DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-11 and 18-20, in the reply filed on January 20, 2025 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6 and 18-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by Im et al, US 2011/0197812 A1.
Im et al teaches:
Regarding claim 1, a thin film deposition system 200, comprising: a deposition chamber 180 comprising an inlet (pipe connecting precursor conduit 123, 123a and showerhead 184), wherein the inlet is configured to direct a precursor into the deposition chamber 180 in a first direction (vertical); a precursor source 140 container containing a precursor source Sb; and a precursor conduit 123, 123a, wherein the precursor conduit 123, 123a is straight and elongated extending between a proximate end and a distal end along a second direction (horizontal), and wherein the proximate end is directly coupled to an outlet of the precursor source container 140 via pipe 142, and the distal end is directly coupled to the inlet (pipe connecting precursor conduit 123, 123a and showerhead 184) of the deposition chamber, wherein the first direction is different from the second direction. (Figure 2)
Regarding claim 2, the first direction (vertical) is substantially perpendicular to the second direction (horizontal). (Figure 2)
Regarding claim 3, the precursor conduit extends substantially horizontally. (Figure 2)
Regarding claim 4, a primary valve VAL3 installed at a downstream section of the precursor conduit, wherein the primary valve is switched off when a semiconductor fabrication process performed in the deposition chamber is completed.
Regarding claim 5, the semiconductor fabrication process is an atomic layer deposition (ALD) process. (Paragraph 0017)
Regarding claim 6, the outlet 142 of the precursor source container 140 is configured to direct the precursor Sb into the precursor conduit 123, 123a in a third direction (vertical), and the third direction is different from the second direction (horizontal). (Figure 2)
Regarding claim 18, a thin film deposition system 200, comprising: a deposition chamber 180 comprising an inlet (pipe connecting precursor conduit 123, 123a and showerhead 184) extending along a first direction (vertical); a precursor source container 140 comprising an outlet 152 and figured to accommodate a precursor source Sb; a precursor conduit 123, 123a extending along a second direction (horizontal) different from the first direction (vertical) and coupled between the precursor source container 140 and the deposition chamber 180, wherein the precursor conduit 123, 123a is elongated and straight and comprises a proximate end directly coupled to the outlet 142 of the precursor source container 140 and a distal end directly coupled to the inlet (pipe connecting precursor conduit 123, 123a and showerhead 184) of the deposition chamber 180; and a primary valve VAL3 installed at a downstream section of the precursor conduit 123, 123a, wherein the primary valve VAL3 is switched off when a semiconductor fabrication process performed in the deposition chamber is completed, wherein the outlet 142 of the precursor source container 140 extends along a third direction (vertical) different from the second direction (horizontal).
Regarding claim 19, the precursor conduit 123, 123a is elongated and extends substantially horizontally between a proximate end and a distal end, and wherein the proximate end is coupled to the outlet 142 of the precursor source container 140, and the distal end is coupled to the inlet (pipe connecting precursor conduit 123, 123a and showerhead 184) of the deposition chamber 180.
Regarding claim 20, the first direction (vertical) is substantially parallel to the third direction (vertical).
Regarding claim 21, a thin film deposition system 100, comprising: a deposition chamber 180; a precursor source container 140 containing a precursor source Sb; and a precursor conduit 123, coupled between the deposition chamber 180 and the precursor source container 140, wherein the precursor conduit 123, consists of a single straight elongated segment comprising a proximate end directly coupled to an outlet 142 of the precursor source container 123 and a distal end directly coupled to an inlet (pipe connecting precursor conduit 123, 123a and showerhead 184) of the deposition chamber 180, wherein the outlet 142 of the precursor source container 140 extends along a first direction (vertical), the precursor conduit 123 extends along a second direction (horizontal), and the first direction is different from the second direction. (Figure 1)
Regarding claim 22, the inlet (pipe connecting precursor conduit 123, 123a and showerhead 184) of the deposition chamber 180 extends along a third direction (vertical), and the third direction is different from the second direction.
Regarding claim 23, the precursor conduit 123 extends substantially horizontally.
Regarding claim 24, wherein the first direction (vertical) is substantially perpendicular to the second direction (horizontal).
Regarding claim 25, the third direction (vertical) is substantially perpendicular to the second direction (horizontal).
Regarding claim 26, the first direction (vertical) is substantially parallel to the third direction (vertical).
Claims 1, 2, 4-6, and 18, 20-22, and 24-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as anticipated by Sangplug et al, US 2024/0003008 A1.
Sangplug et al teaches:
Regarding claim 1, a thin film deposition system 100, comprising: a deposition chamber 103 comprising an inlet (pipe connecting precursor conduit 187 and showerhead 104), wherein the inlet is configured to direct a precursor into the deposition chamber 103 in a first direction (horizontal); a precursor source 190 container containing a precursor source; and a precursor conduit 187, wherein the precursor conduit 187 is straight and elongated extending between a proximate end and a distal end along a second direction (vertical), and wherein the proximate end is directly coupled to an outlet 197 of the precursor source container 190, and the distal end is directly coupled to the inlet (pipe connecting precursor conduit 187 and showerhead 104) of the deposition chamber, wherein the first direction is different from the second direction. (Figure 1)
Regarding claim 2, the first direction (horizontal) is substantially perpendicular to the second direction (vertical). (Figure 1)
Regarding claim 4, a primary valve 194 installed at a downstream section of the precursor conduit 187, wherein the primary valve is switched off when a semiconductor fabrication process performed in the deposition chamber is completed.
Regarding claim 5, the semiconductor fabrication process is an atomic layer deposition (ALD) process. (Paragraph 0002)
Regarding claim 6, the outlet 197 of the precursor source container 190 is configured to direct the precursor into the precursor conduit 187 in a third direction (horizontal), and the third direction is different from the second direction (vertical). (Figure 1)
Regarding claim 18, a thin film deposition system 100, comprising: a deposition chamber 103 comprising an inlet (pipe connecting precursor conduit 187 and showerhead 104) extending along a first direction (horizontal); a precursor source container 190 comprising an outlet 197 and figured to accommodate a precursor source; a precursor conduit 187 extending along a second direction (vertical) different from the first direction (horizontal) and coupled between the precursor source container 190 and the deposition chamber 103, wherein the precursor conduit 187 is elongated and straight and comprises a proximate end directly coupled to the outlet 197 of the precursor source container 190 and a distal end directly coupled to the inlet (pipe connecting precursor conduit 187 and showerhead 104) of the deposition chamber 103; and a primary valve 194 installed at a downstream section of the precursor conduit 187 wherein the primary valve 194 is switched off when a semiconductor fabrication process performed in the deposition chamber is completed, wherein the outlet 197 of the precursor source container 190 extends along a third direction (horizontal) different from the second direction (vertical).
Regarding claim 20, the first direction (horizontal) is substantially parallel to the third direction (horizontal).
Regarding claim 21, a thin film deposition system 100, comprising: a deposition chamber 103; a precursor source container 190 containing a precursor source; and a precursor conduit 187, coupled between the deposition chamber 103 and the precursor source container 190, wherein the precursor conduit 187, consists of a single straight elongated segment (segment between valve 194 and inlet comprising a proximate end directly coupled to an outlet (outlet of valve 194) of the precursor source container 190 and a distal end directly coupled to an inlet (pipe connecting precursor conduit 187 and showerhead 104) of the deposition chamber 103, wherein the outlet of the precursor source container 190 extends along a first direction (horizontal), the precursor conduit 187 extends along a second direction (vertical), and the first direction is different from the second direction. (Figure 1)
Regarding claim 22, the inlet (pipe connecting precursor conduit 187 and showerhead 104) of the deposition chamber 103 extends along a third direction (horizontal), and the third direction is different from the second direction.
Regarding claim 24, wherein the first direction (horizontal) is substantially perpendicular to the second direction (vertical).
Regarding claim 25, the third direction (horizontal) is substantially perpendicular to the second direction (vertical).
Regarding claim 26, the first direction (horizontal) is substantially parallel to the third direction (horizontal).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Im et al, US 2011/0197812 A1, in view of Kesala, US 20010042523 A1.
Im et al was discussed above.
Im et al differs from the present invention in that Im et al does not teach:
Regarding claim 7, a first pressure sensor configured to measure a first pressure at an upstream side of the primary valve; and a second pressure sensor configured to measure a second pressure at a downstream side of the primary valve; and wherein the primary valve is switched off when the second pressure is higher than the first pressure.
Regarding claim 8, a supplemental carrier gas conduit coupled to the precursor conduit at a joint, wherein supplemental carrier gas is delivered to the precursor conduit through the supplemental carrier gas conduit, and the joint is disposed between the primary valve and the outlet of the precursor source container.
Regarding claim 9, a pressure of the supplemental carrier gas in the supplemental carrier gas conduit is higher than an atmosphere (atm).
Regarding claim 10, a carrier gas source configured to provide a carrier gas; and a mass flow controller in gas communication with the carrier gas source and the precursor source container; and wherein the mass flow controller is further coupled to the supplemental carrier gas conduit and configured to adjust the pressure of the supplemental carrier gas in the supplemental carrier gas conduit.
Kesala teaches:
Regarding claim 7, a first pressure sensor configured to measure a first pressure at an upstream side of the primary valve; and a second pressure sensor configured to measure a second pressure at a downstream side of the primary valve (See Figure 2 above).
Regarding claim 8, a supplemental carrier gas conduit coupled to the precursor conduit, wherein supplemental carrier gas is delivered to the precursor conduit through the supplemental carrier gas conduit. (See Figure 2 above)
Regarding claim 9, a pressure of the supplemental carrier gas in the supplemental carrier gas conduit is higher than an atmosphere (atm). The specific pressure the supplemental carrier gas is supplied is an intended use of the apparatus. It has been held that: “Apparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does” (Emphasis in original) Hewlett-Packard Co. V. Bausch & Lomb Inc., 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990); and a claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus “if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987). Also see MPEP 2114. The apparatus of Kesala teaches all of the claimed structure and is capable of functioning in the claimed manner. Thus the limitation does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from Kesala.
Regarding claim 10, a carrier gas source configured to provide a carrier gas; and a mass flow controller in gas communication with the carrier gas source and the precursor source container; and wherein the mass flow controller is further coupled to the supplemental carrier gas conduit and configured to adjust the pressure of the supplemental carrier gas in the supplemental carrier gas conduit. (See Figure 2 above)
The motivation for adding the pressure sensors, carrier gas, mass flow controller, and carrier gas conduit to the apparatus of Im et al is to detect the pressure in the precursor conduit and to supply and control the flow of a carrier gas to the precursor conduit as taught by Kesala. Furthermore, it has been held that applying a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results is obvious (see KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc.).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the invention was effectively filed to add the pressure sensors, carrier gas, mass flow controller, and carrier gas conduit to the apparatus of Im et al as taught by Kesala.
Regarding claim 7, the limitation “wherein the primary valve is switched off when the second pressure is higher than the first pressure” is an intended use of the apparatus. It has been held that: “Apparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does” (Emphasis in original) Hewlett-Packard Co. V. Bausch & Lomb Inc., 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990); and a claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus “if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987). Also see MPEP 2114. The apparatus of Im et al and Kesala teaches all of the claimed structure and is capable of functioning in the claimed manner. Thus the limitation does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from Im et al and Kesala.
Regarding claim 9, the specific pressure the supplemental carrier gas is supplied is an intended use of the apparatus. It has been held that: “Apparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does” (Emphasis in original) Hewlett-Packard Co. V. Bausch & Lomb Inc., 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990); and a claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus “if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987). Also see MPEP 2114. The apparatus of Im et al and Kesala teaches all of the claimed structure and is capable of functioning in the claimed manner. Thus the limitation does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from Im et al and Kesala.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mi et al and Kesala as applied to claims 7-10 above, and further in view of Morozumi et al, TW 201245485 A.
Mi et al and Kesala differs from the present invention in that they do not teach a compressor configured to increase the pressure of the supplemental carrier gas in the supplemental carrier gas conduit.
Morozumi et al teaches a compressor 32b configured to increase the pressure of the carrier gas in the carrier gas conduit 32.
The motivation for adding the compressor of Morozumi et al to the supplemental carrier gas conduit of Mi et al and Kesala is to increase the pressure of the supplemental carrier gas in the supplemental carrier gas conduit as taught by Morozumi et al. Furthermore, it has been held that applying a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results is obvious (see KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc.).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to add the compressor of Morozumi et al to the supplemental carrier gas conduit of Mi et al and Kesala as taught by Morozumi et al.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed May 6, 2026, with respect to the rejections of record have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejections have been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, new grounds of rejection made in view of Im et al, US 2011/0197812 A1, and Sangplug et al, US 2024/0003008 A1.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The cited art teaches the technological background of the invention. The cited art contains patents that could be used to reject the claims under 35 USC § 102 or 103. These rejections have not been made because they do not provide any additional or different teachings, and if they were applied, would have resulted in an undue multiplication of references. (See MPEP 707.07(g))
The following reference could be used to reject at least claims 1, 18, and 21 under 102: US 12577666 B2.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Jeffrie R Lund/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1716