DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claims 1-26 are pending. Claims 9 and 14-26 have been withdrawn. Claim 1 has been amended.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-8 and 10-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 1 reciting “each of the protruding portions … extends continuously from one side to an opposite side of the shielding part” lacks adequate support in original disclosure. Applicant alleges support for amended limitation in non-elected species shown in FIG. 2E and FIG. 2F (See 7/8/2026 remark, page 8).
Firstly, Applicant previously elected Species IV depicted in FIG. 3C-2 and Subspecies IV depicted in FIG. 3E. The elected invention teaches the shielding part 32 as having top grooves 321 and bottom notches 320. There is no unequivocal support that the protruding portions 220 of the shielding part would extend continuously through each of the grooves 321 and notches 320. I.e. the grooves 321 and notches 320 would have to carefully positioned to avoiding the protruding portions on the periphery surface of the shielding part. However, there is no specific disclosure on the depth/height of the grooves 321 and notches 320 that provide clear support for the protruding portions to be uninterrupted by the grooves 321 and notches 320.
Furthermore, even considering the non-elected embodiment as shown in FIG. 2E and FIG. 2F, there is insufficient support for the amended claim limitation.
FIG. 2E shows a cross-sectional view depicting the shielding part 22 having protruding portions 220 on the left side and the right side. The protruding portions 220 are separated by a center section of the shielding part 20. Thus, each of protruding portions 220 is not continuous from the left side to the right side of the shielding part.
It appears Applicant may be alleging support based on FIG. 2F for the protruding portions 220 to extend continuously from one side (e.g. top side in FIG. 2F) to an opposite side (e.g. bottom side in FIG. 2F). It is unclear at what height elevation is the view of FIG. 2F taken. For example, it may be showing a layout of the shielding part 20 at the top/bottom surface away from the middle protruding portions 220. And thus, the continuous sidewalls shown in FIG. 2F could be at the non-protruding top or bottom portions of the shielding part. Thus, there is no unequivocal support for the sidewalls to be extending continuously at the elevation of the protruding portions 220.
Furthermore, even if assuming FIG. 2F is showing a view at the height of the protruding portion 220 as alleged by Applicant, the shielding part 20 as shown in FIG. 2F has a rectangular shape layout with a dividing wall in the middle. The “opposing sides” of the shielding part, as best understood, refer to the outer sides of the entirety of the shielding part 20; e.g. opposing top/bottom sides or opposing left/right sides. Both left/right sidewalls of the middle dividing wall are separated from the opposing top and bottom sides of the shielding part 20 by a portion of shielding part that connects the middle dividing wall to the top/bottom wall sections. A right sidewall of the left wall section is separated from the opposing top and bottom sides of the shielding part 20 by a portion of shielding part that connects the left wall section to the top/bottom wall sections. And a left sidewall of the right wall section is separated from the opposing top and bottom sides of the shielding part 20 by a portion of shielding part that connects the right wall section to the top/bottom wall sections. The inner facing sidewall of the top wall section is discontinuous between the opposing left and right side of the shielding part 20 by the left wall section, the middle wall section, and the right wall section. The inner facing sidewall of the bottom wall section is discontinuous between the opposing left and right side of the shielding part 20 by the left wall section, the middle wall section, and the right wall section. Therefore, there is no support for each of the protruding portions 220 to extend continuously between “opposing sides” of the shielding part 20 in FIG. 2F.
Other claims are rejected for depending on a rejected claim.
Claims 1-8 and 10-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 1 reciting “wherein each of two periphery surfaces of the shielding part that oppose to each other includes a non-straight surface defining a protruding portion, and each of the protruding portions is disposed distantly from both a top end and a bottom end of the shielding part and extends continuously from one side to an opposite side of the shielding part” renders the claim indefinite.
Firstly, “disposed distantly” renders the claim indefinite. The word “distantly” has a dictionary definition of “far away”. However, it is unclear how much distance is required to be considered “far away”. It is unclear what distance would suffice “far” or “distantly”. Therefore, the intended scope of “disposed distantly” is unclear.
Furthermore, recitation to “two periphery surfaces of the shielding part” and “one side” and “an opposite side of the shielding part” renders the claim indefinite. It is unclear if the periphery surfaces and opposing sides of the shielding part could be referring to the same or how are they related to each other. It is further unclear what constitute the side and opposite side of the shielding part such that “each of the protruding portions … extends continuously from one side to an opposite side of the shielding part”. As detailed in the § 112a rejection above, there is no clear written description for the limitation based on the original disclosure.
According to elected Species IV depicted in FIG. 3C-2 and Subspecies IV depicted in FIG. 3E, the shielding part 32 comprises top grooves 321 and bottom notches 320.
If the “side” and “opposite side” refer to left and right side as shown in FIG. 3B, the protruding portions 220 are separated from each other by an intervening middle portion of the shielding part 32. Therefore, the protruding portions would not be each extending continuously from one side to an opposite side.
If the “side” and “opposite side” refers to the left and right ends of the entire shielding part 32 as shown in FIG. 3E, it is unclear what are the dimensions of the grooves 321 and notches 320 and how they may interfere with the protruding portions and how the protruding portions would extend continuously through the grooves 321 and notches 320 across the entirety of the shielding part 32.
If the “side” and “opposite side” refers to sides of the portion of the shielding part between adjacent grooves 321 or notches 320, it is also unclear whether the protruding portions would be located at a height such that they extend continuously between the sides.
The amended claim limitation is also indefinite in light of the non-elected embodiment as shown in FIG. 2E and FIG. 2F alleged by Applicant as support.
If the “side” and “opposite side” refer to left and right side as shown in FIG. 2E, the protruding portions 220 are separated from each other by an intervening middle portion of the shielding part 22. Therefore, the protruding portions would not be each extending continuously from one side to an opposite side.
It is unclear if any of the sides shown in the layout of FIG. 2F correspond to the protruding portions 220. Even if assuming FIG. 2F is showing a view at the height of the protruding portion 220 as alleged by Applicant, it is unclear which would correspond to the claimed “side” and “opposite side”.
If the “side” and “opposite side” refer to top and bottom sides of the shielding part 20 as shown FIG. 2F, the protruding portions on the left side and right side of the middle wall are each separated from the opposing top and bottom sides of the shielding part 20 by a portion of shielding part that connects the middle dividing wall to the top/bottom wall sections.
Similarly, if the “side” and “opposite side” refer to top and bottom sides of the shielding part 20 as shown FIG. 2F, the protruding portion on the right side of the left wall section is separated from the opposing top and bottom sides of the shielding part 20 by a portion of shielding part that connects the left wall section to the top/bottom wall sections.
Similarly, if the “side” and “opposite side” refer to top and bottom sides of the shielding part 20 as shown FIG. 2F, the protruding portion on the left side of the right wall section is separated from the opposing top and bottom sides of the shielding part 20 by a portion of shielding part that connects the right wall section to the top/bottom wall sections.
If the “side” and “opposite side” refer to left and right sides of the shielding part 20 as shown FIG. 2F, the protruding portion on the inner facing side of the top wall section is interrupted by the left wall section, the middle wall section, and the right wall section.
Similarly, if the “side” and “opposite side” refer to left and right sides of the shielding part 20 as shown FIG. 2F, the protruding portion on the inner facing side of the bottom wall section is also interrupted by the left wall section, the middle wall section, and the right wall section.
Therefore, it is unclear what is intended by “one side” and “opposite side” of the shielding part where each of the protruding portions “extends continuously from one side to an opposite side of the shielding part”.
Other claims are rejected for depending on a rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 and 10-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hayashi et al. US 2023/0187295 A1 (Hayashi).
In re claim 1, as best understood, Hayashi discloses (e.g. FIGs. 1-6 & 20 & 31) an electronic package 10, comprising:
a carrier structure 12 having a circuit layer (¶ 51);
a plurality of electronic components 16a,16b,16c disposed on the carrier structure 12 and electrically connected to the circuit layer (through soldering, ¶ 66-67);
a shielding part 14 disposed on the carrier structure 12 and located between two of the plurality of electronic components (14 is between 16a and 16b or between 16a and 16c), wherein each of two periphery surfaces SF3,SB3 of the shielding part 14 that oppose to each other, and the surface SF3 includes a non-straight surface defining a protruding portion (FIG. 20, protrusions 150a-150g on the front surface SF3), and each of the protruding portions 150a-150g is disposed distantly from both a top end and a bottom end of the shielding part 14 (as best understood, protrusions 150a-150g as shown in FIG. 20 are not at the top end or bottom end of the shielding part 14 and are considered to be disposed “distantly” from the top and bottom ends) and extends continuously from one side to an opposite side of the shielding part 14 (as best understood, each protrusions 150a-150g correspond to foot portions 146a-146g, ¶ 136, and is extending continuously from “one side” of a foot to “an opposite side” of the same foot defined between adjacent notches 144a-144f; e.g. protrusion 150b on surface SF3 opposite foot 146b extends continuously from “a side” of the shielding part defined by notch 144a and “an opposite side” of the shielding part defined by notch 144b; furthermore, “one side” and “an opposite side” may correspond to any two opposing terminal ending sides of each of the protrusions, e.g. protrusion 150a extends continuously from a top side of 150a to a bottom opposing side of 150a, protrusion 150a also extends continuously from opposing terminal sides of 150a along the L-R direction); and
an encapsulating layer 18 formed on the carrier structure 12 and covering the plurality of electronic components 16a-16c and the shielding part 14.
Hayashi discloses protrusions 150a-150g are provided to correspond to respective foot portions 146a to 146g shown in FIG. 20 so as to be on a surface SF3 opposite to the bent direction of the foot portions 146a-146g to prevent solder from wetting upward too much (¶ 136). FIG. 20 of Hayashi does not show protrusions on the opposing surface SB3 that are disposed distantly from top and bottom ends of the shielding part.
However, Hayashi further discloses in FIG. 31, foot portions 146a,146c,146e,146g and foot portions 146b,146d,146f that are formed to alternate in two opposing surfaces of plate-shaped portion 140 (¶ 165).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form protrusions 150a-150g to correspond each of the alternating foot portions 146a-146g in FIG. 31, such that each protrusion is formed on a surface of the plate-shaped portion opposite from the bent direction of the alternating foot portions 146a-146g so as to prevent solder from excessively wetting upward from each foot portions as discussed in relationship FIG. 20. As such, left protrusions 150a,150c,150e,150g are formed on a left side surface opposite each right foot portions 146a,146c,146e,146g shown in FIG. 31, and right protrusions 150b,150d,150f are formed on a right side surface opposite each left foot portions 146b,146d,146f. Thus, each of the two opposing periphery surfaces SF3,SB3 of the shielding part (left and right side surfaces as shown in FIG. 31) includes a protruding portions 150a-150g (left/right protrusions corresponding to right/left foots) disposed “distantly” from both a top end and a bottom end of the shielding part.
In re claim 2, Hayashi discloses (e.g. FIGs. 1-6) wherein at least one of the plurality of electronic components 16a-16c is a radio-frequency chip (high frequency device, ¶ 50).
In re claim 3, Hayashi discloses (e.g. FIGs. 1-6) wherein the radio-frequency chip 16a-16c is a Bluetooth chip or a Wi-Fi chip (no specific Wi-Fi chip claimed that would distinguish over high frequence wireless device taught by Hayashi, ¶ 50).
In re claim 4, Hayashi discloses (e.g. FIGs. 3 & 9) wherein the shielding part 14 is exposed from the encapsulating layer 18 (top of shielding part 14 is exposed at the top surface of encapsulating layer 18).
In re claim 5, Hayashi discloses (e.g. FIGs. 3 & 9) wherein an end surface (top end) of the shielding part 14 is flush with a surface (top surface) of the encapsulating layer 18.
In re claim 6, Hayashi discloses (e.g. FIGs. 1 & 5) wherein the shielding part 14 is a column, a plate, or a frame (plate member 14 shown in FIG. 5).
In re claim 7, Hayashi discloses (e.g. FIGs. 1 & 5) wherein the plate 14 has a discontinuous wall (wall 14 is discontinuous with separation by notches 142a-b and 144a-144f). Such interpretation of a “discontinuous wall” is consistent with Applicant own disclosure of the structure shown in FIG. 3E as a “discontinuous wall” having notches 320,321.
In re claim 8, Hayashi discloses (e.g. FIG. 5) wherein the plate 14 has notches or grooves 142a-142b, 144a-144f.
In re claim 10, Hayashi discloses (e.g. FIG. 3) further comprising a metal layer 20 formed on the encapsulating layer 18.
In re claim 11, Hayashi discloses (e.g. FIG. 3) wherein the metal layer 20 is electrically connected to the shielding part 14 (¶ 69).
In re claim 12, Hayashi discloses (e.g. FIG. 3) wherein the circuit layer G is electrically connected to the metal layer 20 (¶ 69).
In re claim 13, Hayashi discloses (e.g. FIG. 3) wherein a material of the metal layer 20 is selected from copper, nickel, iron, aluminum, stainless steel, or a group composed thereof (e.g. stainless steel, Cu, Ag, or Al, ¶ 69).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/8/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding Hayashi, Applicant argues front main surface SF3 and back main surface SB3 of the plate-shaped portions 140 are flat surfaces without protruding portions (Remark, page 8).
This is not persuasive. Hayashi discloses for FIG. 20, “the protrusions 150a to 150g protrude forward from the front main surface SF3 of the plate-shaped portion 140” (¶ 136). Therefore, protrusions 150a-150g are defines non-straight surface for the shielding part.
Applicant further argues protrusions 150a-150 are only provided on one surface of the metal member 14 (Remark, page 8).
This is not persuasive. As detailed in the rejection above, Hayashi discloses in FIG. 31, foot portions 146a,146c,146e,146g and foot portions 146b,146d,146f that are formed to alternate in two opposing surfaces of plate-shaped portion 140 (¶ 165). Therefore, it would have been obvious to form protrusions 150a-150g to correspond each of the alternating foot portions 146a-146g in FIG. 31, such that each protrusion is formed on a surface of the plate-shaped portion opposite from the bent direction of the alternating foot portions 146a-146g so as to prevent solder from excessively wetting upward from each foot portions as discussed in relationship FIG. 20. As such, left protrusions 150a,150c,150e,150g are formed on a left side surface opposite each right foot portions 146a,146c,146e,146g shown in FIG. 31, and right protrusions 150b,150d,150f are formed on a right side surface opposite each left foot portions 146b,146d,146f. Thus, each of the two opposing periphery surfaces SF3,SB3 of the shielding part (left and right side surfaces as shown in FIG. 31) includes a protruding portions 150a-150g (left/right protrusions corresponding to right/left foots) disposed “distantly” from both a top end and a bottom end of the shielding part.
Applicant further argues Hayashi’s notches 144a-144f divide the plate-shaped portion 140 and the foots 146a-146g do not extend continuously (Remark, pages 11-12).
This is not persuasive. Firstly, Applicant’s own elected embodiment shown in FIG. 3E includes grooves 321 and notches 320. Therefore, it is unclear Applicant’s own disclosure would provide necessary and sufficient support for continuously extending protruding portions. Furthermore, it is unclear what does the claimed “one side” and “an opposite side” refer to. As best understood, each of Hayashi’s protrusions 150a-150g extends continuously from “one side” of a foot to “an opposite side” of the same foot defined between adjacent notches 144a-144f. For example, protrusion 150b on surface SF3 opposite foot 146b extends continuously from “a side” of the shielding part defined by notch 144a and “an opposite side” of the shielding part defined by notch 144b. Furthermore, “one side” and “an opposite side” may correspond to any two opposing terminal ending sides of each of the protrusions. E.g. protrusion 150a extends continuously from a top side of 150a to a bottom opposing side of 150a; protrusion 150a also extends continuously from opposing terminal sides of 150a along the L-R direction.
Conclusion
/YU CHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2896
YU CHEN
Examiner
Art Unit 2896