DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgement is made that the instant application claims priority from JP 2022-116959, filed on 7/22/2022 and from JP2023-073304, filed on 4/27/2023.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a heat treatment part” in lines 3-4 in claim 1; “a developing process part” in lines 5-6 in claim 1; “a gas contact part” in lines 7-8 in claim 1; “a temperature adjustment unit” in lines 2-3 in claim 5; “a control part” in lines 2-4 in claim 6; “a temperature adjustment unit” in lines 2-3 in claim 9; “a second gas contact part” in lines 2-4 in claim 13; “a control part” in lines 3 and 7-9 in claim 14; “a temperature adjustment unit” in lines 2-3 in claim 15.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 10, 12, 13, 18, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Tan et al. (US PGPub 2024/0329539, Tan hereinafter).
Regarding claim 1, Tan discloses a substrate processing apparatus for processing a substrate including a metal-containing resist film (Figs. 1-7, abstract, paras. [0021]-[0028], [0031]-[0032], [0036]-[0040], [0043]-[0047], [0051]-[0056], [0058], [0066]-[0072], [0074]-[0075], [0089]-[0093], [0096]-[0098], [0100], [0106]-[0107], an apparatus treats metal-containing photoresist), comprising:
a heat treatment part configured to perform a heat treatment on the substrate having the film subjected to an exposing process (Figs. 1-6, paras. [0009]-[0010], [0043]-[0044], [0047], [0050]-[0057], [0061], [0066]-[0072], [0074]-[0077], [0099]-[0100], [0103], a processing chamber, such as one of process modules 620a-620d, performs heat treatment on the substrate with metal-containing photoresist after exposure);
a developing process part configured to perform a developing process on the film of the substrate subjected to the heat treatment (Figs. 1-6, paras. [0009]-[0010], [0021], [0024]-[0030], [0037], [0040], [0067], [0073]-[0077], [0093], [0095]-[0097], [0099]-[0100], [0103], the metal-containing photoresist is developed in a processing chamber, such as one of processing modules 620a-620d, following post exposure bake); and
a gas contact part configured to bring the film into contact with an inert gas during a period after the exposing process and before the developing process (Figs. 1-6, abstract, paras. [0009]-[0010], [0043]-[0044], [0051]-[0052], [0066]-[0075], [0098]-[0100], inert gas is supplied in a process chamber, such as one of process chamber 580 of processing modules 620a-620d, after exposure and before development).
Regarding claim 10, Tan discloses wherein the gas contact part includes a substrate holding part configured to hold the substrate, an enclosing part configured to surround an upper side and a lateral side of the substrate holding part, and a gas supply port configured to supply the inert gas into the enclosing part from above the enclosing part (Figs. 1-6, abstract, paras. [0009]-[0010], [0043]-[0044], [0051]-[0052], [0066]-[0075], [0098]-[0100], inert gas is supplied in a process chamber, such as process chamber 580. The substrate support 582 heats the substrate, and processing gas enters the chamber through inlet 583), and
the gas contact part is configured to supply the inert gas into the enclosing part to push an internal atmosphere downward so that the inert gas into is brought into contact with the substrate held by the substrate holding part (Figs. 1-6, abstract, paras. [0009]-[0010], [0043]-[0044], [0051]-[0052], [0066]-[0075], [0098]-[0100], inert gas is supplied from above in the process chamber through inlet 583 to contact the metal-containing photoresist).
Regarding claim 12, Tan discloses wherein the inert gas is a nitrogen gas (Figs. . 1-6, paras. [0009], [0043], [0066], the inert gas includes nitrogen gas).
Regarding claim 13, Tan discloses further comprising: a second gas contact part configured to bring the film into contact with the inert gas during a period after a process is performed by a film-forming process part configured to form a metal-containing resist film on the substrate and before the exposing process (Fig. 6, paras. [0030]-[0031], [0036], [0038], [0043]-[0045], [0047], [0074]-[0075], [0096]-[0100], the metal-containing photoresist is applied on the substrate and is exposed to an inert gas environment in a chamber before exposure).
Regarding claim 18, Tan discloses a substrate processing method (Figs. 1-7, abstract, paras. [0021]-[0028], [0031]-[0032], [0036]-[0040], [0043]-[0047], [0051]-[0056], [0058], [0066]-[0072], [0074]-[0075], [0089]-[0093], [0096]-[0098], [0100], [0106]-[0107], an apparatus and method treats metal-containing photoresist), comprising:
forming a metal-containing resist film on a substrate (Figs. 1-7, abstract, paras. [0003], [0008], [0030]-[0031], [0036], [0038], [0040], [0043]-[0045], [0047], [0050], [0054]-[0055], [0076]-[0077], [0093]-[0105], [0108], a metal-containing photoresist is applied on the substrate using a deposition tool);
performing a heat treatment on the substrate having the film subjected to an exposing process (Figs. 1-6, paras. [0009]-[0010], [0043]-[0044], [0047], [0050]-[0057], [0061], [0066]-[0072], [0074]-[0077], [0099]-[0100], [0103], heat treatment is performed after exposure on the substrate with metal-containing photoresist);
performing a developing process on the film of the substrate subjected to the heat treatment (Figs. 1-6, paras. [0009]-[0010], [0021], [0024]-[0030], [0037], [0040], [0067], [0073]-[0077], [0093], [0095]-[0097], [0099]-[0100], [0103], the metal-containing photoresist is developed following post exposure bake); and
bringing the film into contact with an inert gas during a period after the exposing process and before the developing process (Figs. 1-6, abstract, paras. [0009]-[0010], [0043]-[0044], [0051]-[0052], [0066]-[0075], [0098]-[0100], inert gas is supplied to the metal-containing photoresist after exposure and before development).
Regarding claim 19, Tan discloses a non-transitory computer-readable recording medium that records a substrate processing program for causing a computer to execute a substrate processing (Figs. 1-7, abstract, paras. [0021]-[0028], [0031]-[0032], [0036]-[0040], [0043]-[0047], [0051]-[0056], [0058], [0066]-[0072], [0074]-[0075], [0089]-[0093], [0096]-[0098], [0100], [0106]-[0107], a process treats metal-containing photoresist, and the operations are performed according to software stored in a non-transitory computer readable media), the substrate processing program comprising:
forming a metal-containing resist film on a substrate (Figs. 1-7, abstract, paras. [0003], [0008], [0030]-[0031], [0036], [0038], [0040], [0043]-[0045], [0047], [0050], [0054]-[0055], [0076]-[0077], [0093]-[0105], [0108], a metal-containing photoresist is applied on the substrate using a deposition tool);
performing a heat treatment on the substrate having the film subjected to an exposing process (Figs. 1-6, paras. [0009]-[0010], [0043]-[0044], [0047], [0050]-[0057], [0061], [0066]-[0072], [0074]-[0077], [0099]-[0100], [0103], heat treatment is performed after exposure on the substrate with metal-containing photoresist);
performing a developing process on the film of the substrate subjected to the heat treatment (Figs. 1-6, paras. [0009]-[0010], [0021], [0024]-[0030], [0037], [0040], [0067], [0073]-[0077], [0093], [0095]-[0097], [0099]-[0100], [0103], the metal-containing photoresist is developed following post exposure bake); and
bringing the film into contact with an inert gas during a period after the exposing process and before the developing process (Figs. 1-6, abstract, paras. [0009]-[0010], [0043]-[0044], [0051]-[0052], [0066]-[0075], [0098]-[0100], inert gas is supplied to the metal-containing photoresist after exposure and before development).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tan as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kitano et al. (US PGPub 2001/0013161, Kitano hereinafter).
Regarding claim 2, Tan discloses wherein the gas contact part is a gas processing unit configured to temporarily place the substrate inside a predetermined housing and includes a gas supply part configured to supply a gas into the housing (Figs. 1-6, abstract, paras. [0009]-[0010], [0043]-[0044], [0051]-[0052], [0066]-[0075], [0098]-[0100], inert gas is supplied in a process chamber, such as one of process chamber 580 of processing modules 620a-620d, after exposure and before development. In processing chamber 580, the substrate 581 is arranged on substrate support 582, and gas is supplied from inlet 583), but Tan does not appear to explicitly describe the gas contact part is provided in an interface block.
Kitano discloses wherein the gas contact part is a gas processing unit configured to temporarily place the substrate inside a predetermined housing and includes a gas supply part configured to supply a gas into the housing, and is provided in an interface block (Figs. 7, 10, 11, 13, 16, paras. [0118], [0155]-[0159], [0161]-[0167], [0195]-[0204], inert gas from gas supply device 181 is supplied to the interface section 104 in which wafers are temporarily held in heating/cooling processing units 163-166, extension units 161-162, or inert gas is supplied by atmosphere controller 203 into chamber 201 with purge room 204 for temporarily holding the wafer W and buffer room 205 for holding wafer W).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included the gas contact part provided in an interface block as taught by Kitano in the substrate processing apparatus as taught by Tan since including the gas contact part is provided in an interface block is commonly used to control the atmosphere of a chamber to prevent impurities from adhering to the substrate to improve yield (Kitano, para. [0190]).
Regarding claim 3, Tan discloses wherein the heat treatment part includes a hot plate configured to heat the substrate (Figs. 1-6, abstract, paras. [0009]-[0010], [0043]-[0044], [0051]-[0052], [0066]-[0075], [0098]-[0100], inert gas is supplied in a process chamber, such as process chamber 580. The substrate support 582 heats the substrate, and processing gas enters the chamber through inlet 583), but Tan does not appear to explicitly describe a temperature adjustment plate configured to hold the substrate subjected to the heat treatment on the hot plate, and the gas contact part includes a second gas supply part configured to supply the inert gas so that the temperature adjustment plate of the heat treatment part and the film of the substrate on the temperature adjustment plate are in contact with the inert gas.
Kitano discloses wherein the heat treatment part includes a hot plate configured to heat the substrate (Figs. 1-7, 10-13, paras. [0121]-[0122], [0159], [0221], the heating/cooling processing unit 43, 153 includes a hot plate 51, 158 for heating wafer W), and a temperature adjustment plate configured to hold the substrate subjected to the heat treatment on the hot plate (Figs. 1-7, 10-13, paras. [0122], [0159], [0221], the heating/cooling processing unit 43, 153 includes a hot plate 51, 158 for heating wafer W and chill plate 52, 159 for receiving the wafer W subject to heating), and
the gas contact part includes a second gas supply part configured to supply the inert gas so that the temperature adjustment plate of the heat treatment part and the film of the substrate on the temperature adjustment plate are in contact with the gas (Figs. 1-7, 10-13, paras. [0121]-[0122], [0126]-[0128], [0135]-[0137], [0146]-[0149], [0159], [0173]-[0174], [0181]-[0188], [0190], [0221], gas supply devices 70, 71, 72 supply inert gas from gas supply device 70 so that gas is supplied into processing station 3 with heating/cooling processing unit 43, 153).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included wherein the heat treatment part includes a hot plate configured to heat the substrate, and a temperature adjustment plate configured to hold the substrate subjected to the heat treatment on the hot plate, and the gas contact part includes a second gas supply part configured to supply the inert gas so that the temperature adjustment plate of the heat treatment part and the film of the substrate on the temperature adjustment plate are in contact with the inert gas as taught by Kitano in the substrate processing apparatus as taught by Tan since including wherein the heat treatment part includes a hot plate configured to heat the substrate, and a temperature adjustment plate configured to hold the substrate subjected to the heat treatment on the hot plate, and the gas contact part includes a second gas supply part configured to supply the inert gas so that the temperature adjustment plate of the heat treatment part and the film of the substrate on the temperature adjustment plate are in contact with the inert gas is commonly used to maintain the wafers within the thermal budget (Kitano, paras. [0122], [0159]) while suppressing adhesion of impurities to improve yield (Kitano, para. [0148]).
Regarding claim 4, Tan discloses Kitano discloses wherein the gas contact part further includes a chamber configured to surround the temperature adjustment plate so that the inert gas supplied from the second gas supply part is brought into contact with the film (Tan, Figs. 1-6, abstract, paras. [0009]-[0010], [0043]-[0044], [0051]-[0052], [0066]-[0075], [0098]-[0100], the substrate support 582 heats the substrate inside process chamber 580, and processing gas enters the chamber through inlet 583, and as modified by Kitano, Figs. 1-7, 10-13, paras. [0121]-[0122], [0126]-[0128], [0135]-[0137], [0146]-[0149], [0159], [0173]-[0174], [0181]-[0188], [0190], [0221], gas supply devices 70, 71, 72 supply inert gas from gas supply device 70 to the heating/cooling processing unit 43, 153 including a hot plate 51, 158 inside casing 43a, 153a).
Regarding claim 5, Tan does not appear to explicitly describe wherein the gas contact part is a temperature adjustment unit configured to temporarily hold the substrate unloaded from the heat treatment part before the substrate is loaded into the developing process part, and the gas contact part includes a third gas supply part configured to supply the inert gas into the temperature adjustment unit.
Kitano discloses wherein the gas contact part is a temperature adjustment unit configured to temporarily hold the substrate unloaded from the heat treatment part before the substrate is loaded into the developing process part (Figs. 1-7, 10-13, paras. [0118], [0122], [0155]-[0159], [0161]-[0167], inert gas from gas supply device 181 is supplied to the interface section 104 in which wafers are temporarily held in heating/cooling processing units 163-166 with chill plates and cooling unit 165 cool the wafers W after exposure processing before development), and
the gas contact part includes a third gas supply part configured to supply the inert gas into the temperature adjustment unit (Figs. 1-7, 10-13, paras. [0121]-[0122], [0126]-[0128], [0135]-[0137], [0146]-[0149], [0155]-[0159], [0161]-[0167], [0173]-[0178], [0181]-[0188], [0190], [0221], gas supply devices 70, 71, 72 supply inert gas from gas supply device 70 so that gas is supplied into processing station 3 with heating/cooling processing unit 43, 153, and gas supply device 181 supplies inert gas to heating/cooling processing units 163-166).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included wherein the gas contact part is a temperature adjustment unit configured to temporarily hold the substrate unloaded from the heat treatment part before the substrate is loaded into the developing process part, and the gas contact part includes a third gas supply part configured to supply the inert gas into the temperature adjustment unit as taught by Kitano in the substrate processing apparatus as taught by Tan since including wherein the gas contact part is a temperature adjustment unit configured to temporarily hold the substrate unloaded from the heat treatment part before the substrate is loaded into the developing process part, and the gas contact part includes a third gas supply part configured to supply the inert gas into the temperature adjustment unit is commonly used to maintain the wafers within the thermal budget (Kitano, paras. [0122], [0159]) while suppressing adhesion of impurities to improve yield (Kitano, para. [0148], [0170]).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tan as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Shiba et al. (US PGPub 2010/0330273, Shiba hereinafter).
Regarding claim 6, although Tan discloses a control part configured to control the period during which the film of the substrate is brought into contact with the inert gas in the gas contact part (Figs. 1-6, paras. [0010], [0075], [0091]-[0092], [0094]-[0098], [0106]-[0109], a controller 586, 650 control the operations including the exposure of the metal-containing photoresist to the inert gas environment), Tan does not appear to explicitly describe a transfer of the substrate to the gas contact part.
Shiba discloses a control part (Fig. 6, paras. [0085], [0091]-[0094], [0096], [0098], [0101], control mechanism) configured to control the period during which the film of the substrate is brought into contact with the inert gas in the gas contact part and a transfer of the substrate to the gas contact part (Figs. 1-3, 6-8, paras. [0038]-[0039], [0041]-[0048], [0055], [0091]-[0094], [0096], [0098], [0101], [0112]-[0117], [0129], [0137], the control mechanism controls the transport robot and transport mechanism and the hot plates and controls the transport of the substrate into and out of the hot plate. The nitrogen gas supplied to hot plates HP is controlled).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included a control part configured to control the period during which the film of the substrate is brought into contact with the inert gas in the gas contact part and a transfer of the substrate to the gas contact part as taught by Shiba with the control part in the substrate processing apparatus as taught by Tan since including a control part configured to control the period during which the film of the substrate is brought into contact with the inert gas in the gas contact part and a transfer of the substrate to the gas contact part is commonly used to control and direct operations of the substrate processing system according to recipes for the substrates to process film as desired (Shiba, paras. [0010]-[0011], [0096], [0098]).
Claims 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tan as modified by Shiba as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of Kitano.
Regarding claim 7, Tan as modified by Shiba discloses wherein the gas contact part is a gas processing unit configured to temporarily place the substrate inside a predetermined housing and includes a gas supply part configured to supply a gas into the housing (Figs. 1-6, abstract, paras. [0009]-[0010], [0043]-[0044], [0051]-[0052], [0066]-[0075], [0098]-[0100], inert gas is supplied in a process chamber, such as one of process chamber 580 of processing modules 620a-620d, after exposure and before development. In processing chamber 580, the substrate 581 is arranged on substrate support 582, and gas is supplied from inlet 583) and the control part performs a control to transfer the substrate to the gas processing unit and to bring the film into contact with the inert gas in the gas processing unit for a predetermined time (Tan, Figs. 1-6, paras. [0010], [0075], [0091]-[0092], [0094]-[0098], [0106]-[0109], a controller 586, 650 control the operations including the exposure of the metal-containing photoresist to the inert gas environment, and as modified by Shiba, Figs. 1-3, 6-8, paras. [0038]-[0039], [0041]-[0048], [0055], [0091]-[0094], [0096], [0098], [0101], [0112]-[0117], [0129], [0137], the control mechanism controls the transport robot and transport mechanism and the hot plates and controls the transport of the substrate into and out of the hot plate. The nitrogen gas supplied to hot plates HP is controlled), but Tan as modified by Shiba does not appear to explicitly describe the gas contact part is provided in an interface block.
Kitano discloses wherein the gas contact part is a gas processing unit configured to temporarily place the substrate inside a predetermined housing and includes a gas supply part configured to supply a gas into the housing, and the gas contact part is provided in an interface block (Figs. 7, 10, 11, 13, 16, paras. [0118], [0155]-[0159], [0161]-[0167], [0195]-[0204], inert gas from gas supply device 181 is supplied to the interface section 104 in which wafers are temporarily held in heating/cooling processing units 163-166, extension units 161-162, or inert gas is supplied by atmosphere controller 203 into chamber 201 with purge room 204 for temporarily holding the wafer W and buffer room 205 for holding wafer W).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included the gas contact part provided in an interface block as taught by Kitano in the substrate processing apparatus as taught by Tan as modified by Shiba since including the gas contact part is provided in an interface block is commonly used to control the atmosphere of a chamber to prevent impurities from adhering to the substrate to improve yield (Kitano, para. [0190]).
Regarding claim 8, Tan as modified by Shiba discloses wherein the heat treatment part includes a hot plate (Tan, Figs. 1-6, abstract, paras. [0009]-[0010], [0043]-[0044], [0051]-[0052], [0066]-[0075], [0098]-[0100], inert gas is supplied in a process chamber, such as process chamber 580. The substrate support 582 heats the substrate, and processing gas enters the chamber through inlet 583), and a second gas supply part configured to supply the inert gas so that the film of the substrate is brought into contact with the inert gas (Tan, Figs. 1-6, abstract, paras. [0009]-[0010], [0043]-[0044], [0051]-[0052], [0066]-[0075], [0098]-[0100], inert gas is supplied in a process chamber through inlet 583), and the control part is configured to perform a control to bring the film of the substrate unloaded from the gas processing unit into contact with the inert gas for the predetermined time on a plate of the heat treatment part (Tan, Figs. 1-6, paras. [0010], [0075], [0091]-[0092], [0094]-[0098], [0106]-[0109], a controller 586, 650 control the operations including the exposure of the metal-containing photoresist to the inert gas environment, and as modified by Shiba, Figs. 1-3, 6-8, paras. [0038]-[0039], [0041]-[0048], [0055], [0091]-[0094], [0096], [0098], [0101], [0112]-[0117], [0129], [0137], the control mechanism controls the transport robot and transport mechanism and the hot plates and controls the transport of the substrate into and out of the hot plate. The nitrogen gas supplied to hot plates HP is controlled). Tan as modified by Shiba does not appear to explicitly describe a temperature adjustment plate configured to hold the substrate subjected to the heat treatment on the hot plate and a gas supply part configured to supply the inert gas so that the film of the substrate on the temperature adjustment plate is brought into contact with the inert gas.
Kitano discloses wherein the heat treatment part includes a hot plate configured to heat the substrate (Figs. 1-7, 10-13, paras. [0126]-[0128], [0135]-[0137], [0146]-[0149], [0155]-[0159], [0161]-[0167], [0173]-[0174], [0181]-[0188], [0190], [0221], the heating/cooling processing unit 43, 153, 163-166 includes a hot plate 51, 158 for heating wafer W), and a temperature adjustment plate configured to hold the substrate subjected to the heat treatment on the hot plate (Figs. 1-7, 10-13, paras. [0118], [0121]-[0122], [0126]-[0128], [0135]-[0137], [0146]-[0149], [0155]-[0159], [0161]-[0167], [0173]-[0174], [0181]-[0188], [0190], [0221], the heating/cooling processing unit 43, 153, 163-166 includes a hot plate 51, 158 for heating wafer W and chill plate 52, 159 for receiving the wafer W subject to heating and cooling unit 165 cool the wafers W after exposure processing before development), and a second gas supply part configured to supply the inert gas so that the film of the substrate on the temperature adjustment plate is brought into contact with the inert gas (Figs. 1-7, 10-13, paras. [0118], [0121]-[0122], [0126]-[0128], [0135]-[0137], [0146]-[0149], [0155]-[0159], [0161]-[0167], [0173]-[0174], [0181]-[0188], [0190], [0221], gas supply devices 70, 71, 72 supply inert gas from gas supply device 70 so that gas is supplied into processing station 3 with heating/cooling processing unit 43, 153. Inert gas from gas supply device 181 is supplied to the interface section 104 in which wafers are temporarily held in heating/cooling processing units 163-166 with chill plates and cooling unit 165 cool the wafers W after exposure processing before development).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included wherein the heat treatment part includes a hot plate configured to heat the substrate, and a temperature adjustment plate configured to hold the substrate subjected to the heat treatment on the hot plate, and the gas contact part includes a second gas supply part configured to supply the inert gas so that the temperature adjustment plate of the heat treatment part and the film of the substrate on the temperature adjustment plate are in contact with the inert gas as taught by Kitano with the control part in the substrate processing apparatus as taught by Tan as modified by Shiba such that the control part is configured to perform a control to bring the film of the substrate unloaded from the gas processing unit into contact with the inert gas for the predetermined time on the temperature adjustment plate of the heat treatment part since including a temperature adjustment plate configured to hold the substrate subjected to the heat treatment on the hot plate and a gas supply part configured to supply the inert gas so that the film of the substrate on the temperature adjustment plate is brought into contact with the inert gas is commonly used to maintain the wafers within the thermal budget (Kitano, paras. [0122], [0159]) while suppressing adhesion of impurities to improve yield (Kitano, para. [0148]).
Regarding claim 9, Tan as modified by Shiba in view of Kitano discloses further comprising: a temperature adjustment unit configured to temporarily hold the substrate unloaded from the heat treatment part before loading the substrate into the developing process part (Kitano, Figs. 1-7, 10-13, paras. [0118], [0121]-[0122], [0126]-[0128], [0135]-[0137], [0146]-[0149], [0155]-[0159], [0161]-[0167], [0173]-[0174], [0181]-[0188], [0190], [0221], gas supply devices 70, 71, 72 supply inert gas from gas supply device 70 so that gas is supplied into processing station 3 with heating/cooling processing unit 43, 153. Inert gas from gas supply device 181 is supplied to the interface section 104 in which wafers are temporarily held in heating/cooling processing units 163-166 with chill plates and cooling unit 165 cool the wafers W after exposure processing before development),
wherein the temperature adjustment unit includes a third gas supply part configured to supply the inert gas into the temperature adjustment unit (Kitano, Figs. 1-7, 10-13, paras. [0118], [0121]-[0122], [0126]-[0128], [0135]-[0137], [0146]-[0149], [0155]-[0159], [0161]-[0167], [0173]-[0174], [0181]-[0188], [0190], [0221], gas supply devices 70, 71, 72 supply inert gas from gas supply device 70 so that gas is supplied into processing station 3 with heating/cooling processing unit 43, 153, and inert gas from gas supply device 181 is supplied to the interface section 104 with heating/cooling processing units 163-166 with chill plates and cooling unit 165), and
the control part is configured to perform a control to bring the film of the substrate unloaded from the heat treatment part into contact with the inert gas for the predetermined time in the temperature adjustment unit (Tan, Figs. 1-6, paras. [0010], [0075], [0091]-[0092], [0094]-[0098], [0106]-[0109], a controller 586, 650 control the operations including the exposure of the metal-containing photoresist to the inert gas environment, and as modified by Shiba, Figs. 1-3, 6-8, paras. [0038]-[0039], [0041]-[0048], [0055], [0091]-[0094], [0096], [0098], [0101], [0112]-[0117], [0129], [0137], the control mechanism controls the transport robot and transport mechanism and the hot plates and controls the transport of the substrate into and out of the hot plate. The nitrogen gas supplied to hot plates HP is controlled).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tan as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Hayashi (US Patent No. 6,403,924).
Regarding claim 11, Tan discloses wherein the gas contact part includes a substrate holding part configured to hold the substrate, an enclosing part configured to surround upper and lower sides and a portion of a lateral side of the substrate holding part, and a gas supply port configured to supply the inert gas into the enclosing part from above the enclosing part (Figs. 1-6, abstract, paras. [0009]-[0010], [0043]-[0044], [0051]-[0052], [0066]-[0075], [0098]-[0100], inert gas is supplied in a process chamber, such as process chamber 580. The substrate support 582 heats the substrate, and processing gas enters the chamber through inlet 583). Tan does not appear to explicitly describe the gas contact part is configured to supply the inert gas into the enclosing part to push an internal atmosphere to the lateral side which is open, so that the inert gas is brought into contact with the substrate held by the substrate holding part.
Hayashi discloses wherein the gas contact part includes a substrate holding part configured to hold the substrate, an enclosing part configured to surround upper and lower sides and a portion of a lateral side of the substrate holding part, and a gas supply port configured to supply the inert gas into the enclosing part from above the enclosing part (Figs. 3-10, col. 6, lines 61-67, col. 7, lines 8-39, lines 54-61, col. 9, lines 14-20, lines 35-53, col. 10, lines 15-45, the substrate W is supported in chamber 15 on pins 36 on heater 30, and the chamber surrounds the heater 30 on upper, lateral, and lower sides. The gas inlets 16 and 17 supply nitrogen gas), and
the gas contact part is configured to supply the inert gas into the enclosing part to push an internal atmosphere to the lateral side which is open, so that the inert gas is brought into contact with the substrate held by the substrate holding part (Figs. 3-10, col. 6, lines 61-67, col. 7, lines 8-39, col. 9, lines 14-20, lines 35-53, col. 10, lines 15-60, nitrogen gas is supplied through gas inlet 16 and inlet 17 on the side of the chamber 15 to supply gas toward the opening 41).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included the gas contact part is configured to supply the inert gas into the enclosing part to push an internal atmosphere to the lateral side which is open, so that the inert gas is brought into contact with the substrate held by the substrate holding part as taught by Hayashi in the substrate processing apparatus as taught by Tan since including the gas contact part is configured to supply the inert gas into the enclosing part to push an internal atmosphere to the lateral side which is open, so that the inert gas is brought into contact with the substrate held by the substrate holding part is commonly used to maintain the chamber with a low oxygen concentration to produce the film with the desired characteristics with high efficiency (Hayashi, col. 1, lines 50-58, col. 2, lines 34-38, 50-53).
Claims 14-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tan as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kitano and Shiba.
Regarding claim 14, Tan discloses further comprising: a transfer device configured to transfer the substrate (Fig. 6, paras. [0088], [0104], transfer robot 622 transfers wafers between modules); and
a control part configured to control the transfer device (Figs. 1-6, paras. [0010], [0075], [0091]-[0092], [0094]-[0098], [0104]-[0109], a controller 586, 650 control the operations including the transfer of wafers by robot 622), but Tan does not appear to explicitly describe wherein the gas contact part includes an accommodation chamber provided in an interface block to accommodate the substrate subjected to the exposing process, and a gas supply part configured to supply a gas into the accommodation chamber, and the control part is configured to control the transfer device so as to unload the substrate from the accommodation chamber and load the substrate into the heat treatment part after the heat treatment part becomes ready to receive the substrate.
Kitano discloses wherein the gas contact part includes an accommodation chamber provided in an interface block to accommodate the substrate subjected to the exposing process, and a gas supply part configured to supply a gas into the accommodation chamber (Figs. 7, 10, 11, 13, 16, paras. [0118], [0155]-[0159], [0161]-[0167], [0195]-[0204], inert gas from gas supply device 181 is supplied to the interface section 104 in which wafers are temporarily held in heating/cooling processing units 163-166, extension units 161-162, or inert gas is supplied by atmosphere controller 203 into chamber 201 with purge room 204 for temporarily holding the wafer W and buffer room 205 for holding wafer W).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included wherein the gas contact part includes an accommodation chamber provided in an interface block to accommodate the substrate subjected to the exposing process, and a gas supply part configured to supply a gas into the accommodation chamber as taught by Kitano in the substrate processing apparatus as taught by Tan since including wherein the gas contact part includes an accommodation chamber provided in an interface block to accommodate the substrate subjected to the exposing process, and a gas supply part configured to supply a gas into the accommodation chamber is commonly used to control the atmosphere of a chamber to prevent impurities from adhering to the substrate to improve yield (Kitano, para. [0190]).
Tan as modified by Kitano does not appear to explicitly describe the control part is configured to control the transfer device so as to unload the substrate from the accommodation chamber and load the substrate into the heat treatment part after the heat treatment part becomes ready to receive the substrate.
Shiba discloses a control part (Fig. 6, paras. [0085], [0091]-[0094], [0096], [0098], [0101], control mechanism) is configured to control the transfer device so as to unload the substrate from the accommodation chamber and load the substrate into the heat treatment part after the heat treatment part becomes ready to receive the substrate (Figs. 1-3, 6-8, paras. [0038]-[0039], [0041]-[0048], [0055], [0091]-[0094], [0096], [0098], [0101], [0112]-[0117], [0129], [0137], the control mechanism controls the transport robot and transport mechanism and the hot plates and controls the transport of the substrate into and out of the hot plate. The nitrogen gas supplied to hot plates HP is controlled).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included the control part is configured to control the transfer device so as to unload the substrate from the accommodation chamber and load the substrate into the heat treatment part after the heat treatment part becomes ready to receive the substrate as taught by Shiba in the substrate processing apparatus as taught by Tan as modified by Kitano since including the control part is configured to control the transfer device so as to unload the substrate from the accommodation chamber and load the substrate into the heat treatment part after the heat treatment part becomes ready to receive the substrate is commonly used to control and direct operations of the substrate processing system according to recipes for the substrates to process film as desired (Shiba, paras. [0010]-[0011], [0096], [0098])
Regarding claim 15, Tan as modified by Kitano in view of Shiba discloses further comprising: a temperature adjustment unit configured to accommodate the substrate unloaded from the heat treatment part and perform a temperature adjustment process on the substrate (Kitano, Figs. 1-7, 10-13, paras. [0118], [0121]-[0122], [0126]-[0128], [0135]-[0137], [0146]-[0149], [0155]-[0159], [0161]-[0167], [0173]-[0174], [0181]-[0188], [0190], [0221], gas supply devices 70, 71, 72 supply inert gas from gas supply device 70 so that gas is supplied into processing station 3 with heating/cooling processing unit 43, 153. Inert gas from gas supply device 181 is supplied to the interface section 104 in which wafers are temporarily held in heating/cooling processing units 163-166 with chill plates and cooling unit 165 cool the wafers W after exposure processing before development), wherein the heat treatment part includes a hot plate configured to heat the substrate (Tan, Figs. 1-6, abstract, paras. [0009]-[0010], [0043]-[0044], [0051]-[0052], [0066]-[0075], [0098]-[0100], inert gas is supplied in a process chamber, such as process chamber 580. The substrate support 582 heats the substrate, and processing gas enters the chamber through inlet 583, as modified by Kitano, Figs. 1-7, 10-13, paras. [0126]-[0128], [0135]-[0137], [0146]-[0149], [0155]-[0159], [0161]-[0167], [0173]-[0174], [0181]-[0188], [0190], [0221], the heating/cooling processing unit 43, 153, 163-166 includes a hot plate 51, 158 for heating wafer W), the gas contact part further includes a second accommodation chamber provided in the heat treatment part so as to accommodate the substrate subjected to a heat treatment on the hot plate, and a second gas supply part configured to supply the inert gas into the second accommodation chamber (Kitano, Figs. 1-7, 10-13, paras. [0118], [0121]-[0122], [0126]-[0128], [0135]-[0137], [0146]-[0149], [0155]-[0159], [0161]-[0167], [0173]-[0174], [0181]-[0188], [0190], [0221], gas supply devices 70, 71, 72 supply inert gas from gas supply device 70 so that gas is supplied into processing station 3 with heating/cooling processing unit 43, 153, and inert gas from gas supply device 181 is supplied to the interface section 104 in which wafers are temporarily held in heating/cooling processing units 163-166 for processing wafers W after exposure before development), and
the control part is configured to control the transfer device so as to unload the substrate from the second accommodation chamber and load the substrate into the temperature adjustment unit after the temperature adjustment unit becomes ready to receive the substrate (Kitano, Figs. 1-7, 10-13, paras. [0118], [0121]-[0122], [0126]-[0128], [0135]-[0137], [0146]-[0149], [0155]-[0159], [0161]-[0167], [0173]-[0177], [0181]-[0188], [0190], [0221], main transfer device 13 transfers wafer in processing station 3 to heating/cooling processing unit 43, 153. Wafer carrier 141 supplies wafers to heating/cooling processing units 163-166 with chill plates and cooling unit 165 cool the wafers W after exposure processing before development, and as modified by Shiba, Figs. 1-3, 6-8, paras. [0038]-[0039], [0041]-[0048], [0055], [0091]-[0094], [0096], [0098], [0101], [0112]-[0117], [0129], [0137], the control mechanism controls the transport robot and transport mechanism and the hot plates and controls the transport of the substrate into and out of the hot plate).
Regarding claim 16, Tan as modified by Kitano in view of Shiba discloses wherein the gas contact part further includes a third gas supply part configured to supply the inert gas into the temperature adjustment unit (Kitano, Figs. 1-7, 10-13, paras. [0118], [0121]-[0122], [0126]-[0128], [0135]-[0137], [0146]-[0149], [0155]-[0159], [0161]-[0167], [0173]-[0174], [0181]-[0188], [0190], [0221], gas supply devices 70, 71, 72 supply inert gas from gas supply device 70 so that gas is supplied into processing station 3 with heating/cooling processing unit 43, 153. Inert gas from gas supply device 181 is supplied to the interface section 104 in which wafers are temporarily held in heating/cooling processing units 163-166 with chill plates and cooling unit 165 cool the wafers W after exposure processing before development), and
the control part is configured to control the transfer device so as to unload the substrate from the temperature adjustment unit and load the substrate into the developing process part after the developing process part becomes ready to receive the substrate (Tan, Figs. 1-6, paras. [0009]-[0010], [0021], [0024]-[0030], [0037], [0040], [0067], [0073]-[0077], [0088], [0093], [0095]-[0097], [0099]-[0100], [0103]-[0104], the metal-containing photoresist is developed in a processing chamber, Kitano, Figs. 1-7, 10-13, paras. [0118]-[0119], [0121]-[0122], [0126]-[0128], [0135]-[0137], [0146]-[0149], [0155]-[0159], [0161]-[0167], [0173]-[0174], [0181]-[0188], [0190], [0221], the wafers are transferred to developing processing units 18, 20 following treatment in heating/cooling processing units 163-166, 43-45, and as modified by Shiba, Figs. 1-3, 6-8, paras. [0033], [0038]-[0039], [0041]-[0048], [0055], [0072]-[0073], [0091]-[0094], [0096], [0098], [0101], [0112]-[0117], [0121]-[0122], [0129], [0137], the control mechanism controls the transport robot and transport mechanism to transfer the wafers to the development processing unit 4).
Regarding claim 17, Tan as modified by Kitano in view of Shiba discloses wherein the heat treatment part includes a hot plate configured to heat the substrate (Tan, Figs. 1-6, abstract, paras. [0009]-[0010], [0043]-[0044], [0051]-[0052], [0066]-[0075], [0098]-[0100], inert gas is supplied in a process chamber, such as process chamber 580. The substrate support 582 heats the substrate, and processing gas enters the chamber through inlet 583, and as modified by Kitano (Figs. 1-7, 10-13, paras. [0126]-[0128], [0135]-[0137], [0146]-[0149], [0155]-[0159], [0161]-[0167], [0173]-[0174], [0181]-[0188], [0190], [0221], the heating/cooling processing unit 43, 153, 163-166 includes a hot plate 51, 158 for heating wafer W),
the gas contact part includes a second accommodation chamber provided in the heat treatment part so as to accommodate the substrate subjected to the heat treatment on the hot plate, and a second gas supply part configured to supply the inert gas into the second accommodation part (Kitano, Figs. 1-7, 10-13, paras. [0118], [0121]-[0122], [0126]-[0128], [0135]-[0137], [0146]-[0149], [0155]-[0159], [0161]-[0167], [0173]-[0174], [0181]-[0188], [0190], [0221], gas supply devices 70, 71, 72 supply inert gas from gas supply device 70 so that gas is supplied into processing station 3 with heating/cooling processing unit 43, 153, and inert gas from gas supply device 181 is supplied to the interface section 104 in which wafers are temporarily held in heating/cooling processing units 163-166 for processing wafers W after exposure before development), and
the control part is configured to control the transfer device so as to unload the substrate from the second accommodation chamber and load the substrate into the developing process part after the developing process part becomes ready to receive the substrate (Tan, Figs. 1-6, paras. [0009]-[0010], [0021], [0024]-[0030], [0037], [0040], [0067], [0073]-[0077], [0088], [0093], [0095]-[0097], [0099]-[0100], [0103]-[0104], the metal-containing photoresist is developed in a processing chamber, Kitano, Figs. 1-7, 10-13, paras. [0118]-[0119], [0121]-[0122], [0126]-[0128], [0135]-[0137], [0146]-[0149], [0155]-[0159], [0161]-[0167], [0173]-[0174], [0181]-[0188], [0190], [0221], the wafers are transferred to developing processing units 18, 20 following treatment in heating/cooling processing units 163-166, 43-45, and as modified by Shiba, Figs. 1-3, 6-8, paras. [0033], [0038]-[0039], [0041]-[0048], [0055], [0072]-[0073], [0091]-[0094], [0096], [0098], [0101], [0112]-[0117], [0121]-[0122], [0129], [0137], the control mechanism controls the transport robot and transport mechanism to transfer the wafers to the development processing unit 4).
Conclusion
/CHRISTINA A RIDDLE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2882