DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
The examiner acknowledges amendments made to claims 1, 2, and 8 in the reply dated 10 April 2026. Claims 4 through 6 and 9 through 20 were previously withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung (US 20200152896 A1, hereinafter “Jung”), in view of Lai et al (CN 218181774 U, hereinafter “Lai”).
Regarding Claim 1 – Jung discloses a display device comprising: a display substrate (110 Jung [0084] and Fig. 3) including a display area (DA Jung [0062] and Fig. 2), a pixel in the display area (PX Jung [0062] and Fig. 2), a pad area adjacent to the display area (NDA1 Jung [0063] and Fig. 2), and a pad in the pad area (140 Jung [0064] and Fig. 2); a driving chip on the display substrate (130 Jung [0064] and Fig. 2), in the pad area; and a circuit board (FPC Jung [0072] and Fig. 2) which is on the display substrate and electrically connected to the display substrate at the pad (Jung [0072] and Fig. 2)
Jung fails to disclose a circuit board directly electrically connected to the display substrate at the pad the circuit board defining a groove of the circuit board and covering the driving chip at the groove.
However, Lai discloses a circuit board which is on the display substrate (104 [n0047] and Fig. 5) and directly electrically connected to the display substrate at the pad ([0035]), the circuit board defining a groove of the circuit board and covering the driving chip at the groove (V in 104 covering 103 [n0048] and Fig. 5).
Lai discloses a similar display panel to Jung. Lai teaches directly electrically connecting a circuit board with a groove to the display substrate to cover and protect the driver IC (Lai [n0048]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Jung and Lai to directly electrically connect a circuit board with a groove to the display substrate to cover and protect the driver IC.
Regarding Claim 2 – Jung modified by Lai discloses all the limitations of claim 1.
The combination of Jung and Lai further discloses the circuit board includes: a connection part (170 Jung [0075] and Fig. 2) which electrically connects the circuit board to the pad of the display substrate (Jung [0076] and Fig. 2), and the connection part is within a planar area of the circuit board (connection at planar 104 on side of 102 away from 101, Lai [n0047] and Fig. 5).
Regarding Claim 3 – Jung modified by Lai discloses all the limitations of claim 1.
The combination of Jung and Lai further discloses an inner wall of the circuit board defines the groove of the circuit board, and the driving chip is in the groove of the circuit board and is spaced apart from the inner wall of the circuit board (Space observed between inner wall and driving chip in Lai Fig. 5, [n0040]).
Regarding Claim 8 – Jung modified by Lai discloses all the limitations of claim 1.
The combination of Jung and Lai further discloses the display substrate further includes: a first area including the pixel (Area1 in annotated Jung Fig. 5); a second area which extends from the first area (BA Jung [0063] and Fig. 5), the display substrate being bendable at the second area to have a curvature (at BA Jung [0063] and Fig. 5); and a third area extending from the second area and including the pad (Area3 in annotated Jung Fig. 5), and the display substrate which is bent at the second area includes the third area facing the first area (Area1 and Area3 parallel to each other in annotated Jung Fig. 5).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection necessitated by amendment.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JASON MCDONALD/Examiner, Art Unit 2898 /JULIO J MALDONADO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2898