DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 30-37 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 5 February 2026.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a) because they fail to show “bank part BP” and “flat part FP” as described in the specification. Any structural detail that is essential for a proper understanding of the disclosed invention should be shown in the drawing. MPEP § 608.02(d). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 14 recites the limitation of an interlayer insulating layer covering an edge of the auxiliary power line, and having an opening exposing at least a part of the upper surface of the auxiliary power line. However, the interlayer insulating layer in Applicant’s originally-filed drawings is contained below the auxiliary power line (such as shown in at least figure 16) that does not cover an edge of the auxiliary power line not contains an opening that exposes the upper surface of the power line. The only layer that the limitations seem to reference the protective layer, which is a materially different layer.
Claims 15-16 are dependent upon claim 14 and are therefore rejected as well. For examination purposes, any layer that is between the protective layer and the substrate will be considered the interlayer insulating layer.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 7-10, 20-23, 25, and 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Heo et al, US Patent Application Publication 2017/0317154.
Regarding claim 1, Heo teaches a display device comprising:
an auxiliary power line 130 in a display area NEA on a substrate 100;
a protective layer 107 on the substrate, and having an opening exposing at least a part of an upper surface of the auxiliary power line;
a via insulating layer 108/150 in the display area on the protective layer, the via insulating layer having a via contact hole connected to the opening (which is connected at 1800b), and an end part of the via insulating layer including a protrusion protruding toward a center of the via contact hole (which is the portion 150, as shown in figure below); and
a common electrode 122 on the via insulating layer, and electrically connected to the auxiliary power line (figure 5).
Regarding claim 2, Heo teaches the protrusion of the via insulating layer defines an undercut shape together with a first side surface of the opening of the protective layer (figure 5).
Regarding claim 3, Heo teaches a pixel defining layer 150 (left side of figure above) on the via insulating layer, the pixel defining layer extending into the opening of the protective layer, and covering a second side surface of the opening facing the first side surface (figure 5).
Regarding claim 4, Heo teaches the protective layer comprises an inorganic material [0104], and the via insulating layer 108 comprises an organic material [0104].
Regarding claim 5, Heo teaches the common electrode is disconnected by the protrusion (figure 5)
Regarding claims 7-8, Heo teaches a light emitting layer 121 on the via insulating layer and the auxiliary power line, wherein the light emitting layer is disconnected by the protrusion, wherein the common electrode covers a side surface of the light emitting layer (figure 5).
Regarding claim 9, Heo teaches the common electrode directly contacts a part of the upper surface of the auxiliary power line (figure 5).
Regarding claim 10, Heo teaches an organic layer 121 filling an empty space between the auxiliary power line and the protrusion (figure 5)
Regarding claim 20, Heo teaches display device comprising:
an auxiliary power line 130 in a display area on a substrate;
a first protective layer 107 on the substrate, and having an opening exposing at least a part of an upper surface of the auxiliary power line; a second protective layer 108 on the first protective layer, the second protective layer having a contact hole connected to the opening, and an end part of the second protective layer including a protrusion protruding toward a center of the contact hole;
a via insulating layer 150 in the display area on the second protective layer; and
a common electrode 122 on the via insulating layer, and electrically connected to the auxiliary power line (figures 5 and 5).
Regarding claim 21, Heo teaches the protrusion of the second protective layer defines an undercut shape together with a first side surface of the opening of the first protective layer (figure 5).
Regarding claim 22, Heo teaches a pixel defining layer 150 (left side of figure above) on the via insulating layer, the pixel defining layer extending into the opening of the first protective layer, and covering a second side surface of the opening facing the first side surface (figure 5).
Regarding claim 23, Heo teaches the second side surface of the opening has a step (figure 8).
Regarding claim 25, Heo teaches the common electrode is disconnected by the protrusion, and directly contacts a part of the upper surface of the auxiliary power line.
Regarding claim 26, Heo teaches organic layer 121 filling an empty space between the auxiliary power line and the protrusion of the second protective layer (figure 5).
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-11, 20-22, 24, and 26-29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Choi, US Patent Application Publication 2019/0172898
Regarding claim 1, Choi teaches a display device comprising:
an auxiliary power line 116c/117c/120b in in a display area CNA on a substrate 110a;
a protective layer 118/119 on the substrate, and having an opening exposing at least a part of an upper surface of the auxiliary power line;
a via insulating layer 121 in the display area on the protective layer, the via insulating layer having a via contact hole connected to the opening and an end part of the via insulating layer including a protrusion protruding toward a center of the via contact hole; and
a common electrode 123 on the via insulating layer, and electrically connected to the auxiliary power line (figure 7).
Regarding claim 2, Choi teaches the protrusion of the via insulating layer defines an undercut shape together with a first side surface of the opening of the protective layer (figure 7).
Regarding claim 3, Choi teaches a pixel defining layer 121 on the via insulating layer, the pixel defining layer extending into the opening of the protective layer, and covering a second side surface of the opening facing the first side surface (figure 7).
Regarding claim 4, Choi teaches the protective layer 118/119 comprises an inorganic material [0081], and the via insulating layer 121 comprises an organic material [0083].
Regarding claim 6, Choi teaches a bank part covering an edge of the auxiliary power line (part “C” in figure above), and having a second thickness; and a flat part except for the bank part of the protective layer having a first thickness (part “D” in figure above), wherein a first thickness less than the second thickness.
Regarding claims 7-8, Choi teaches a light emitting layer 122 on the via insulating layer and the auxiliary power line, wherein the light emitting layer is disconnected by the protrusion, wherein the common electrode covers a side surface of the light emitting layer (figure 7).
Regarding claim 9, Choi teaches the common electrode directly contacts a part of the upper surface of the auxiliary power line (figure 7).
Regarding claim 10, Chi teaches an organic layer 123 filling an empty space between the auxiliary power line and the protrusion (figure 7)
Regarding claims 11, Choi a lower surface of the protrusion that does not contact the protective layer has a curved shape (figure 7).
Regarding claim 20, Choi teaches display device comprising:
an auxiliary power line 116c/117c/120b in a display area CNA on a substrate 110a;
a first protective layer 118 on the substrate, and having an opening exposing at least a part of an upper surface of the auxiliary power line;
a second protective layer 119 on the first protective layer, the second protective layer having a contact hole connected to the opening, and an end part of the second protective layer including a protrusion protruding toward a center of the contact hole;
a via insulating layer 121 in the display area on the second protective layer; and
a common electrode 123 on the via insulating layer, and electrically connected to the auxiliary power line (figure 7).
Regarding claim 21, Choi teaches the protrusion of the second protective layer defines an undercut shape together with a first side surface of the opening of the first protective layer (figure 7).
Regarding claim 22, Choi teaches a pixel defining layer 121 the via insulating layer, the pixel defining layer extending into the opening of the first protective layer, and covering a second side surface of the opening facing the first side surface (figure 7).
Regarding claim 24, Choi teaches the first and second protective layers comprise an inorganic material [0081], and the via insulating layer comprises an organic material [0083].
Regarding claim 26, Choi teaches organic layer 123 filling an empty space between the auxiliary power line and the protrusion of the second protective layer (figure 7).
Regarding claims 27, Choi teaches a lower surface of the protrusion that does not contact the first protective layer has a curved shape (figure 7).
Reagrding claim 28, Choi a transistor TFT in the display area on the substrate 110a; a pixel electrode 120/120a electrically connected to the transistor; and a cover pattern 117v on the auxiliary power line, the cover pattern being disconnected by the protrusion of the second protective layer, and comprising the same material as that of the pixel electrode (figure 7).
Regarding claim 29, Choi teaches the common electrode is electrically connected to the auxiliary power line through the cover pattern (figure 7).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 12-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi as applied to claims 1 above, and further in view of Won et al, US Patent Application Publication 2021/0028272
Regarding claim 12, Choi teaches an active pattern 112; a gate electrode 114 on the active pattern; a first electrode 116a connected to the active pattern; a second electrode 116b in the same layer as that of the first electrode, and connected to the active pattern; and a pixel electrode connected to the second electrode 120/120a (figures 6 and 7).
Choi fails to teach a lower metal layer in the display area on the substrate, the active pattern is on the lower metal electrode, and the second electrode is connected to the lower electrode
However, Won teaches the use of a bias electrode BSM that is used under the driving thin film transistor T1, in which a lower metal layer BSM in the display area on the substrate, the active pattern A1 is on the lower metal electrode, and the second electrode D1 is connected to the lower electrode (figure 3). The bias electrode may receive a voltage associated with an electric potential of the source electrode S3 of the sensing thin-film transistor T3, and thus, the driving thin-film transistor T1 may be stabilized, which improves the device.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Won with that of Choi because the bias electrode is used to stabilize the driving transistor, which improves the electronic device formed.
Regarding claim 13, Choi teaches the auxiliary power line 116c comprises the same material as that of the first electrode 116a and the second electrode 116b (figure 7).
Regarding claim 14, Choi teaches an interlayer insulating layer 115 between the substrate and the protective layer, the interlayer insulating layer covering an edge of the auxiliary power line, and having an opening exposing at least a part of the upper surface of the auxiliary power line (figure 7)
Regarding claim 15, Choi teaches the opening of the interlayer insulating layer and the opening of the protective layer are connected to each other, and wherein the protrusion of the via insulating layer defines an undercut shape together with a first side surface of the opening of the interlayer insulating layer and a first side surface of the opening of the protective layer (figure 7).
Regarding claim 16, Won teaches the auxiliary power line comprises the same material as that of the gate electrode [0095,0100].
Regarding claim 17, Choi teaches the protrusion of the via insulating layer defines an undercut shape together with a first side surface of the opening of the interlayer insulating layer and a first side surface of the opening of the protective layer (figure 7).
Regarding claims 18-19, Choi teaches a cover pattern 117c on the auxiliary power line, the cover pattern being disconnected by the protrusion of the protective layer, and comprising the same material as that of the pixel electrode, wherein the common electrode is electrically connected to the auxiliary power line through the cover pattern (figure 7).
Conclusion
QVJ
/DALE E PAGE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2899