DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 6/25/2026 for US Patent Application No. 18/360853 has been entered and fully considered.
Claims 1-6, 10-17 and 21-26 are currently pending. Claims 1 and 10 have been amended and claims 21-26 are new. Claims 7-9 and 18-20 have been cancelled.
The 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) rejection and the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejections presented in the office action dated 3/27/2026 are withdrawn in view of Applicant’s amendments and arguments.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed 6/25/2026, with respect to the 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) rejection based on Ikebe and the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejections based on Ikebe, Ikebe ‘557, Kim and Oh have been fully considered and are persuasive. The aforementioned rejections have been withdrawn.
Claims 21-26 were newly added in the response filed 6/25/2026. Prior art rejections for new claims 21-26 are provided below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Suzuki et al. (US 2021/0096456 A1), herein referred to as Suzuki.
Regarding claim 21, Suzuki teaches (Figure 8F) a reflective mask comprising a substrate having a first side and a second side opposite the first side 1, a multilayered reflective film 5 formed on the first side of the substrate, a protective film 6 (capping layer) formed on the multilayered reflective film, and an absorber film 7 formed on the protective film.
Suzuki further teaches [0110-0111] the absorber film can be configured to be a multilayered absorber film comprised of a lower absorber film and an upper absorber film and the absorber film (either the lower absorber film or the upper absorber film) may include metals such as palladium (Pd), molybdenum (Mo) or niobium (Nb).
Claims 25 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hsu et al. (US 2022/0382148 A1), herein referred to as Hsu.
Regarding claim 25, Hsu teaches (Figure 1) an EUV mask 100 comprising a substrate 102, a multilayer stack 110 formed on the substrate, a capping layer 120 formed on the multilayer stack, and a patterned absorber layer 140P formed on the capping layer.
Hsu further teaches [0068] the absorber layer may be configured to be one layer. In view of the limitation recited in claim 25 of the single layer being comprised of first and second elements that are homogenously mixed, Hsu teaches [0070] tantalum- based alloys, such as tantalum ruthenium (TaRu), tantalum molybdenum (TaMo), tantalum niobium (TaNb) or tantalum palladium (TaPd), can be included in the absorber layer. Since the first and second elements comprising the tantalum-based alloys are present in equal atomic percentages (50 percent Ta and 50 percent of Ru, Mo, Nb or Pd), the tantalum-based alloys taught by Hsu are considered to be homogenously mixed in the absorber layer.
Regarding claim 26, Hsu teaches [0071] the absorber layer may further be doped with oxygen or nitrogen.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 22-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suzuki et al. (US 2021/0096456 A1), herein referred to as Suzuki.
Regarding claims 22-23, Suzuki teaches [0111-0113] the absorber film may be configured to include tantalum and a metal such as molybdenum (Mo) or niobium (Nb). Regarding claim 24, Suzuki further teaches combinations of metals, such as palladium (Pd) with vanadium (V), titanium (Ti) or niobium (Nb), may be incorporated in the absorber layer.
Since Suzuki teaches the absorber layer may include a multilayered configuration, at the time of the filing date of the instant application, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include metals in a first and second layer of a multilayered absorber film, as specified by the metals for absorber films taught by Suzuki, in order to optimize the EUV light absorbing properties of the absorber film while also improving the etch processing properties of the absorber film. Therefore, claims 22-24 would have been obvious at the time the instant application was filed.
Allowable Subject Matter
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claims 1-6 and 10-17 are considered to be allowable over the prior art of record. The prior art of record does not teach or suggest Applicant’s claimed attenuated phase-shifting mask that included the specified absorber layer configuration recited in claim 1. Claims 2-6 and 10-17 are concurrently allowable because they depend from claim 1.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/STEWART A FRASER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1724