DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendments/Arguments
Amendments made to claims 1, 12 and 18-20, filed on February 4, 2026, are acknowledged.
The amendments made to claims 1, 12 and 18 have overcome the previous rejections to the claims and their dependent claims under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as set forth in the Office Action mailed on September 15, 2025
Amendments made to claims 19-20 are responsive. The previous objection to the claims, as set forth in the Office Action mailed on September 15, 2025, has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to amended claims have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to new ground(s) of rejection in this Office Action necessitated by the amendments made to the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 -10 and 12-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Venkatasubramanian et al. (US20210407801).
Regarding claim 1, Venkatasubramanian discloses a method of processing a substrate (abstract), comprising: flowing a deposition gas comprising a hydrocarbon compound and an etchant species into a processing volume of a process chamber having the substrate positioned on an electrostatic chuck (hydrogen radical reads on an etchant species, paragraphs 0023 and 0028-0029 and abstract); generating a plasma at the substrate by applying a first RF bias to the electrostatic chuck to deposit a diamond-like carbon film on the substrate (paragraph 0028), wherein the diamond-like carbon film comprises a sp2 carbon content and a sp3 carbon content (paragraph 0029); etching a portion of the diamond-like carbon film, wherein the etching is selective to the sp2 carbon content such that the diamond-like carbon film comprises more of the sp3 carbon content than the sp2 carbon content (paragraph 0029); doping the diamond-like carbon film with a metal dopant to form a doped diamond-like carbon film (paragraph 0024 and claim 3); and thermally annealing the metal dopant to the doped diamond-like carbon film (heating and maintaining substrate temperature at about 400oC reads on annealing, paragraph 0025).
Regarding claim 2, Venkatasubramanian discloses wherein the doped diamond-like carbon film has a density of greater than or equal to about 2.5 g/cc (claim 2).
Regarding claim 3, Venkatasubramanian discloses wherein the doped diamond-like carbon film has an atomic percent of metal from about 0.1 atomic percent to about 20 atomic percent (claims 3 and 7).
Regarding claims 5-6, Venkatasubramanian discloses wherein the metal dopant comprises tungsten (claim 3).
Regarding claim 7, Venkatasubramanian discloses wherein the deposition gas further comprises helium, argon, neon, nitrogen (N2), hydrogen (H2), or any combination thereof (claim 10).
Regarding claim 8, Venkatasubramanian discloses wherein the processing volume is maintained at a pressure of about 50mTorr (paragraph 0026).
Regarding claim 9, Venkatasubramanian discloses wherein the doped diamond-like carbon film has an elastic modulus of greater than 150 GPa (claim 12).
Regarding claim 10, Venkatasubramanian discloses wherein thermally annealing the doped diamond-like carbon film includes heating the processing chamber to a temperature of about 400 degrees Celsius (paragraph 0025).
Regarding claim 12, Venkatasubramanian discloses a method of processing a substrate (abstract) , comprising: flowing a deposition gas comprising a hydrocarbon compound (paragraph 0023), an etchant species (hydrogen radical reads on an etchant species, paragraph 0029), and a metal dopant into a processing volume of a process chamber having the substrate positioned on an electrostatic chuck (paragraphs 0024 and 0028 and claim 3), wherein the processing volume is maintained at a pressure of about 1 mTorr to about 10 Torr (paragraph 0026), generating a plasma at the substrate by applying a first RF bias to the electrostatic chuck to deposit a doped diamond-like carbon film on the substrate formed by the hydrocarbon compound and the metal dopant (abstract and paragraph 0028), wherein the doped diamond-like carbon film comprises a sp2 carbon content and a sp2 carbon content (paragraph 0029); etching a portion of the doped diamond-like carbon film, wherein the etching is selective to the sp2 carbon content such that the doped diamond-like carbon film comprises more of the sp3 carbon content than the sp2 carbon content (paragraph 0029); and thermally annealing the doped diamond-like carbon film (heating and maintaining substrate temperature at about 400oC reads on annealing, paragraph 0025), wherein the doped diamond-like carbon film comprises about 0.1 atomic percent to about 20 atomic percent of metal (claims 3 and 7).
Regarding claim 13, Venkatasubramanian discloses wherein the metal dopant comprises tungsten (claim 3).
Regarding claim 14, Venkatasubramanian discloses wherein the hydrocarbon compound comprises ethyne (paragraph 0023).
Regarding claim 15, Venkatasubramanian discloses wherein the deposition gas further comprises at least one of helium, argon, neon, nitrogen (N2), or hydrogen (H2) (claim 10).
Regarding claim 16, Venkatasubramanian discloses wherein the doped diamond-like carbon film has an elastic modulus of greater than 150 GPa (claim 12).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Venkatasubramanian et al. (US20210407801) as applied to claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 11, Venkatasubramanian is silent about wherein thermally annealing the doped diamond- like carbon film is performed for about 2 minutes to about 10 minutes. However, optimizing a process step time is a routine task performed by one of ordinary skill in the art. Additionally, where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable range by routine experimentation and there is no evidence of the criticality of the claimed range. See MPEP 2144.05 II.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Venkatasubramanian et al. (US20210407801) as applied to claim 12 above.
Regarding claim 17, Venkatasubramanian is silent about wherein thermally annealing the doped diamond-like carbon film is performed for about 2 minutes to about 10 minutes. However, optimizing a process step time is a routine task performed by one of ordinary skill in the art. Additionally, where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable range by routine experimentation and there is no evidence of the criticality of the claimed range. See MPEP 2144.05 II.
Claims 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Venkatasubramanian et al. (US20210407801).
Regarding claim 18, Venkatasubramanian discloses a method of processing a substrate (abstract), comprising: flowing a deposition gas comprising a hydrocarbon compound (paragraph 0023), an etchant species (hydrogen radical reads on an etchant species, paragraph 0029), and a metal dopant into a processing volume of a process chamber having the substrate positioned on an electrostatic chuck (paragraphs 0024 and 0028 and abstract), wherein the electrostatic chuck comprises a chucking electrode and an RF electrode separate from the chucking electrode (paragraph 0050), wherein the processing volume is maintained at a pressure of about 1 mTorr to about 10 Torr (paragraph 0026), generating a plasma at the substrate by applying a first RF bias to the RF electrode to deposit a doped diamond-like carbon film on the substrate formed by the hydrocarbon compound and the metal dopant (paragraph 0028 and abstract), wherein the doped diamond-like carbon film has a density of greater than 2.5 g/cc (claim 2) and the doped diamond-like carbon film comprises a sp2 carbon content and a sp3 carbon content (paragraph 0029); etching a portion of the doped diamond-like carbon film, wherein the etching is selective to the sp2 carbon content such that the diamond-like carbon film comprises more of the sp3 carbon content than the sp2 carbon content (paragraph 0029); thermally annealing the doped diamond-like carbon film at a temperature of about 400 degrees Celsius (paragraph 0025); forming a patterned photoresist layer over the doped diamond-like carbon film (paragraph 0053); etching the doped diamond-like carbon film in a pattern corresponding with the patterned photoresist layer (paragraph 0053); and etching the pattern into the substrate (paragraph 0053). Venkatasubramanian is silent about wherein thermally annealing the doped diamond-like carbon film is performed for about 2 minutes to about 10 minutes. However, optimizing a process step time is a routine task performed by one of ordinary skill in the art. Additionally, where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable range by routine experimentation and there is no evidence of the criticality of the claimed range. See MPEP 2144.05 II.
Regarding claim 19, Venkatasubramanian discloses wherein the doped diamond-like carbon film has an elastic modulus of greater than 150 GPa (claim 12).
Regarding claim 20, Venkatasubramanian discloses Venkatasubramanian discloses wherein the doped diamond-like carbon film has an atomic percent of metal from about 0.1 atomic percent to about 20 atomic percent (claims 3 and 7).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office Action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to JIONG-PING LU whose telephone number is (571) 270-1135. The examiner can normally be reached on M-F: 9:00am – 5:00pm. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Joshua L Allen, can be reached at telephone number (571)270-3176. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/JIONG-PING LU/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1713