DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Specie A (Claims 1-11) in the reply filed on 1/5/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that a search would yield a limited number of references for examination. This is not found persuasive because the two inventions are classified in different classes, and raise new issues with respect to the search and patentability of their different claimed limitations. Rejoinder issues will be addressed upon indication of allowable subject matter.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Venkatasubramanian et al (US 2018/0358222).
With respect to Claim 1, Venkatasubramanian et al discloses a method of processing a substrate (Figure 3) , comprising: flowing a deposition gas comprising a hydrocarbon compound into a processing volume of a process chamber having a substrate positioned on an electrostatic chuck (Figure 3, 340 and Claim 1); and generating a plasma at the substrate by applying a first RF bias to the electrostatic chuck to deposit a diamond-like carbon field on the substrate (Figure 3, 330 and Claim 1); doping the diamond-like carbon film with a hydrogen dopant to form a doped diamond-like carbon film (paragraph 27, a foreign atom , hydrogen, is introduced into the film to break up sp2 bonds (double bonds) and form sp3 bonds (carbon single bonds)) ; and thermally treating the hydrogen dopant to the doped diamond=like carbon film (paragraph 40). See Figures 1A and 3 and corresponding text, especially paragraphs 36-50.
Venkatasubramanian et al differs from the Claims at hand in that it discloses a temperature of between -50 and 600 degrees Celcius, and does not require thermally annealing.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective date of the invention, to arrive at the presently claimed limitations as the temperature range of Venkatasubramanian et al (-50 to 600 degrees Celcius) overlaps Applicants’ annealing range (300 to 500 degrees Celcius). Overlapping ranges are prima facie obvious. See In re Wertheim 191USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976). It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that heating the same material at the same temperature, would result in annealing.
With respect to Claim 2, Venkatasubramanian et al disclose the doped diamond-like carbon film has a density of greater than or equal to about 2.5 g/cc. See paragraph 51.
With respect to Claim 3, Venkatasubramanian et al disclose wherein the doped diamond-like carbon film comprises a stress profile of about -100MPa to about 100 MPA. See Claim 1.
With respect to Claim 4, and the limitation “wherein the doped diamond like carbon film has an atomic percent of hydrogen from about 0.01 atomic percent to about 30 atomic percent”, as the same process steps and reactants are disclosed, changes in concentration would be within the skill of one of ordinary skill in the art, in the absence of unobvious results. See In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (CCPA 1955). .
With respect to Claim 5, Venkatasubramanian et al disclose wherein the hydrogen dopant comprises at least H2. See paragraphs 72 and 74.
With respect to Claim 6, Venkatasubramanian et al disclose wherein the hydrocarbon compound comprises norbornene. See paragraph 67.
With respect to Claim 7, Venkatasubramanian et al disclose wherein the deposition gas further comprises helium or hydrogen. See paragraph 72.
With respect to Claim 8, Venkatasubramanian et al disclose wherein the processing volume is maintained at a pressure of about 5mToo to about 100 mTorr. See Claim 1 .
With respect to Claim 9, Venkatasubramanian et al disclose wherein the doped diamond-like carbon film has an elastic modulus of greater than 150 GPa. See paragraph 51.
With respect to Claim 10, Venkatasubramanian et al disclose an overlapping range for the limitation “wherein thermally annealing the doped diamond-like carbon film includes heating the processing chamber to a temperature of about 300 to about 500 degrees Celcius”. Overlapping ranges are prima facie obvious. See In re Wertheim 191USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976).
With respect to Claim 11, and the limitation “wherein thermally annealing the doped diamond-like carbon film is performed for about 2 minutes to about 10 minutes”, the amount of time a process is performed would be prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art in the absence of unobvious results, as where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. See Allen et al v. Coe, 57 USPQ 136..
Conclusion
AGG
January 23, 2026
/ALEXANDER G GHYKA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2812