DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (claims 1-15) in the reply filed on 12/15/2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 16-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Group II, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 12/15/2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 7-10, 12, 13, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Hong (US 2003/0013272).
Regarding claim 1, Hong discloses an isolation structure (Fig.9, numeral 140) for a substrate (100), the isolation structure comprising: a lower portion (171) having a first liner (150); an upper portion (191) having a second liner (181) vertically over the first liner (150); and a first dielectric material (171) ([0057]) surrounded by the second liner (181) from above and by the first liner (150) from below and laterally.
Regarding claim 2, Hong discloses wherein the substrate includes a semiconductor layer (100) (0029]) having end surfaces, and the second liner (181) abuts the end surfaces of the semiconductor layer of the substrate (100) (note: claim language does not require “directly abuts”).
Regarding claim 3, Hong discloses wherein the second liner (181) is U-shaped, and further comprising a second dielectric material (191) within at least a part of the U-shape of the second liner (181).
Regarding claim 5, Hong discloses wherein the first dielectric material (171) is different than the second dielectric material (191) ([0057])
Regarding claim 7, Hong discloses wherein the first liner (150) is U-shaped and the second liner (181) is U-shaped (Fig.9).
Regarding claim 8, Hong discloses wherein the first liner (150) is thinner than the second liner (181) ([0033]; [0055]).
Regarding claim 9, Hong discloses an isolation structure for a substrate, the isolation structure comprising: a lower portion (Fig.9, numeral 171) having a first U-shaped liner (150) and a first dielectric material (171) within the first U-shaped liner (150); and an upper portion (191) over the lower portion (171), the upper portion having a second U-shaped liner (181) and a second dielectric material (191) within at least part of the second U-shaped liner (181), wherein a lower section of the second U-shaped liner (181) contacts an upper surface of the first dielectric material (171).
Regarding claim 10, Hong discloses wherein the substrate includes a semiconductor layer (100) having end surfaces, and the second U-shaped liner (181) abuts the end surfaces of the semiconductor layer (100) (note: claim language does not require “directly abuts”).
Regarding claim 12, Hong discloses wherein the first dielectric material (171) is different than the second dielectric material (191) ([0057]).
Regarding claim 13, Hong discloses wherein the first dielectric material (171) includes a first oxide, and the second dielectric material (191) includes a second, higher density oxide ([0057]).
Regarding claim 15, Hong discloses wherein the first U-shaped liner (150) is thinner than the second U-shaped liner (181) ([0033]; [0055]).
Claim(s) 1-4 and 9-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Wang (US 2019/0386100).
Regarding claim 1, Wang discloses an isolation structure (Fig.5A, numerals 260-280) for a substrate (220), the isolation structure comprising: a lower portion (260) having a first liner ([0023]); an upper portion (280) having a second liner (270) vertically over the first liner ([0023]); and a first dielectric material (260) ([0023]) surrounded by the second liner (270) from above and by the first liner ([0023]) from below and laterally.
Regarding claim 2, Wang discloses wherein the substrate includes a semiconductor layer (402) ([0024]) having end surfaces, and the second liner (270) abuts the end surfaces of the semiconductor layer of the substrate (402).
Regarding claim 3, Wang discloses wherein the second liner (270) is U-shaped, and further comprising a second dielectric material (280) within at least a part of the U-shape of the second liner (270).
Regarding claim 4, Wang discloses wherein the second dielectric material (280) partially fills the U-shape of the second liner (270) and includes an upper surface below an upper surface of the semiconductor layer (402) (Fig.5A).
Regarding claim 9, Wang discloses an isolation structure for a substrate, the isolation structure comprising: a lower portion (Fig.5A, numeral 260) having a first U-shaped liner ([0023]) and a first dielectric material (260) within the first U-shaped liner ([0023]); and an upper portion (280) over the lower portion (260), the upper portion having a second U-shaped liner (270) and a second dielectric material (280) within at least part of the second U-shaped liner (270), wherein a lower section of the second U-shaped liner (270) contacts an upper surface of the first dielectric material (260).
Regarding claim 10, Wang discloses wherein the substrate includes a semiconductor layer (402) having end surfaces, and the second U-shaped liner (270) abuts the end surfaces of the semiconductor layer (402).
Regarding claim 11, Wang discloses wherein the second dielectric material (280) partially fills the second U-shaped liner (270) and includes an upper surface below an upper surface of the semiconductor layer (402) (Fig. 5A).
Claim(s) 1 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Liou (US 2014/0191358).
Regarding claim 1, Liou discloses an isolation (Fig.10, numerals 107a, 115a) structure for a substrate (100), the isolation structure comprising: a lower portion (107a) having a first liner (113); an upper portion (115a) having a second liner (109b) vertically over the first liner (113); and a first dielectric material (107a) surrounded by the second liner (109b) from above and by the first liner (113) from below and laterally.
Regarding claim 9, Liou discloses an isolation structure for a substrate, the isolation structure comprising: a lower portion (Fig.10, numeral 105) having a first U-shaped liner (113) and a first dielectric material (107a) within the first U-shaped liner (113); and an upper portion (115a) over the lower portion (105), the upper portion having a second U-shaped liner (109b) and a second dielectric material (115a) within at least part of the second U-shaped liner (109b), wherein a lower section of the second U-shaped liner (109b) contacts an upper surface of the first dielectric material (107a).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liou as applied to claims 1 and 9 above, and further in view of Hong.
Regarding claim 6, Liou discloses wherein and the second liner (109) includes at least silicon carbo-nitride ([0032]).
Liou does not disclose the first liner includes at least one of silicon nitride and silicon oxynitride.
Hong however discloses that the first liner (160) includes at least one of silicon nitride ([0034]).
It would have been therefore obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Liou with Hong to have the first liner includes at least one of silicon nitride for the purpose of improving diffusion barrier characteristics (Hong, [0034]).
Regarding claim 14, Liou discloses that the second U-shaped liner includes at least one of silicon carbo-nitride ([0032]).
Liou does not disclose wherein the first U-shaped liner includes at least one of silicon nitride.
Hong however discloses that the first U-shaped liner (160) includes at least one of silicon nitride ([0034]).
It would have been therefore obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Liou with Hong to have the first U-shaped liner includes at least one of silicon nitride for the purpose of improving diffusion barrier characteristics (Hong, [0034]).
Conclusion
/JULIA SLUTSKER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2891