DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendments/Arguments
The amendment made to claim 1, the cancelation of claim 9, and the withdrawal of claim 10, as filed on January 13, 2026, are acknowledged.
Applicant's arguments, see Remarks filed on January 13, 2026, with respect to amended claim 1 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The Applicant argues that Inoue teaches away from the chemical mechanical polishing composition of amended claim 1 comprising, inferalia, bimodal distributed colloidal silica particles "wherein the bimodal distributed elongated colloidal silica particles have a first mode with an average particle size of 75-80nm and a second mode with an average particle size of 110-140 nm." However, Inoue does disclose bimodal distributed colloidal silica particles having a first mode with a first particle size maximum of 30-70 nm and a second mode with a second particle size maximum of 71-150 nm (paragraph 0023). The range of the first mode disclosed by Inoue is close to the corresponding range recited in the amended claim 1, while the range of the second mode disclosed by Inoue overlaps with the corresponding range recited in the instant claim. As taught by Tuoriniemi et al. (“Intermethod comparison of the particle size distribution of colloidal silica nanoparticles”, Sci. Technol. Adv. Mater. Vol. 15, year 2014, paper# 035009), there can be large variation in the measured diameter of nanoparticles depending on which method is used (abstract). In addition, Inoue teaches that the bimodal distribution is characterized by the absolute value of the difference in particle sizes corresponding to both peaks being in the range of 50 to 100nm, which also overlaps with the corresponding range recited in the amended claim 1. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to experiment with the ranges of the two modes based on the measurement method as suggested by Tuoriiniemi, that satisfy the characteristics of the bimodal distribution as taught by Inoue, in order to obtain excellent polishing effect as motivated by Inoue. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). MPEP 2144.05(I). Additionally, where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable range by routine experimentation and there is no evidence of the criticality of the claimed range. See MPEP 2144.05 II.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Tsuchiya et al. (US20220186078) in view of Inoue et al. (JP2007137972, a machine-translated English version is used) and Tuoriniemi et al. (“Intermethod comparison of the particle size distribution of colloidal silica nanoparticles”, Sci. Technol. Adv. Mater. Vol. 15, year 2014, paper# 035009).
Regarding claim 1, Tsuchiya discloses a chemical mechanical polishing composition (paragraph 0008) comprising water (paragraph 0008), an abrasive having colloidal silica particles including elongated colloidal silica particles (a peanut shaped colloidal silica reads on elongated colloidal silica particle, paragraphs 0023 and 0027), polyvinyl alcohol 80% or more hydrolyzed (degree of saponification reads on degree of hydrolyzation, paragraph 0036), an electrolyte (paragraph 0111), and a pH greater than 7 (paragraph 0119). Tsuchiya is silent about the colloidal silica being bimodal distributed, wherein the bimodal distributed colloidal silica particles have a first mode with an average particle size of 75-80 nm and a second mode with an average particle size of 110-140 nm. However, Inoue teaches that bimodal distributed silica sol (silica sol reads on colloidal silica) can exhibit excellent polishing effect (paragraph 0023). Inoue further discloses that bimodal distributed colloidal silica particles have a first mode with a first particle size maximum of 30-70 nm and a second mode with a second particle size maximum of 71-150 nm (paragraph 0023). The range of the first mode disclosed by Inoue is close to the corresponding range recited in the amended claim 1, while the range of the second mode disclosed by Inoue overlaps with the corresponding range recited in the instant claim. As taught by Tuoriniemi, there can be large variation in the measured diameter of nanoparticles depending on which method is used (abstract). In addition, Inoue teaches that the bimodal distribution is characterized by the absolute value of the difference in particle sizes corresponding to both peaks being in the range of 50 to 100nm, which also overlaps with the corresponding range recited in the amended claim 1. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to experiment with the ranges of the two modes based on the measurement method as suggested by Tuoriiniemi, that satisfy the characteristics of the bimodal distribution as taught by Inoue, in order to obtain excellent polishing effect as motivated by Inoue. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). MPEP 2144.05(I). Additionally, where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable range by routine experimentation and there is no evidence of the criticality of the claimed range. See MPEP 2144.05 II.
Regarding claims 2-3, Tsuchiya discloses wherein the polyvinyl alcohol is 80% or more hydrolyzed (degree of saponification reads on degree of hydrolyzation, paragraph 0036). The range of hydrolyzation disclosed by Tsuchiya overlaps with the ranges recited in the instant claims.
Regarding claim 4, Tsuchiya discloses wherein a weight average molecular weight of the polyvinyl alcohol 80% to less than or equal to 90% hydrolyzed is 200000 g/mole (paragraph 0047).
Regarding claim 5, Tsuchiya discloses wherein a weight average molecular weight of the polyvinyl alcohol 80% or more hydrolyzed is 200000 g/mole or less (paragraph 0047). The range by Tsuchiya encompasses the range recited in the instant claim.
Regarding claim 6, Tsuchiya discloses wherein the amount of polyvinyl alcohol 80% or more hydrolyzed is 0.003 wt % (paragraph 0052).
Regarding claim 7, it is noted that the claim is drawn to a composition claim and the limitation recited in the wherein clause is considered as a property of the composition. A composition claim covers what the composition is not what the composition does. See In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 708, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1657 (Fed. Cir. 1990) ("The discovery of a new property or use of a previously known composition, even when that property and use are unobvious from prior art, can not impart patentability to claims to the known composition").
Regarding claim 8, Tsuchiya discloses wherein the pH is 8-12 (paragraph 0119).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office Action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to JIONG-PING LU whose telephone number is (571) 270-1135. The examiner can normally be reached on M-F: 9:00am – 5:00pm. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Joshua L Allen, can be reached at telephone number (571)270-3176. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/JIONG-PING LU/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1713