DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 6 recites the limitations Z1a, Z1b, and Z1c in lines 4-8. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 15 recites the limitations Z1a, Z1b, and Z1c in lines 3-7. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Therefore, it is not clear what is the joint inventor claiming as the invention in claims 6 and 15.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4, 5, 7-11, 13, 14, 16, 17, 19, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nemoto (WO2021/235283 A1, with machine translation submitted by the applicant on October 11, 2024).
With regard to claims 1 and 7, Nemoto teaches the onium salt of formula (1-2):
(par.0050), which is a photoactive compound comprising an organic cation and an anion of Formula (1) in claim 1, wherein X is an organic group, Z2 is hydrogen, Y1 is -COO-C(CH3)3, Y2 is a non-hydrogen substituent, X and Y2 together form a ring.
The organic cation is a sulfonium cation, as required in claim 7.
With regard to claim 2, in the onium salt of formula (1-2) X comprises an imide group (-CO-NH-CO-) directly attached to N- in the Formula (1).
An imide group is an electron withdrawing group, as evidenced in par.0034 of Zampini et al. (US 2002/0004570).
With regard to claim 4, the anion of the onium salt of formula (1-2) is free of fluorine.
With regard to claim 5, the anion of the onium salt of formula (1-2) comprises a group -COOC(CH3)3 (t-butyl ester group).
A tert-butyl ester is an acid labile group, as evidenced in par.0198 of Kwon et al. (US 2011/0092384).
With regard to claims 8 and 9, Nemoto teaches teach a radiation-sensitive resin composition comprising the onium salt and a resin that contains a structural unit having an acid cleavable group (abstract).
Nemoto further teaches that the radiation-sensitive resin composition further comprises an acid generator different from the onium salt (par.0139).
With regard to claim 10, Nemoto teaches a pattern-forming method comprising the steps of:
-applying the radiation-sensitive resin composition onto a substrate to form a resist film;
-exposing the resist film; and
-developing the exposed resist film (par.0167).
With regard to claims 11 and 17, in the onium salt of formula (1-2) X comprises an imide group (-CO-NH-CO-) directly attached to N- in the Formula (1).
An imide group is an electron withdrawing group, as evidenced in par.0034 of Zampini et al. (US 2002/0004570).
With regard to claims 13 and 19, the anion of the onium salt of formula (1-2) is free of fluorine.
With regard to claims 14 and 20, the anion of the onium salt of formula (1-2) comprises a group -COOC(CH3)3 (t-butyl ester group).
A tert-butyl ester is an acid labile group, as evidenced in par.0198 of Kwon et al. (US 2011/0092384).
With regard to claim 16, the onium salt of formula (1-2) above has a sulfonium cation.
Claims 1, 3, and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Conway et al. (“Benzylammonium 2,4-bis(dicyanomethylene)-2,3-dihydroisoindolide”)
With regard to claim 1, Conway et al. teach the compound below:
(page 1), which is a compound comprising an organic cation and an anion of Formula (1) in claim 1, wherein X is an organic group, Y1 and Y2 are non-hydrogen substituents, Z2 is hydrogen, and X and Z2 form a ring.
With regard to claim 3, the anion above comprises a group X of formula (2a) wherein Z1a is an unsubstituted C6 aryl group, Y3 and Y4 are non-hydrogen substituents, and Z1a and Z2 form a ring.
With regard to claim 4, the anion of the compound above is free of fluorine.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 12 and 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Nemoto (WO2021/235283 A1, with machine translation submitted by the applicant on October 11, 2024) fail to teach the resist composition in claim 12 and the method in claim 18.
There are no prior art teachings that would motivate one of ordinary skill to modify Nemoto et al. and obtain the resist composition in claim 12 and the method in claim 18 of the instant application.
Conclusion
/ANCA EOFF/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1722