DETAILED ACTION
Status
Acknowledgment is made of the amendment filed on 5/27/2026, which amended claims 1-11 and 13-19. Claims 1-19 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 6, 10, 12, 13, 18, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tan et al. (US PGPub 2024/0329539, Tan hereinafter) in view of Asano et al. (US PGPub 20060147201, Asano hereinafter).
Regarding claim 1, Tan discloses a substrate processing apparatus for processing a substrate including a metal-containing resist film (Figs. 1-7, abstract, paras. [0021]-[0028], [0031]-[0032], [0036]-[0040], [0043]-[0047], [0051]-[0056], [0058], [0066]-[0072], [0074]-[0075], [0089]-[0093], [0096]-[0098], [0100], [0106]-[0107], an apparatus treats metal-containing photoresist), comprising:
a heat processor configured to perform a heat treatment on the substrate having the film subjected to an exposing process (Figs. 1-6, paras. [0009]-[0010], [0043]-[0044], [0047], [0050]-[0057], [0061], [0066]-[0072], [0074]-[0077], [0099]-[0100], [0103], a processing chamber, such as one of process modules 620a-620d, performs heat treatment on the substrate with metal-containing photoresist after exposure);
a developing processor configured to perform a developing process on the film of the substrate subjected to the heat treatment (Figs. 1-6, paras. [0009]-[0010], [0021], [0024]-[0030], [0037], [0040], [0067], [0073]-[0077], [0093], [0095]-[0097], [0099]-[0100], [0103], the metal-containing photoresist is developed in a processing chamber, such as one of processing modules 620a-620d, following post exposure bake);
a gas processor configured to bring the film into contact with an inert gas during a period after the exposing process and before the developing process (Figs. 1-6, abstract, paras. [0009]-[0010], [0043]-[0044], [0051]-[0052], [0066]-[0075], [0098]-[0100], inert gas is supplied in a process chamber, such as one of process chamber 580 of processing modules 620a-620d, after exposure and before development);
a transfer device configured to transfer the substrate (Fig. 6, para. [0104], VTM robot 622 transfers wafers 626 between modules); and
a controller configured to control the transfer device (Fig. 6, paras. [0104], [0106]-[0109], system controller 650 controls the operations of the tool and wafer movement). Tan does not appear to explicitly describe wherein the controller is configured to control the transfer device so as to unload the substrate from the gas processor and load the substrate into the heat processor after the heat processor becomes ready to receive the substrate, or unload the substrate from the gas processor and load the substrate into the developing processor after the developing processor becomes ready to receive the substrate.
Asano discloses a controller configured to control the transfer device (Figs. 1-3, paras. [0083], [0089], [0091], [0098], [0101]-[0103], [0116]-[0120], [0122], [0144]-[0145], [0176], [0196]-[0197], main controller 30 controls the operation of each processing block and robots), wherein the controller is configured to control the transfer device so as to unload the substrate from the gas processor and load the substrate into the heat processor after the heat processor becomes ready to receive the substrate, or unload the substrate from the gas processor and load the substrate into the developing processor after the developing processor becomes ready to receive the substrate (Figs. 1-12, paras. [0089], [0096]-[0097], [0116]-[0120], [0122], [0125], [0135]-[0138], [0154], [0158]-[0163], [0169]-[0171], robots transfer the substrate W from the drying process group comprising dry processing unit DRY that applies inert gas to the substrate to the thermal processing group 121 for post-exposure bake of the substrate and then to the development processing group 90).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included wherein the controller is configured to control the transfer device so as to unload the substrate from the gas processor and load the substrate into the heat processor after the heat processor becomes ready to receive the substrate, or unload the substrate from the gas processor and load the substrate into the developing processor after the developing processor becomes ready to receive the substrate as taught by Asano in the substrate processing apparatus as taught by Tan since including wherein the controller is configured to control the transfer device so as to unload the substrate from the gas processor and load the substrate into the heat processor after the heat processor becomes ready to receive the substrate, or unload the substrate from the gas processor and load the substrate into the developing processor after the developing processor becomes ready to receive the substrate is commonly used to control substrate transfer and processing while reducing contamination (Asano, para. [0013]).
Regarding claim 6, Tan as modified by Asano discloses the controller configured to control the period during which the film of the substrate is brought into contact with the inert gas in the gas processor and a transfer of the substrate to the gas processor (Tan, Figs. 1-6, paras. [0010], [0075], [0091]-[0092], [0094]-[0098], [0106]-[0109], a controller 586, 650 control the operations including the exposure of the metal-containing photoresist to the inert gas environment, and as modified by Asano, Figs. 1-12, paras. [0089], [0096]-[0097], [0116]-[0120], [0122], [0125], [0135]-[0138], [0154], [0158]-[0163], [0169]-[0171], the main control 30 controls the operation of the system to control the dry processing unit DRY until the substrate is dry and controls the substrate transfer from the exposure apparatus to the dry processing unit to the thermal processing group 121 for post-exposure bake of the substrate and then to the development processing group 90).
Regarding claim 10, Tan as modified by Asano discloses wherein the gas processor includes a substrate holding part configured to hold the substrate, an enclosing part configured to surround an upper side and a lateral side of the substrate holding part, and a gas supply port configured to supply the inert gas into the enclosing part from above the enclosing part (Tan, Figs. 1-6, abstract, paras. [0009]-[0010], [0043]-[0044], [0051]-[0052], [0066]-[0075], [0098]-[0100], inert gas is supplied in a process chamber, such as process chamber 580. The substrate support 582 heats the substrate, and processing gas enters the chamber through inlet 583), and
the gas processor is configured to supply the inert gas into the enclosing part to push an internal atmosphere downward so that the inert gas into is brought into contact with the substrate held by the substrate holding part (Tan, Figs. 1-6, abstract, paras. [0009]-[0010], [0043]-[0044], [0051]-[0052], [0066]-[0075], [0098]-[0100], inert gas is supplied from above in the process chamber through inlet 583 to contact the metal-containing photoresist).
Regarding claim 12, Tan as modified by Asano discloses wherein the inert gas is a nitrogen gas (Tan, Figs. . 1-6, paras. [0009], [0043], [0066], the inert gas includes nitrogen gas).
Regarding claim 13, Tan as modified by Asano discloses further comprising: a second gas processor configured to bring the film into contact with the inert gas during a period after a process is performed by a film-forming process part configured to form the metal-containing resist film on the substrate and before the exposing process (Tan, Fig. 6, paras. [0030]-[0031], [0036], [0038], [0043]-[0045], [0047], [0074]-[0075], [0096]-[0100], the metal-containing photoresist is applied on the substrate and is exposed to an inert gas environment in a chamber before exposure).
Regarding claim 18, Tan discloses a substrate processing method (Figs. 1-7, abstract, paras. [0021]-[0028], [0031]-[0032], [0036]-[0040], [0043]-[0047], [0051]-[0056], [0058], [0066]-[0072], [0074]-[0075], [0089]-[0093], [0096]-[0098], [0100], [0106]-[0107], an apparatus and method treats metal-containing photoresist), comprising:
forming a metal-containing resist film on a substrate (Figs. 1-7, abstract, paras. [0003], [0008], [0030]-[0031], [0036], [0038], [0040], [0043]-[0045], [0047], [0050], [0054]-[0055], [0076]-[0077], [0093]-[0105], [0108], a metal-containing photoresist is applied on the substrate using a deposition tool);
performing a heat treatment, by a heat processor, on the substrate having the film subjected to an exposing process (Figs. 1-6, paras. [0009]-[0010], [0043]-[0044], [0047], [0050]-[0057], [0061], [0066]-[0072], [0074]-[0077], [0099]-[0100], [0103], heat treatment is performed after exposure on the substrate with metal-containing photoresist);
performing a developing process, by a developing processor, on the film of the substrate subjected to the heat treatment (Figs. 1-6, paras. [0009]-[0010], [0021], [0024]-[0030], [0037], [0040], [0067], [0073]-[0077], [0093], [0095]-[0097], [0099]-[0100], [0103], the metal-containing photoresist is developed following post exposure bake); and
bringing the film into contact with an inert gas, by a gas processor during a period after the exposing process and before the developing process (Figs. 1-6, abstract, paras. [0009]-[0010], [0043]-[0044], [0051]-[0052], [0066]-[0075], [0098]-[0100], inert gas is supplied to the metal-containing photoresist after exposure and before development). Tan does not appear to explicitly describe unloading the substrate from the gas processor and loading the substrate into the heat processor after the heat processor becomes ready to receive the substrate, or unloading the substrate from the gas processor and loading the substrate into the developing processor after the developing processor becomes ready to receive the substrate.
Asano discloses unloading the substrate from the gas processor and loading the substrate into the heat processor after the heat processor becomes ready to receive the substrate, or unloading the substrate from the gas processor and loading the substrate into the developing processor after the developing processor becomes ready to receive the substrate (Figs. 1-12, paras. [0089], [0096]-[0097], [0116]-[0120], [0122], [0125], [0135]-[0138], [0154], [0158]-[0163], [0169]-[0171], robots transfer the substrate W from the drying process group comprising dry processing unit DRY that applies inert gas to the substrate to the thermal processing group 121 for post-exposure bake of the substrate and then to the development processing group 90).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included unloading the substrate from the gas processor and loading the substrate into the heat processor after the heat processor becomes ready to receive the substrate, or unloading the substrate from the gas processor and loading the substrate into the developing processor after the developing processor becomes ready to receive the substrate as taught by Asano in the substrate processing method as taught by Tan since including unloading the substrate from the gas processor and loading the substrate into the heat processor after the heat processor becomes ready to receive the substrate, or unloading the substrate from the gas processor and loading the substrate into the developing processor after the developing processor becomes ready to receive the substrate is commonly used to control substrate transfer and processing while reducing contamination (Asano, para. [0013]).
Regarding claim 19, Tan discloses a non-transitory computer-readable recording medium that records a substrate processing program for causing a computer to execute a substrate processing (Figs. 1-7, abstract, paras. [0021]-[0028], [0031]-[0032], [0036]-[0040], [0043]-[0047], [0051]-[0056], [0058], [0066]-[0072], [0074]-[0075], [0089]-[0093], [0096]-[0098], [0100], [0106]-[0107], a process treats metal-containing photoresist, and the operations are performed according to software stored in a non-transitory computer readable media), the substrate processing program comprising:
forming a metal-containing resist film on a substrate (Figs. 1-7, abstract, paras. [0003], [0008], [0030]-[0031], [0036], [0038], [0040], [0043]-[0045], [0047], [0050], [0054]-[0055], [0076]-[0077], [0093]-[0105], [0108], a metal-containing photoresist is applied on the substrate using a deposition tool);
performing a heat treatment, by a heat processor, on the substrate having the film subjected to an exposing process (Figs. 1-6, paras. [0009]-[0010], [0043]-[0044], [0047], [0050]-[0057], [0061], [0066]-[0072], [0074]-[0077], [0099]-[0100], [0103], heat treatment is performed after exposure on the substrate with metal-containing photoresist);
performing a developing process, by a developing processor, on the film of the substrate subjected to the heat treatment (Figs. 1-6, paras. [0009]-[0010], [0021], [0024]-[0030], [0037], [0040], [0067], [0073]-[0077], [0093], [0095]-[0097], [0099]-[0100], [0103], the metal-containing photoresist is developed following post exposure bake); and
bringing the film into contact with an inert gas, by a gas processor, during a period after the exposing process and before the developing process (Figs. 1-6, abstract, paras. [0009]-[0010], [0043]-[0044], [0051]-[0052], [0066]-[0075], [0098]-[0100], inert gas is supplied to the metal-containing photoresist after exposure and before development). Tan does not appear to explicitly describe unloading the substrate from the gas processor and loading the substrate into the heat processor after the heat processor becomes ready to receive the substrate, or unloading the substrate from the gas processor and loading the substrate into the developing processor after the developing processor becomes ready to receive the substrate.
Asano discloses unloading the substrate from the gas processor and loading the substrate into the heat processor after the heat processor becomes ready to receive the substrate, or unloading the substrate from the gas processor and loading the substrate into the developing processor after the developing processor becomes ready to receive the substrate (Figs. 1-12, paras. [0089], [0096]-[0097], [0116]-[0120], [0122], [0125], [0135]-[0138], [0154], [0158]-[0163], [0169]-[0171], robots transfer the substrate W from the drying process group comprising dry processing unit DRY that applies inert gas to the substrate to the thermal processing group 121 for post-exposure bake of the substrate and then to the development processing group 90).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included unloading the substrate from the gas processor and loading the substrate into the heat processor after the heat processor becomes ready to receive the substrate, or unloading the substrate from the gas processor and loading the substrate into the developing processor after the developing processor becomes ready to receive the substrate as taught by Asano in the substrate processing method in the non-transitory computer-readable medium as taught by Tan since including unloading the substrate from the gas processor and loading the substrate into the heat processor after the heat processor becomes ready to receive the substrate, or unloading the substrate from the gas processor and loading the substrate into the developing processor after the developing processor becomes ready to receive the substrate is commonly used to control substrate transfer and processing while reducing contamination (Asano, para. [0013]).
Claims 2-5, 7-9, 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tan as modified by Asano as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kitano et al. (US PGPub 2001/0013161, Kitano hereinafter).
Regarding claim 2, Tan as modified by Asano discloses wherein the gas processor configured to temporarily place the substrate inside a predetermined housing and includes a gas supply part configured to supply a gas into the housing (Tan, Figs. 1-6, abstract, paras. [0009]-[0010], [0043]-[0044], [0051]-[0052], [0066]-[0075], [0098]-[0100], inert gas is supplied in a process chamber, such as one of process chamber 580 of processing modules 620a-620d, after exposure and before development. In processing chamber 580, the substrate 581 is arranged on substrate support 582, and gas is supplied from inlet 583, and as modified by Asano, Figs. 1-12, paras. [0089], [0096]-[0097], [0116]-[0120], [0122], [0125]-[0138], [ [0154], [0158]-[0163], [0166]-[0171], the drying process group comprising dry processing unit DRY that applies inert gas to the substrate through nozzle 670 or gas supply passage 690), but Tan as modified by Asano does not appear to explicitly describe the gas supply part is provided in an interface block.
Kitano discloses wherein the gas processor is configured to temporarily place the substrate inside a predetermined housing and includes a gas supply part configured to supply a gas into the housing, and is provided in an interface block (Figs. 7, 10, 11, 13, 16, paras. [0118], [0155]-[0159], [0161]-[0167], [0195]-[0204], inert gas from gas supply device 181 is supplied to the interface section 104 in which wafers are temporarily held in heating/cooling processing units 163-166, extension units 161-162, or inert gas is supplied by atmosphere controller 203 into chamber 201 with purge room 204 for temporarily holding the wafer W and buffer room 205 for holding wafer W).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included the gas supply part provided in an interface block as taught by Kitano in the substrate processing apparatus as taught by Tan as modified by Asano since including the gas supply part is provided in an interface block is commonly used to control the atmosphere of a chamber to prevent impurities from adhering to the substrate to improve yield (Kitano, para. [0190]).
Regarding claim 3, Tan as modified by Asano discloses wherein the heat processor includes a hot plate configured to heat the substrate (Tan, Figs. 1-6, abstract, paras. [0009]-[0010], [0043]-[0044], [0051]-[0052], [0066]-[0075], [0098]-[0100], inert gas is supplied in a process chamber, such as process chamber 580. The substrate support 582 heats the substrate, and processing gas enters the chamber through inlet 583), but Tan as modified by Asano does not appear to explicitly describe a temperature adjustment plate configured to hold the substrate subjected to the heat treatment on the hot plate, and the gas processor includes a second gas supply part configured to supply the inert gas so that the temperature adjustment plate of the heat processor and the film of the substrate on the temperature adjustment plate are in contact with the inert gas.
Kitano discloses wherein the heat processor includes a hot plate configured to heat the substrate (Figs. 1-7, 10-13, paras. [0121]-[0122], [0159], [0221], the heating/cooling processing unit 43, 153 includes a hot plate 51, 158 for heating wafer W), and a temperature adjustment plate configured to hold the substrate subjected to the heat treatment on the hot plate (Figs. 1-7, 10-13, paras. [0122], [0159], [0221], the heating/cooling processing unit 43, 153 includes a hot plate 51, 158 for heating wafer W and chill plate 52, 159 for receiving the wafer W subject to heating), and
the gas processor includes a second gas supply part configured to supply the inert gas so that the temperature adjustment plate of the heat processor and the film of the substrate on the temperature adjustment plate are in contact with the gas (Figs. 1-7, 10-13, paras. [0121]-[0122], [0126]-[0128], [0135]-[0137], [0146]-[0149], [0159], [0173]-[0174], [0181]-[0188], [0190], [0221], gas supply devices 70, 71, 72 supply inert gas from gas supply device 70 so that gas is supplied into processing station 3 with heating/cooling processing unit 43, 153).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included wherein the heat processor includes a hot plate configured to heat the substrate, and a temperature adjustment plate configured to hold the substrate subjected to the heat treatment on the hot plate, and the gas processor includes a second gas supply part configured to supply the inert gas so that the temperature adjustment plate of the heat treatment part and the film of the substrate on the temperature adjustment plate are in contact with the inert gas as taught by Kitano in the substrate processing apparatus as taught by Tan as modified by Asano since including wherein the heat processor includes a hot plate configured to heat the substrate, and a temperature adjustment plate configured to hold the substrate subjected to the heat treatment on the hot plate, and the gas processor includes a second gas supply part configured to supply the inert gas so that the temperature adjustment plate of the heat processor and the film of the substrate on the temperature adjustment plate are in contact with the inert gas is commonly used to maintain the wafers within the thermal budget (Kitano, paras. [0122], [0159]) while suppressing adhesion of impurities to improve yield (Kitano, para. [0148]).
Regarding claim 4, Tan as modified by Asano in view of Kitano discloses wherein the gas processor further includes a chamber configured to surround the temperature adjustment plate so that the inert gas supplied from the second gas supply part is brought into contact with the film (Tan, Figs. 1-6, abstract, paras. [0009]-[0010], [0043]-[0044], [0051]-[0052], [0066]-[0075], [0098]-[0100], the substrate support 582 heats the substrate inside process chamber 580, and processing gas enters the chamber through inlet 583, and as modified by Kitano, Figs. 1-7, 10-13, paras. [0121]-[0122], [0126]-[0128], [0135]-[0137], [0146]-[0149], [0159], [0173]-[0174], [0181]-[0188], [0190], [0221], gas supply devices 70, 71, 72 supply inert gas from gas supply device 70 to the heating/cooling processing unit 43, 153 including a hot plate 51, 158 inside casing 43a, 153a).
Regarding claim 5, Tan as modified by Asano does not appear to explicitly describe wherein the gas processor is a temperature adjuster configured to temporarily hold the substrate unloaded from the heat processor before the substrate is loaded into the developing processor, and the gas processor includes a third gas supply part configured to supply the inert gas into the temperature adjuster.
Kitano discloses wherein the gas processor is a temperature adjuster configured to temporarily hold the substrate unloaded from the heat processor before the substrate is loaded into the developing processor (Figs. 1-7, 10-13, paras. [0118], [0122], [0155]-[0159], [0161]-[0167], inert gas from gas supply device 181 is supplied to the interface section 104 in which wafers are temporarily held in heating/cooling processing units 163-166 with chill plates and cooling unit 165 cool the wafers W after exposure processing before development), and
the gas processor includes a third gas supply part configured to supply the inert gas into the temperature adjuster (Figs. 1-7, 10-13, paras. [0121]-[0122], [0126]-[0128], [0135]-[0137], [0146]-[0149], [0155]-[0159], [0161]-[0167], [0173]-[0178], [0181]-[0188], [0190], [0221], gas supply devices 70, 71, 72 supply inert gas from gas supply device 70 so that gas is supplied into processing station 3 with heating/cooling processing unit 43, 153, and gas supply device 181 supplies inert gas to heating/cooling processing units 163-166).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included wherein the gas processor is a temperature adjuster configured to temporarily hold the substrate unloaded from the heat processor before the substrate is loaded into the developing processor, and the gas processor includes a third gas supply part configured to supply the inert gas into the temperature adjuster as taught by Kitano in the substrate processing apparatus as taught by Tan as modified by Asano since including wherein the gas processor is a temperature adjuster configured to temporarily hold the substrate unloaded from the heat processor before the substrate is loaded into the developing processor, and the gas processor includes a third gas supply part configured to supply the inert gas into the temperature adjuster is commonly used to maintain the wafers within the thermal budget (Kitano, paras. [0122], [0159]) while suppressing adhesion of impurities to improve yield (Kitano, para. [0148], [0170]).
Regarding claim 7, Tan as modified by Asano discloses wherein the gas processor is configured to temporarily place the substrate inside a predetermined housing and includes a gas supply part configured to supply a gas into the housing (Tan, Figs. 1-6, abstract, paras. [0009]-[0010], [0043]-[0044], [0051]-[0052], [0066]-[0075], [0098]-[0100], inert gas is supplied in a process chamber, such as one of process chamber 580 of processing modules 620a-620d, after exposure and before development. In processing chamber 580, the substrate 581 is arranged on substrate support 582, and gas is supplied from inlet 583, and as modified by Asano, by Asano, Figs. 1-12, paras. [0089], [0096]-[0097], [0116]-[0120], [0122], [0125]-[0138], [0154], [0158]-[0163], [0166]-[0171], the drying process group comprising dry processing unit DRY that applies inert gas to the substrate through nozzle 670 or gas supply passage 690) and the controller performs a control to transfer the substrate to the gas processor and to bring the film into contact with the inert gas in the gas processor for a predetermined time (Tan, Figs. 1-6, paras. [0010], [0075], [0091]-[0092], [0094]-[0098], [0106]-[0109], a controller 586, 650 control the operations including the exposure of the metal-containing photoresist to the inert gas environment, and as modified by Asano, Asano, Figs. 1-12, paras. [0089], [0096]-[0097], [0116]-[0120], [0122], [0125], [0135]-[0138], [0154], [0158]-[0163], [0169]-[0171], the main control 30 controls the operation of the system to control the dry processing unit DRY until the substrate is dry and controls the substrate transfer from the exposure apparatus to the dry processing unit to the thermal processing group 121 for post-exposure bake of the substrate and then to the development processing group 90), but Tan as modified by Asano does not appear to explicitly describe the gas contact part is provided in an interface block.
Kitano discloses wherein the gas processor is configured to temporarily place the substrate inside a predetermined housing and includes a gas supply part configured to supply a gas into the housing, and the gas contact part is provided in an interface block (Figs. 7, 10, 11, 13, 16, paras. [0118], [0155]-[0159], [0161]-[0167], [0195]-[0204], inert gas from gas supply device 181 is supplied to the interface section 104 in which wafers are temporarily held in heating/cooling processing units 163-166, extension units 161-162, or inert gas is supplied by atmosphere controller 203 into chamber 201 with purge room 204 for temporarily holding the wafer W and buffer room 205 for holding wafer W).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included the gas contact part in an interface block as taught by Kitano in the substrate processing apparatus as taught by Tan as modified by Asano since including the gas contact part is provided in an interface block is commonly used to control the atmosphere of a chamber to prevent impurities from adhering to the substrate to improve yield (Kitano, para. [0190]).
Regarding claim 8, Tan as modified by Asano discloses wherein the heat processor includes a hot plate (Tan, Figs. 1-6, abstract, paras. [0009]-[0010], [0043]-[0044], [0051]-[0052], [0066]-[0075], [0098]-[0100], inert gas is supplied in a process chamber, such as process chamber 580. The substrate support 582 heats the substrate, and processing gas enters the chamber through inlet 583), and a second gas supply part configured to supply the inert gas so that the film of the substrate is brought into contact with the inert gas (Tan, Figs. 1-6, abstract, paras. [0009]-[0010], [0043]-[0044], [0051]-[0052], [0066]-[0075], [0098]-[0100], inert gas is supplied in a process chamber through inlet 583), and the controller is configured to perform a control to bring the film of the substrate unloaded from the gas processor into contact with the inert gas for the predetermined time on a plate of the heat processor (Tan, Figs. 1-6, paras. [0010], [0075], [0091]-[0092], [0094]-[0098], [0106]-[0109], a controller 586, 650 control the operations including the exposure of the metal-containing photoresist to the inert gas environment, and as modified by Asano, Figs. 1-12, paras. [0089], [0096]-[0097], [0116]-[0120], [0122], [0125], [0135]-[0138], [0154], [0158]-[0163], [0169]-[0171], the main control 30 controls the operation of the system to control the dry processing unit DRY until the substrate is dry and controls the substrate transfer from the exposure apparatus to the dry processing unit to the thermal processing group 121 for post-exposure bake of the substrate and then to the development processing group 90). Tan as modified by Asano does not appear to explicitly describe a temperature adjustment plate configured to hold the substrate subjected to the heat treatment on the hot plate and a gas supply part configured to supply the inert gas so that the film of the substrate on the temperature adjustment plate is brought into contact with the inert gas.
Kitano discloses wherein the heat treatment part includes a hot plate configured to heat the substrate (Figs. 1-7, 10-13, paras. [0126]-[0128], [0135]-[0137], [0146]-[0149], [0155]-[0159], [0161]-[0167], [0173]-[0174], [0181]-[0188], [0190], [0221], the heating/cooling processing unit 43, 153, 163-166 includes a hot plate 51, 158 for heating wafer W), and a temperature adjustment plate configured to hold the substrate subjected to the heat treatment on the hot plate (Figs. 1-7, 10-13, paras. [0118], [0121]-[0122], [0126]-[0128], [0135]-[0137], [0146]-[0149], [0155]-[0159], [0161]-[0167], [0173]-[0174], [0181]-[0188], [0190], [0221], the heating/cooling processing unit 43, 153, 163-166 includes a hot plate 51, 158 for heating wafer W and chill plate 52, 159 for receiving the wafer W subject to heating and cooling unit 165 cool the wafers W after exposure processing before development), and a second gas supply part configured to supply the inert gas so that the film of the substrate on the temperature adjustment plate is brought into contact with the inert gas (Figs. 1-7, 10-13, paras. [0118], [0121]-[0122], [0126]-[0128], [0135]-[0137], [0146]-[0149], [0155]-[0159], [0161]-[0167], [0173]-[0174], [0181]-[0188], [0190], [0221], gas supply devices 70, 71, 72 supply inert gas from gas supply device 70 so that gas is supplied into processing station 3 with heating/cooling processing unit 43, 153. Inert gas from gas supply device 181 is supplied to the interface section 104 in which wafers are temporarily held in heating/cooling processing units 163-166 with chill plates and cooling unit 165 cool the wafers W after exposure processing before development).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included wherein the heat treatment part includes a hot plate configured to heat the substrate, and a temperature adjustment plate configured to hold the substrate subjected to the heat treatment on the hot plate, and the gas contact part includes a second gas supply part configured to supply the inert gas so that the temperature adjustment plate of the heat treatment part and the film of the substrate on the temperature adjustment plate are in contact with the inert gas as taught by Kitano with the control part in the substrate processing apparatus as taught by Tan as modified by Asano such that the control part is configured to perform a control to bring the film of the substrate unloaded from the gas processing unit into contact with the inert gas for the predetermined time on the temperature adjustment plate of the heat treatment part since including a temperature adjustment plate configured to hold the substrate subjected to the heat treatment on the hot plate and a gas supply part configured to supply the inert gas so that the film of the substrate on the temperature adjustment plate is brought into contact with the inert gas is commonly used to maintain the wafers within the thermal budget (Kitano, paras. [0122], [0159]) while suppressing adhesion of impurities to improve yield (Kitano, para. [0148]).
Regarding claim 9, Tan as modified by Asano in view of Kitano discloses further comprising: a temperature adjuster configured to temporarily hold the substrate unloaded from the heat processor before loading the substrate into the developing processor (Kitano, Figs. 1-7, 10-13, paras. [0118], [0121]-[0122], [0126]-[0128], [0135]-[0137], [0146]-[0149], [0155]-[0159], [0161]-[0167], [0173]-[0174], [0181]-[0188], [0190], [0221], gas supply devices 70, 71, 72 supply inert gas from gas supply device 70 so that gas is supplied into processing station 3 with heating/cooling processing unit 43, 153. Inert gas from gas supply device 181 is supplied to the interface section 104 in which wafers are temporarily held in heating/cooling processing units 163-166 with chill plates and cooling unit 165 cool the wafers W after exposure processing before development),
wherein the temperature adjuster includes a third gas supply part configured to supply the inert gas into the temperature adjuster (Kitano, Figs. 1-7, 10-13, paras. [0118], [0121]-[0122], [0126]-[0128], [0135]-[0137], [0146]-[0149], [0155]-[0159], [0161]-[0167], [0173]-[0174], [0181]-[0188], [0190], [0221], gas supply devices 70, 71, 72 supply inert gas from gas supply device 70 so that gas is supplied into processing station 3 with heating/cooling processing unit 43, 153, and inert gas from gas supply device 181 is supplied to the interface section 104 with heating/cooling processing units 163-166 with chill plates and cooling unit 165), and
the controller is configured to perform a control to bring the film of the substrate unloaded from the heat processor into contact with the inert gas for the predetermined time in the temperature adjuster (Tan, Figs. 1-6, paras. [0010], [0075], [0091]-[0092], [0094]-[0098], [0106]-[0109], a controller 586, 650 control the operations including the exposure of the metal-containing photoresist to the inert gas environment, and as modified by Asano, Figs. 1-12, paras. [0089], [0096]-[0097], [0116]-[0120], [0122], [0125], [0135]-[0138], [0154], [0158]-[0163], [0169]-[0171], the main control 30 controls the operation of the system to control the dry processing unit DRY until the substrate is dry and controls the substrate transfer from the exposure apparatus to the dry processing unit to the thermal processing group 121 for post-exposure bake of the substrate and then to the development processing group 90).
Regarding claim 14, Tan as modified by Asano wherein the gas processor includes an accommodation chamber and a gas supply part configured to supply a gas (Tan, Figs. 1-6, abstract, paras. [0009]-[0010], [0043]-[0044], [0051]-[0052], [0066]-[0075], [0098]-[0100], inert gas is supplied in a process chamber, such as one of process chamber 580 of processing modules 620a-620d, after exposure and before development. In processing chamber 580, the substrate 581 is arranged on substrate support 582, and gas is supplied from inlet 583, and as modified by Asano, Figs. 1-12, paras. [0089], [0096]-[0097], [0116]-[0120], [0122], [0125]-[0138], [ [0154], [0158]-[0163], [0166]-[0171], the drying process group comprising dry processing unit DRY that applies inert gas to the substrate through nozzle 670 or gas supply passage 690), but Tan as modified by Asano does not appear to explicitly describe the accommodation chamber provided in an interface block to accommodate the substrate subjected to the exposing process.
Kitano discloses wherein the gas processor includes an accommodation chamber provided in an interface block to accommodate the substrate subjected to the exposing process, and a gas supply part configured to supply a gas into the accommodation chamber (Figs. 7, 10, 11, 13, 16, paras. [0118], [0155]-[0159], [0161]-[0167], [0195]-[0204], inert gas from gas supply device 181 is supplied to the interface section 104 in which wafers are temporarily held in heating/cooling processing units 163-166, extension units 161-162, or inert gas is supplied by atmosphere controller 203 into chamber 201 with purge room 204 for temporarily holding the wafer W and buffer room 205 for holding wafer W).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included wherein the gas processor includes an accommodation chamber provided in an interface block to accommodate the substrate subjected to the exposing process, and a gas supply part configured to supply a gas into the accommodation chamber as taught by Kitano in the substrate processing apparatus as taught by Tan as modified by Asano since including wherein the gas processor includes an accommodation chamber provided in an interface block to accommodate the substrate subjected to the exposing process, and a gas supply part configured to supply a gas into the accommodation chamber is commonly used to control the atmosphere of a chamber to prevent impurities from adhering to the substrate to improve yield (Kitano, para. [0190]).
Regarding claim 15, Tan as modified by Asano in view of Kitano in view of discloses further comprising: a temperature adjuster configured to accommodate the substrate unloaded from the heat processor and perform a temperature adjustment process on the substrate (Tan, Figs. 1-6, abstract, paras. [0009]-[0010], [0043]-[0044], [0051]-[0052], [0066]-[0075], [0098]-[0100], inert gas is supplied in a process chamber, such as process chamber 580. The substrate support 582 heats the substrate, and processing gas enters the chamber through inlet 583, and as modified by Kitano, Figs. 1-7, 10-13, paras. [0118], [0121]-[0122], [0126]-[0128], [0135]-[0137], [0146]-[0149], [0155]-[0159], [0161]-[0167], [0173]-[0174], [0181]-[0188], [0190], [0221], gas supply devices 70, 71, 72 supply inert gas from gas supply device 70 so that gas is supplied into processing station 3 with heating/cooling processing unit 43, 153. Inert gas from gas supply device 181 is supplied to the interface section 104 in which wafers are temporarily held in heating/cooling processing units 163-166 with chill plates and cooling unit 165 cool the wafers W after exposure processing before development), wherein the heat processor includes a hot plate configured to heat the substrate (Tan, Figs. 1-6, abstract, paras. [0009]-[0010], [0043]-[0044], [0051]-[0052], [0066]-[0075], [0098]-[0100], inert gas is supplied in a process chamber, such as process chamber 580. The substrate support 582 heats the substrate, and processing gas enters the chamber through inlet 583, as modified by Kitano, Figs. 1-7, 10-13, paras. [0126]-[0128], [0135]-[0137], [0146]-[0149], [0155]-[0159], [0161]-[0167], [0173]-[0174], [0181]-[0188], [0190], [0221], the heating/cooling processing unit 43, 153, 163-166 includes a hot plate 51, 158 for heating wafer W), the gas processor further includes a second accommodation chamber provided in the heat processor so as to accommodate the substrate subjected to a heat treatment on the hot plate, and a second gas supply part configured to supply the inert gas into the second accommodation chamber (Kitano, Figs. 1-7, 10-13, paras. [0118], [0121]-[0122], [0126]-[0128], [0135]-[0137], [0146]-[0149], [0155]-[0159], [0161]-[0167], [0173]-[0174], [0181]-[0188], [0190], [0221], gas supply devices 70, 71, 72 supply inert gas from gas supply device 70 so that gas is supplied into processing station 3 with heating/cooling processing unit 43, 153, and inert gas from gas supply device 181 is supplied to the interface section 104 in which wafers are temporarily held in heating/cooling processing units 163-166 for processing wafers W after exposure before development), and
the controller is configured to control the transfer device so as to unload the substrate from the second accommodation chamber and load the substrate into the temperature adjuster after the temperature adjustment unit becomes ready to receive the substrate (Asano, Figs. 1-12, paras. [0089], [0096]-[0097], [0116]-[0120], [0122], [0125], [0135]-[0138], [0154], [0158]-[0163], [0169]-[0171], the main control 30 controls the operation of the system to control the dry processing unit DRY until the substrate is dry and controls the substrate transfer from the exposure apparatus to the dry processing unit to the thermal processing group 121 for post-exposure bake of the substrate and then to the development processing group 90, and as modified by Kitano, Figs. 1-7, 10-13, paras. [0118], [0121]-[0122], [0126]-[0128], [0135]-[0137], [0146]-[0149], [0155]-[0159], [0161]-[0167], [0173]-[0177], [0181]-[0188], [0190], [0221], main transfer device 13 transfers wafer in processing station 3 to heating/cooling processing unit 43, 153. Wafer carrier 141 supplies wafers to heating/cooling processing units 163-166 with chill plates and cooling unit 165 cool the wafers W after exposure processing before development).
Regarding claim 16, Tan as modified by Asano Kitano discloses wherein the gas processor further includes a third gas supply part configured to supply the inert gas into the temperature adjuster (Kitano, Figs. 1-7, 10-13, paras. [0118], [0121]-[0122], [0126]-[0128], [0135]-[0137], [0146]-[0149], [0155]-[0159], [0161]-[0167], [0173]-[0174], [0181]-[0188], [0190], [0221], gas supply devices 70, 71, 72 supply inert gas from gas supply device 70 so that gas is supplied into processing station 3 with heating/cooling processing unit 43, 153. Inert gas from gas supply device 181 is supplied to the interface section 104 in which wafers are temporarily held in heating/cooling processing units 163-166 with chill plates and cooling unit 165 cool the wafers W after exposure processing before development), and
the controller is configured to control the transfer device so as to unload the substrate from the temperature adjuster and load the substrate into the developing processor after the developing processor becomes ready to receive the substrate (Tan, Figs. 1-6, paras. [0009]-[0010], [0021], [0024]-[0030], [0037], [0040], [0067], [0073]-[0077], [0088], [0093], [0095]-[0097], [0099]-[0100], [0103]-[0104], the metal-containing photoresist is developed in a processing chamber, and as modified by Asano, Figs. 1-12, paras. [0089], [0096]-[0097], [0116]-[0120], [0122], [0125], [0135]-[0138], [0154], [0158]-[0163], [0169]-[0171], the main control 30 controls the operation of the system to control the dry processing unit DRY until the substrate is dry and controls the substrate transfer from the exposure apparatus to the dry processing unit to the thermal processing group 121 for post-exposure bake of the substrate and then to the development processing group 90, and in view of Kitano, Figs. 1-7, 10-13, paras. [0118]-[0119], [0121]-[0122], [0126]-[0128], [0135]-[0137], [0146]-[0149], [0155]-[0159], [0161]-[0167], [0173]-[0174], [0181]-[0188], [0190], [0221], the wafers are transferred to developing processing units 18, 20 following treatment in heating/cooling processing units 163-166, 43-45).
Regarding claim 17, Tan as modified by Asano in view of Kitano discloses wherein the heat processor includes a hot plate configured to heat the substrate (Tan, Figs. 1-6, abstract, paras. [0009]-[0010], [0043]-[0044], [0051]-[0052], [0066]-[0075], [0098]-[0100], inert gas is supplied in a process chamber, such as process chamber 580. The substrate support 582 heats the substrate, and processing gas enters the chamber through inlet 583, and as modified by Kitano, Figs. 1-7, 10-13, paras. [0126]-[0128], [0135]-[0137], [0146]-[0149], [0155]-[0159], [0161]-[0167], [0173]-[0174], [0181]-[0188], [0190], [0221], the heating/cooling processing unit 43, 153, 163-166 includes a hot plate 51, 158 for heating wafer W),
the gas processor includes a second accommodation chamber provided in the heat processor so as to accommodate the substrate subjected to the heat treatment on the hot plate, and a second gas supply part configured to supply the inert gas into the second accommodation chamber (Kitano, Figs. 1-7, 10-13, paras. [0118], [0121]-[0122], [0126]-[0128], [0135]-[0137], [0146]-[0149], [0155]-[0159], [0161]-[0167], [0173]-[0174], [0181]-[0188], [0190], [0221], gas supply devices 70, 71, 72 supply inert gas from gas supply device 70 so that gas is supplied into processing station 3 with heating/cooling processing unit 43, 153, and inert gas from gas supply device 181 is supplied to the interface section 104 in which wafers are temporarily held in heating/cooling processing units 163-166 for processing wafers W after exposure before development), and
the controller is configured to control the transfer device so as to unload the substrate from the second accommodation chamber and load the substrate into the developing processor after the developing processor becomes ready to receive the substrate (Tan, Figs. 1-6, paras. [0009]-[0010], [0021], [0024]-[0030], [0037], [0040], [0067], [0073]-[0077], [0088], [0093], [0095]-[0097], [0099]-[0100], [0103]-[0104], the metal-containing photoresist is developed in a processing chamber, as modified by Asano, Figs. 1-12, paras. [0089], [0096]-[0097], [0116]-[0120], [0122], [0125], [0135]-[0138], [0154], [0158]-[0163], [0169]-[0171], the main control 30 controls the operation of the system to control the dry processing unit DRY until the substrate is dry and controls the substrate transfer from the exposure apparatus to the dry processing unit to the thermal processing group 121 for post-exposure bake of the substrate and then to the development processing group 90, in view of Kitano, Figs. 1-7, 10-13, paras. [0118]-[0119], [0121]-[0122], [0126]-[0128], [0135]-[0137], [0146]-[0149], [0155]-[0159], [0161]-[0167], [0173]-[0174], [0181]-[0188], [0190], [0221], the wafers are transferred to developing processing units 18, 20 following treatment in heating/cooling processing units 163-166, 43-45).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tan as modified by Asano as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Hayashi (US Patent No. 6,403,924).
Regarding claim 11, Tan as modified by Asano discloses wherein the gas processor includes a substrate holding part configured to hold the substrate, an enclosing part configured to surround upper and lower sides and a portion of a lateral side of the substrate holding part, and a gas supply port configured to supply the inert gas into the enclosing part from above the enclosing part (Tan, Figs. 1-6, abstract, paras. [0009]-[0010], [0043]-[0044], [0051]-[0052], [0066]-[0075], [0098]-[0100], inert gas is supplied in a process chamber, such as process chamber 580. The substrate support 582 heats the substrate, and processing gas enters the chamber through inlet 583, and as modified by Asano, Figs. 1-12, paras. [0089], [0096]-[0097], [0116]-[0120], [0122], [0125]-[0138], [ [0154], [0158]-[0163], [0166]-[0171], the drying process group comprising dry processing unit DRY that applies inert gas to the substrate through nozzle 670 or gas supply passage 690). Tan as modified by Asano does not appear to explicitly describe the gas processor is configured to supply the inert gas into the enclosing part to push an internal atmosphere to the lateral side which is open, so that the inert gas is brought into contact with the substrate held by the substrate holding part.
Hayashi discloses wherein the gas processor includes a substrate holding part configured to hold the substrate, an enclosing part configured to surround upper and lower sides and a portion of a lateral side of the substrate holding part, and a gas supply port configured to supply the inert gas into the enclosing part from above the enclosing part (Figs. 3-10, col. 6, lines 61-67, col. 7, lines 8-39, lines 54-61, col. 9, lines 14-20, lines 35-53, col. 10, lines 15-45, the substrate W is supported in chamber 15 on pins 36 on heater 30, and the chamber surrounds the heater 30 on upper, lateral, and lower sides. The gas inlets 16 and 17 supply nitrogen gas), and
the gas processor is configured to supply the inert gas into the enclosing part to push an internal atmosphere to the lateral side which is open, so that the inert gas is brought into contact with the substrate held by the substrate holding part (Figs. 3-10, col. 6, lines 61-67, col. 7, lines 8-39, col. 9, lines 14-20, lines 35-53, col. 10, lines 15-60, nitrogen gas is supplied through gas inlet 16 and inlet 17 on the side of the chamber 15 to supply gas toward the opening 41).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included the gas processor is configured to supply the inert gas into the enclosing part to push an internal atmosphere to the lateral side which is open, so that the inert gas is brought into contact with the substrate held by the substrate holding part as taught by Hayashi in the substrate processing apparatus as taught by Tan as modified by Asano since including the gas processor is configured to supply the inert gas into the enclosing part to push an internal atmosphere to the lateral side which is open, so that the inert gas is brought into contact with the substrate held by the substrate holding part is commonly used to maintain the chamber with a low oxygen concentration to produce the film with the desired characteristics with high efficiency (Hayashi, col. 1, lines 50-58, col. 2, lines 34-38, 50-53).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 9-11, filed 5/27/2026, with respect to the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) interpretations of “a heat treatment part” in claim 1, “a developing process part” in claim 1, “a gas contact part” in claim 1, “a temperature adjustment unit” in claim 5, “a control part” in claim 6, “a temperature adjustment unit” in claim 9, “a second gas contact part” in claim 13, “a control part” in claim 14, “a temperature adjustment unit” in claim 15” have been fully considered and are persuasive owing to the amendments to the claims. The 35 U.S.C. 112(f) interpretations have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-19 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHRISTINA A RIDDLE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2882