DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-20 are pending in this application.
Information Disclosure Statement
Acknowledgment is made that the information disclosure statement has been received and considered by the examiner. If the applicant is aware of any prior art or any other co-pending applications not already of record, he/she is reminded of his/her duty under 37 CFR 1.56 to disclose the same.
Drawings
There are no objections or rejections to the drawings.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 11, 12 and 14 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Haq et al. (US Patent Application Publication No 10,069,064) hereinafter referred to as Haq.
Per Claim 1 Haq discloses a semiconductor device, (see figure 10A-B) comprising
a substrate (10) with a metal line (bit line, described but shown in figures, see column 5 lines 5-9) embedded in the substrate;
a dielectric layer (80) disposed on the substrate (see column 6 lines 16-20);
a bottom electrode via (37) extending through the dielectric layer and landing on a top surface of the metal line (bit line, described but shown in figures, see column 5 lines 5-9), wherein a lower portion of the bottom electrode via includes a first metal (36 (or 35 either interpretation meets the claim language-see notes for claim 4)), and an upper portion of the bottom electrode via includes a second metal (35 (or 36 either interpretation meets the claim language-see notes for claim 4)) that is different from the first metal; (as described in column 7 lines 15-23)
a bottom electrode (41) disposed on a top surface of the bottom electrode via (see fig 10A-B)
a magnetic tunneling junction stack (42, 43, 44) disposed on a top surface of the bottom electrode; and
a top electrode (45) disposed on the magnetic tunneling junction stack (see figures. 10A-B)
Per Claim 2 Haq discloses the device of claim 1 (see figure 10A-B) including where wherein the bottom electrode via includes a diffusion barrier layer (37) covering at least sidewalls of the upper portion of the bottom electrode via. (see figures. 10A-B)
Per Claim 3 Haq discloses the device of claim 1 (see figure 10A-B) including where the first metal (36 can be Ni, NiCr, Ru, or NiFeCr as described in (column 7, lines 18-20); Ni has resistivity 6.16 x 10-8 Ohm-m at 273K) has a lower resistivity than the second metal (35 can be Ta, TaN, Ti, TiN, as described in (column 7, lines 15-18), Ti has resistivity is 39 x 10-8 Ohm-m at 273K, hence the limitation is anticipated. CRC Handbook ("Electrical Resistivity of Pure Elemental Metals," in CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics, 106th Edition (Internet Version 2025), John R. Rumble, ed., CRC Press/Taylor & Francis, Boca Raton, FL.) is provided as a reference)
Per Claim 4 Haq discloses the device of claim 1 (see figure 10A-B) including where the first metal (35) has a first thickness (t1), and the second metal (36) has a second thickness (t2) that is smaller than the first thickness. (Note, the second interpretation of the first metal (35) and second metal (36) of claim 1 is used here.)
Per Claim 11 Haq discloses a memory device, (see figure 10A-B) comprising
a bottom electrode via (37) including a lower portion and an upper portion (as shown in fig. 10A-B),
wherein the lower portion includes a first metal (35), and the upper portion includes a second metal (36) that is different than the first metal (as described in column 7 lines 15-23);
a bottom electrode (41) disposed on the bottom electrode via; (see fig 10A-B)
a magnetic tunneling junction stack (42, 43, 44) disposed on the bottom electrode, wherein the magnetic tunneling junction stack includes a lower ferromagnetic layer (42), a tunneling barrier layer (43) over the lower ferromagnetic layer, and an upper ferromagnetic layer (44) over the tunneling barrier layer; and
a top electrode (45) disposed on the magnetic tunneling junction stack.
Per Claim 12 Haq discloses the device of claim 11 (see figure 10A-B) including where the first metal (36 can be Ni, NiCr, Ru, or NiFeCr as described in (column 7, lines 18-20); Ni has resistivity 6.16 x 10-8 Ohm-m at 273K) has a lower resistivity than the second metal (35 can be Ta, TaN, Ti, TiN, as described in (column 7, lines 15-18), Ti has resistivity is 39 x 10-8 Ohm-m at 273K, hence the limitation is anticipated. CRC Handbook ("Electrical Resistivity of Pure Elemental Metals," in CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics, 106th Edition (Internet Version 2025), John R. Rumble, ed., CRC Press/Taylor & Francis, Boca Raton, FL.) is provided as a reference)
Per Claim 14 Haq discloses the device of claim 11 (see figure 10A-B) including where the first metal (35) has a first thickness (t1), and the second metal (36) has a second thickness (t2) that is smaller than the first thickness. (Note, the second interpretation of the first metal (35) and second metal (36) of claim 1 is used here.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 6 is rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Haq as above.
Per Claim 6 Haq discloses the device of claim 4 (see figure 10A-B) including the second thickness.
Haq does not teach where the second thickness is not less than about 120 A
Notwithstanding, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been led to the recited dimensions through routine experimentation and optimization. Applicant has not disclosed that the dimensions are for a particular unobvious purpose, produce an unexpected result, or are otherwise critical, and it appears prima facie that the process would possess utility using another dimension. Indeed, it has been held that mere dimensional limitations are prima facie obvious absent a disclosure that the limitations are for a particular unobvious purpose, produce an unexpected result, or are otherwise critical. See, for example, In re Rose, 220 F.2d 459, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955); In re Rinehart, 531 F.2d 1048, 189 USPQ 143 (CCPA 1976); Gardner v. TEC Systems, Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984); In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966). See also MPEP 2144.04(IV)(B).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 5, 7-10, 13 and 15-16 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Claims 17-20 allowed.
Cited Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Applicants are directed to consider additional pertinent prior art included on the Notice of References Cited (PTOL 892) attached herewith.
The Examiner has pointed out particular references contained in the prior art of record within the body of this action for the convenience of the Applicant.
Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply.
Conclusion
/Jami Valentine Miller/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2818