DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s amendment filed on 12/29/25 is acknowledged and papers submitted have been placed in the records.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-2 and 5-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “…and a flow stopper disposed on the concentrating area of the first side of the substrate body, how if a discontinuous ring shape and formed with at least one gap having a width, wherein the width is configured to restrict a flow of a heat dissipation material through the gap.” (emphasis added). The underlined portion of the quoted claim limitation above is not understood. It is unclear how the “how if” logically relates to the rest of the underlined claim portion. Additionally, it is unclear what is “a discontinuous shape”. It is certainly not a structure as written. Finally, it is unclear what is formed with at least one gap having a width. The Examiner has assumed “…body, the flow stopper has a discontinuous ring shape and is formed with…”.
Claim 9 recites “the flow stopper is a recess formed on the first side of the substrate body.”. This is the embodiment on fig. 3, and the flow stopper 38 was not disclosed to be discontinuous as now required by independent claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 5-8 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lu et al. (US 2014/0160688, previously used).
a. Re claim 1, Lu et al. disclose a substrate structure, comprising: a substrate body 101 (see figs. 1a-2b and related text; see remaining of disclosure for more details) having a first (top) side and a second (bottom) side opposing the first side, a packaging area PA (see annotated fig. 1b below), a concentrating area CA adjacent to the packaging area and a functional area FA adjacent to the concentrating area being defined on the first side, wherein the first side has a circuit layer 115&117 (see [0023]-[0024]) formed thereon, and the circuit layer has a plurality of conductive parts 117 located on the functional area; and a flow stopper 113 (or 113&114; [0027]-[0030]) disposed on the concentrating area of the first side of the substrate body, the flow stopper has a discontinuous ring shape and is formed with at least one gap having a width W (explicit on annotated fig. 2a below), “wherein the width is configured to restrict a flow of a heat dissipation material through the gap” (see remarks below for the quoted limitation).
The Examiner notes that a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. See, e.g., In re Pearson, 181 USPQ 641 (CCPA); In re Minks, 169 USPQ 120 (Bd Appeals); In re Casey, 152 USPQ 235 (CCPA 1967); In re Otto, 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963). See MPEP §2114. The recitation of “wherein the width is configured to restrict a flow of a heat dissipation material through the gap” does not distinguish the present invention over the prior art of Liu et al. who teach the structure as claimed.
Additionally, MPEP 2112.01 (I. PRODUCT AND APPARATUS CLAIMS — WHEN THE STRUCTURE RECITED IN THE REFERENCE IS SUBSTANTIALLY IDENTICAL TO THAT OF THE CLAIMS, CLAIMED PROPERTIES OR FUNCTIONS ARE PRESUMED TO BE INHERENT) states: where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established (In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977)). As such, since the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure (i.e. the flow stopper has a discontinuous ring shape and is formed with at least one gap having a width), the claimed property or function (i.e. wherein the width is configured to, i.e. capable to, restrict a flow of a heat dissipation material through the gap) is presumed to be inherent, noting that as written, the claim does not require the presence of heat dissipation material, and further, the width W of the gap will restrict the flow of a heat dissipation material trying to flow therethrough based on its width (i.e. a small width will let flow therethrough less heat dissipation material being dispensed than a large width).
b. Re claim 2, the packaging area is surrounded by the flow stopper (fig. 2b).
c. Re claim 5, the flow stopper is a protrusion disposed on the first side of the substrate body (figs. 1a-b).
d. Re claim 6, the flow stopper is a wall-shaped insulator (figs. 1a-b&2b).
e. Re claim 7, the flow stopper comprises a plurality of dams separated from each other, and a gap is formed between adjacent ones of the dams (fig. 2b).
f. Re claim 8, an arrangement of the plurality of dams corresponds to positions of the plurality of conductive parts (explicit on fig. 2b).
g. Re claim 10, the flow stopper is located at a boundary of the concentrating area and the packaging area (see annotated fig. 1b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 11-15 and 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. (US 2024/0162113, previously used) in view of Lu et al. (US 2014/0160688, previously used).
a. Re claim 1, Park et al. disclose a substrate structure, comprising: a substrate body 123 (se fig. 1 and related text; see [0027] and remaining of disclosure for more details) having a first (top) side and a second (bottom) side opposing the first side, a packaging area PA (see annotated fig. 1 below), a concentrating area CA adjacent to the packaging area and a functional area FA adjacent to the concentrating area being defined on the first side, wherein the first side has a circuit layer (layers 1241; [0027]) formed thereon, and the circuit layer has a plurality of conductive parts (peripheral layers 1241 in area FA or peripheral layers 1241 underlying layer 156) located on the functional area. But Lee et al. do not appear to explicitly disclose a flow stopper disposed on the concentrating area of the first side of the substrate body.
However, Lu et al. disclose a package structure wherein a flow stopper 113 is disposed in functional area FA (see annotated fig. 1b above) of a wiring substrate 100 in order to limit the spread of an underfill layer 123 (see figs. 1a-2b and at least [0027]-[0030]), wherein the flow stopper has a discontinuous ring shape and is formed with at least one gap having a width W (explicit on annotated fig. 2a above).
As such, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have provided a flow stopper (labeled STP on annotated fig. 1 below) in the functional area the wiring substrate 120 of Lee et al. in order to prevent the underfill 135 from spreading to unwanted area. The modification would have resulted in the fact that the flow stopper has a discontinuous ring shape and is formed with at least one gap having a width W (explicit on annotated fig. 2a below), “wherein the width is configured to restrict a flow of a heat dissipation material through the gap” (see remarks related to intended use and MPEP 2112.01 in claim 1 rejection above for the quoted limitation)
b. Re claim 11, Lee et al. in view of Lu et al. as per claim 1 rejection above disclose an electronic package 100, comprising: the substrate structure of claim 1; an electronic element 110 ([0026]) disposed on the packaging area of the first side of the substrate body and electrically connected to the circuit layer; and a heat dissipation structure 150 bonded on the electronic element via a heat dissipation material 140 ([0026]).
c. Re claim 12, the electronic element is electrically connected to the circuit layer via a plurality of conductive bumps 114 ([0040]).
d. Re claim 13, the electronic package of claim 12, further comprises a cladding layer 135 ([0043]) formed on the first side of the substrate body and covering the plurality of conductive bumps.
e. Re claim 14, the cladding layer is adjacent to the flow stopper (explicit on annotated fig. 1 above).
f. Re claim 15, the heat dissipation material is used as a thermal interface material ([0026]).
g. Re claim 17, the heat dissipation structure is a heat sink ([0049]).
h. Re claim 18, the heat dissipation structure comprises a sheet-shaped heat dissipation body 151 and a plurality of supporting legs 152&153 erected on the heat dissipation body, wherein the heat dissipation body is in contact with and bonded to the heat dissipation material (explicit on fig. 1), and the plurality of supporting legs are disposed on the plurality of conductive parts (explicit on fig. 1).
i. Re claim 19, the plurality of supporting legs are disposed on the plurality of conductive parts via a plurality of conductive elements (portions of 156 on the four peripheral areas of substrate 120, noting that adhesive layer 156 would be at least thermal conductive to some extent as any material; in the alternative, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have provided the adhesive layer 156 to be thermally conductive in order to enhance heat dissipation from the substrate 120, or to be thermally and electrically conductive in order to ground heat sink 150 to substrate 120 and also enhance heat dissipation from the substrate 120; see fig. 11B for the rectangular shape of substrate 120).
j. Re claim 20, electronic package of claim 11, further comprising a plurality of conductive elements (portions of 156 on the four peripheral areas of substrate 120, noting that adhesive layer 156 would be at least thermal conductive to some extent as any material; in the alternative, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have provided the adhesive layer 156 to be thermally conductive in order to enhance heat dissipation from the substrate 120, or to be thermally and electrically conductive in order to ground heat sink 150 to substrate 120 and also enhance heat dissipation from the substrate 120; see fig. 11B for the rectangular shape of substrate 120) disposed on the plurality of conductive parts.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 16 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable (assuming the correction to claim 1 assumed in the 112 1st rejection above is adopted) if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claim(s) rejected above have been considered but are moot because they do not apply to the new ground of rejection applied above in view of Applicants amendments.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PENIEL M GUMEDZOE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2899