DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on (7/17/2023), is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . Claims (1-11) are pending and being examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 10 recites antenna units. Claim 10 depends upon claim 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6-7, 9 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Gary S. Ash (US 20130220794).
Gary S. Ash discloses a plasma processing apparatus (since source could be CVD, magnetron sputtering, ion beam or e-beam) comprising:
a stage (136) disposed in a processing container and configured to mount thereon a substrate (106);
a rotary driving mechanism configured to rotatably drive the stage (abstract, para 9, 12-13, 15, 32); and
a plurality of plasma sources provided on an upper wall of the processing container facing the stage, the plurality of plasma sources (110, 112, 114) being not arranged axially symmetrically with respect to a rotation axis of the stage (Fig 2, 4A and 4B and Para 64).
Regarding claim 2 density distribution would determine the deposition profile. Gary discloses this as emission pattern (Abstract, Para 10, 15, 52, 76-77, 79).
Regarding claims 3-4 and 6 sources are provided at different positions as disclosed above (Fig 2).
Regarding claim 7 sources are not arranged at rotation axis.
Regarding claim 9, number of sources could be more or less than three shown (Para 64).
Claim 11 is rejected with claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 5 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gary S. Ash (US 20130220794) in view of Fujino et al (US 20120247676).
Regarding claim 5 arrangement density is understood to be the number of sources with respect to the distance to rotation axis. Gary is not specific in this regard.
Fujino et al appear to disclose more sources farther away from rotation axis which would be normal for uniformity of process (Fig 7).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of this application to have such source distribution for the sake of uniformity.
Regarding claim 10 as best understood showerhead is disclosed in Fujino (Fig 7 16a).
Regarding claim 2 additionally, plasma density distribution is disclosed in Fig 10.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that having more than one source would modify the plasma density distribution for unform processing.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gary S. Ash (US 20130220794) in view of Hua et al (US 20140187045).
Regarding claim 8 Gary S. Ash does not disclose remote plasma source at the axis of rotation.
One of ordinary skill in the art would know that remote plasma source would generally provide cleaning plasma which would be useful before deposition.
For example, Hua et al disclose a remote plasma disposed in the center of the upper wall to enable uniform cleaning of the substrate (Fig 2A, 1050).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of this application to have a remote plasma source for substrate cleaning before the process of deposition using plurality of sources.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Obinata et al (US 6290826) disclose a plasma deposition system where plurality of sources are disposed at different radial position of the substrate stage.
RAM N. KACKAR
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1716
/RAM N KACKAR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1716