DETAILED ACTION
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 5 and 16 is/are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Concerning claim 5, the search did not find or make obvious the apparatus of claim 1, further comprising a database that contains information regarding tin (Sn) debris morphologies and heater temperature conditions.
Concerning claim 16, the search did not find or make obvious the apparatus of claim 11, further comprising a database that contains information regarding Tin (Sn) debris morphologies and heater temperature conditions.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
2. Claim(s) 1, 6-8, 11-13, 15 and 21-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over NAGAI et al. (US 20150296604 A1) in view of (JP 5670174 B2).
Regarding claim 1, NAGAI discloses an apparatus (11) for extreme ultraviolet lithography [0002],, comprising:
a target droplet generator (11, 26) configured to generate target droplets (27);
a first laser source (3) configured to generate first laser pulses (main pulse 3b, 31b) and second laser pulses (later 3b, 31b) [0053 Note at least one pulse], respectively, that heat the target droplets to produce extreme ultraviolet (EUV) light (252) [0053] [0141] and a plurality of particles that contain tin (Sn) debris [0047] (pieces of 27 post 25);
a heater (not shown) [0110] that also functions as a debris collector (28) (284);
a supplemental laser source (pre-pulse 3a, 31a), to generate third laser pulses (3a, 31a)
an electromagnet (18) configured to generate a magnetic field (18a) to direct ionized particles to the heater (not shown, of 28/284) [0110] for collection (at 28/284);
an imaging device (4) for monitoring the tin debris [0047] (pieces of 27 post 25);, and
a control system (5) configured to control the supplemental laser source (3a) and the electromagnet (18) based on feedback information from the supplemental laser source (3a) (via optical sensor 352) [0071] and the imaging device (4) [0049]
[0054] [0075-0076].
[0053 Note at least one pulse]
[0057]
[0113]
[0121]
[0141]
[0148].
But NAGAI fails to explicitly disclose a supplemental laser source to generate third laser pulses to ionize the plurality of particles.
(JP 5670174 B2), however, discloses an EUV generator (fig. 1) with a first laser source (12) generating s main pulse (L12) to generate EUV light (L2) and also debris particles, at a plasma location (P1) from a target, a second laser source (11) generating s pre- pulse (L11) to a target to help generate the plasma, and
a supplemental laser source (13) to generate third laser pulses (L13) to ionize the plurality of particles (pgs. 4-6 and 15); and electromagnetics (19a, 19b) for directing debris to debris collectors (16a, 16b).
(fig. 1)
(pgs. 4-6 and 15).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA applications) to combine/modify the invention of NAGAI , with a supplemental laser source to generate third laser pulses to ionize debris particles, as taught by (JP 5670174 B2)., to increase debris mitigation by trapping and collecting ionized debris particles via a magnetic field and debris collection cylinders (pgs. 4-6 and 15).
Regarding claim 6, NAGAI discloses an apparatus for extreme ultraviolet lithography [0002], comprising:
a target droplet generator (11, 26) configured to generate target droplets (27);
a first laser source (3) configured to generate first laser pulses (main pulse 3b, 31b) that heat the target droplets to produce extreme ultraviolet (EUV) light (252) [0053] [0141] and a plurality of particles (27 post 25);
a heater (not shown) [0110] ;
a supplemental laser source (pre-pulse 3a, 31a), configured to generate laser second pulses (3a, 31a)
an electromagnet (18) configured to generate a magnetic field (18a) to direct ionized particles to the heater (not shown, of 28/284) [0110] for collection (at 28/284).
[0054] [0075-0076].
[0053 Note at least one pulse]
[0057]
[0113]
[0121]
[0141]
[0148].
But NAGAI fails to explicitly disclose a supplemental laser source to generate third laser pulses to ionize the plurality of particles.
(JP 5670174 B2), however, discloses an EUV generator (fig. 1) with a first laser source (12) generating s main pulse (L12) to generate EUV light (L2) and also debris particles, at a plasma location (P1) from a target, a second laser source (11) generating s pre- pulse (L11) to a target to help generate the plasma, and
a supplemental laser source (13) to generate third laser pulses (L13) to ionize the plurality of particles (pgs. 4-6 and 15); and electromagnetics (19a, 19b) for directing debris to debris collectors (16a, 16b).
(fig. 1)
(pgs. 4-6 and 15).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA applications) to combine/modify the invention of NAGAI , with a supplemental laser source to generate third laser pulses to ionize debris particles, as taught by (JP 5670174 B2)., to increase debris mitigation by trapping and collecting ionized debris particles via a magnetic field and debris collection cylinders (pgs. 4-6 and 15).
Regarding claim 21, NAGAI discloses a method for extreme ultraviolet (EUV) lithography [0002],, the method comprising:
generating target droplets (27) using a target droplet generator (26) ;
using a first laser source (3) to generate first laser pulses (main pulse 3b, 31b) to heat the target droplets to generate extreme ultraviolet (EUV) light (252) [0053] [0141] and a plurality of particles (27 post 25);
using a supplemental laser source (pre-pulse 3a, 31a), to generate second laser pulses (3a, 31a)
applying, using an electromagnet (18) , a magnetic field (18a) to direct ionized particles to a heater (not shown, of 28/284) [0110] for collection (at 28/284).
[0054] [0075-0076].
[0053 Note at least one pulse]
[0057]
[0113]
[0121]
[0141]
[0148].
But NAGAI fails to explicitly disclose a supplemental laser source to generate third laser pulses to ionize the plurality of particles.
(JP 5670174 B2), however, discloses an EUV generator (fig. 1) with a first laser source (12) generating s main pulse (L12) to generate EUV light (L2) and also debris particles, at a plasma location (P1) from a target, a second laser source (11) generating s pre- pulse (L11) to a target to help generate the plasma, and
a supplemental laser source (13) to generate third laser pulses (L13) to ionize the plurality of particles (pgs. 4-6 and 15); and electromagnetics (19a, 19b) for directing debris to debris collectors (16a, 16b).
(fig. 1)
(pgs. 4-6 and 15).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA applications) to combine/modify the invention of NAGAI , with a supplemental laser source to generate third laser pulses to ionize debris particles, as taught by (JP 5670174 B2)., to increase debris mitigation by trapping and collecting ionized debris particles via a magnetic field and debris collection cylinders (pgs. 4-6 and 15).
Regarding claim 3, NAGAI discloses that the control system (5 and/or 19) further comprises one or more electromagnet management modules (19’s for 18s, 181, 182).
Regarding claim 7, NAGAI discloses that the particles comprise tin debris [0047] (pieces of 27 post 25).
Regarding claim 8, NAGAI discloses that an imaging device (4) (pgs. 6-7) for monitoring the tin debris [0047] (pieces of 27 post 25).
Regarding claim 11, NAGAI discloses a control system (5 and/or 19).
Regarding claim 12, NAGAI discloses that the control system (5 and/or 19) further comprises an electromagnet management module (19’s for 18s, 181, 182).
Regarding claim 13, NAGAI discloses that the control system (5 and/or 19) further comprises two electromagnet management modules (19’s for 18s, 181, 182).
Regarding claim 15, NAGAI discloses that the target droplet generator (11, 26) comprises a radiation source (3) that generates laser pulses including a pre-pulse (31a’s) and a main pulse (31b) [0057].
Regarding claim 22, NAGAI discloses the particles comprise tin (Sn) debris [0047] (pieces of 27 post 25).
Regarding claim 23, NAGAI discloses monitoring the particles (27) using an imaging device (4) [0049] [0054] [0075-0076] .
2. Claim(s) 2, and 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over NAGAI et al. (US 20150296604 A1) in view of (JP 5670174 B2), as applied to claims 1 and 6 above, and further in light of (JP 2008041436 A).
Regarding claim 2, NAGAI discloses wherein the imaging device (4) (pgs. 6-7) comprises one or more
Regarding claim 9, NAGAI discloses wherein the imaging device (4) (pgs. 6-7) comprises a
Regarding claim 10, NAGAI discloses wherein the imaging device (4) (pgs. 6-7) comprises two
But NAGAI as modified by (JP 5670174 B2) fails to disclose a charge-coupled device (CCD) modules
(JP 2008041436 A)., however, discloses an EUV system with an imager that is one or two charge-coupled device (CCD) modules (figs. 14-15; 43) (pgs. 7-8 and 15).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA applications) to combine/modify the invention of NAGAI as modified by (JP 5670174 B2), with imager that is charge-coupled device (CCD) module, as taught by (JP 2008041436 A)., to use as a substitution of one known imager (i.e. CCD) for another to obtain predictable imaging results.
2. Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over NAGAI et al. (US 20150296604 A1) in view of (JP 5670174 B2), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in light of TAO et al. (WO 2009140270 A2).
Regarding claim 4, NAGAI discloses that the supplemental laser source (pre-pulse 3a, 31a) is a
But NAGAI fails to disclose a supplemental laser source is a C02 laser source
TAO, however, discloses use of a CO2 laser for generating ionized debris particles that are easier to mitigate [0026].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA applications) to combine/modify the invention of NAGAI , with a CO2 laser source for generating ionized debris particles, as taught by TAO, to make debris easier to mitigate, for easier alignment, reduced complexity, and reduced cost and for lower cost [0026-0027].
2. Claim(s) 3, 12-13, 14 and 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over NAGAI et al. (US 20150296604 A1) in view of (JP 5670174 B2), as applied to claims 1, 6 and 21 above, and further in light of NAGAI et al. (US 20120267553 A1); hereinafter NAGAI2.
Regarding claim 14, NAGAI discloses where the control system (5 and/or 19) is configured to manage
Regarding claim 24, NAGAI discloses managing (via 5 and/or 19)
But NAGAI fails to disclose manage the electromagnet/ the magnetic field based on sensor data.
NAGAI2, however, discloses an EUV system with debris collectors (fig. 24, 13) and electro magnets (14) that are feedback controlled (31) based upon sensor data from sensors (21) to mitigate debris accumulation inside of the EUV generator chamber (10)
[0082].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA applications) to combine/modify the invention of NAGAI , with manage the electromagnet/ the magnetic field based on sensor data, as taught by NAGAI2, to use for monitoring debris levels and for reducing debris levels to maintain device operation [0082].
Moreover, regarding claim(s) 3 and 12-13, NAKAI2 discloses control system (23, 31) further comprises electromagnet (14) management modules (31) [0082].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA applications) to combine/modify the invention of NAGAI , with electromagnet (14) management modules FOR managing the electromagnet/ the magnetic field based on sensor data, as taught by NAGAI2, to use for monitoring debris levels and for reducing debris levels to maintain device operation [0082].
Conclusion
/ANDREW SMYTH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2881