Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al. (US 2020/0013738, hereinafter Yang) in view of Hashemi et al. (US 2018/0019216, hereinafter Hashemi).
With respect to claim 1, Yang discloses a semiconductor device (Fig. 4e), comprising: an e-bar substrate (components 170/132/180 are part of the substrate) including a continuous core layer (180) and a plurality of e-bar structures (132) formed through the core layer (fig. 4e); an electrical component (104) disposed within an opening of the e-bar structures substrate (Fig. 4e), wherein the e-bar structures extend around the electrical component (Fig. 4e);
a SIP disposed in direct contact with the e-bar structures (Para 0034; 0040-0041).
Yang does not explicitly disclose that the SIP comprises of an antenna interposer.
In an analogous art, Hashemi discloses that the SIP comprises of an antenna interposer (Para 0003). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Yang’s device by having Hashemi’s disclosure in order to route electrical signals efficiently in a semiconductor device.
With respect to claim 4, Yang/Hashemi discloses the semiconductor device of claim 1.
Yang further discloses including an encapsulant (192 of Fig. 4g) deposited over the electrical component (192 is deposited over 104).
Claims 2-3 and 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang/Hashemi in view of Lee (KR 20200012440, hereinafter Lee).
With respect to claim 2, Yang/Hashemi discloses the semiconductor device of claim 1.
Yang/Hashemi does not explicitly disclose a redistribution layer formed over a second surface of the e-bar substrate opposite the antenna interposer first surface of the substrate.
In an analogous art, Lee discloses:
a redistribution layer (290 & 255 of fig. 500B) formed over a second surface of the e-bar substrate opposite the antenna interposer first surface of the substrate (290 & 255 are opposite the antenna interposer first surface of the substrate). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Yang/Hashemi’s device by having Lee’s disclosure in order to route electrical signals efficiently in a semiconductor device.
With respect to claim 3, Yang/Hashemi/Lee discloses the semiconductor device of claim 2.
Yang further discloses wherein the redistribution layer includes: a conductive layer (172); and an insulating layer (174) formed over the conductive layer (Fig. 4e).
With respect to claim 5, Yang/Hashemi discloses the semiconductor device of claim 1.
Yang does/Hashemi not explicitly disclose wherein the antenna interposer includes: a first conductive layer; an insulating layer formed over the first conductive layer; and a second conductive layer formed over the insulating layer.
In an analogous art, Lee discloses wherein the antenna interposer includes: a first conductive layer (lower subset of layers 112 of Fig. 500B); an insulating layer (111) formed over the first conductive layer (layer 111 is formed over the lower subset of layers 112); and a second conductive layer (upper subset of layers 112) formed over the insulating layer (upper subset of layers 112 is formed over 111). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Yang/Hashemi’s device by having Lee’s disclosure in order to route electrical signals efficiently in a semiconductor device.
With respect to claim 6, Yang/Hashemi/Lee discloses the semiconductor device of claim 5.
Yang/Hashemi does not explicitly disclose wherein the second conductive layer operates as an antenna.
In an analogous art, Lee discloses wherein the second conductive layer operates as an antenna (Page 24; para 01 and Page 30; para 01). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Yang/Hashemi’s device by having Lee’s disclosure in order to route electrical signals efficiently in a semiconductor device.
Claims 7-12 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang in view of Lee.
With respect to claim 7, Yang discloses a semiconductor device (Fig. 4e), comprising: an electrical component (104); an e-bar substrate (components 170/132/180 are part of the substrate) including an opening to contain the electrical component (opening to have 104) and a plurality of e-bar structures (132) disposed around adjacent to the electrical component (Fig. 4e).
Yang does not explicitly disclose an antenna interposer disposed in contact with the e-bar structures.
In an analogous art, Lee discloses:
an antenna interposer (100 of Fig. 500B) disposed in contact with the e-bar structures (100 is in contact with e-bar structures via other layers). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Yang’s device by having Lee’s disclosure in order to route electrical signals efficiently in a semiconductor device.
With respect to claim 8, Yang/Lee discloses the semiconductor device of claim 7.
Yang does not explicitly disclose including a redistribution layer formed over a surface of the e-bar substrate opposite the antenna interposer.
In an analogous art, Lee discloses a redistribution layer (290 & 255) formed over a surface of the e-bar structures opposite the antenna interposer (290 & 255 is formed on the backside). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Yang’s device by having Lee’s disclosure in order to route electrical signals efficiently in a semiconductor device.
With respect to claim 9, Yang/Lee discloses the semiconductor device of claim 8.
Yang further discloses wherein the redistribution layer includes: a conductive layer (172); and an insulating layer (174) formed over the conductive layer (Fig. 4e).
With respect to claim 10, Yang/Lee discloses the semiconductor device of claim 7.
Yang further discloses including an encapsulant (192 of Fig. 4g) deposited over the electrical component (192 is deposited over 104).
With respect to claim 11, Yang/Lee discloses the semiconductor device of claim 7.
Yang does not explicitly disclose wherein the antenna interposer includes: a first conductive layer; an insulating layer formed over the first conductive layer; and a second conductive layer formed over the insulating layer.
In an analogous art, Lee discloses wherein the antenna interposer includes: a first conductive layer (lower subset of layers 112); an insulating layer (111) formed over the first conductive layer (layer 111 is formed over the lower subset of layers 112); and a second conductive layer (upper subset of layers 112) formed over the insulating layer (upper subset of layers 112 is formed over 111). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Yang’s device by having Lee’s disclosure in order to route electrical signals efficiently in a semiconductor device.
With respect to claim 12, Yang/Lee discloses the semiconductor device of claim 11.
Yang does not explicitly disclose wherein the second conductive layer is arranged as a plurality of islands.
In an analogous art, Lee discloses that the semiconductor device wherein the second conductive layer is arranged as a plurality of islands (Fig. 9; top part of 112 is arranged in a plurality of islands). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Yang’s device by having Lee’s disclosure in order to route electrical signals efficiently in a semiconductor device.
With respect to claim 26, Yang/Lee discloses the semiconductor device of claim 7.
Yang further discloses wherein the e- bar substrate includes a continuous core layer (180 of Fig. 4e) with the plurality of e-bar structures (132) formed through the core layer (fig. 4e).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang/Lee in view of Pavate et al. (US 2010/0127084, hereinafter Pavate).
With respect to claim 13, Yang/Lee discloses the semiconductor device of claim 11.
Yang/Lee does not explicitly disclose wherein the second conductive layer is arranged in a serpentine pattern.
In an analogous art, Pavate discloses wherein the second conductive layer is arranged in a serpentine pattern (Para 0060; 452/456 of Figs 4C-4D).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of an ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Yang/Lee’s device by having Pavate’s disclosure in order to create an antenna of low profile, light weight with easy construction.
Response to Arguments
Based on new ground of rejection, applicant’s arguments regarding amended claims submitted on 06/29/2026 are moot.
Conclusion
/MOHAMMAD M CHOUDHRY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2899