DETAILED ACTION
Thia action is in response to amendment filed on August 19, 2025.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, (a) “the second via-in-via extends from a bottom surface of the PCB,” as recited in claim 9, must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) as being anticipated by Russell (US 2011/0203842).
Regarding claim 6, Russell, figure 1 (including annotated figure 1), discloses a printed circuit board (PCB), comprising: an internal conductive layer (7, as marked, as marked in the annotated layer); and a first via-in-via (6) extending vertically from a top surface of the PCB (see figure), comprising: a first outer conductive layer (layer on the top surface, not labeled in the figure); a first inner conductive layer (the conductor layer of via-in-via, 6) inside the first outer conductive layer coupled to the internal conductive layer (see figure); a first outer filler (14, see figure) between the first outer conductive layer and the first inner conductive layer (see figure); a first inner filler (14, not labeled in this figure) inside the first inner conductive layer; and a first via-in-via pad over the first inner filler (see figure) and connected to the first inner conductive layer (see figure), wherein the first inner conductive layer is coupled to the internal conductive layer by a first micro via (see figure, annotated)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Russell, as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of Cheng (US 2008/0185180).
Regarding claim 7, Russell further discloses a second via-in-via extending vertically from a surface of the PCB, comprising: a second outer conductive layer; a second inner conductive layer inside the second outer conductive layer and coupled to the internal conductive layer; a second outer filler between the second outer conductive layer and the second inner conductive layer; a second inner filler inside the second inner conductive layer; and a second via-in-via pad over the second inner filler and connected to the second inner conductive layer (see figure).
Russell does not disclose wherein the second via-in-via pad is electrically connected to the first via-in-via pad.
Cheng, figure 13, discloses a printed circuit board structure with via-in-via, including a first via-in-via connected with the second via-in-via.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing date of the application to provide the board of Russell with the second via-in-via pad is electrically connected to the first via-in-via pad, as taught by Cheng, in order to have necessary interconnection.
Regarding claim 8, the modified board of Russell further discloses wherein the second via-in-via extends from the top surface of the PCB (obvious considering the bottom surface in the figure or Russel, as the top surface. Also, see figure of Chen).
Regarding claim 9, the modified board of Russell further discloses wherein the second via-in-via extends from a bottom surface of the PCB (obvious considering the bottom surface of the figure of Russel, also, obvious from the figure of Cheng).
Additionally, it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950).
Regarding claim 10, the modified board of Russell further discloses wherein the first outer conductive layer comprises copper (obvious as disclosed by, Russel, paragraph 0015), and , Cheng, paragraph 0003, 0029).
Additionally, it has been held to be within the general skill of a worder in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 227 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960).
Regarding claim 11, the modified board of Russell further discloses wherein the first outer filler comprises a polymer filler, and the first inner filler comprises a polymer filler (epoxy, paragraph 0015).
Additionally, it has been held to be within the general skill of a worder in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 227 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960).
Regarding claim 12, the modified board of Russell further discloses wherein the first inner conductive layer comprises copper (obvious as applied to claim 10 above).
Regarding claim 13, the modified board of Russell further discloses wherein the second inner conductive layer is coupled to the internal conductive layer by a second micro-via (see figure of Russel).
Regarding claim 14, the modified board of Russell further discloses wherein the second outer filler comprises a polymer filler, and the second inner filler comprises a polymer filler (obvious as shown in figure 2C, as well as, paragraph 0015).
Additionally, it has been held to be within the general skill of a worder in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 227 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960).
Regarding claim 15, the modified board of Russell further discloses wherein the second outer conductive layer comprises copper and the second inner conductive layer comprises copper (obvious as applied to claims 10, and 12).
Regarding claim 16, the modified board of Russell further discloses wherein the second outer conductive layer comprises a cylinder, and the second inner cylinder comprises a cylinder (see figure).
Regarding claim 17, the modified board of Russell further discloses an internal conductive layer; and a first via-in-via extending perpendicularly from a top surface of the PCB towards the internal conductive layer, comprising: a cylindrical first outer conductive layer connected to a first via pad disposed on the top surface of the PCB; a cylindrical first inner conductive layer disposed inside the cylindrical first outer conductive layer and coupled to the internal conductive layer; a first outer filler between the cylindrical first outer conductive layer and the cylindrical first inner conductive layer; a first inner filler inside the cylindrical first inner conductive layer; and a first via-in-via pad disposed on the first inner filler, connected to the cylindrical first inner conductive layer, and coplanar with the first via pad, wherein the cylindrical first inner conductive layer is coupled to the internal conductive layer by a first micro via (obvious as applied to claim 1, and 16).
Regarding claim 18, the modified board of Russell further discloses wherein the cylindrical first outer conductive layer and the cylindrical first inner conductive layer each comprise copper, and the first outer filler and the first inner filler each comprise a polymer (obvious as applied to claims 10, 12, 14).
Regarding claim 19, the modified board of Russell further discloses a second via-in-via extending perpendicularly from a surface of the PCB towards the internal conductive layer, comprising: a cylindrical second outer conductive layer; a cylindrical second inner conductive layer inside the cylindrical second outer conductive layer and coupled to the internal conductive layer; a second outer filler between the cylindrical second outer conductive layer and the cylindrical second inner conductive layer; a second inner filler inside the cylindrical second inner conductive layer; and a second via-in-via pad disposed on the second inner filler, connected to the cylindrical second inner conductive layer, and coplanar with the second via pad; wherein the second via-in-via pad is electrically connected to the first via-in-via pad (see figure, as well as, explanation as applied to claims 14, and 16).
Regarding claim 20, the modified board of Russell further discloses wherein the surface is a top surface (obvious as applied to claim 1 above, also, see annotated figure 1).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Roy US 2010/0163295), figure 1, discloses a printed circuit board with via-in-via structure, as well as, internal conductive layer connected by micro-via.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ISHWARBHAI B PATEL/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2847
IBP / November 4, 2025