DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1,2, 5-7, and 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being unpatentable over Deng et al. US 2012/0185812 A1 (“Deng”).
As to claim 1, Deng discloses a structure, comprising:
a first semiconductor structure having a first channel with a first channel width (Figure 2 or Paragraphs 25 or 41 – e.g., FETs, e.g., 211a); and
a second semiconductor structure having a second channel with a second channel width different from the first channel width (Figure 2 or Paragraphs 25 or 41 – e.g., FETs with a different channel width, e.g., 211b), wherein the first channel and the second channel are in contact with each other (Figure 2 or Paragraphs 25 or 41 – e.g., “connected to…the same electrical sub-circuit terminals”).
As to claim 2, Deng discloses the structure of claim 1. Deng further discloses wherein the first semiconductor structure comprises a high speed performance semiconductor device (Figure 2 or Paragraphs 25 or 41 – e.g., FETs, e.g., 211a).
As to claim 5, Deng discloses the structure of claim 1. Deng further discloses wherein a first gate of the first semiconductor structure is coupled to a second gate of the second semiconductor structure (Figure 2 or Paragraphs 25 or 41 – e.g., “connected to…the same electrical sub-circuit terminals”).
As to claim 6, Deng discloses the structure of claim 1. Deng further discloses wherein a first gate of the first semiconductor structure is decoupled to a second gate of the second semiconductor structure (Figure 2 or Paragraphs 25 or 41 – e.g., nearly identical elements may be coupled, elements which are not nearly identical would be decoupled).
As to claim 7, Deng discloses the structure of claim 1. Deng further discloses wherein a gate of the second semiconductor structure is coupled to a reference voltage, and wherein the reference voltage is a voltage drain or a voltage source (Paragraphs 22 or 29 – e.g., necessary in operating according to a power supply voltage).
Claim 28 recites elements similar to claim 1, and is rejected for the same reasons.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3, 4, 10, 21, and 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Deng as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Chen et al. US 2002/0163835 A1 (“Chen”).
As to claim 3, Deng discloses the structure of claim 1. Deng teaches multiple semiconductor structures including linked transistors, but does not explicitly disclose the additional elements of claim 3. However, the missing element is well known in the art because while disclosing circuit configurations, Chen teaches combinations of active and passive components and dummy cells used as part of a transistor and current source configuration (Chen Figure 4A-B or Paragraph 37). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made for the second semiconductor structure to comprises a passive semiconductor device because similar configurations were well known in the art at the time the invention was made.
As to claim 4, Deng discloses the structure of claim 1. Deng teaches multiple semiconductor structures including linked transistors, but does not explicitly disclose the additional elements of claim 4. However, the missing element is well known in the art because while disclosing circuit configurations, Chen teaches combinations of active and passive components and dummy cells used as part of a transistor and current source configuration (Chen Figure 4A-B or Paragraph 37). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have a dummy gate, the dummy gate having a dummy gate width (a width necessary in a gate) because similar configurations were well known in the art at the time the invention was made.
As to claim 10, Deng and Chen disclose the structure of claim 4. Deng and Chen further disclose wherein the dummy gate width is substantially similar to a first channel gate width of the first semiconductor structure or is substantially similar to a second channel gate width of the second semiconductor structure (Deng Figure 2 or Paragraphs 25 or 41 – e.g., FETs/structures associated with particular channel widths).
Claim 21 recites elements similar to claims 1-3, and is rejected for the same reasons.
Claims 25 recites elements similar to claim 6, and is rejected for the same reasons.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8, 9, 22-24, 26, 27, 29, and 30 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The prior art does not teach or suggest a structure or method having the combination of elements/steps of the claims including, among other elements, the doping and spacing or relative width relations of the claims, in combination with the structural and connectivity details of the claims.
Conclusion
/BRYCE M AISAKA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2851