Claims 1, 12 and 21 have been amended, claims 5 and 15-20 have been canceled, and new claim 27 has been added. Currently, claims 1-5, 6-14 and 21-27 are pending.
DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 12-14 and 21-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over More et al. (Pub. No. US 2021/0408001 A1, herein More) in view of Tiwari et al. (Pub. No. US 2021/0408282 A1, herein Tiwari).
Regarding claim 12, More discloses a method comprising: forming a first semiconductor region NFET and a second semiconductor region PFET; forming an interfacial layer 81 comprising: a first portion on the first semiconductor region; and a second portion on the second semiconductor region (More: Figs. 1A-3F, 5B and paragraphs [0023], [0068]); depositing a dipole film 82 comprising: a first portion on the first portion of the interfacial layer; and a second portion on the second portion of the interfacial layer (More: Figs. 1A-3F, 5B-6B and paragraphs [0054], [0076]-[0077]); removing the second portion of the dipole film to reveal the second portion of the interfacial layer (More: Figs. 7A-7I and paragraphs [0072]-[0077]); depositing a high-k dielectric layer 282 comprising: a first portion on the first portion of the dipole film; and a second portion on the second portion of the interfacial layer; and depositing a work-function layer 86 on the high-k dielectric layer (More: Figs. 7A-7I and paragraphs [0023], [0061], [0073]-[0075]).
More does not specifically show depositing a high-k dielectric layer over the first portion of the dipole film, wherein the high-k dielectric layer comprises a material selected from the group consisting of hafnium oxide, zirconium oxide, or combination thereof.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Tiwari teaches a field effect transistor having a gate dielectric with a dipole layer and having a gate stressor layer, comprising: depositing a high-k dielectric layer over the first portion of the dipole film, wherein the high-k dielectric layer comprises a material selected from the group consisting of hafnium oxide, zirconium oxide, or combination thereof (Tiwari: paragraphs [0043]-[0044] and claim 1) to tune the threshold voltage and thus provide a multi-threshold voltage solution for scaled logic transistor (Tiwari: paragraph [0047]).
Therefore, given the teachings of Tiwari, a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have readily recognized the desirability and advantages of modifying More in view of Tiwari by employing distinct materials for the high-k dielectric layer and dipole film.
Regarding claim 13, More in view of Tiwari teaches the method of claim 12, further comprising forming an n-type source/drain region on a side of the first semiconductor region, wherein the dipole film comprises an n-type dipole dopant (More: Figs. 4A-4C and paragraphs [0023], [0073]-[0075]).
Regarding claim 14, More in view of Tiwari teaches the method of claim 12, further comprising forming a p-type source/drain region on a side of the first semiconductor region, wherein the dipole film comprises a p-type dipole dopant (More: Figs. 4A-4C and paragraphs [0023], [0073]-[0075]).
Regarding claim 21, More discloses a method comprising: forming a first gate stack NFET comprising: forming a first interfacial layer 81 on a first semiconductor region (More: Figs. 1A-3F and paragraph [0023]); depositing a dipole film 82 on the first interfacial layer; depositing a first high-k dielectric layer 282 on the dipole film; depositing a first work-function layer 86 on the first high-k dielectric layer; and forming a first filling metal region 87/89 over the first work-function layer (More: Figs. 7A-7I and paragraphs [0023], [0061], [0073]-[0075]); and forming a second gate stack PFET comprising: forming a second interfacial layer 81 on a second semiconductor region; depositing a second high-k dielectric layer 282 over and in contact with the second interfacial layer; depositing a second work-function layer 86 on the second high-k dielectric layer; and forming a second filling metal region 87/89 over the second work-function layer, wherein the first filling metal region and the second filling metal region are joined with each other and are formed of a same metallic material (More: Figs. 5B-7I and paragraphs [0023], [0061], [0073]-[0075]).
More does not specifically show after the dipole film is deposited, depositing a high-k dielectric layer on the dipole film, wherein the first and second high-k dielectric layers are free from dipole elements therein.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Tiwari teaches a field effect transistor having a gate dielectric with a dipole layer and having a gate stressor layer, comprising: depositing a high-k dielectric layer on the dipole film, wherein the dipole material layer 230A is distinct from the high-k dielectric layer 228 (Tiwari: paragraphs [0043]-[0044] and claim 1) to tune the threshold voltage and thus provide a multi-threshold voltage solution for scaled logic transistor (Tiwari: paragraph [0047]).
Therefore, given the teachings of Tiwari, a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have readily recognized the desirability and advantages of modifying More in view of Tiwari by employing distinct materials for the high-k dielectric layer and dipole film.
Regarding claim 22, More in view of Tiwari teaches the method of claim 21, wherein the first filling metal region and the second filling metal region are portions of a continuous and homogeneous metal region (More: Figs. 5B-7I and paragraphs [0023], [0061], [0073]-[0075]).
Regarding claim 23, More in view of Tiwari teaches the method of claim 21, wherein a peak concentration of a dipole dopant in the dipole film is at middle of the dipole film (More: paragraphs [0076]-[0077], [0079]).
Regarding claim 24, More in view of Tiwari teaches the method of claim 21, wherein the first work-function layer is a p-type work- function layer, and the dipole film comprises an n-type dipole dopant (More: Figs. 4A-4C and paragraphs [0023], [0073]-[0075]).
Regarding claim 25, More in view of Tiwari teaches the method of claim 21, wherein the first work-function layer is an n-type work- function layer, and the dipole film comprises a p-type dipole dopant (More: Figs. 4A-4C and paragraphs [0023], [0073]-[0075]).
Regarding claim 26, More in view of Tiwari teaches the method of claim 21 further comprising depositing a third high-k dielectric layer between the first work-function layer and the first high-k dielectric layer, wherein the first high-k dielectric layer is formed of a same material as the third high-k dielectric layer (More: Fig. 1A, and paragraph [0065]).
Regarding claim 27, More in view of Tiwari teaches the method of claim 21, wherein the first high-k dielectric layer and the second high-k dielectric layer comprise a material selected from the group consisting of hafnium oxide, zirconium oxide and combination thereof (Tiwari: paragraphs [0043]-[0044] and claim 1).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-4 and 6-11 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 1, the prior art of record alone or in combination do not teach or fairly suggest, in combination with other elements of the claim, further comprising: forming a second source/drain region based on a first portion of a second semiconductor region; forming a second interfacial layer based on a second portion of the second semiconductor region; forming a second dipole film on the second interfacial layer, wherein the first dipole film and the second dipole film are formed in a common deposition process; removing the second dipole film, wherein the first dipole film remains; depositing a second high-k dielectric layer on the second interfacial layer; and depositing a second work-function layer on the second high-k dielectric layer. Claims 2-4 and 6-11 are included likewise as they depend from claim 1.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 12-14 and 21-27 have been fully considered, but are found to be moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
August 18, 2026
/MALIHEH MALEK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2813