pattern can be further processed using a computer model of a detector 4640 (e.g., a detector used to generate the SHG signal), which provides a prediction of the signals 4650 that may be output by the detector included in the an SHG system (e.g., the SHG sample inspection system shown in FIG. 20) used to characterize the sample” [0093]); wherein said electronics are configured to determine a characteristic of the sample based on a variation in the detected SHG light with different amount of electrical charge deposited on or in the sample and/or the charging of the sample (“Time-dependent SHG intensity curves will change based on the distribution of charge carriers across an interface, for example, between the dielectric and substrate” [0034]).
It would have been obvious to one possessing ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Fang with the second harmonic generated light detection of Adler in order to enhance the imaging of critical dimensions of semiconductor structures analyzed for fabrication processes.
Regarding claim 15, Fang discloses the claimed invention except that while Fang discloses “a computer-implemented wafer inspection method” [0008], and a “light detector 220” [0040], there is no explicit disclosure of electronics configured to receive an electronic signal from said optical detector.
Adler discloses a system “for using second-harmonic generation of light to monitor the manufacturing process for changes that can affect the performance or yield of produced devices and/or determining critical dimensions of the produced device” [Abstract], comprising electronics configured to receive an electronic signal from said optical detector (“the emission pattern can be further processed using a computer model of a detector 4640 (e.g., a detector used to generate the SHG signal), which provides a prediction of the signals 4650 that may be output by the detector included in the an SHG system (e.g., the SHG sample inspection system shown in FIG. 20) used to characterize the sample” [0093]); wherein electronics are configured to estimate a density of states based on said SHG signal (“Since it may be advantageous to obtain the time evolution of the SHG signal when the charge carrier density in the region including interface is below saturation as well as when the charge carrier density in the region including interface reaches saturation level, the system can be configured to obtain SHG signal measurements within about 1 microsecond after turning on/turning off the pump radiation” [0121]).
It would have been obvious to one possessing ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Fang with the second harmonic generated light detection of Adler in order to enhance the imaging of critical dimensions of semiconductor structures analyzed for fabrication processes.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fang et al. U.S. PGPUB No. 2020/0027693 in view of Adler U.S. PGPUB No. 2022/0364850 in further view of He et al. U.S. PGPUB No. 2019/0287760.
Regarding claim 5, Fang discloses the claimed invention except that while Fang discloses an electron beam tool 100 and an optical imaging tool 200 configured to image a sample 120 (“The system includes an optical imaging tool configured to illuminate a sample with a laser beam and detect light scattered from the sample. The system also includes an electron-beam inspection tool configured to scan the sample with a primary electron beam to generate inspection data” [0006]), Fang does not explicitly disclose a window or fiber feedthrough for transmission of said probing light into said vacuum chamber.
He discloses a window or fiber feedthrough for transmission of a probing light (“the optical beam can be reflected by the second reflecting mirror 1302c and impinge the specimen along the optical axis, to detect… the specimen “ [0140]) into the vacuum chamber of an electron beam tool (“The second vacuum window 114 is configured to introduce an optical beam to the column 103 from outside of the charged particle beam system” [0089]).
It would have been obvious to one possessing ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the window of He in the system of Fang in order to create a compact system capable of directing a probing optical beam onto a same point of a sample simultaneous with irradiation of an electron beam.
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fang et al. U.S. PGPUB No. 2020/0027693 in view of Adler U.S. PGPUB No. 2022/0364850 in further view of Makino et al. U.S. PGPUB No. 2005/0051722.
Regarding claim 14, Fang discloses the claimed invention except that while Fang discloses irradiates an electron beam to a sample (“focusing primary electron beam 125 onto a wafer 120… on a surface of wafer 120” [0027]), which necessarily imparts some change in charge of the sample (irradiating an electron beam (a charged particle beam) to a sample, as described in Fang, imparts some change of charge upon the sample as discussed in paragraph [0003] of Lechner U.S. PGPUB No. 2015/0014528, paragraph [0001] of Hoque et al. U.S. PGPUB No. 2013/0306866, and paragraph [0010] of Shimizu et al. U.S. PGPUB No. 2015/0002651, for example), and Fang includes a voltage source for controlling charging of the sample surface (“Different voltages are applied onto wafer 120… to generate an axial symmetric retarding electric field near the wafer surface” [0028]), and Fang discloses an optical detector 220 configured to detect scattered light 221 from the sample 120 in response to said probing light 211 directed thereon (“The laser light will be scattered by wafer 120 and the scattered light 221 is detected by a light detector 220” [0040]) there is no explicit disclosure of electronics configured to receive an electronic signal from said optical detector and configured to monitor a second harmonic generated (SHG) signal for varying amounts of charge deposited on or in the sample by the electron beam generation and scanning system and/or for varying amounts of charging of the sample by the electron beam generation and scanning system.
Adler discloses a system for optically interrogating a sample accompanied by the application of electric charge to said sample, said system comprising: a probe optical source configured to emit probing light, said probe optical source disposed so as to direct said probing light onto said sample (“a primary or probe laser 10 for directing an interrogation beam 12 of electro-magnetic radiation at a sample wafer 20” [0105]); and an optical detector configured to detect scattered second harmonic generated (SHG) light from the sample (“a beam 14 of reflected radiation directed at a detector 40 will include an SHG signal” [0106]) in response to said probing light directed thereon (“the SHG-CD system may be configured to collect SHG light emitted by a sample at different scattering angles” [0278]). Adler discloses electronics configured to receive an electronic signal from said optical detector (“the emission pattern can be further processed using a computer model of a detector 4640 (e.g., a detector used to generate the SHG signal), which provides a prediction of the signals 4650 that may be output by the detector included in the an SHG system (e.g., the SHG sample inspection system shown in FIG. 20) used to characterize the sample” [0093]), wherein said electronics are configured to monitor the SHG signal for varying amounts of charge deposited on or in the sample (“Time-dependent SHG intensity curves will change based on the distribution of charge carriers across an interface, for example, between the dielectric and substrate” [0034]) by varying amounts of charging of the sample by a secondary or auxiliary light beam generation and scanning system (“the sample may be prepared for the second-harmonic generation measurement by exposure to a secondary light beam or electric charge” [0229]). It would have been obvious to one possessing ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Fang with the second harmonic generated light detection of Adler in order to enhance the imaging of critical dimensions of semiconductor structures analyzed for fabrication processes. Fang and Adler disclose the claimed invention except that while Adler discloses monitoring and varying amounts of charging of the sample by exposure to a secondary or auxiliary light beam, and Fang discloses an electron beam, there is no explicit disclosure of using the electron beam of Fang as the charge controlling secondary or auxiliary beam of Adler.
Makino discloses an apparatus including “a charge control unit 14 for controlling a state of charge of the sample by emitting an electron beam or light prior to capturing images for inspection” [0029]. It would have been obvious to one possessing ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Adler with the electron beam of Fang (replacing the auxiliary beam of Adler with the electron beam of Fang) since Makino teaches that electron and light beams (such as the electron beam of Fang and the light beam of Adler) can be interchanged with one another in order to control charging of a sample for imaging (the purpose of the auxiliary beam of Adler).
Conclusion
/JASON L MCCORMACK/Examiner, Art Unit 2881