Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 3/27/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-2, 6-11, and 15-18 remain
pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claims 7 and 16, the claims states in part “wherein the heat sink has a heat dissipation body bonded to the thermal conduction layer and the dam….” (Bold added by Examiner for emphasis). However, claim 7 depends on claim 1 (and claim 16 depends on claim 10) which states that the dam and the heat sink are integrally formed, and thus, they are not bonded together. This is also supported in the specification in Para. [0040], which states in part “….In addition, in an electronic package 3 of FIG. 3, a dam 35 can also be made of metal material and is integrally formed with the heat sink 23, that is, the dam 35 is a wall structure extending downward from the heat dissipation body 230. Alternatively, in an electronic package 4 of FIG. 4, the dam 35 of the metal wall structure can be bonded onto the heat dissipation body.”
For the purposes of this examination, Examiner is interpreting Claim 7 as follows: “The electronic package of claim 1, wherein the heat sink has a heat dissipation body bonded to the thermal conduction layer
Claims 10-11 and 15-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the enablement requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention.
Regarding Claim 10, the claim recites method steps that pertain to forming an electronics package where the dam and the heat sink are not integrally formed. The claim and the specification both support the notion that the dam must be disposed on the carrier structure, followed by encapsulating the electronic component by a thermal conduction layer, and then disposing the heat sink on the dam.
For the purposes of the examination, Examiner is interpreting the claim as follows:
A method of manufacturing an electronic package, the method comprising: disposing an electronic component on a carrier structure; with a dam on the carrier structure to cover the electronic componentformed and made of metal material.
Please note that Examiner is unsure whether the above interpretation is adequately disclosed in the specification. Examiner is asking for clarification on this issue from the Applicant.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 and 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a2 as being anticipated by US20240371719A1 (Park).
Regarding Claim 1, Park discloses an electronic package (Figs. 1 – 4E), comprising: a carrier structure (Figs. 4A-4E, el. 120, Para. [0028]); an electronic component disposes on the carrier structure (Figs. 4A-4E, el. 104, Para. [0021] – different figure, but refers to the same component); a dam (Figs. 4A-4E, el. 148, Para. [0026]) disposed on the carrier structure and surrounding the electronic component (Fig. 3C, Para. [0027]); a thermal conduction layer (Figs. 4A-4e, el. 150, Para. [0028]) encapsulating the electronic component and located between the electronic component and the dam (Fig. 4e, Para. [0030]); and a heat sink (Figs. 3a-3e, el. 140, Para. [0026]) disposed on the carrier structure (Figs. 4A-E, Para. [0028]) and covering the electronic component, the dam and the thermal conduction layer (Para. [0028]), wherein the thermal conduction layer is further located between the heat sink and the electronic component (Fig. 4e, Para. [0030]), wherein the dam and the heat sink are integrally formed (Fig. 3a, Para. [0026]) and made of metal material (Para. [0026]).
Regarding Claim 2, Park discloses the electronic package of claim 1, wherein the dam is a frame or a wall structure (Para. [0026]).
Regarding Claim 6, Park discloses the electronic package of claim 1, wherein the thermal conduction layer is made of a liquid metal (Para. [0028]).
Regarding Claim 7, Park discloses the electronic package of claim 1, wherein the heat sink has a heat dissipation body bonded to the thermal conduction layer (Para. [0032] - see claim interpretation under 112(b) above) and has a plurality of supporting legs (Fig. 3A, els. 142 and 144, Para. [0026]) disposed on the heat dissipation body (Fig. 3A) and bonded to the carrier structure (Fig. 4C, Para. [0030]).
Regarding Claim 8, Park discloses the electronic package of claim 7, wherein the heat dissipation body and the supporting legs are integrally formed (Fig. 3A).
Claims 10-11 and 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a2 as being anticipated by Park.
Regarding Claim 10, Park discloses a method of manufacturing an electronic package (Figs. 2A-2C and 4A-4e, Para. [0022] and [0028]), the method comprising: disposing an electronic component on a carrier structure (Fig. 2b, Para. [0023]); encapsulating the electronic component by a thermal conduction layer (Fig. 4a, Para. [0028]); and disposing a heat sink with a dam (see claim interpretation under 112(a) rejection above) on the carrier structure to cover the electronic component and the thermal conduction layer (Figs. 4B-4E, Paras. [0029-0032]), wherein the electronic component is surrounded by the dam (Fig. 4e, Para. [0032]), and the thermal conduction layer is located between the electronic component and the dam (Fig. 4E, Para. [0032]) and between the heat sink and the electronic component (Fig. 4E, Para. [0032]), wherein the dam and the heat sink are integrally formed and made of metal material (Para. [0026]).
Regarding Claim 11, Park discloses the method of claim 10, wherein the dam is a frame or a wall structure (Para. [0026]).
Regarding Claim 15, Park discloses the method of Claim 10, wherein the thermal conduction layer is made of a liquid metal (Para. [0028]).
Regarding Claim 16, Park discloses the method of Claim 10, wherein the heat sink has a heat dissipation body bonded to the thermal conduction layer (Para. [0032] - see claim interpretation under 112(b) above) and has a plurality of supporting legs (Fig. 3A, els. 142 and 144, Para. [0026]) disposed on the heat dissipation body (Fig. 3A) and bonded to the carrier structure (Fig. 4C, Para. [0030]).
Regarding Claim 17, Park discloses the method of Claim 16, wherein the heat dissipation body and the supporting legs are integrally formed (Fig. 3A).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park in view of 20120098119A1 (Refai-Ahmed).
Regarding Claim 9, Park discloses the electronic package of Claim 7.
Park does not disclose that the heat dissipation body is bonded to the supporting legs via an adhesive material.
Refai-Ahmed discloses an electronic package (Fig. 2, el. 10, Para. [0027]) with a heat sink (Fig. 2, el. 35, Para. [0024]) with a heat dissipation body (Fig. 2, el. 60) and supporting legs (Fig. 2, el. 25, Para. [0024]) where the supporting legs are bonded to the heat dissipation body via an adhesive (Fig. 2, el. 85, Para. [0027]).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the
claimed invention to use an adhesive to bond the supporting legs to the heat dissipation body in Liang, as in Refai-Ahmed, as a simple substitution of one known element (the supporting legs with an adhesive) for another (the supporting legs without an adhesive) to obtain predictable results (a heat sink where the supporting legs are bonded to the body via an adhesive).
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park in view of Refai-Ahmed.
Regarding Claim 18, Park discloses the method of Claim 16.
Park does not disclose that the heat dissipation body is bonded to the supporting legs via an adhesive material.
Refai-Ahmed discloses an electronic package (Fig. 2, el. 10, Para. [0027]) with a heat sink (Fig. 2, el. 35, Para. [0024]) with a heat dissipation body (Fig. 2, el. 60) and supporting legs (Fig. 2, el. 25, Para. [0024]) where the supporting legs are bonded to the heat dissipation body via an adhesive (Fig. 2, el. 85, Para. [0027]).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the
claimed invention to use an adhesive to bond the supporting legs to the heat dissipation body in Liang, as in Refai-Ahmed, as a simple substitution of one known element (the supporting legs with an adhesive) for another (the supporting legs without an adhesive) to obtain predictable results (a heat sink where the supporting legs are bonded to the body via an adhesive).
Conclusion
/ROHIT PARTHASARATHY/Examiner, Art Unit 2899 /DALE E PAGE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2899