DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of group I, claims 1-14, 21-26 in the reply filed on 11/21/25 is acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements filed 1/24/25; 8/1/23 have been considered.
Oath/Declaration
Oath/Declaration filed on 8/1/23 has been considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Chen et al. (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2024/0413028).
Referring to figures 1-20, Chen et al. teaches method of manufacturing a semiconductor device, the method comprising:
singulating a first wafer to separate a first die of the first wafer from a second die of the first wafer (see paragraph# 18);
bonding the first die (50a) and the second die (50b) to a first side of a second wafer, (110) wherein after bonding the first die and the second die to the first side of the second wafer, a gap is disposed between the first die and the second die, wherein a first dielectric layer (62/122) of each of the first die and the second die is directly bonded to a second dielectric layer (62/122) of the second wafer, and wherein a first portion of the gap has a first width that is larger than a second width of a second portion of the gap (see figures 3, 19, paragraph# 28, 62-63);
depositing a third dielectric layer (130) on top surfaces and sidewalls of the first die and the second die, as well as on a bottom surface within the gap;
forming a molding material (132, 134) over the third dielectric layer to fill the gap;
performing a planarization process to expose top surfaces of the first die and the second die (see figures 6, 19); and
coupling a package substrate to a second side of the second wafer using conductive connectors, the second side of the second wafer being an opposite side of the second wafer as the first side of the second wafer (see figures 9, 19).
Regarding to claim 2, the third dielectric layer comprises silicon oxide, silicon oxynitride, silicon carbon nitride or tetraethyl orthosilicate (see paragraph# 33).
Regarding to claim 3, wherein a thickness of the third dielectric layer is in a range from 0.1 µm to 2 µm (see paragraph# 33).
Regarding to claim 4, wherein a material of the third dielectric layer (SiO2, see paragraph# 33) is different from a material of the first dielectric layer and the second dielectric layer (PSG, see paragraph# 21).
Regarding to claim 5, wherein performing the planarization process further comprises removing a portion of the third dielectric layer and a portion of the molding material, wherein after performing the planarization process, the top surfaces of the first die and the second die are level with top surfaces of the third dielectric layer and the molding material (see figures 6-19, paragraphs# 38).
Regarding to claim 6, after performing the planarization process, attaching a carrier substrate to the top surfaces of the first die and the second die, and the planarized surfaces of the third dielectric layer and the molding material; and thinning a back side of a substrate of the second wafer to expose through substrate vias (TSVs) within the second wafer (see figure 8, paragraph# 42).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 8-11, 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2024/0413028) in view of Chen et al. (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2021/0375826).
Referring to figures 1-20, Chen et al. teaches a method of manufacturing a semiconductor device, the method comprising:
bonding the first die (50a) and the second die (50b) to a first side of a second wafer, (110) wherein after bonding the first die and the second die to the first side of the second wafer, a gap is disposed between the first die and the second die, , and wherein a first portion of the gap has a first width that is larger than a second width of a second portion of the gap (see figures 3, 19, paragraph# 28, 62-63);
depositing a first dielectric layer (130) on top surfaces and sidewalls of the first die and the second die, as well as on a bottom surface within the gap;
forming a molding material (132, 134) over the third dielectric layer to fill the gap;
planarizing the molding material such that the top surface of the molding material is level with top surfaces of the adjacent dies of the plurality of dies (see figures 6, 19).
However, the reference does not clearly teach a gap is disposed between adjacent dies of the plurality of dies, wherein a top portion of the gap has a larger width than a width of a bottom portion of the gap (in claim 8).
Chen et al. teaches a gap is disposed between adjacent dies of the plurality of dies, wherein a top portion of the gap has a larger width than a width of a bottom portion of the gap (see figure 2d).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the requisite art at the time of the invention was file would form a gap is disposed between adjacent dies of the plurality of dies, wherein a top portion of the gap has a larger width than a width of a bottom portion of the gap in Chen et al. as taught by Chen et al. because the process is known in the art provide isolation between the dies.
Regarding to claim 9, wherein the first dielectric layer (130) isolates the molding material from the sidewalls of the adjacent dies, and from a top surface of the wafer within the gap.
(see figure 6).
Regarding to claim 10, wherein a thickness of the first dielectric layer is in a range from 0.1 µm to 2 µm (see paragraph# 33).
Regarding to claim 11, planarizing the first dielectric layer such that a top surface of the first dielectric layer is level with the top surface of the molding material and the top surfaces of the adjacent dies of the plurality of dies (see figures 6, 19).
Regarding to claim 14, the first dielectric layer comprises an oxide (see paragraph# 33).
Claim 12-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2024/0413028) in view of Chen et al. (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2021/0375826) as applied to claims 8-11, 14 above, further in view of Chiu et al. (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2017/0323840).
Referring to figures 1-20, Chen et al. teaches a method of manufacturing a semiconductor device, the method comprising:
bonding the first die (50a) and the second die (50b) to a first side of a second wafer, (110) wherein after bonding the first die and the second die to the first side of the second wafer, a gap is disposed between the first die and the second die, and wherein a first portion of the gap has a first width that is larger than a second width of a second portion of the gap (see figures 3, 19, paragraph# 28, 62-63);
depositing a first dielectric layer (130) on top surfaces and sidewalls of the first die and the second die, as well as on a bottom surface within the gap;
forming a molding material (132, 134) over the third dielectric layer to fill the gap;
planarizing the molding material such that the top surface of the molding material is level with top surfaces of the adjacent dies of the plurality of dies (see figures 6, 19).
However, the reference does not clearly teach each of the plurality of dies comprises: a top portion having a first width; and a bottom portion having a second width, the second width being larger than the first width (in claim 12).
Chiu et al. teaches each of the plurality of dies comprises: a top portion having a first width; and a bottom portion having a second width, the second width being larger than the first width (see figure 3a).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the requisite art at the time of the invention was file would each of the plurality of dies comprises: a top portion having a first width; and a bottom portion having a second width, the second width being larger than the first width in Chen et al. as taught by Chiu et al. because the process is known in the art reduce the stress suffered by the molded device dies (see paragraph# 46).
Chen et al. teaches Regarding to claim 13, after planarizing the molding material, the first dielectric layer (130) is in physical contact with top surfaces of the bottom portion of each of the plurality of dies (50a, 50b, see figure 19).
Claims 7, 21, 23-26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2024/0413028) in view of Wu et al. (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2024/0096848).
Referring to figures 4-20, Chen et al. teaches a method of manufacturing a semiconductor device, the method comprising:
singulating a first wafer to separate a first die of the first wafer from a second die of the first wafer (see paragraph# 18);
bonding the first die (50a) and the second die (50b) to a first side of a second wafer, (110) wherein after bonding the first die and the second die to the first side of the second wafer, a gap is disposed between the first die and the second die, , and wherein a first portion of the gap has a first width that is larger than a second width of a second portion of the gap (see figures 3, 19, paragraph# 28, 62-63);
depositing a first dielectric layer (130) on top surfaces of the first die and the second die, and on sidewalls of the first dies and the second die within the gap, wherein the first dielectric layer fill a bottom portion of the gap; and
forming a molding material (132, 134) over the first dielectric layer to fill top portion of the gap (see figures 6, 19).
However, the reference does not clearly teach wherein singulating the first wafer comprises: performing a plasma dicing process on a first side of the first wafer to form a first groove and a second groove that are disposed between adjacent sidewalls of the first die and the second die; and performing a blade dicing process on a second side of the first wafer to form a trench, wherein the trench overlaps and connects to the first groove and the second groove.
Wu et al. teaches singulating the first wafer comprises: performing a plasma dicing process on a first side of the first wafer to form a first groove and a second groove that are disposed between adjacent sidewalls of the first die and the second die; and performing a blade dicing process on a second side of the first wafer to form a trench, wherein the trench overlaps and connects to the first groove and the second groove (see paragraphs# 11, figures 1-7, meeting claims 7, 21).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was filed would performing a plasma dicing process on a first side of the first wafer to form a first groove and a second groove that are disposed between adjacent sidewalls of the first die and the second die; and performing a blade dicing process on a second side of the first wafer to form a trench, wherein the trench overlaps and connects to the first groove and the second groove in Chen et al. as taught by Wu et al. because it would reduce damage and less physical impact to the bonding layer (see paragraph# 11).
Regarding to claim 23, the first dielectric layer (130) isolates the molding material from the sidewalls of the adjacent dies, and from a top surface of the wafer within the gap.
(see figure 6).
Regarding to claim 24, the first dielectric layer comprises an oxide (see paragraph# 33).
Regarding to claim 25, wherein a thickness of the first dielectric layer is in a range from 0.1 µm to 2 µm (see paragraph# 33).
Regarding to claim 26, planarizing the first dielectric layer such that a top surface of the first dielectric layer is level with a top surface of the molding material and top surfaces of the first die and the second die (see figures 6, 19).
Claim 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2024/0413028) in view of Wu et al. (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2024/0096848) as applied to claims 21, 23-26, and further in view of Chen et al. (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2021/0375826).
Referring to figures 1-20, Chen et al. teaches a method of manufacturing a semiconductor device, the method comprising:
bonding the first die (50a) and the second die (50b) to a first side of a second wafer, (110) wherein after bonding the first die and the second die to the first side of the second wafer, a gap is disposed between the first die and the second die, , and wherein a first portion of the gap has a first width that is larger than a second width of a second portion of the gap (see figures 3, 19, paragraph# 28, 62-63);
depositing a first dielectric layer (130) on top surfaces and sidewalls of the first die and the second die, as well as on a bottom surface within the gap;
forming a molding material (132, 134) over the third dielectric layer to fill the gap;
performing a planarization process to expose top surfaces of the first die and the second die (see figures 6, 19); and
coupling a package substrate to a second side of the second wafer using conductive connectors, the second side of the second wafer being an opposite side of the second wafer as the first side of the second wafer (see figures 9, 19).
However, the reference does not clearly teach a gap is disposed between adjacent dies of the plurality of dies, wherein a top portion of the gap has a larger width than a width of a bottom portion of the gap (in claim 8).
Chen et al. teaches a gap is disposed between adjacent dies of the plurality of dies, wherein a top portion of the gap has a larger width than a width of a bottom portion of the gap (see figure 2d).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the requisite art at the time of the invention was file would form a gap is disposed between adjacent dies of the plurality of dies, wherein a top portion of the gap has a larger width than a width of a bottom portion of the gap in Chen et al. as taught by Chen et al. because the process is known in the art provide isolation between the dies.
Conclusion
/THANH T NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893