Election/Restrictions
In response to Election/Restriction, applicant elected claims 1-13. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 10/31/2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lee (KR 20200012440, hereinafter Lee).
With respect to claim 1, Lee discloses a semiconductor device (Fig. 9), comprising: a substrate (see below) including a plurality of e-bar structures (see below); disposed adjacent to an electrical component (see below);
an antenna interposer (100) disposed over a first surface of the substrate (100 is over top surface of the substrate).
With respect to claim 2, Lee discloses the semiconductor device of claim 1, further including a redistribution layer (e.g. 290&255) formed over a second surface of the substrate opposite the first surface of the substrate (e.g. 290&255 is formed on the backside of the substrate).
With respect to claim 3, Lee discloses the semiconductor device of claim 2, wherein the redistribution layer includes: a conductive layer (290); and an insulating layer (230) formed over the conductive layer (e.g. Page 41; Para 01).
With respect to claim 4, Lee discloses the semiconductor device of claim 1, further including an encapsulant (240) deposited over the electrical component (240 is deposited over 221/222).
With respect to claim 5, Lee discloses the semiconductor device of claim 1, wherein the antenna interposer includes: a first conductive layer (lower subset of layers 112); an insulating layer (111) formed over the first conductive layer (layer 111 is formed over the lower subset of layers 112); and a second conductive layer (upper subset of layers 112) formed over the insulating layer (upper subset of layers 112 is formed over 111).
With respect to claim 6, Lee discloses the semiconductor device of claim 5, wherein the second conductive layer operates as an antenna (Page 24; para 01 and Page 30; para 01).
With respect to claim 7, Lee discloses a semiconductor device (Fig. 9), comprising: an electrical component (221/222); a plurality of e-bar structures disposed adjacent to the electrical component (see below);
and an antenna interposer (100) disposed over a first surface of the e-bar structures (100 is over top surface of the e-bar structures).
With respect to claim 8, Lee discloses that the semiconductor device of claim 7, further including a redistribution layer (290 & 255) formed over a second surface of the e-bar structures opposite the first surface of the e-bar structures (290 & 255 is formed on the backside of the e-bar structures).
With respect to claim 9, Lee discloses the semiconductor device of claim 8, wherein the redistribution layer includes: a conductive layer (290); and an insulating layer (230) formed over the conductive layer (Page 41; Para 01).
With respect to claim 10, Lee discloses that the semiconductor device of claim 7, further including an encapsulant (240) deposited over the electrical component (240 is deposited over 221/222).
With respect to claim 11, Lee discloses that the semiconductor device of claim 7, wherein the antenna interposer includes: a first conductive layer (lower subset of layers 112); an insulating layer (111) formed over the first conductive layer (layer 111 is formed over the lower subset of layers 112); and a second conductive layer (upper subset of layers 112) formed over the insulating layer (upper subset of layers 112 is formed over 111).
With respect to claim 12, Lee discloses that the semiconductor device wherein the second conductive layer is arranged as a plurality of islands (Fig. 9; top part of 112 is arranged in a plurality of islands).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of Pavate et al. (US 2010/0127084, hereinafter Pavate).
With respect to claim 13, Lee discloses the semiconductor device of claim 11.
Lee does not explicitly disclose wherein the second conductive layer is arranged in a serpentine pattern.
In an analogous art, Pavate discloses wherein the second conductive layer is arranged in a serpentine pattern (Para 0060; 452/456 of Figs 4C-4D).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of an ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lee’s device by having Pavate’s disclosure in order to create an antenna of low profile, light weight with easy construction.
Conclusion
MOHAMMAD M. CHOUDHRY
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2816
/MOHAMMAD M CHOUDHRY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2899