DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed on 01/10/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-18 remain pending in the application. Applicant’s amendments have overcome each and every objection to the specification as previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed on 10/03/2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5-7 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Choi et al, (United States Patent Application Publication Number, US 2015/0137345 A1), hereinafter referenced as Choi.
Regarding claim 1, Choi teaches a cooling device for a power converter for a vehicle, comprising: a heat sink comprising (Fig.1, element #90) a heat discharging structure on a first side for discharging heat acting on the heat sink (Fig.13, the heat sink may have fins on the topmost outside surface), and a connecting surface on a second side opposite the first side (Fig.1, inside and bottommost surface of element #90) for absorbing heat from a semiconductor connected to the connecting surface (Fig.1, semiconductor element #50 is connected to the inside surface of heat sink and generates heat); the semiconductor comprising a discharge surface for discharging heat to the connecting surface (Fig.1, top surface of element #50); and an insulating layer comprising a polymer with ceramic particles located between the connecting surface of the heat sink and the discharge surface of the semiconductor (Fig.1, element #80, paragraph [0085], rows 6-9), wherein the insulating layer is configured to mechanically and thermally connect the heat sink to the semiconductor and to insulate them from one another (Fig.1, element #80 connects elements #50 and #90, thermally and mechanically and is a thermosetting resin), wherein the insulating layer is in direct contact with the connecting surface of the heat sink and in direct contact with the discharge surface of the semiconductor (Fig.1, element #80 is in direct contact with the inside surface of element #90 and the top surface of element #50).
Regarding claim 2, Choi teaches the cooling device according to claim 1, as set forth in the anticipation rejection. Choi further teaches the cooling device according to claim 1, wherein the insulating layer is materially bonded to the connecting surface and the discharge surface (paragraph [0085], rows 12-13 and 18-20).
Regarding claim 3, Choi teaches the cooling device according to claim 1, as set forth in the anticipation rejection. Choi further teaches the cooling device according to claim 1, wherein the insulating layer has ceramic particles embedded in or applied to the polymer (paragraph [0085], rows 6-9).
Regarding claim 5, Choi teaches the cooling device according to claim 1, as set forth in the anticipation rejection Choi further teaches the cooling device according to claim 1, comprising: at least one further semiconductor (Fig.1, element #30) that has a second discharge surface for discharging heat (Fig.1, top surface of element #30) and for placing the second semiconductor on the connecting surface (Fig.1, element #30 is on the bottom of the connecting surface), wherein the insulating layer and/or a second insulating layer, which also has a polymer with ceramic particles, is placed between the connecting surface and the second discharge surface of the second semiconductor (Fig.1, element #80 is placed between the bottommost surface of element #90 and the top surface of element #30) to mechanically and thermally connect the heat sink and the second semiconductor and electrically insulate them from one another (Fig.1, element #80 connects elements #30 and #90, thermally and mechanically and is a thermosetting resin).
Regarding claim 6, Choi teaches the cooling device according to claim 1, as set forth in the anticipation rejection. Choi further teaches the cooling device according to claim 1, wherein the heat sink comprises a metal (paragraph [0042], rows 9-12).
Regarding claim 7, Choi teaches the cooling device according to claim 1, as set forth in the anticipation rejection. Choi further teaches the cooling device according to claim 6, wherein the metal comprises copper or aluminum (paragraph [0042], rows 9-12).
Regarding claim 14, Choi teaches a method for producing a cooling device, the method comprising: providing a heat sink (Fig.1, element #90) having a heat discharging structure (Fig.13, the heat sink may have fins on the topmost outside surface), and a connecting surface (Fig.1, inside surface of element #90); providing a semiconductor having a discharge surface for discharging heat (Fig.1, top surface of element #50); and providing an insulating layer comprising a polymer with ceramic particles (Fig.1, element #80, paragraph [0085], rows 6-9); applying the insulating layer directly to the connecting surface of the heat sink and/or directly to the discharge surface of the semiconductor (Fig.1, element #80, is applied on the discharge surface of the semiconductor, paragraph [0085], rows 6-9, 12-13 and 18-20); and joining the heat sink, the semiconductor, and the insulating layer, wherein the insulating layer is between the connecting surface of the heat sink and the discharge surface of the semiconductor to mechanically and thermally connect the heat sink to the semiconductor (Fig.1, element#80 is located between the top surface of elements #50 and the inside surface of #90, and connects them thermally and mechanically) and to electrically insulate them from one another (Fig.1, element #80 is a thermosetting resin, paragraph [0085], rows 6-9) and wherein the insulating layer is in direct contact with the connecting surface of the heat sink and in direct contact with the discharge surface of the semiconductor (Fig.1, element #80 is in direct contact with the inside surface of element #90 and the top surface of element #50).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, and 8-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chung et al., (United States Patent Number, US 10,236,791 B2) hereinafter referenced as Chung, in view of Besshi et al., (United States Patent Number, US 9,236,324 B2) hereinafter referenced as Besshi.
Regarding claim 1, Chung teaches a cooling device for a power converter for a vehicle, comprising: a heat sink comprising a heat discharging structure on a first side for discharging heat acting on the heat sink (Fig.16, element #1605 has a structured an inside surface), and a connecting surface on a second side opposite the first side (Fig.16, outside surface of element #1605), for absorbing heat from a semiconductor connected to the connecting surface (Fig.16, top side of element #1605 absorbs heat from semiconductor, element #120); the semiconductor comprising a discharge surface for discharging heat to the connecting surface (Fig.16, bottom surface of element #120); and an insulating layer located between the connecting surface of the heat sink and the discharge surface of the semiconductor (Fig.16, element #1630, column 20, rows 59-64), wherein the insulating layer is configured to mechanically and thermally connect the heat sink to the semiconductor and to insulate them from one another (Fig.16, element #1630 connects mechanically and thermally element #1605 and #1630).
Chung teaches the insulating layer comprises a ceramic layer. Chung does not teach the insulating layer comprises a polymer with ceramic particles. Besshi teaches the insulating layer comprises a polymer with ceramic particles (Fig.1, element #9, rows 5-7 and 10-12) is located between the connecting surface of the heat sink (Fig.1, top surface of element #8) and the discharge surface of the semiconductor (Fig.1, bottom surface of element #1). Thus, both references Chung and Besshi teach an insulating layer used mechanically and thermally connect the heat sink to the semiconductor and to insulate them from one another. A person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized that the ceramic layer and the two lubricants on the top and bottom sides of the ceramic layer disclosed by Chung could have been replaced for the polymer disclosed by Besshi because both serve the same purpose of mechanically and thermally connect the heat sink to the semiconductor and to insulate them from one another. Furthermore, a person skilled in the art would have been able to carry out the substitution. Finally, the substitution achieves the predictable result of providing an insulating layer used to mechanically and thermally connect the heat sink to the semiconductor and to insulate them from one another. As compared to the ceramic layer disclosed by Chung, the polymer disclosed by Besshi can be applied in a soft state and therefore can be molded (column 2, rows 65-67), which eliminates the need for the lubricant layers. Furthermore, as compared to the ceramic layer, the polymer heat conductivity can the adjusted based on the concentration of ceramic particles (column 5 rows 8-20), which allows one to optimize its composition based on the application and /or materials surrounding it.
Chung does not teach wherein the insulating layer is in direct contact with the connecting surface of the heat sink and in direct contact with the discharge surface of the semiconductor. As noted above, the ceramic layer and the two lubricants on the top and bottom sides of the ceramic layer disclosed by Chung could have been replaced for the polymer disclosed by Besshi, which would place the insulating layer in direct contact with the connecting surface of the heat sink and in direct contact with the discharge surface of the semiconductor.
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Chung and Besshi teaches the cooling device of claim 1 as set forth in the obviousness rejection. Chung further teaches the cooling device according to claim 1, wherein the semiconductor is a potted electronic component (column 16, rows 48-48).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Chung and Besshi teaches the cooling device of claim 1 as set forth in the obviousness rejection. Chung further teaches does a power converter comprising the cooling device according to claim 1 (abstract, rows 1-3).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Chung and Besshi teaches the cooling device of claims 1 and 8 as set forth in the obviousness rejection. Chung further teaches the power converter according to claim 8, wherein the power converter comprises an inverter (abstract, rows 1-3).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Chung and Besshi teaches the cooling device of claims 1 and 8 as set forth in the obviousness rejection. Chung further teaches the power converter according to claim 8, comprising: a housing, wherein the cooling device is thermally and/or mechanically coupled to the housing (Fig.31, element #1640).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Chung and Besshi teaches the cooling device of claims 1 and 8 as set forth in the obviousness rejection. Chung further teaches the power converter according to claim 8, comprising: a housing (Fig.16, element #1640), wherein the connecting surface of the heat sink is flush with an outer wall of the housing (Fig.16, the outside lateral surface of the heat sink is flush with the vertical walls of element #1640).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Chung and Besshi teaches the cooling device of claim 1 as set forth in the obviousness rejection Chung further teaches an electric axle drive for a motor vehicle, comprising: at least one electric machine; a transmission; and a power converter according to claim 8 (column 38, rows 51-54 and column 39, rows 12-16)
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Chung and Besshi teaches the cooling device of claim 1 as set forth in the obviousness rejection. Chung further teaches a vehicle, comprising: the cooling device according to claim 1 (column 38, rows 38-40 and column 39, rows 12-16).
Claims 15 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi in view of Besshi.
Regarding claim 15, Choi teaches the method of claim 14 as set forth in the anticipation rejection. Choi teaches the method according to claim 14, comprising: applying the insulating layer directly to the heat sink and/or directly to the semiconductor in a curing stage (Fig.1, element #80, is applied directly on the semiconductor, paragraph [0085], rows 11-20).
Choi does not teach applying the insulating layer in one of a plurality of different curing stages, wherein a first curing stage is a wet stage, a second curing stage is a drying stage, and a third curing stage is a dry stage. Besshi teaches applying the insulating layer in one of a plurality of different curing stages, wherein a first curing stage is a wet stage, a second curing stage is a drying stage, and a third curing stage is a dry stage (resin element #9 is applied in half-cured stage, drying stage, column 10, rows 46-50). It would have been obvious to one ordinary skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the teachings of Besshi and disclose applying the insulating layer in one of a plurality of different curing stages. As disclosed by Besshi, applying the insulating layer to the surface of the heat sink or semiconductor in a dryer stage, allows the elimination of voids that may exists at the surface between the insulating layer and the heat sink or semiconductor (column 2, rows 64-67).
Regarding claim 16, Choi teaches the method of claim 14 as set forth in the anticipation rejection. Choi does not teach the method according to claim 14, comprising: applying the insulating layer directly to the heat sink and/or directly to the semiconductor using an application pressure and an application heat. Besshi teaches applying the insulating layer directly to the heat sink and/or directly to the semiconductor using an application pressure and an application heat (Fig.2b, column 5, rows 47-53). It would have been obvious to one ordinary skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the teachings of Besshi and disclose applying the insulating layer to the heat sink and/or the semiconductor using an application pressure and an application heat. As disclosed by Besshi, using both pressure and heat during the application of the insulating layer to the heat sink, allows the elimination of voids that may exists at the surface between the insulating layer and the heat sink and semiconductor (column 5, rows 53-58).
Claims 17 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi in view of Maier et al., (German Patent Application Publication Number, DE 102018216596 A1) hereinafter referenced as Maier.
Regarding claim 17, Choi teaches the method of claim 14 as set forth in the anticipation rejection. Choi does not teach an apparatus comprising: at least one computing device that is configured to cause the apparatus to execute the method according to claim 14. Maier teaches an apparatus comprising: at least one computing device that is configured to cause the apparatus to execute a method of connecting a power module to a circuit board (page 5 of the machine translation, paragraph 2, rows 4-5, and paragraphs 3 and 4). Similarly, the computing device can be programmed to control an apparatus to execute a method of connecting other parts, such as a heat sink and a semiconductor die. Having an apparatus configured to execute manufacturing steps such as joining two components or applying layers on component surfaces is well known in the art and part of automated semiconductor packaging processes, and therefore a prima facie case of obviousness exists (MPEP 2144.03). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the teachings of Maier and disclose an apparatus comprising at least one computing device that is configured to execute the method according to claim 14. This would improve the reliability and efficiency of the cooling device manufacturing process.
Regarding claim 18, Choi teaches the method of claim 14 as set forth in the anticipation rejection. Choi does not teach a non-transitory computer-readable medium having stored therein a computer program that, when executed by a computer, causes the computer to control at least one apparatus to execute the method according to claim 14. Maier teaches a computer program that can be stored on a non-transitory computer-readable medium and used to carry out a manufacturing method through a computer that controls an apparatus (page 5 of the machine translation, paragraph 4). As note that in the obviousness rejection of claim 17, the computing device can be programmed to control an apparatus to execute a method of connecting parts, such as a heat sink and a semiconductor die. Having an apparatus configured to execute manufacturing steps such as joining two components or applying layers on component surfaces is well known in the art and part of automated semiconductor packaging processes, and therefore a prima facie case of obviousness exists (MPEP 2144.03). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the teachings of Maier and disclose a non-transitory computer-readable medium having stored therein a computer program that, when executed by a computer, causes the computer to control at least one apparatus to execute the method according to claim 14. The use of a non-transitory computer-readable medium having stored therein a computer program that controls a manufacturing process allows one to update the computer program according to new requirements of the manufacturing process.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 1/20/2026 have been fully considered but they
are not persuasive. Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference as applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Start (United States Patent Application Publication Number, US 2014/0239479 A1) teaches wherein the insulating layer is configured to mechanically and thermally connect the heat sink to the semiconductor and to insulate them from one another, wherein the insulating layer is in direct contact with the connecting surface of the heat sink and in direct contact with the discharge surface of the semiconductor (Fig.1, element #350).
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CRISTIAN A TIVARUS/Examiner, Art Unit 2899 /DALE E PAGE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2899