Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(2) as being anticipated by MOTOHASHI (Pub. No.: US 2021/0221071).
Re claim 1, MOTOHASHI, FIG. 14 teaches an electronic package module, comprising:
a circuit substrate comprising:
a first circuit layer (31, ¶ [0060]);
a first insulation layer (32) covering the first circuit layer and having a first boundary surface;
a second circuit layer (41) located on the first boundary surface of the first insulation layer (32) and electrically connected to the first circuit layer (31); and
a second insulation layer (52) located on the first boundary surface and partially covering the second circuit layer, wherein the second insulation layer bares a first region of the first boundary surface, and the first region is located on a perimeter of the first boundary surface to define a recessed region ([R], Fig. 14 [as shown above]) surrounding a side wall of the circuit substrate;
an electronic component (3) located on the circuit substrate and electrically connected to the circuit substrate; and
a molding compound (5, [0053]) encapsulating the circuit substrate and the electronic component, wherein the molding compound directly touches the first region of the first boundary surface and the second insulation layer (sidewalls of 42);
wherein the molding compound (5) directly covers the recessed region to encapsulate the entire side wall of the circuit substrate (sidewalls of 32 and 52), whereby the recessed region [R] is filled up with the molding compound.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-4, 6 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MOTOHASHI in view of Chinese Patent No.: (CN110858575) (hereinafter `575).
Re claim 2, MOTOHASHI teaches all the limitation of claim 1.
MOTOHASHI fails to teach the limitation of claim 2.
`575 teaches wherein the second insulation layer further comprising:
a plurality of trenches [T] and the plurality of trenches and the first region of the first boundary surface (occupied by far left and right of 140/124/[FR]) are not overlapping.
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to include the above said teaching for the purpose of improving the radiating efficiency of the substrate as taught by `575, Background.
Moreover, after the combining of `575 and MOTOHASHI would teach wherein the molding compound (5 of MOTOHASHI) directly touches inner surfaces of the plurality of trenches ([T] of `575),
Re claim 3, in the combination, `575, FIG. 2A [as shown above] teaches the electronic package module of claim 2, wherein the inner surfaces of the plurality of trenches [T] comprise a part of the first boundary surface.
Re claim 4, in the combination, `575, FIG. 2A [as shown above] teaches the electronic package module of claim 2, wherein the electronic component (200) overlaps a second region [SR] of the first boundary surface surrounded by the first region [FR], and at least one of the plurality of trenches is located between the second region and the first region.
Re claim 6, in the combination, `575, FIG. 2A [as shown above] teaches the electronic package module of claim 2, wherein the electronic component (200) covers none of the plurality of trenches [T].
Re claim 9, in the combination, MOTOHASHI, Fig. 14 [as shown above] teaches the electronic package module of claim 1, wherein the molding compound (5) covers a side wall of the first insulation layer (32).
Claim(s) 1-4, 6 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CHUI (Pub. No.: US 2026/0076250) in view of `575.
Re claim 1, CHUI, FIG. 3A [as shown above] teaches an electronic package module, comprising:
a circuit substrate comprising:
a first circuit layer (26 or [FC] for claim 9, ¶ [0050]);
a first insulation layer (260 or [FI] for claim 9, FIG. 2D, [0051]) covering the first circuit layer and having a first boundary surface;
a second circuit layer ([SC] or [SCf9]) located on the first boundary surface of the first insulation layer [FI] and electrically connected to the first circuit layer (20); and
a second insulation layer (230, FIG. 2A, [0035]) located on the first boundary surface and partially covering the second circuit layer, wherein the second insulation layer bares a first region of the first boundary surface, and the first region is located on a perimeter of the first boundary surface;
an electronic component (21, [0037]) located on the circuit substrate and electrically connected to the circuit substrate; and
a molding compound (25, [0047]) encapsulating the circuit substrate and the electronic component, wherein the molding compound directly touches the first region of the first boundary surface and the second insulation layer [SI].
CHUI fails to teach the first region is located on a perimeter of the first boundary surface to define a recessed region surrounding a side wall of the circuit substrate; and wherein the molding compound directly covers the recessed region to encapsulate the entire side wall of the circuit substrate, whereby the recessed region is filled up with the molding compound.
`575 teaches the first region is located on a perimeter of the first boundary surface to define a recessed region [T] surrounding a side wall of the circuit substrate (110/122/124/140).
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to include the above said teaching for the purpose of improving the radiating efficiency of the substrate as taught by `575, Background.
Moreover, after the combining of `575 and CHUI would teach wherein the molding compound (25 of CHUI) directly touches inner surfaces of the plurality of trenches ([T] of `575), and whereby the recessed region [T] is filled up with the molding compound (25).
Re claim 2, in the combination, CHUI, FIG. 3A [as shown above] teaches the electronic package module of claim 1, wherein the second insulation layer further comprising:
a plurality of trenches [T], wherein the molding compound (25) directly touches inner surfaces of the plurality of trenches, and the plurality of trenches and the first region of the first boundary surface (occupied by 234) are not overlapping.
Re claim 3, in the combination, CHUI, FIG. 3A [as shown above] teaches the electronic package module of claim 2, wherein the inner surfaces of the plurality of trenches [T] comprise a part of the first boundary surface.
Re claim 4, in the combination, CHUI, FIG. 3A [as shown above] teaches the electronic package module of claim 2, wherein the electronic component (21) overlaps a second region of the first boundary surface surrounded by the first region (occupied by 234), and at least one of the plurality of trenches is located between the second region and the first region.
Re claim 6, in the combination, CHUI, FIG. 3A [as shown above] teaches the electronic package module of claim 2, wherein the electronic component covers none of the plurality of trenches [NofT].
Re claim 9, in the combination, CHUI, FIG. 3A [as shown above] teaches the electronic package module of claim 1, wherein the molding compound (25) covers a side wall of the first insulation layer [FI].
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to claims 1-4, 6 and 9 on the remarks filed on 07/20/2026 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TONY TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893