DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-15 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 3, 4, 6, 7, 9, 11, 12, 13, 14, and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. U.S. PGPUB No. 2022/0042935 in view of Adler U.S. PGPUB No. 2022/0364850.
Regarding claim 1, Fang discloses a system for optically interrogating a sample accompanied by the application of electric charge to said sample, said system comprising: an electron beam generation and scanning system 104 comprising an electron gun (“Electron beam tool 104 includes an electron emitter, which may comprise a cathode 103, an anode 120, and a gun aperture 122” [0044]), an anode 120, at least one electron lens 126 and/or 132, and an electron beam deflector (“The probe spot may be scanned across the surface of wafer 150 by a deflector, such as deflector 132c or other deflectors in the SORIL lens” [0044]) disposed with respect to the sample 150 to direct electrons to the front side of the sample (“The probe spot may be scanned across the surface of wafer 150 by a deflector, such as deflector 132c or other deflectors in the SORIL lens. Secondary electrons emanated from the wafer surface may be collected by detector 144 to form an image of an area of interest on wafer 150” [0044]); a vacuum system comprising a vacuum chamber (“the microscope, the ACC module that illuminates the light beam, and the stage that holds the semiconductor wafer are disposed in a vacuum chamber” [0034]) and a vacuum pump (“a main chamber vacuum pump system (not shown) which removes gas molecules in main chamber 101” [0042]), said electron gun (“Electron beam tool 104 includes an electron emitter, which may comprise a cathode 103, an anode 120, and a gun aperture 122” [0044]), said anode 120, said at least one electron lens 126 and/or 132, said electron beam deflector (“The probe spot may be scanned across the surface of wafer 150 by a deflector, such as deflector 132c or other deflectors in the SORIL lens” [0044]) and said sample 150 included in said vacuum chamber (“Electron beam tool 104 is located within main chamber 101” [0041] – “a main chamber vacuum pump system (not shown) which removes gas molecules in main chamber 101” [0042]); a probe optical source 320 configured to emit probing light 322, said probe optical source 320 disposed so as to direct said probing light onto said sample 340 (as illustrated in figure 3A); and an optical detector 360 configured to detect scattered light 324 from the front side of said sample 340 (as illustrated in figure 3A) in response to said probing light 322 directed thereon (“Secondary beam 324 may include light beam scattered from the wafer surface, or light beam diffracted from the wafer surface, or a combination of light beam scattered from the wafer surface and light beam diffracted from the wafer surface. Image sensor 360 may be a Charge-Coupled Device (CCD) camera or a Complementary Metal-Oxide-Semiconductor (CMOS) sensor that detects secondary beam 324 to form an image of secondary beam 324” [0059]) and accompanied by charge being deposited on or in the sample by the electron beam generation and scanning system and/or charging of the sample by the electron beam generation and scanning system (“When primary electron beam 312 irradiates the area of interest on wafer 340, charges may be accumulated due to a large beam current. Light beam 322 emitted from ACC module 320 may be configured to regulate the accumulated charges due to photoconductivity or photoelectric effect, or a combination of photoconductivity and photoelectric effect. It is important to monitor the power and quality of light beam 322 emitted from ACC module 320 to effectively regulate the accumulated charges by light beam 322” [0057]). However, although Zhang discloses that the electron beam and light beam are regulated and/or tuned to achieve a desired amount of charging of the sample (as described in paragraph [0057]) Zhang does not explicitly disclose that the scattered light is second harmonic generated (SHG) light.
Adler discloses a system for optically interrogating a sample accompanied by the application of electric charge to said sample, said system comprising: a probe optical source configured to emit probing light, said probe optical source disposed so as to direct said probing light onto said sample (“a primary or probe laser 10 for directing an interrogation beam 12 of electro-magnetic radiation at a sample wafer 20” [0105]); and an optical detector configured to detect scattered second harmonic generated (SHG) light from the sample (“a beam 14 of reflected radiation directed at a detector 40 will include an SHG signal” [0106]) in response to said probing light directed thereon (“the SHG-CD system may be configured to collect SHG light emitted by a sample at different scattering angles” [0278]).
It would have been obvious to one possessing ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Zhang with the second harmonic generated light detection of Adler in order to enhance the imaging of critical dimensions of semiconductor structures analyzed for fabrication processes.
Regarding claim 2, Zhang discloses that said at least one electron lens comprises an objective 132.
Regarding claim 3, Zhang discloses an electron detector 144 in said vacuum chamber (“Electron beam tool 104 is located within main chamber 101” [0041] – “a main chamber vacuum pump system (not shown) which removes gas molecules in main chamber 101” [0042]).
Regarding claim 4, Zhang discloses the claimed invention except that there is no explicit disclosure that said probe optical source comprises a pulse laser and said optical detector comprise a photovoltaic, a photoconductor, or a photomultiplier tube.
Adler discloses a system “for using second-harmonic generation of light to monitor the manufacturing process for changes that can affect the performance or yield of produced devices and/or determining critical dimensions of the produced device” [Abstract], wherein a probe optical source comprises a pulse laser (“An SHG-CD system directs light such as pulsed light (e.g., pulsed laser light) onto a sample” [0009]) and said optical detector comprise a photovoltaic, a photoconductor, or a photomultiplier tube (“The detector may be any of a photomultiplier tube, a CCD camera, a avalanche detector, a photodiode detector, a streak camera and a silicon detector” [0106]).
It would have been obvious to one possessing ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Zhang with the second harmonic generated light detection of Adler in order to enhance the imaging of critical dimensions of semiconductor structures analyzed for fabrication processes.
Regarding claim 6, Zhang discloses a chuck 136 for supporting said sample 150.
Regarding claim 7, Zhang discloses the claimed invention except that while Fang discloses controlling electron beam current (“first quadrupole lens 148 can be controlled to adjust the beam current” [0047]), there is no explicit disclosure of an ammeter electrically connected to said chuck to measure charge flow from said chuck.
Adler discloses a system “for using second-harmonic generation of light to monitor the manufacturing process for changes that can affect the performance or yield of produced devices and/or determining critical dimensions of the produced device” [Abstract], comprising an ammeter electrically connected to a chuck (“sample is held by a vacuum chuck 2030. The chuck 2030 includes or is set on x- and y-stages and optionally also a rotational stage for positioning a sample site 2022” [0133]) to measure charge flow from said chuck (“the amount of charges deposited on the sample can be determined, by measuring the current induced by the charges deposited on the surface of the sample using an electrical meter (e.g., an electrometer or an ammeter) disposed between the sample and an electrical” [0285]).
It would have been obvious to one possessing ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Zhang with the ammeter of Adler in order to relate measured changes in sample charge to imaged optical beams scattered by the sample, thereby allowing for additional analysis of the sample for defect detection.
Regarding claim 9, Zhang discloses that said electron beam generation and scanning system comprises a scanning electron microscope (SEM) (“A charged particle (e.g., electron) beam microscope, such as a scanning electron microscope (SEM)” [0033]).
Regarding claim 11, Zhang discloses electronics configured to receive an electronic signal from said optical detector 360 (“Controller 380 may be a computer configured to receive the image of secondary beam 324 from image sensor 360 and, based on the image of secondary beam 324, obtain a beam profile and beam power of light beam 322 emitted from ACC module 320” [0059]).
Regarding claim 12, Zhang discloses the claimed invention except that while Zhang discloses electronics configured to receive an electronic signal from said optical detector 360, wherein said electronics are configured to determine a characteristic of the sample based on a variation in the detected SHG light with different amount of electrical charge deposited on or in the sample and/or the charging of the sample (“Controller 380 may be a computer configured to receive the image of secondary beam 324 from image sensor 360 and, based on the image of secondary beam 324, obtain a beam profile and beam power of light beam 322 emitted from ACC module 320” [0059]), there is no explicit disclosure of detected SHG light.
Adler discloses a system “for using second-harmonic generation of light to monitor the manufacturing process for changes that can affect the performance or yield of produced devices and/or determining critical dimensions of the produced device” [Abstract], comprising electronics configured to receive an electronic signal from said optical detector (“the emission pattern can be further processed using a computer model of a detector 4640 (e.g., a detector used to generate the SHG signal), which provides a prediction of the signals 4650 that may be output by the detector included in the an SHG system (e.g., the SHG sample inspection system shown in FIG. 20) used to characterize the sample” [0093]); wherein said electronics are configured to determine a characteristic of the sample based on a variation in the detected SHG light with different amount of electrical charge deposited on or in the sample and/or the charging of the sample (“Time-dependent SHG intensity curves will change based on the distribution of charge carriers across an interface, for example, between the dielectric and substrate” [0034]).
It would have been obvious to one possessing ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Zhang with the second harmonic generated light detection of Adler in order to enhance the imaging of critical dimensions of semiconductor structures analyzed for fabrication processes.
Regarding claim 13, Zhang discloses the claimed invention except that while Zhang discloses electronics configured to receive an electronic signal from said optical detector 380 to determine a characteristic based on said light (“Controller 380 may be a computer configured to receive the image of secondary beam 324 from image sensor 360 and, based on the image of secondary beam 324, obtain a beam profile and beam power of light beam 322 emitted from ACC module 320” [0059]), there is no explicit disclosure of detected SHG light.
Adler discloses a system “for using second-harmonic generation of light to monitor the manufacturing process for changes that can affect the performance or yield of produced devices and/or determining critical dimensions of the produced device” [Abstract], comprising electronics configured to receive an electronic signal from said optical detector (“the emission pattern can be further processed using a computer model of a detector 4640 (e.g., a detector used to generate the SHG signal), which provides a prediction of the signals 4650 that may be output by the detector included in the an SHG system (e.g., the SHG sample inspection system shown in FIG. 20) used to characterize the sample” [0093]); wherein said electronics are configured to determine a characteristic of the sample based on a variation in the detected SHG light with different amount of electrical charge deposited on or in the sample and/or the charging of the sample (“Time-dependent SHG intensity curves will change based on the distribution of charge carriers across an interface, for example, between the dielectric and substrate” [0034]).
It would have been obvious to one possessing ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Zhang with the second harmonic generated light detection of Adler in order to enhance the imaging of critical dimensions of semiconductor structures analyzed for fabrication processes.
Regarding claim 14, Zhang discloses electronics configured to monitor the light signal for varying amounts of charge deposited on or in the sample by the electron beam generation and scanning system and/or for varying amounts of charging of the sample by the electron beam generation and scanning system (“Controller 380 may be a computer configured to receive the image of secondary beam 324 from image sensor 360 and, based on the image of secondary beam 324, obtain a beam profile and beam power of light beam 322 emitted from ACC module 320. In addition, controller 380 may be configured to control ACC module 320 based on the beam profile and beam power of light beam 322. For example, based on the beam power of light beam 322, controller 380 may automatically adjust a working current of the ACC emitter included in ACC module 320 to keep an output power of the ACC emitter at a target power or to remain stable. Meanwhile, based on the beam profile of light beam 322, controller 380 may adjust a beam shaper included in ACC module 320 to obtain a desired shape of the beam profile or a desired power distribution” [0059]); however, Zhang does not disclose that the light comprises SHG light.
Adler discloses a system for optically interrogating a sample accompanied by the application of electric charge to said sample, said system comprising: a probe optical source configured to emit probing light, said probe optical source disposed so as to direct said probing light onto said sample (“a primary or probe laser 10 for directing an interrogation beam 12 of electro-magnetic radiation at a sample wafer 20” [0105]); and an optical detector configured to detect scattered second harmonic generated (SHG) light from the sample (“a beam 14 of reflected radiation directed at a detector 40 will include an SHG signal” [0106]) in response to said probing light directed thereon (“the SHG-CD system may be configured to collect SHG light emitted by a sample at different scattering angles” [0278]).
It would have been obvious to one possessing ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Zhang with the second harmonic generated light detection of Adler in order to enhance the imaging of critical dimensions of semiconductor structures analyzed for fabrication processes.
Regarding claim 15, Zhang discloses the claimed invention except that while Zhang discloses electronics configured to receive an electronic signal from said optical detector 360 (“Controller 380 may be a computer configured to receive the image of secondary beam 324 from image sensor 360 and, based on the image of secondary beam 324, obtain a beam profile and beam power of light beam 322 emitted from ACC module 320” [0059]), there is no explicit disclosure that said electronics are configured to estimate a density of states based on said SHG signal.
Adler discloses a system “for using second-harmonic generation of light to monitor the manufacturing process for changes that can affect the performance or yield of produced devices and/or determining critical dimensions of the produced device” [Abstract], comprising electronics configured to receive an electronic signal from said optical detector (“the emission pattern can be further processed using a computer model of a detector 4640 (e.g., a detector used to generate the SHG signal), which provides a prediction of the signals 4650 that may be output by the detector included in the an SHG system (e.g., the SHG sample inspection system shown in FIG. 20) used to characterize the sample” [0093]); wherein electronics are configured to estimate a density of states based on said SHG signal (“Since it may be advantageous to obtain the time evolution of the SHG signal when the charge carrier density in the region including interface is below saturation as well as when the charge carrier density in the region including interface reaches saturation level, the system can be configured to obtain SHG signal measurements within about 1 microsecond after turning on/turning off the pump radiation” [0121]).
It would have been obvious to one possessing ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Zhang with the second harmonic generated light detection of Adler in order to enhance the imaging of critical dimensions of semiconductor structures analyzed for fabrication processes.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. U.S. PGPUB No. 2022/0042935 in view of Adler U.S. PGPUB No. 2022/0364850 in further view of He et al. U.S. PGPUB No. 2019/0287760.
Regarding claim 5, Zhang discloses the claimed invention except that while Zhang discloses “When primary electron beam 312 irradiates the area of interest on wafer 340, charges may be accumulated due to a large beam current. Light beam 322 emitted from ACC module 320 may be configured to regulate the accumulated charges due to photoconductivity or photoelectric effect, or a combination of photoconductivity and photoelectric effect. It is important to monitor the power and quality of light beam 322 emitted from ACC module 320 to effectively regulate the accumulated charges by light beam 322” [0057], Zhang does not explicitly disclose a window or fiber feedthrough for transmission of said probing light into said vacuum chamber.
He discloses a window or fiber feedthrough for transmission of a probing light (“the optical beam can be reflected by the second reflecting mirror 1302c and impinge the specimen along the optical axis, to detect… the specimen “ [0140]) into the vacuum chamber of an electron beam tool (“The second vacuum window 114 is configured to introduce an optical beam to the column 103 from outside of the charged particle beam system” [0089]).
It would have been obvious to one possessing ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the window of He in the system of Zhang in order to create a compact system capable of directing a probing optical beam onto a same point of a sample simultaneous with irradiation of an electron beam (where the system may be made more compact by relocating the light source to a different location and ensuring that radiation from the light source is still guided to the desired location).
Claim(s) 8 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. U.S. PGPUB No. 2022/0042935 in view of Adler U.S. PGPUB No. 2022/0364850 in further view of Fang et al. U.S. PGPUB No. 2020/0027693.
Regarding claim 8, Zhang discloses the claimed invention except that while Zhang discloses a chuck 136 for supporting said sample 150, there is no explicit disclosure of a high voltage source electrically connected to said chuck to apply a voltage to said sample.
Fang discloses a high voltage source electrically connected to a chuck to apply a voltage to a sample (“Different voltages are applied onto wafer 120… to generate an axial symmetric retarding electric field near the wafer surface” [0028]) in a scanning electron microscope (“The SEM performs the bare-wafer inspection” [0022]).
It would have been obvious to one possessing ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Zhang and Adler with the high voltage source of Fang in order to provide additional charge controlling of the sample specimen so as to more accurately and/or more quickly achieve a desired charging level of the sample specimen in analyzing the sample specimen.
Regarding claim 10, Zhang discloses the claimed invention except that there is no explicit disclosure that said scanning electron microscope has a work distance of no less than 5 millimeters (mm).
Fang discloses a scanning electron microscope (“The SEM performs the bare-wafer inspection” [0022]) having a work distance of no less than 5 millimeters (mm) (“the distance from the bottom surface of shared pole piece 116b to the wafer surface 120 can be a distance within the range from 1.0 to 8.0 mm” [0034]).
It would have been obvious to one possessing ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Zhang and Adler with the working distance of Fang in order to provide a optimal focal condition for imaging the sample in a scanning electron microscope.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JASON L MCCORMACK/Examiner, Art Unit 2881