DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by IKEGAWA (US 20190013460).
Regarding claim 1, IKEGAWA discloses a structure, comprising:
a first heavy metal layer (68, which can include Co, see fig 7, para 74) over a substrate (fig 7, 10, para 53);
a dielectric material (80 can be a dielectric, see fig 7, para 69)l over the first heavy metal layer;
a second heavy metal layer (88 can be Ru or Co, see fig 7, para 77) over the dielectric material and the first heavy metal layer,
wherein one or more of the first heavy metal layer or the second heavy metal layer include diffused elements of the dielectric material (80 and the layers surrounding it can be diffused into each other, see para 78); and
a magnetic tunnel junction structure (the structure comprising layers 22, 30, 32, 34, 36, 50, 62, 64 and 66, see fig 7, para 58, 51, and 68) vertically adjacent to one of the first heavy metal layer or the second heavy metal layer (the MTJ structure is vertically below the first heavy metal layer 68, see fig 7, para 74),
the magnetic tunnel junction structure including a reference layer (the fixed layer 20, see fig 7, para 46), a free layer (the free magnetic layer comprising 62, 64 and 66, see fig 7, para 67) and a tunneling barrier layer (fig 7, 50, para 58) vertically between the reference layer and the free layer, and
the magnetic tunnel junction structure being separate from each of the first heavy metal layer, the dielectric material, and the second heavy metal layer (the MTJ device 22, 30, 32, 34, 36, 50, 62, 64 and 66 are different, separate layers from 68, 80, 86 and 88, see fig 7, para 77).
Regarding claim 2, IKEGAWA discloses the structure of claim 1, wherein the diffused elements include a plurality of molecules of the dielectric material randomly distributed in-plane on a surface of one or more of the first heavy metal layer or the second heavy metal layer (since material of 68 will diffuse into 80, see para 77, and thus will be randomly distributed since diffusion is a random process, see fig 7, para 77).
Regarding claim 3, IKEGAWA discloses the structure of claim 1, wherein the one of the first heavy metal layer or the second heavy metal layer adjacent to the magnetic tunnel junction structure fully overlaps the free layer of the magnetic tunnel junction structure (88 overlaps with the entire free layer 62, 64 and 66, see fig 7).
Regarding claim 4, IKEGAWA discloses the structure of claim 1, wherein the first heavy metal layer and the second heavy metal layer are each thinner than about 10Å (68 can be 1.5 Angstroms thick and 88 can be 5 Angstroms thick, see para 77 and 75).
Regarding claim 5, IKEGAWA discloses the structure of claim 1, wherein an average thickness of the dielectric material is less than about 1Å (80 can be 0.2 Angstroms thick, see para 70).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over IKEGAWA (US 20190013460) in view of MANIPATRUNI (US 20200083427).
Regarding claim 6, IKEGAWA discloses the structure of claim 1.
IKEGAWA fails to explicitly disclose a device, wherein the first heavy metal layer is one or more of tungsten, platinum, or tantalum.
MANIPATRUNI teaches a device, wherein the first heavy metal layer is one or more of tungsten, platinum (733a and b can be Pt, see fig 7D, para 105), or tantalum.
IKEGAWA and MANIPATRUNI are analogous art because they both are directed towards magnetic memory devices and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to modify the device of KIEGAWA with the specific metal of MANIPATRUNI because they are from the same field of endeavor..
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the device of KIEGAWA with the specific metal of MANIPATRUNI in order to provide improved reliability (see MANIPATRUNI para 34).
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over IKIGAWA (US 20190013460) in view of MA (US 20200052192).
Regarding claim 7, IKEGAWA discloses the structure of claim 1.
IKEGAWA fails to explicitly disclose a device, wherein the dielectric material is one or more of magnesium oxide, silicon dioxide, or iron (III) oxide.
MA teaches a device, wherein the dielectric material is one or more of magnesium oxide (403 can be MgO, see fig 1, para 57), silicon dioxide, or iron (III) oxide.
IKEGAWA and MA are analogous art because they both are directed towards magnetic memory devices and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to modify the device of IKEGAWA with the specific material of MA because they are from the same field of endeavor..
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the device of IKEGAWA with the specific material of MA in order to provide high perpendicular magnetic anisotropy (PMA), low damping for lower write voltage, and high tunneling magneto-resistance (TMR) ratio all at the same time (see MA para 46).
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MANIPATRUNI (US 20200083427) in view of MA (US 20200052192).
Regarding claim 8, MANIPATRUNI discloses a structure, comprising:
a spin-orbit torque structure (spin-orbit interconnected 733, see fig 7D and 10, para 105) over a substrate (733 can be located over the substrate 1001, see fig 10A, para 145), the spin-orbit torque layer including a vertical stack of a first heavy metal layer (first layer 733a which can include Ir, Pd or Co, see fig 7D, para 105), a second heavy metal layer (first layer 733b which can include Ir, Pd or Co, see fig 7D, para 105), and a third heavy metal layer (second layer 733a which can include Ir, Pd or Co, see fig 7D, para 105),
a magnetic tunnel junction structure (MTJ structure 721, see fig 10A and 7D, para 97 and 105) vertically adjacent to the spin-orbit torque structure, (721 is above 733, see fig 10A and 7D) the magnetic tunnel junction structure including a reference layer (fixed layer 221c, 221d and 221e, see fig 7D, para 65), a free layer (free magnetic layer 721, see fig 7D, 721, para 98) and a tunneling barrier layer (tunneling dielectric 221b, see fig 7D, 221b, para 63) vertically between the reference layer and the free layer, and the free layer being closer to the spin-orbit torque layer than the reference layer.
MANIPATRUNI fails to explicitly disclose a device wherein a first plurality of molecules of a dielectric material randomly distributed in-plane on a first interface between the first heavy metal layer and the second heavy metal layer, and
a second plurality of molecules of the dielectric material randomly distributed in-plane on a second interface between the second heavy metal layer and the third heavy metal layer.
MA teaches a device wherein a first plurality of molecules of a dielectric material randomly distributed in-plane on a first interface between the first heavy metal layer and the second heavy metal layer (a discontinuous layer of MgO 0.1 Angstroms thick 403, and therefore a scattering of MgO molecules can be disposed between adjacent Ir layers 402 and 404, see fig 1, para 57), and
a second plurality of molecules of the dielectric material randomly distributed in-plane on a second interface between the second heavy metal layer and the third heavy metal layer (a discontinuous layer of MgO 0.1 Angstroms thick 403, and therefore a scattering of MgO molecules can be disposed between adjacent Ir layers 402 and 404, see fig 1, para 57).
MANIPATRUNI and MA are analogous art because they both are directed towards magnetic memory devices and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to modify the device of MANIPATRUNI with the scattered molecules between layers of IR of MA because they are from the same field of endeavor.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the device of MANIPATRUNI with the scattered molecules between layers of IR of MA in order o provide high perpendicular magnetic anisotropy (PMA), low damping for lower write voltage, and high tunneling magneto-resistance (TMR) ratio all at the same time (see MA para 46).
Regarding claim 13, MANIPATRUNI and MA disclose the structure of claim 8.
MANIPATRUNI further discloses a device, wherein the spin-orbit torque structure fully overlaps the free layer of the magnetic tunnel junction structure (733 overlaps the entirety of 721 along a vertical axis, see fig 7D and 10A).
Regarding claim 14, MANIPATRUNI and MA disclose the structure of claim 8.
MANIPATRUNI further discloses a device, wherein the first heavy metal layer, the second heavy metal layer, and the third heavy metal layer are each one or more of tungsten, platinum (all the layers 733a and 733b can be Pt, see para 105), or tantalum.
Regarding claim 15, MANIPATRUNI and MA disclose the structure of claim 8.
MANIPATRUNI fails to explicitly disclose a device, wherein the first plurality of molecules and the second plurality of molecules each include one or more of magnesium oxide, silicon dioxide or iron (III) oxide.
MA teaches a device, wherein the first plurality of molecules and the second plurality of molecules each include one or more of magnesium oxide (403 can be MgO, see fig 1, para 57), silicon dioxide or iron (III) oxide.
MANIPATRUNI and MA are analogous art because they both are directed towards magnetic memory devices and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to modify the device of MANIPATRNI with the material of MA because they are from the same field of endeavor..
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the device of MANIPATRNI with the material of MA in order to provide high perpendicular magnetic anisotropy (PMA), low damping for lower write voltage, and high tunneling magneto-resistance (TMR) ratio all at the same time (see MA para 46).
Regarding claim 16, MANIPATRUNI discloses a device, comprising:
a transistor (the transistor comprising gate electrode 1012, see fig 10A, para 132) over a substrate (fig 10A, 1001, para 134), the transistor having a first source or drain terminal (fig 10A, 1016, para 130), a second source or drain terminal (fig 10A, 1018, para 130) and a gate terminal (fig 10A, 1014, para 130);
a magnetoresistive random access memory cell (721 and 733, see fig 10A and 7D, para 105 and 130) over the transistor, the magnetoresistive random access memory cell including a magnetic tunnel junction structure (fig 10A and 7D, 721, para 132) and a spin-orbit torque structure (fig 10A, 733, para 131) adjacent to the magnetic tunnel junction structure;
a write signal line coupled to the gate terminal (WL 1070, see fig 10A, para 133); a first current node coupled to the first source or drain terminal (SL 1040, see fig 10A, para 135); and
a second current node coupled to a first end of the spin-orbit torque structure (BL 1030 is at least indirectly connected to a top end of 733, see fig 10A, para 135), a second end of the spin-orbit torque structure coupled to the second source or drain terminal (a bottom surface of 733 is directly connected to 1018, see fig 10A),
wherein the spin-orbit torque structure includes: a first heavy metal layer (Ir or Pt layer 733b, see fig 10A and 7D, para 105) and a second heavy metal layer (Ir or Pt layer 733a above 733b, see fig 10A and 7D, para 105) over the first heavy metal layer.
MANIPATRUNI fails to explicitly disclose a device comprising a plurality of molecules of a dielectric material scattered adjacent to an interface between the first heavy metal layer and the second heavy metal layer.
MA teaches a device comprising a plurality of molecules of a dielectric material scattered adjacent to an interface between the first heavy metal layer and the second heavy metal layer (a discontinuous layer of MgO 0.1 Angstroms thick 403, and therefore a scattering of MgO molecules can be disposed between adjacent Ir layers 402 and 404, see fig 1, para 57).
MANIPATRUNI and MA are analogous art because they both are directed towards magnetic memory devices and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to modify the device of MANIPATRUNI with the scattered molecules of MA because they are from the same field of endeavor.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the device of MANIPATRUNI with the scattered molecules of MA in order to provide high perpendicular magnetic anisotropy (PMA), low damping for lower write voltage, and high tunneling magneto-resistance (TMR) ratio all at the same time (see MA para 46).
Regarding claim 17, MANIPATRUNI and MA disclose the device of claim 16.
MANIPATRUNI fails to explicitly disclose a device, wherein the plurality of molecules are positioned randomly in-plane on a surface of the first heavy metal layer and are covered by the second heavy metal layer.
MA teaches a device, wherein the plurality of molecules are positioned randomly in-plane on a surface of the first heavy metal layer and are covered by the second heavy metal layer (403 is positioned on 402 and is covered by 404, see fig 1, para 57).
MANIPATRUNI and MA are analogous art because they both are directed towards magnetic memory devices and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to modify the device of MANIPATRUNI with the scattered molecules of MA because they are from the same field of endeavor.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the device of MANIPATRUNI with the scattered molecules of MA in order to provide high perpendicular magnetic anisotropy (PMA), low damping for lower write voltage, and high tunneling magneto-resistance (TMR) ratio all at the same time (see MA para 46).
Regarding claim 18, MANIPATRUNI and MA disclose the device of claim 16.
MANIPATRUNI fails to explicitly disclose a device, wherein the plurality of molecules are discrete from one another and are positioned on the interface between the first heavy metal layer and the second heavy metal layer.
MA teaches a device, wherein the plurality of molecules are discrete from one another and are positioned on the interface between the first heavy metal layer and the second heavy metal layer (the parts of 403 are separated from each other and are positioned between 402 and 404, see fig 1).
MANIPATRUNI and MA are analogous art because they both are directed towards magnetic memory devices and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to modify the device of MANIPATRUNI with the scattered molecules of MA because they are from the same field of endeavor.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the device of MANIPATRUNI with the scattered molecules of MA in order to provide high perpendicular magnetic anisotropy (PMA), low damping for lower write voltage, and high tunneling magneto-resistance (TMR) ratio all at the same time (see MA para 46).
Regarding claim 20, MANIPATRUNI and MA disclose the device of claim 16.
MANIPATRUNI further discloses a device, wherein the first heavy metal layer and the second heavy metal layer are each one or more of tungsten, platinum (733a and b can be Pt, see fig 7D, para 105), or tantalum.
MANIPATRUNI fails to explicitly disclose a device wherein the plurality of molecules include one or more of magnesium oxide, silicon dioxide, or iron (III) oxide.
MA teaches a device wherein the plurality of molecules include one or more of magnesium oxide (403 can be MgO, see fig 1, para 57), silicon dioxide, or iron (III) oxide.
MANIPATRUNI and MA are analogous art because they both are directed towards magnetic memory devices and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to modify the device of MANIPATRUNI with the scattered molecules of MA because they are from the same field of endeavor.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the device of MANIPATRUNI with the scattered molecules of MA in order to provide high perpendicular magnetic anisotropy (PMA), low damping for lower write voltage, and high tunneling magneto-resistance (TMR) ratio all at the same time (see MA para 46).
Claim(s) 9-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MANIPATRUNI (US 20200083427) in view of MA (US 20200052192) and further in view of IKEGAWA (US 20190013460).
Regarding claim 9, MANIPATRUNI and MA disclose the structure of claim 8.
MANIPATRUNI and MA fails to explicitly disclose a device, wherein the one or more of the first heavy metal layer, the second heavy metal layer, or the third heavy metal layer include diffused elements of the dielectric material.
IKEGAWA teaches a device, wherein the one or more of the first heavy metal layer, the second heavy metal layer, or the third heavy metal layer include diffused elements of the dielectric material (80 and the layers surrounding it can be diffused into each other, see para 78).
MANIPATRUNI, MA and IKEGAWA are analogous art because they both are directed towards magnetic memory devices and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to modify the device of MANIPATRUNI and MA with the diffused elements of IKEGAWA because they are from the same field of endeavor..
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the device of MANIPATRUNI and MA with the diffused elements of IKEGAWA in order to increase perpendicular magnetic anisotropy without decreasing the magnetoresistive effect (see IKEGAWA para 72).
Regarding claim 10, MANIPATRUNI and MA disclose the structure of claim 9.
MANIPATRUNI and MA fails to explicitly disclose a device, wherein the diffused elements include diffused discrete molecules of the dielectric material.
IKEGAWA teaches a device, wherein the diffused elements include diffused discrete molecules of the dielectric material (80 and the layers surrounding it can be diffused into each other, see para 78).
MANIPATRUNI, MA and IKEGAWA are analogous art because they both are directed towards magnetic memory devices and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to modify the device of MANIPATRUNI and MA with the diffused elements of IKEGAWA because they are from the same field of endeavor..
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the device of MANIPATRUNI and MA with the diffused elements of IKEGAWA in order to increase perpendicular magnetic anisotropy without decreasing the magnetoresistive effect (see IKEGAWA para 72).
Regarding claim 11, MANIPATRUNI and MA disclose the structure of claim 9.
MANIPATRUNI and MA fails to explicitly disclose a device, wherein the diffused elements are within one or more of the first heavy metal layer, the second heavy metal layer, or the third heavy metal layer.
IKEGAWA teaches a device, wherein the diffused elements are within one or more of the first heavy metal layer, the second heavy metal layer, or the third heavy metal layer (80 and the layers surrounding it can be diffused into each other, see para 78).
MANIPATRUNI, MA and IKEGAWA are analogous art because they both are directed towards magnetic memory devices and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to modify the device of MANIPATRUNI and MA with the diffused elements of IKEGAWA because they are from the same field of endeavor..
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the device of MANIPATRUNI and MA with the diffused elements of IKEGAWA in order to increase perpendicular magnetic anisotropy without decreasing the magnetoresistive effect (see IKEGAWA para 72).
Regarding claim 19, MANIPATRUNI and MA disclose the device of claim 16.
MANIPATRUNI and MA fails to explicitly disclose a device, wherein the plurality of molecules are diffused into one or more of the first heavy metal layer or the second heavy metal layer.
IKEGAWA teaches a device, wherein the plurality of molecules are diffused into one or more of the first heavy metal layer or the second heavy metal layer (80 and the layers surrounding it can be diffused into each other, see para 78).
MANIPATRUNI, MA and IKEGAWA are analogous art because they both are directed towards magnetic memory devices and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to modify the device of MANIPATRUNI and MA with the diffused elements of IKEGAWA because they are from the same field of endeavor..
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the device of MANIPATRUNI and MA with the diffused elements of IKEGAWA in order to increase perpendicular magnetic anisotropy without decreasing the magnetoresistive effect (see IKEGAWA para 72).
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MANIPATRUNI (US 20200083427) in view of MA (US 20200052192) and IKEGAWA (US 20190013460) and further in view of SUN (US 20190355897).
Regarding claim 12, MANIPATRUNI, IKEGAWA and MA disclose the structure of claim 9.
MANIPATRUNI, IKEGAWA and MA fails to explicitly disclose a device, wherein the first plurality of molecules include a first molecule and a second molecule laterally adjacent to the first molecule, and the second plurality of molecules include a third molecule vertically adjacent to the first molecule, a lateral distance between the first molecule and the second molecule being larger than a vertical distance between the first molecule and the third molecule.
SUN teaches a device, wherein the first plurality of molecules (the molecules of top interfacial layer 130b, see fig 4, para 59) include a first molecule (a molecule of 130b far to the left, see fig 4) and a second molecule laterally adjacent to the first molecule (a molecule of 130b far to the right, see fig 4), and the second plurality of molecules (the molecules of the interfacial layer 130a below the first interfacial layer 130b, see fig 4, para 59) include a third molecule (the molecule of 130a directly below the first molecule of 130b, see fig 4, para 59) vertically adjacent to the first molecule, a lateral distance between the first molecule and the second molecule being larger than a vertical distance between the first molecule and the third molecule (molecules can be chosen such that the distance between two molecules of 130b are farther apart than 130a and 130b are, see fig 4).
MANIPATRUNI, MA, IKEGAWA and SUN are analogous art because they both are directed towards magnetic memory devices and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to modify the device of MANIPATRUNI, MA and IKEGAWA with the scattering distances of SUN because they are from the same field of endeavor..
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the device of MANIPATRUNI, MA and IKEGAWA with the scattering distances of SUN in order to improve dielectric breakdown characteristics (see SUN para 52).
Additionally, parameters such as size or spacing of elements in the art of memory devices are subject to routine experimentation and optimization to achieve the desired device characteristics during fabrication. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to adjust the spacing of the molecules in the device of MANIPATURNI in order to provide improved reliability (see MANIPATRUNI para 34).
Conclusion
/JONAS T BEARDSLEY/Examiner, Art Unit 2811
/SAMUEL A GEBREMARIAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2811